*Official* Dune HD TV303D/ Base 3D Streamer Thread - Page 51 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
I have multiple Dunes and personally prefer a directory browsing style interface...keeps things simple. I've never been a fan of the more modern "skins"...I just want to pick a file and play it.
With 1500 movies that would be tough.. The Zappiti new releases group, full TV episode support and categories help organize things quite a bit. I am in the PC/IT business and would never replace the Dunes/Zappiti with an HTPC. I have, as do my clients, Dune Base 3.0s and Dune Base 3Ds. They look the part as well as perform flawlessly when bit streaming all HD Audio formats. The NUC looks like a toy and I would never recommend it to my clients with deep pockets. They would look at me with the "are you for real look".

Do the NUCs even bit stream Atmos?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
With 1500 movies that would be tough.. The Zappiti new releases group, full TV episode support and categories help organize things quite a bit. I am in the PC/IT business and would never replace the Dunes/Zappiti with an HTPC. I have, as do my clients, Dune Base 3.0s and Dune Base 3Ds. They look the part as well as perform flawlessly when bit streaming all HD Audio formats. The NUC looks like a toy and I would never recommend it to my clients with deep pockets. They would look at me with the "are you for real look".

Do the NUCs even bit stream Atmos?

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #1503 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
There's something wrong with you!

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1504 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
There's something wrong with you!
I will check back in in another 6 months

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #1505 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
I have multiple Dunes and personally prefer a directory browsing style interface...keeps things simple. I've never been a fan of the more modern "skins"...I just want to pick a file and play it.
With 1500 movies that would be tough.. The Zappiti new releases group, full TV episode support and categories help organize things quite a bit. I am in the PC/IT business and would never replace the Dunes/Zappiti with an HTPC. I have, as do my clients, Dune Base 3.0s and Dune Base 3Ds. They look the part as well as perform flawlessly when bit streaming all HD Audio formats. The NUC looks like a toy and I would never recommend it to my clients with deep pockets. They would look at me with the "are you for real look".

Do the NUCs even bit stream Atmos?
Fair enough about large collections but I'm a bit of a weirdo and really enjoy organizing my files in rich directory structures like some kind of librarian. I have a pretty sizable collection and never have any problem finding anything.
fatherom is offline  
post #1506 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Fair enough about large collections but I'm a bit of a weirdo and really enjoy organizing my files in rich directory structures like some kind of librarian. I have a pretty sizable collection and never have any problem finding anything.
You can organize all you want. I can appreciate that but Zappiti just puts a nice interface over it and the Dune boots directly to it. Gives a nice professional look to it. Like Kaleidescape but without the rules. I hate rules for sure.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
post #1507 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 03:16 PM
 
Mike:SH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sladi75 View Post
Connecting this class of player to TV only is utter waste of media playing capability. It should definitely be connected to complete array of audio decoders equipped AVR instead.

TV-303D bitstreams i.e. passes HD audio formats to further processing of playback chain´s upstream decoder devices just fine. Even notorious Dolby Atmos flags containing Dolby TrueHD plays without clicks/other hickups. Unlike Kodi, for example.
You wrong ,from specification now http://dune-hd.com/eng/products/full_hd_media_players :

Dune HD Base 3D




Audio codecs: AC3 (Dolby Digital), MPEG, AAC, LPCM, WMA, WMAPro, FLAC, multichannel FLAC, Ogg/Vorbis; support for very high quality audio (up to 192 kHz / 24-bit)
Audio file formats: MP3, MPA, M4A, WMA, FLAC, APE (Monkey’s Audio), WV Pack, Ogg/Vorbis, WAV, AC3, AAC
Subtitle formats: SRT (external), SUB (MicroDVD) (external), text (MKV), SSA/ASS (MKV, external), VobSub (MP4,

Dune HD TV-303D


Audio codecs: AC3 (Dolby Digital), MPEG, AAC, LPCM, WMA, WMAPro, FLAC, multichannel FLAC, Ogg/Vorbis; support for very high quality audio (up to 192 kHz / 24-bit)
Audio file formats: MP3, MPA, M4A, WMA, FLAC, APE (Monkey’s Audio), WV Pack, Ogg/Vorbis, WAV, AC3, AAC


DTS -not exist because company dont pay royalty for codec.,Why not exist DTS : http://www.hometheater.co.il/article...%95%D7%9F.html

Point to beat dead horse?

Last edited by Mike:SH; 11-30-2015 at 03:40 PM.
Mike:SH is offline  
post #1508 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 03:17 PM
Member
 
pushtiulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I tried to install Zappiti on my Dune 303D, but on Dune Store I can't find the Zappiti applications. Any clue?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B&W 685 S2
Rotel RA-12
Logitech Z-5500 Subwoofer
Asus Xonar D2/PM
B&W P7 Headphones
Fiio E12 Mont Blanc
pushtiulk is offline  
post #1509 of 1615 Old 11-30-2015, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushtiulk View Post
I tried to install Zappiti on my Dune 303D, but on Dune Store I can't find the Zappiti applications. Any clue?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's a manual install. Instructions are on the Zappiti web site.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #1510 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 12:00 AM
Member
 
pushtiulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok, thank you. Any chance to ise Zappiti without that cloud option? To play the movies from local network?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B&W 685 S2
Rotel RA-12
Logitech Z-5500 Subwoofer
Asus Xonar D2/PM
B&W P7 Headphones
Fiio E12 Mont Blanc
pushtiulk is offline  
post #1511 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 04:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushtiulk View Post
Ok, thank you. Any chance to ise Zappiti without that cloud option? To play the movies from local network?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
http://zappiti.com/zappiti-versions-v2.html

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
post #1512 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 07:07 AM
Member
 
pushtiulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Should I try with v2 instead of v3?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B&W 685 S2
Rotel RA-12
Logitech Z-5500 Subwoofer
Asus Xonar D2/PM
B&W P7 Headphones
Fiio E12 Mont Blanc
pushtiulk is offline  
post #1513 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,893
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Liked: 2022
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushtiulk View Post
Should I try with v2 instead of v3?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Take a look at yaDis as well. I've used both and I prefer yaDis over Zappiti

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #1514 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 08:35 AM
Member
 
pushtiulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Take a look at yaDis as well. I've used both and I prefer yaDis over Zappiti

Yadis can I used over lan without cloud?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B&W 685 S2
Rotel RA-12
Logitech Z-5500 Subwoofer
Asus Xonar D2/PM
B&W P7 Headphones
Fiio E12 Mont Blanc
pushtiulk is offline  
post #1515 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,893
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Liked: 2022
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushtiulk View Post
Yadis can I used over lan without cloud?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't use cloud. I have yaDis installed on PC and movie collection on my NAS and NAS wired to Dune. Works fine.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #1516 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushtiulk View Post
Yadis can I used over lan without cloud?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zappiti is the only jukebox using cloud. I still don't understand why they use it...
Mr Eric is offline  
post #1517 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 10:51 AM
Member
 
pushtiulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I saw that Yadis website is not working anymore. Anyone knows where can I download it?

B&W 685 S2
Rotel RA-12
Logitech Z-5500 Subwoofer
Asus Xonar D2/PM
B&W P7 Headphones
Fiio E12 Mont Blanc
pushtiulk is offline  
post #1518 of 1615 Old 12-01-2015, 08:58 PM
Member
 
gimmesomemore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
*Official* Dune HD TV303D/ Base 3D Streamer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
With 1500 movies that would be tough.. The Zappiti new releases group, full TV episode support and categories help organize things quite a bit. I am in the PC/IT business and would never replace the Dunes/Zappiti with an HTPC. I have, as do my clients, Dune Base 3.0s and Dune Base 3Ds. They look the part as well as perform flawlessly when bit streaming all HD Audio formats. The NUC looks like a toy and I would never recommend it to my clients with deep pockets. They would look at me with the "are you for real look".

Do the NUCs even bit stream Atmos?

I suppose it's a matter of taste, but you are surely in the minority in preferring the looks of a dune base 3D with it's 1990s CD player styling versus a nearly invisible 4"x4" case. Besides, better AV setups conceal equipment for a seamless look. NUCS/HTPCs do cost a bit more, but also provide superior performance and features like flawless hi-def audio codec bit streaming and 4K video playback via hdmi or display port. Not to mention how much better the kodi interface, streaming services and features are. I'm not saying dunes are not decent little reliable machines. But if you are willing to shell out a few more bucks, you can get far more features and capabilities.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by gimmesomemore; 12-01-2015 at 09:08 PM.
gimmesomemore is offline  
post #1519 of 1615 Old 12-02-2015, 12:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushtiulk View Post
I saw that Yadis website is not working anymore. Anyone knows where can I download it?
You can find the link for download in the OP of the main yadis topic : https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...-tutorial.html

Mr Eric is offline  
post #1520 of 1615 Old 12-02-2015, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmesomemore View Post
I suppose it's a matter of taste, but you are surely in the minority in preferring the looks of a dune base 3D with it's 1990s CD player styling versus a nearly invisible 4"x4" case. Besides, better AV setups conceal equipment for a seamless look. NUCS/HTPCs do cost a bit more, but also provide superior performance and features like flawless hi-def audio codec bit streaming and 4K video playback via hdmi or display port. Not to mention how much better the kodi interface, streaming services and features are. I'm not saying dunes are not decent little reliable machines. But if you are willing to shell out a few more bucks, you can get far more features and capabilities.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The full size Dune units are mounted out of site in racks either in a media closet or in the same room at the back of the Home Theater. The full size Dunes add to the aesthetics of the room and blend in nicely with other AV equipment like AVRs, Tivos, Oppo Players,Amps, Storage Servers, Video Processors, etc. I am in the PC business and would never recommend a HTPC for movies. It has nothing to do with being up to date with new tech. It has to do with ease of use and reliability for the end user. These people are not tech people. If they were, they would not need a company like mine. The Dunes, Raid 6 Windows based Server and Zappiti/My Movies combination works perfectly and will continue for some time. Movies are their main and only concern and the Dunes have no equal when it comes to movie playback. The issue of 4K Blu-ray and how to rip and manage is my only concern in the near future. I am eager to see what solutions ANYDVD HD comes up with and will act based on that for current and future clients. I am hoping for a worthy 4K successor to the Dunes, with a full feature set, in a full size brushed aluminum enclosure.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!

Last edited by blackssr; 12-02-2015 at 06:46 AM.
blackssr is offline  
post #1521 of 1615 Old 12-02-2015, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,213
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 706
I give my customers options and let them decide or try all the options such as HTPC, dedicated media player or a combination of both or just using their smart tv with Plex. So far 99.99% go with Kodi + Plex.

I do this on the side for fun. If you don't educate your customers and show them their options then of course they will go with whatever you recommend because they don't know any better. They rely on your expertise and recommendations.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #1522 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
hcour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
After the latest Win 10 update (a major update) Dune can no longer access the hard drive and shared folders on my computer. I get the error msg "Network resource is not accessible" and "Cannot access network folder".

Networking is not my thing. Any help much appreciated.
hcour is offline  
post #1523 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,213
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 706
I suggest reverting back to Win 7. I've got the same issue off and on even after changing the network security setting suggested by Microsoft tech.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #1524 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
hcour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
That's a bit drastic. It's been working just fine for months with Win 10, until this update.
hcour is offline  
post #1525 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,213
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 706
I had to turn off password protection for network sharing under the Network and Sharing Center / All Network option.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #1526 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
hcour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
That did it! Thanks much.
hcour is offline  
post #1527 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,213
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcour View Post
That did it! Thanks much.
No problem. I did that to my PC's, but I still have the same issue some times.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #1528 of 1615 Old 12-04-2015, 11:23 PM
Newbie
 
sam22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You need to set Guest account on the computer.
for some weird reason microsoft took it of in win 10
sam22 is offline  
post #1529 of 1615 Old 12-19-2015, 11:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 3,039
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1308 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Is the analog audio output always "hot"/active although one uses HDMI for bitstreaming/passthrough to AVR?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #1530 of 1615 Old 12-19-2015, 11:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 3,039
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1308 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike:SH View Post
You wrong ,from specification now http://dune-hd.com/eng/products/full_hd_media_players :

Dune HD Base 3D

Audio codecs: AC3 (Dolby Digital), MPEG, AAC, LPCM, WMA, WMAPro, FLAC, multichannel FLAC, Ogg/Vorbis; support for very high quality audio (up to 192 kHz / 24-bit)
Audio file formats: MP3, MPA, M4A, WMA, FLAC, APE (Monkey’s Audio), WV Pack, Ogg/Vorbis, WAV, AC3, AAC
Subtitle formats: SRT (external), SUB (MicroDVD) (external), text (MKV), SSA/ASS (MKV, external), VobSub (MP4,

Dune HD TV-303D

Audio codecs: AC3 (Dolby Digital), MPEG, AAC, LPCM, WMA, WMAPro, FLAC, multichannel FLAC, Ogg/Vorbis; support for very high quality audio (up to 192 kHz / 24-bit)
Audio file formats: MP3, MPA, M4A, WMA, FLAC, APE (Monkey’s Audio), WV Pack, Ogg/Vorbis, WAV, AC3, AAC

DTS -not exist because company dont pay royalty for codec.,Why not exist DTS : http://www.hometheater.co.il/article...%95%D7%9F.html

Point to beat dead horse?
The TV303D does support bitstreaming of Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD audio. Everyone who owns a TV303D knows that.
Skylinestar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Tv303d Wifi 3d Streamer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off