Sony FMP-X10 owners thread - Page 123 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 801Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 3914 Old 04-05-2016, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
I'm assuming that you can't get that UHD stream in any other app (such as Vudu) though, right? If so, what the industry started to build up with UV where it was somewhat studio agnostic is now going to be a mess again...

And how does the Sony app know if it is a UV code I got from the BD or the UHD version? There is no indication on any packaging that there are different "levels" of UV.

This is important because currently I will choose 3D over UHD if given a choice. This type of thing could make me think twice about my purchasing decisions.

EDIT: I hadn't looked for a while at the state of UHD UV. Its quite simply a mess. Check blu-ray.com and the UV forums for more info.
I bought the 4K Ulta bluray disc of the Martian which includes a bluray disc and a UV code that is for a Digital HD copy of the movie just like all of the other bluray movies i have purchased over the years. It says download the movie in iTunes or UltraViolet so it is NOT a 4K version of the movie. It also says I can choose to watch it on my TV or Computer or Tablet or Smartphone.

Last edited by Mdjones9137; 04-05-2016 at 04:22 PM.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 3914 Old 04-05-2016, 05:46 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,948
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9309 Post(s)
Liked: 5996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
I bought the 4K Ulta bluray disc of the Martian which includes a bluray disc and a UV code that is for a Digital HD copy of the movie just like all of the other bluray movies i have purchased over the years. It says download the movie in iTunes or UltraViolet so it is NOT a 4K version of the movie. It also says I can choose to watch it on my TV or Computer or Tablet or Smartphone.
The Martian is a Fox title. The only titles I know that will give you access to the UHD stream with the UV code is from WB and SOny. And of course that title also needs to be available in UHD from the streaming service. I think only the Sony Ultra HD Service has the Sony titles to stream in UHD. And only Vudu has some of the WB titles available to stream in UHD. And of course you need a Roku 4 to access the Vudu UHD titles.
I only had two UV codes from US titles that give me access to the UHD streaming titles. Mad Max on Vudu. And Chappie on the Sony Ultra HD streaming service. The WB title San Andreas and The Lego Movie I got from Canada. And I got the other Sony titles from Canada so I can't use those UV codes. But if I can purchase some of the Sony UHD BD UV codes I will get them so I can have access to more titles of the Sony UHD streaming service.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 04-05-2016 at 05:49 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #3663 of 3914 Old 04-18-2016, 11:57 PM
Senior Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Not sure when it came out, but Will Smith's latest movie "Concussion" is now available X-10/X-1. Hard to imagine that anyone would still buy media on it with 4K Blu-Rays coming out, which offer 10-bit color and HDR in addition to the 4K.

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3664 of 3914 Old 04-19-2016, 06:24 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,948
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9309 Post(s)
Liked: 5996
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjorg View Post
Not sure when it came out, but Will Smith's latest movie "Concussion" is now available X-10/X-1. Hard to imagine that anyone would still buy media on it with 4K Blu-Rays coming out, which offer 10-bit color and HDR in addition to the 4K.
Exactly. If I were going to buy a digital version it would be from the Sony Ultra Service. Which has Concussion in UHD HDR. Although the cheapest route is to buy the UHD BD which has a UV codes that gives you access to the UHD HDR stream from the SOny Ultra app.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #3665 of 3914 Old 04-25-2016, 04:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Pixels is now available for all the tens of people clamoring for it lol
JimSatala77 is offline  
post #3666 of 3914 Old 04-25-2016, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
Pixels is now available for all the tens of people clamoring for it lol
Don't judge, but I actually enjoyed this flick! Being an 80s gamer, it was a fun ride and one of the less obnoxious Adam Sandler movies. That said, I have the 3D BD. One purchase of this flick is plenty enough!
aaronwt, marcuslaw and JimSatala77 like this.

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #3667 of 3914 Old 04-25-2016, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,982
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjorg View Post
Don't judge, but I actually enjoyed this flick! Being an 80s gamer, it was a fun ride and one of the less obnoxious Adam Sandler movies. That said, I have the 3D BD. One purchase of this flick is plenty enough!
No kidding, that movie did not deserve all the hate it got.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #3668 of 3914 Old 04-25-2016, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Point of interest
Sony is still releasing films to us for the X10.
Not many but at least they are coming.
studlygoorite likes this.
thestewman is offline  
post #3669 of 3914 Old 04-25-2016, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,271
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1239 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Point of interest
Sony is still releasing films to us for the X10.
Not many but at least they are coming.
Got my first Sony UHD disc title the other day -Chappy, one of the few I never got on the X10. That pretty much marks the end of any more X10 purchases for me going forward.
aaronwt, marcuslaw and Mdjones9137 like this.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #3670 of 3914 Old 04-25-2016, 08:52 PM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Got my first Sony UHD disc title the other day -Chappy, one of the few I never got on the X10. That pretty much marks the end of any more X10 purchases for me going forward.
Good stuff Andrew. I watched Chappy on mine when it came out but I cannot use my X10 until my 861 processor gets back from Meridian in the UK hopefully in a month. Guess I'm not missing out on much anyway.


Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
OzHDHT likes this.
WIKED is offline  
post #3671 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 12:27 AM
Senior Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Has the FMP-X10 gotten VP9 support?
CJ4life is offline  
post #3672 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
Has the FMP-X10 gotten VP9 support?
No it does not support VP9 just HEVC decoding.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #3673 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
Has the FMP-X10 gotten VP9 support?
No it does not support VP9 just HEVC decoding.
This is one of the dumbest things Sony has done IMO. Is VP9 not a free codec (open source)? I can't see why they wouldn't add it to the media player, it would instantly make it a much better overall package.
CJ4life is offline  
post #3674 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 06:11 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
This is one of the dumbest things Sony has done IMO. Is VP9 not a free codec (open source)? I can't see why they wouldn't add it to the media player, it would instantly make it a much better overall package.
Not understanding. If the player supported VP9, how would you use that capability?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #3675 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
This is one of the dumbest things Sony has done IMO.
Two of the other dumbest things Sony did were the X-1 and the X-10. Great concept, totally inept implementation.
bweissman is offline  
post #3676 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
This is one of the dumbest things Sony has done IMO. Is VP9 not a free codec (open source)? I can't see why they wouldn't add it to the media player, it would instantly make it a much better overall package.
Not understanding. If the player supported VP9, how would you use that capability?
VP9 is the codec that is used for all of YouTube's 4K content. YouTube just so happens to be basically the largest repository of free 4K videos which would be nice to be able to Utilize.
CJ4life is offline  
post #3677 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 07:23 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
VP9 is the codec that is used for all of YouTube's 4K content. YouTube just so happens to be basically the largest repository of free 4K videos which would be nice to be able to Utilize.
Does the X10 have a YouTube app?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #3678 of 3914 Old 04-26-2016, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
VP9 is the codec that is used for all of YouTube's 4K content. YouTube just so happens to be basically the largest repository of free 4K videos which would be nice to be able to Utilize.
Does the X10 have a YouTube app?
I don't know...just ordered one off eBay today.
CJ4life is offline  
post #3679 of 3914 Old 04-27-2016, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
I don't know...just ordered one off eBay today.
The only app on the x10 is Netflix. That app supports UHD content ans was added to give the A series customers the ability to stream UHD Netflix. The A series TVs do not have the HEVC codec required to watch UHD Netflix content.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #3680 of 3914 Old 04-27-2016, 09:34 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post
I don't know...just ordered one off eBay today.
TBH, I don't know why anyone would want to purchase an X10 today, given the total lack of support from Sony and the limited content availability. There are much better choices available if watching 4K content is what you are looking for.
aaronwt and TweakerInWA like this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #3681 of 3914 Old 04-27-2016, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
TBH, I don't know why anyone would want to purchase an X10 today, given the total lack of support from Sony and the limited content availability. There are much better choices available if watching 4K content is what you are looking for.
To make a long story short, the only way I can get the HDMI board on my 55X900a upgraded for HDCP 2.2 with Sony is if I have one of Sony's media players. It's dumb, but I basically have to force their hand by doing this. It was also like $150 CAD which is fairly reasonable. I'm hoping to get it, get my board upgraded and sell it for what I got it for. If I have to keep it that would still be OK though.

I previously had the Nvidia Shield and it was an amazing little box, but the only thing I could do was watch 4K YouTube because my TV lacked HDCP 2.2.
CJ4life is offline  
post #3682 of 3914 Old 05-01-2016, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Faceless Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I hope that whatever 4K UHD Blu-ray player Sony releases, it will let us keep and play back the movies we had on the X10.
Faceless Rebel is offline  
post #3683 of 3914 Old 05-01-2016, 09:28 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,948
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9309 Post(s)
Liked: 5996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I hope that whatever 4K UHD Blu-ray player Sony releases, it will let us keep and play back the movies we had on the X10.
Probably only if they let you do it through the Ultra app? Because the Sony UHD BD player will have the SOny UHD HDR Ultra app on it for playback of that type of content.
marcuslaw likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #3684 of 3914 Old 05-04-2016, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
vidbeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone been able to format the internal drive, or replace it with a larger one?
vidbeo is offline  
post #3685 of 3914 Old 05-04-2016, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by vidbeo View Post
Has anyone been able to format the internal drive, or replace it with a larger one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdgeDC View Post
Update on the drive upgrade project...

This time I tried doing a forensic copy using OSFClone, so it was an exact bit-for-bit copy from the 1TB drive to the 4TB drive. Then, I loaded GParted to resize the main data partition on the 4TB drive. True to form, GParted immediately reported that the GPT partition table was not correctly sized for the drive and offered to fix it... which I told it to go ahead and do. Then, I resized that last partition to fill the drive.

I reinstalled the new 4TB drive in the FMP-X10, and... same results. No error messages, but the X10 reports only a 1TB drive, with all 1TB full with "System" (i.e. no data). Also, the buttons to watch a preview, rent or buy a movie are not there, just a single grey rectangle button with no text.

So that didn't work. My next hope is to access the service menu, and try instructing the FMP-X10 to reformat the internal drive. I'm waiting on the service manuals, which I ordered last week, that hopefully will reveal how to access the service menu.

Worst case scenario, I'll just have to stick to the factory 1TB drive and use the 4TB externally, as intended by Sony. Not the "clean" setup I wanted, but I'm prepared to do that if I exhaust all other options.

Darn you Sony for making it so tough! User teeitup wasn't kidding when he said:
Maybe PM this user and find out if he ever accomplished the upgrade
thestewman is offline  
post #3686 of 3914 Old 05-06-2016, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Not sure if its related, but this is a story about my experience with Sony and a DVR hard drive. Sorry if this is a yawner.

I had a Sony HDD250 DVR with an internal hard drive. That thread had over 980 pages last time I looked. Many of us wanted to install a larger hard drive and some just wanted to replace their failed hard drive. Throughout the thread there are links to other threads and sites where people tried to either duplicate the hard drive or format/initialize a new one from scratch. We had all kinds of experts (Linux, etc) who tried various methods, but to my knowledge no one solved it.

I was very reluctant to buy the X1 and then replace it with the X10 based on this. I will be very interested in what you learn.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hdtv-recorders/537711-sony-dhg-hdd250-500-official-thread.html
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #3687 of 3914 Old 05-11-2016, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
TBH, I don't know why anyone would want to purchase an X10 today, given the total lack of support from Sony and the limited content availability. There are much better choices available if watching 4K content is what you are looking for.
No there's not; the FMP-X10 is still home to some of the best looking 4K content around.

You can't get Breaking Bad, The Blacklist, Powers in full 4K quality anywhere else.
wigglywaffles is offline  
post #3688 of 3914 Old 05-12-2016, 10:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I am experiencing a problem with the FMP-X10
After the system boots then you load the 4K Video Unlimited screen I can not scroll or select any of the films.
All the other tabs, screens and features work and it is not the remote since everything else is selectable including My 4K videos , The video Player and Netflix.
Only the sidebar for scrolling and moving right to select a feature zfilm in the 4K Video Unlimited screen.
It looks like Sony added several new videos to the list and it has locked the cursor.

Is anyone else experiencing this problem ?
thestewman is offline  
post #3689 of 3914 Old 05-13-2016, 05:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
I am experiencing a problem with the FMP-X10
After the system boots then you load the 4K Video Unlimited screen I can not scroll or select any of the films.
All the other tabs, screens and features work and it is not the remote since everything else is selectable including My 4K videos , The video Player and Netflix.
Only the sidebar for scrolling and moving right to select a feature zfilm in the 4K Video Unlimited screen.
It looks like Sony added several new videos to the list and it has locked the cursor.

Is anyone else experiencing this problem ?
I am experiencing the same issue.

Anthem AVM 60, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" Curved AT Scope Screen, Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser 3D Projector, Samsung 4K Blu-ray Player, Oculus Rift, Quest and Go VR, Xbox One X, PS4, Clark Synthesis Transducer For Chair
studlygoorite is offline  
post #3690 of 3914 Old 05-13-2016, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by studlygoorite View Post
I am experiencing the same issue.
Any idea who we contact ? This is similar to the last time when the system would not download.
Since Sony passed responsibility to the Playstation crew no one knows anything.
thestewman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
fmp-x10

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off