*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 210 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 102Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6271 of 6285 Old 09-25-2018, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Windows 10 disable SMB 1 File Sharing which the WDs use...


How to re-enable the SMBv1 protocol on Windows 10
  • Open Control Panel.
  • Click on Programs.
  • Click on Turn Windows features on or off link.
  • Expand the SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support option.
  • Check the SMB 1.0/CIFS Client option.
  • Click the OK button.
  • Click the Restart now button.
That may help with my annoying network at work where I have computers with windows XP, windows 7 and windows 10. It's annoying but ironically the windows XP computer seems to be able to find the windows 10 computer, which is what I want. Whereas trying to find computers with windows 7 is a pain in the butt, and the head, LOL. Massive headache that day.
Otter0911 likes this.
Briguy65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6272 of 6285 Old 09-29-2018, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Windows 10 disable SMB 1 File Sharing which the WDs use...


How to re-enable the SMBv1 protocol on Windows 10
  • Open Control Panel.
  • Click on Programs.
  • Click on Turn Windows features on or off link.
  • Expand the SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support option.
  • Check the SMB 1.0/CIFS Client option.
  • Click the OK button.
  • Click the Restart now button.
thanks. Didn't help with either of my WD's.
de8212 is offline  
post #6273 of 6285 Old 01-05-2019, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Guys, lately, I've had a few movies that DO have subtitles but I can't get them to work with my WD TV Live.

They play fine in VLC on my computer but not on the WD TV.

Any suggestions?

I can check the exact model if it makes a difference but this is what I think I have.

WDBAAP0000NBK

Thanks

George
guiri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6274 of 6285 Old 01-06-2019, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
spyrakos81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by guiri View Post
Guys, lately, I've had a few movies that DO have subtitles but I can't get them to work with my WD TV Live.

They play fine in VLC on my computer but not on the WD TV.

Any suggestions?

I can check the exact model if it makes a difference but this is what I think I have.

WDBAAP0000NBK

Thanks

George
Hello my friend. Are you accessing your files locally or through network? If you are watching the movies from a networked source, you should create samba shares and don't use the media server option. I hope this helps.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
spyrakos81 is offline  
post #6275 of 6285 Old 01-06-2019, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyrakos81 View Post
Hello my friend. Are you accessing your files locally or through network? If you are watching the movies from a networked source, you should create samba shares and don't use the media server option. I hope this helps.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
It's hooked up to my router and so is the computer the movies are on so yes. I don't use the media server option when viewing things.
Just the network, find the movie and then play.

The thing is, this is normally not an issue. If VLC can see it, WD TV usually can too.

Thanks

George
guiri is offline  
post #6276 of 6285 Old 01-06-2019, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stuck in speed bump city
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1098 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by guiri View Post
It's hooked up to my router and so is the computer the movies are on so yes. I don't use the media server option when viewing things.
Just the network, find the movie and then play.

The thing is, this is normally not an issue. If VLC can see it, WD TV usually can too.

Thanks

George

How was the movie file created? Do other movie files created the same way still work?

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #6277 of 6285 Old 01-06-2019, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
How was the movie file created? Do other movie files created the same way still work?
Sorry, I really don't know as I downloaded it. I guess I could get some software to extract that info but I was really hoping for some
simple reply (although not holding my breath

I think more than anything, I was trying to understand why vlc would see the subs but not wd.

They are not in a separate file by the way although occasionally, I've had issues with separate files too.
guiri is offline  
post #6278 of 6285 Old 07-05-2019, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stuck in speed bump city
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1098 Post(s)
Liked: 675
My SMP seems to be starting to fail, often requiring a replug to get it to boot. Are any of the $50-ish no-name android 9 boxes suitable replacements for playing local mkv & mp4 content?



Thanks...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #6279 of 6285 Old 07-05-2019, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
nirvana_av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
My SMP seems to be starting to fail, often requiring a replug to get it to boot. Are any of the $50-ish no-name android 9 boxes suitable replacements for playing local mkv & mp4 content?
Last year I built a player using the Odroid C2 platform. I'm running the LibreELEC KODI software on it. It will play 1080p MKVs perfectly. Supposedly, this platform can also play 4K content, but I don't have a 4K setup to verify this. One odd thing is that it there's a slight stutter when playing 480p content. There are widespread complaints about this, but no fix has been made.

EDIT: Oh, one more thing, it passes Dolby TrueHD and DTS-MA.
nirvana_av is online now  
post #6280 of 6285 Old 07-05-2019, 09:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 13,108
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 1417
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
My SMP seems to be starting to fail, often requiring a replug to get it to boot. Are any of the $50-ish no-name android 9 boxes suitable replacements for playing local mkv & mp4 content?
Before you toss the Live SMP, replace the power wart. I'm still using both my SMP's and they are running perfectly -- I haven't found anything better for playing BD & DVD rips. Whenever one of my SMP's started to act up and glitch, I replaced the power supply and once again all was well. You can get one on Amazon pretty cheaply. Make sure it has decent amperage in addition to the proper voltage. No harm in getting a higher amperage than the wart you are replacing. Apparently the chinese power warts only last a couple of years.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6281 of 6285 Old 07-06-2019, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stuck in speed bump city
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1098 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Before you toss the Live SMP, replace the power wart. I'm still using both my SMP's and they are running perfectly -- I haven't found anything better for playing BD & DVD rips. Whenever one of my SMP's started to act up and glitch, I replaced the power supply and once again all was well. You can get one on Amazon pretty cheaply. Make sure it has decent amperage in addition to the proper voltage. No harm in getting a higher amperage than the wart you are replacing. Apparently the chinese power warts only last a couple of years.

Thanks - I'll try that. It goes through the first stage with the moon, then blanks out as usual but the second screen without the moon doesn't start. Happens maybe one out of 10 boots. Sometimes a 2nd try with the power button gets it going, sometimes it takes a replug. Never any problems once it's up.


If I keep it I'll be needing a new remote too - the OK button is pretty well shot after 10 years of everyday use...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #6282 of 6285 Old 07-06-2019, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 13,108
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 1417
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
If I keep it I'll be needing a new remote too - the OK button is pretty well shot after 10 years of everyday use...
I use a Harmony with mine. The Live SMP is in their data base. Otherwise get a learning remote and teach it the SMP codes before the old remote completely craps out.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6283 of 6285 Old 07-11-2019, 09:24 AM
Member
 
jdougmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SoFla
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
My SMP seems to be starting to fail, often requiring a replug to get it to boot. Are any of the $50-ish no-name android 9 boxes suitable replacements for playing local mkv & mp4 content?
Well it's not $50-ish, but I've switched to the Nvidia Shield. Does pretty much everything the WD Live can do, plus plays 4K content.

J Doug
jdougmc is offline  
post #6284 of 6285 Old 07-11-2019, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdougmc View Post
Well it's not $50-ish, but I've switched to the Nvidia Shield. Does pretty much everything the WD Live can do, plus plays 4K content.
I'm with you on this one. I also have the nVidia Shield TV (3 of them) as we as a couple of the $50 MiBox. The Shield is the way to go. The MiBox is too sluggish moving between applications, accessing media, etc..

FYI I went from the WD boxes to the Shield... ALL my frustrations went away.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #6285 of 6285 Old 11-28-2019, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
My SMP seems to be starting to fail, often requiring a replug to get it to boot. Are any of the $50-ish no-name android 9 boxes suitable replacements for playing local mkv & mp4 content?
Thanks...
It's not $50 but current sale price is pretty good and the Fire TV Cube with VLC installed will play from network shares on a connected PC. I can't comment on the other Fire TV devices.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off