*OFFICIAL*POPCORN HOUR VTEN:The World First 4K Ultra HD network media player - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 168Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1018 Old 01-14-2016, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Wow! 100GB and it's already compressed! How large is it uncompressed?
Its compressed but not super compressed like some people do with bluray. Remember a 1080p bluray was 40GB of video data a lot of people compressed it down to 20GB without a big noticeable difference. But a UHD HDR bluray is 100GB not sure you can compress that down if its HDR material.

As for h265 compression its still hit and miss for me. Its not like h264 where you can run the same preset for almost every movie and get same quality/size every time. Instead it seems like every movie you are tweaking h265 settings to get quality/size correct.
Ph8te likes this.
halfelite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1018 Old 01-14-2016, 03:33 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
UHD material is already H265....the file sizes (~100GB) is already compressed


Sent from nowhere
The test UHD material I have is in H.264 and H.265.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #633 of 1018 Old 01-14-2016, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkasanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
UHD material is already H265....the file sizes (~100GB) is already compressed


Sent from nowhere
Ouch...

Well, if you could get down to 60-70 GB that would make a big difference.
jkasanic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 1018 Old 01-14-2016, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 303
So, I just got a VTEN after being away from Popcorn Hour boxes for couple of years, and being in Kodi land.

Based on my reading & user suggestions, do I have the following info. right?
  • Use a USB stick (16GB enough?) for NMJ database?
  • Been using Ember & tinyMediaManager to manage my movies & TV shows for Kodi boxes (so, nfo, folder.jpg & fanart.jpg for each movie/folder). Use NJMToolbox2 to import?
  • Shares, scanning & NJMToolbox2. Set-up shares on VTEN first, but don't use internal scanner, but instead rely on NJMToolbox2?

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #635 of 1018 Old 01-14-2016, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,457
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6361
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The test UHD material I have is in H.264 and H.265.

We are talking UHDBR (which was my response was based on). Test clips can be whatever the creator wants (H264, VP9, H265, etc)


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #636 of 1018 Old 01-14-2016, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkasanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
So, I just got a VTEN after being away from Popcorn Hour boxes for couple of years, and being in Kodi land.

Based on my reading & user suggestions, do I have the following info. right?
  • Use a USB stick (16GB enough?) for NMJ database?
  • Been using Ember & tinyMediaManager to manage my movies & TV shows for Kodi boxes (so, nfo, folder.jpg & fanart.jpg for each movie/folder). Use NJMToolbox2 to import?
  • Shares, scanning & NJMToolbox2. Set-up shares on VTEN first, but don't use internal scanner, but instead rely on NJMToolbox2?
I think you nailed it and yes 16GB is plenty. NMJ will pickup the local artwork automatically as long as you follow the naming conventions.
jkasanic is offline  
post #637 of 1018 Old 01-15-2016, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Great, thanks.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #638 of 1018 Old 01-15-2016, 09:30 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
We are talking UHDBR (which was my response was based on). Test clips can be whatever the creator wants (H264, VP9, H265, etc)


Sent from nowhere
So is a UHD BD actually required to use HEVC? Or could they use H.264 if they wanted?

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #639 of 1018 Old 01-15-2016, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,457
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6361
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
So is a UHD BD actually required to use HEVC? Or could they use H.264 if they wanted?

I believe H265 is the spec that is used for the UHDBR discs (from when spec was finalized). I believe they add H264 for backwards compatibility so that players can play "standard" BR discs.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #640 of 1018 Old 01-15-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
So, I just got a VTEN after being away from Popcorn Hour boxes for couple of years, and being in Kodi land.

Based on my reading & user suggestions, do I have the following info. right?
  • Use a USB stick (16GB enough?) for NMJ database?
  • Been using Ember & tinyMediaManager to manage my movies & TV shows for Kodi boxes (so, nfo, folder.jpg & fanart.jpg for each movie/folder). Use NJMToolbox2 to import?
  • Shares, scanning & NJMToolbox2. Set-up shares on VTEN first, but don't use internal scanner, but instead rely on NJMToolbox2?
Just to add to this. You need to start a scan with the internal scanner first of at least one movie. NMJToolbox2 will not create a DB from scratch unless ROM added that it used to always need a DB that was started by NMJ.
jkasanic likes this.
halfelite is offline  
post #641 of 1018 Old 01-15-2016, 12:28 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
I keep an NMJ data base on each share as well as locally. That is one thing with the VTEN that is slower than my A400. The A400 could have an internal drive which is faster with the database than using the SD card. And reading the database from my shares is faster than from the SD card too.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #642 of 1018 Old 01-16-2016, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
MarkoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone please confirm that VTEN can reproduce xvYCC material? One would need Sony or Panasonic TV with x.v.Color support (HDMI 1.3 or 1.4) and reliable xvYCC material, like ripped one of Sony's 'Mastered in 4k' BD titles (Ghostbusters, Total Recall (2012), Fury (2014), etc. If TV displays 'HDMI xvYCC' on the beginning of reproduction then it's confirmed.
MarkoM is offline  
post #643 of 1018 Old 01-16-2016, 04:13 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoM View Post
Can someone please confirm that VTEN can reproduce xvYCC material? One would need Sony or Panasonic TV with x.v.Color support (HDMI 1.3 or 1.4) and reliable xvYCC material, like ripped one of Sony's 'Mastered in 4k' BD titles (Ghostbusters, Total Recall (2012), Fury (2014), etc. If TV displays 'HDMI xvYCC' on the beginning of reproduction then it's confirmed.
I didn't see any info like this. But then I never saw this info when using a Sony S6500 BD player to my SOny UHD TV either.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #644 of 1018 Old 01-16-2016, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
MarkoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I didn't see any info like this. But then I never saw this info when using a Sony S6500 BD player to my SOny UHD TV either.
http://www.popcornhour.ro/media_play..._hour_vten.php

Quote:
Interfaces
Audio / Video
• HDMI 1.4 3D (1080p) with CEC support, 36bpp Deep Color, xvYCC processing 12-bit and protection HDCP 1.2
• Digital Audio: S / PDIF optical (TOS-Link) and S / PDIF coaxial
MarkoM is offline  
post #645 of 1018 Old 01-16-2016, 09:12 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
So, I just got a VTEN after being away from Popcorn Hour boxes for couple of years, and being in Kodi land.

Based on my reading & user suggestions, do I have the following info. right?
  • Use a USB stick (16GB enough?) for NMJ database?
  • Been using Ember & tinyMediaManager to manage my movies & TV shows for Kodi boxes (so, nfo, folder.jpg & fanart.jpg for each movie/folder). Use NJMToolbox2 to import?
  • Shares, scanning & NJMToolbox2. Set-up shares on VTEN first, but don't use internal scanner, but instead rely on NJMToolbox2?
I'm gearing up to start ripping movies and set up the NMJ as well. Best to use a USB stick or a SD card or no difference? How much space, on average does it take? I have an old 2GB SC card kicking around, would that even begin to be enough? I would think so, but have no idea yet how all of this NMJ is going to work in the end.

Thanks.

-B
bbusse is offline  
post #646 of 1018 Old 01-16-2016, 10:09 PM
Member
 
qwerty_88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can the vten have airplay? How?
qwerty_88 is offline  
post #647 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,457
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6361
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbusse View Post
I'm gearing up to start ripping movies and set up the NMJ as well. Best to use a USB stick or a SD card or no difference? How much space, on average does it take? I have an old 2GB SC card kicking around, would that even begin to be enough? I would think so, but have no idea yet how all of this NMJ is going to work in the end.

Thanks.

-B

It all depends on the size of your media library. I would say 2GB is a little small. The actual apps, etc don't take up much room, it's the cover art, etc that will take the most.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #648 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Well, after a couple of hours of use, I'm out. Yes, PQ is very good, and 2D/3D 1:1 BD rips play great... but, man, the UI/nav is slow, setting up shares/paths complicated, scanning content via NMJToolBox2, etc... got reminded why I left the PCH & M8R worlds for Kodi in the first place.

Also, I've tried out many 3D players & in terms of PQ, just IMHO, but HiMedia Q5 > PCH VTEN > Raspberry Pi2 > Tronsmart S95 > HiMedia H8/Zidoo X6 > VidOn Box. Sorry, but to me, HiMedia Q5's Imprex engine PQ beats VTEN's VXP.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #649 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,457
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6361
No need to be sorry honest opinions are always welcome


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #650 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Well, after a couple of hours of use, I'm out. Yes, PQ is very good, and 2D/3D 1:1 BD rips play great... but, man, the UI/nav is slow, setting up shares/paths complicated, scanning content via NMJToolBox2, etc... got reminded why I left the PCH & M8R worlds for Kodi in the first place.

Also, I've tried out many 3D players & in terms of PQ, just IMHO, but HiMedia Q5 > PCH VTEN > Raspberry Pi2 > Tronsmart S95 > HiMedia H8/Zidoo X6 > VidOn Box. Sorry, but to me, HiMedia Q5's Imprex engine PQ beats VTEN's VXP.
How is the other playback on the Q5? does everything work every time or are some stuff hit and miss still? Funny how we all like different UI. The only skin I really liked on KODI were the very simple ones. I tried Amber as it is basically the same as plex app on pch and quartz two of the skins that least show off the power kodi.
halfelite is offline  
post #651 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
From some posts in this thread it looks like there is a way to convert VTEN-U to non US version. I tried to rename v10-update.bin firmware file to v10u-update.bin and update firmware from USB drive, but the player gave me an error that cross-customer upgrade is not allowed. Is there other ways to trick it into uploading non-US firmware? Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
avs108 is offline  
post #652 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
How is the other playback on the Q5? does everything work every time or are some stuff hit and miss still? Funny how we all like different UI. The only skin I really liked on KODI were the very simple ones. I tried Amber as it is basically the same as plex app on pch and quartz two of the skins that least show off the power kodi.
Q5 is excellent... only thing missing is support for forced subs. Not an issue for me as I remux to movie-only ISO's & MKV's w/just the forced subs in them.

Skin-wise, Amber is nice, simple, but I love Artic... very customizable, slick, well designed.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #653 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 03:56 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Well, after a couple of hours of use, I'm out. Yes, PQ is very good, and 2D/3D 1:1 BD rips play great... but, man, the UI/nav is slow, setting up shares/paths complicated, scanning content via NMJToolBox2, etc... got reminded why I left the PCH & M8R worlds for Kodi in the first place.

Also, I've tried out many 3D players & in terms of PQ, just IMHO, but HiMedia Q5 > PCH VTEN > Raspberry Pi2 > Tronsmart S95 > HiMedia H8/Zidoo X6 > VidOn Box. Sorry, but to me, HiMedia Q5's Imprex engine PQ beats VTEN's VXP.
I'm just starting so not great to hear. I will agree with the shares set ups. I really have no idea if what I am doing is even correct, but I can shortcut my folders and the content is accessible so I have to assume something is working. I will be starting the NMJT next and that looks very complicated with half the manual alone dedicated to it. I hope it can be done on a SD card and it doesn't do it on the NAS.

-B
bbusse is offline  
post #654 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 04:16 PM
Member
 
isolar801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
[QUOTE=Brajesh;40720274]Well, after a couple of hours of use, I'm out. Yes, PQ is very good, and 2D/3D 1:1 BD rips play great... but, man, the UI/nav is slow, setting up shares/paths complicated, scanning content via NMJToolBox2, etc... got reminded why I left the PCH & M8R worlds for Kodi in the first place.

The Vten is just screaming for custom firmware.....I would love to have a stripped down Vten that did nothing but play files with quick navigation.....get rid of the Jukebox crap.....speed-up the painfully slow file menus...

And.....let it be the audio player it can be....unless you use the Jukebox, audio file playback is painful !!
Pretty bad that Ive given up on the Vten for audio and am now using my Wetek Core/Kodi for that purpose.

But...I kept mine because of the great picture quality.
isolar801 is offline  
post #655 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 303
No arguing VTEN has excellent PQ... but HiMedia Q5's PQ is better as it's like having an Oppo BD player w/built-in Darbee Darblet. With Kodi & ease-of-use to boot.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #656 of 1018 Old 01-17-2016, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by isolar801 View Post
The Vten is just screaming for custom firmware.....I would love to have a stripped down Vten that did nothing but play files with quick navigation.....get rid of the Jukebox crap.....speed-up the painfully slow file menus...

And.....let it be the audio player it can be....unless you use the Jukebox, audio file playback is painful !!
Pretty bad that Ive given up on the Vten for audio and am now using my Wetek Core/Kodi for that purpose.

But...I kept mine because of the great picture quality.
I have tried to tell them give us a custom firmware with only an HTML 5 browser or the QT framework that sigma has and let us develop our own UI. Kinda how yamj came to be in the 100 days. Running flashlite was just not built for speed.


Brajesh - on the Q5 does it keep track of watched/unwatched using the external player? I wish they had a more attractive looking box.
halfelite is offline  
post #657 of 1018 Old 01-18-2016, 09:02 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoM View Post
I never saw anything on my Sony UHD Tv displayed other than 1080P/24 or 3840 x 2160. I looked at several of my BD ISOs and several discs for the titles listed. Thanks. Because of this. I ended up watching Battle: Los Angeles (mastered in 4K) again. Which I had not planned.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #658 of 1018 Old 01-18-2016, 09:05 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Well, after a couple of hours of use, I'm out. Yes, PQ is very good, and 2D/3D 1:1 BD rips play great... but, man, the UI/nav is slow, setting up shares/paths complicated, scanning content via NMJToolBox2, etc... got reminded why I left the PCH & M8R worlds for Kodi in the first place.

Also, I've tried out many 3D players & in terms of PQ, just IMHO, but HiMedia Q5 > PCH VTEN > Raspberry Pi2 > Tronsmart S95 > HiMedia H8/Zidoo X6 > VidOn Box. Sorry, but to me, HiMedia Q5's Imprex engine PQ beats VTEN's VXP.
??? Not sure how setting the paths are complicated. I just copy and paste and I'm done with the path You just create a small database on the VTEN, then use NMJ2 for everything else. It's been quick and very versatile. I can add my own info and cover art etc.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #659 of 1018 Old 01-18-2016, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
MarkoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I never saw anything on my Sony UHD Tv displayed other than 1080P/24 or 3840 x 2160. I looked at several of my BD ISOs and several discs for the titles listed. Thanks. Because of this. I ended up watching Battle: Los Angeles (mastered in 4K) again. Which I had not planned.
Battle: Los Angeles is not the best for showcasing x.v.Color, you should watch Ghostbusters I and II and Fury (2014) 'Mastered in 4k'.

And did you get confirmation from your TV's OSD (on screen display) reading "HDMI x.v.Color' or something like that? VTEN should send xvYCC signal and TV should recognize it and explicitly state it - otherwise player is reproducing it in a regular YCbCr / Bt.709 color space (compatibility mode).

Edit: Make sure you are playing BD folder or ISO of a Sony produced title, explicitly designated as 'Mastered in 4k' (utilizes xvYCC).
MarkoM is offline  
post #660 of 1018 Old 01-18-2016, 12:08 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,129
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9448 Post(s)
Liked: 6133
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoM View Post
Battle: Los Angeles is not the best for showcasing x.v.Color, you should watch Ghostbusters I and II and Fury (2014) 'Mastered in 4k'.

And did you get confirmation from your TV's OSD (on screen display) reading "HDMI x.v.Color' or something like that? VTEN should send xvYCC signal and TV should recognize it and explicitly state it - otherwise player is reproducing it in a regular YCbCr / Bt.709 color space (compatibility mode).

Edit: Make sure you are playing BD folder or ISO of a Sony produced title, explicitly designated as 'Mastered in 4k' (utilizes xvYCC).
I tried those titles from Disc and the BD ISO(Well not Fury but Total Recall). I never saw anything on my Sony about an "xvYCC signal".

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off