NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 228 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3131Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6811 of 10826 Old 06-21-2018, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
The Live TV in Plex is about to get VERY good and resolve a lot of issues that some have been complaining about.
Yes, I'm waiting for it to hit the Shield. Right now I hardly use a DVR, but the workflow is HDHomeRun app in Live TV and the DVR in Plex. If Plex can get their act together then I'll be fine with just using Plex for TV/DVR. Still, the Live TV app needs fixed. It's not like a HDHR is a rare device for people to use. However, Google is probably on the verge of abandoning Android TV as a whole and it'll never be fixed.

bryansj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6812 of 10826 Old 06-21-2018, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Just wanted to mention... You do not HAVE to use Plex. It's a nice app with a ton of features but don't want you thinking it's required to access your networked files/movies. It's not.
Don't forget to say that Plex has a monthly fee for 'Plex pass' that allows the 'ton' of features.
Tfid is offline  
post #6813 of 10826 Old 06-21-2018, 12:21 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,409
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8960 Post(s)
Liked: 5739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
Don't forget to say that Plex has a monthly fee for 'Plex pass' that allows the 'ton' of features.
But whether you need those features depends on how you use Plex.

I tried Plex pass for a $1 or something for one month. I found that Plex Pass offered me nothing over the free version with how I use Plex. I only use Plex to view UHD BD rips, play music, and play back my TV recordings. For that, Plex Pass doesn't give me anything I need. Since the free version already works with all my content and does a great job playing it back and scraping my library to present info about it.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6814 of 10826 Old 06-21-2018, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
When are Google, Silicon Dust, and Nvidia going to stop pointing fingers and get this tuner release issue fixed?
Silicon Dust (HDHomeRun) has no incentive to get Google's Live Channels app to work with it. HDHomeRun has it's own app, guide and DVR functions that all work with a subscription service.
Tfid is offline  
post #6815 of 10826 Old 06-21-2018, 01:00 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 417
I don’t suppose an older (HDHR3-US) HD homerun would work with the shield?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is offline  
post #6816 of 10826 Old 06-21-2018, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I don’t suppose an older (HDHR3-US) HD homerun would work with the shield?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I believe that is the HD HomeRun Dual, which does not work with the Shield. I have one collecting Dust from my old Windows Media Center days.

The newer HD HomeRun Connect or Extend Tuners will work.
giomania likes this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 06-21-2018 at 01:13 PM.
groove93 is online now  
post #6817 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 03:25 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Not entirely sure where to ask this but, I'll start here since it seems to be a Shield/Plex issue. I recently upgraded to a 4K system and now I'm having an issue when watching Plex on the Shield. At times when I start a movie Plex transcodes the audio as PCM instead of HD-MA, TruHD, etc. When I hit the select button to bring up Plex info It will say “XXX is not supported by thid device”. If I switch inputs or restart the movie (maybe more than once) it will direct play normally. I’ve used three different HDMI cables all with the same results. Tried tuning off ARC, setting different HDMI modes in the Shield all with the same results. My system is a LG C8, Yamaha A3070 and the Shield (15 MY 16GB). Any ideas? I’m really regretting the upgrade at this point. I was hoping all the bugs would be sorted out by now which is the very reason I waited so long to go to 4K.
Stevetd is offline  
post #6818 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 06:47 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,409
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8960 Post(s)
Liked: 5739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Not entirely sure where to ask this but, I'll start here since it seems to be a Shield/Plex issue. I recently upgraded to a 4K system and now I'm having an issue when watching Plex on the Shield. At times when I start a movie Plex transcodes the audio as PCM instead of HD-MA, TruHD, etc. When I hit the select button to bring up Plex info It will say “XXX is not supported by thid device”. If I switch inputs or restart the movie (maybe more than once) it will direct play normally. I’ve used three different HDMI cables all with the same results. Tried tuning off ARC, setting different HDMI modes in the Shield all with the same results. My system is a LG C8, Yamaha A3070 and the Shield (15 MY 16GB). Any ideas? I’m really regretting the upgrade at this point. I was hoping all the bugs would be sorted out by now which is the very reason I waited so long to go to 4K.
Not sure what the issue would be. I only know that in my setup, my Shield TV has no issue bitstreaming the Advanced audio codecs from my UHD BD rips with Plex. Atmos and DTS:X show up fine as well as Dolby True HD and DTS-HD MA. And it works fine with my TV shows which have 5.1 DD.

My Plex server is only using a fourth gen Core i3. But since it's direct streaming to the Shield TV and not transcoding, that's not an issue.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6819 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
dboff01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Not entirely sure where to ask this but, I'll start here since it seems to be a Shield/Plex issue. I recently upgraded to a 4K system and now I'm having an issue when watching Plex on the Shield. At times when I start a movie Plex transcodes the audio as PCM instead of HD-MA, TruHD, etc. When I hit the select button to bring up Plex info It will say “XXX is not supported by thid device”. If I switch inputs or restart the movie (maybe more than once) it will direct play normally. I’ve used three different HDMI cables all with the same results. Tried tuning off ARC, setting different HDMI modes in the Shield all with the same results. My system is a LG C8, Yamaha A3070 and the Shield (15 MY 16GB). Any ideas? I’m really regretting the upgrade at this point. I was hoping all the bugs would be sorted out by now which is the very reason I waited so long to go to 4K.
I've been seeing the exact same behavior recently from my Plex/Shield/AV Receiver 1080p setup, so don't think 4K has any relevance. I've found rotating audio modes on my Denon x3300 receiver and returning to Plex will correct it, as will switching HDMI sources and back again, as you've indicated. I'm chalking it up to a Plex bug in communicating capabilities with my AV Receiver, as I can play the exact same sources from my Plex server (desktop PC) via Kodi or MrMC and they bitstream fine.
dboff01 is offline  
post #6820 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Not sure what the issue would be. I only know that in my setup, my Shield TV has no issue bitstreaming the Advanced audio codecs from my UHD BD rips with Plex. Atmos and DTS:X show up fine as well as Dolby True HD and DTS-HD MA. And it works fine with my TV shows which have 5.1 DD.

My Plex server is only using a fourth gen Core i3. But since it's direct streaming to the Shield TV and not transcoding, that's not an issue.
Aaron, will the Shield display PGS subtitles (usually found on Blu Ray discs) without requiring transcoding? Either with Plex, Kodi, or some other player for local media?

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6821 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Not sure what the issue would be. I only know that in my setup, my Shield TV has no issue bitstreaming the Advanced audio codecs from my UHD BD rips with Plex. Atmos and DTS:X show up fine as well as Dolby True HD and DTS-HD MA. And it works fine with my TV shows which have 5.1 DD.

My Plex server is only using a fourth gen Core i3. But since it's direct streaming to the Shield TV and not transcoding, that's not an issue.
Okay, that's interesting. What TV and AVR? My server is very powerful on a gigibit wired network so, that shouldn't be an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dboff01 View Post
I've been seeing the exact same behavior recently from my Plex/Shield/AV Receiver 1080p setup, so don't think 4K has any relevance. I've found rotating audio modes on my Denon x3300 receiver and returning to Plex will correct it, as will switching HDMI sources and back again, as you've indicated. I'm chalking it up to a Plex bug in communicating capabilities with my AV Receiver, as I can play the exact same sources from my Plex server (desktop PC) via Kodi or MrMC and they bitstream fine.
I should have mentioned that it happens on 2K rips as well as 4k rips. This never happened in my 1080p setup. I've went through every setting on the avr, tv and the shield. It's driving me bananas. Its not consistant either, except that if I start and stop a movie enough it will happen again. I hope it's a Plex bug as they are good at fixing things. Maybe Oreo will help too. Who knows.

Thanks for the replies.
Stevetd is offline  
post #6822 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
With Plex transcoding is part of the process while playing subtitles. With Kodi/SPMC/MrMc I do not believe that these programs will transcode.
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Aaron, will the Shield display PGS subtitles (usually found on Blu Ray discs) without requiring transcoding? Either with Plex, Kodi, or some other player for local media?
Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #6823 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
dboff01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Okay, that's interesting. What TV and AVR? My server is very powerful on a gigibit wired network so, that shouldn't be an issue.



I should have mentioned that it happens on 2K rips as well as 4k rips. This never happened in my 1080p setup. I've went through every setting on the avr, tv and the shield. It's driving me bananas. Its not consistant either, except that if I start and stop a movie enough it will happen again. I hope it's a Plex bug as they are good at fixing things. Maybe Oreo will help too. Who knows.

Thanks for the replies.
I'll note that this never used to happen on my 1080p setup until the last couple months. I have the same inconsistency. Being aware it is happening basically requires you see the indication on the AVR display that it is playing PCM (shows up as Multi or similar on my AVR). Then looking into the Plex stream status indicates it is transcoding because 'XXXX is not supported by your device', where XXXX can be DTS-HD, DTS, AC-3, Dolby TrueHD, etc. The timing of your upgrade may be coincidental to a Plex update that introduced this behavior.

While Plex is pretty good about squashing bugs, I poked around on the Plex forums and don't see an explicit thread about this behavior on the Shield. There are some that seem similar/related, but none that seem a direct hit. As such, it may be worth those of us experiencing this issue to capture a Plex log and provide to the devs. I've not done that yet (nor have ever submitted a log file to Plex).

Note I am already running the Oreo 7.0.1 preview release, and it has had no effect on this behavior.

Last edited by dboff01; 06-22-2018 at 08:41 AM.
dboff01 is offline  
post #6824 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
With Plex transcoding is part of the process while playing subtitles. With Kodi/SPMC/MrMc I do not believe that these programs will transcode.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Yeah, I was hoping the Shield would support PGS subtitles natively, like a Blu Ray player does and DVD players do with VOBSUB titles. My 4K rips have HDR, and transcoding will strip that from them.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6825 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
confinoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shaker Heights, OH
Posts: 1,938
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Liked: 1009
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
With Plex transcoding is part of the process while playing subtitles. With Kodi/SPMC/MrMc I do not believe that these programs will transcode.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Yeah, I was hoping the Shield would support PGS subtitles natively, like a Blu Ray player does and DVD players do with VOBSUB titles. My 4K rips have HDR, and transcoding will strip that from them.
Are you sure about this? I'm almost positive Plex on Shield supports PGS without transcoding. I'll go double check tonight. I think in the earlier Shield days it was not supported but then it was added.

LG OLED65C7P (Chad B Calibrated) | Denon X4300H | Tivo Roamio OTA | Nvidia Shield | ATV 4K | Oppo UDP-203 | Plex server
5.2.4 | Front Klipsch RP-160M x2 | Center Klipsch RP-450C | Surrounds Klipsch RP-150M x2 | Atmos Klipsch RP-140SA x 4 | Subs SVS PC-4000 x 2
confinoj is online now  
post #6826 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
I'll have to check myself, but I know in the past when I would play one of my Studio Ghibli movies with Subtitles, my Plex server would trancode to The shield.
Quote:
Originally Posted by confinoj View Post
Are you sure about this? I'm almost positive Plex on Shield supports PGS without transcoding. I'll go double check tonight. I think in the earlier Shield days it was not supported but then it was added.
Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Update: You are correct @confinoj , no transcoding on the Shield now.


Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 06-22-2018 at 12:07 PM.
groove93 is online now  
post #6827 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Excellent, thanks for checking!
groove93 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6828 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Plex on the Shield absolutely direct-plays PGS subs. Vobsubs too so long as they're not zlib-compressed. It's had that capability at least since I purchased it last August.
tppytel is online now  
post #6829 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
FlyOnTheWall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Yes, I'm waiting for it to hit the Shield. Right now I hardly use a DVR, but the workflow is HDHomeRun app in Live TV and the DVR in Plex. If Plex can get their act together then I'll be fine with just using Plex for TV/DVR. Still, the Live TV app needs fixed. It's not like a HDHR is a rare device for people to use. However, Google is probably on the verge of abandoning Android TV as a whole and it'll never be fixed.


have you tried EMBY, vs Plex? Wondering your thoughts. I loaded Emby on the shield, and seems to work great. DVR works nice as well.
FlyOnTheWall is offline  
post #6830 of 10826 Old 06-22-2018, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
adam355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
However, Google is probably on the verge of abandoning Android TV as a whole and it'll never be fixed.
Quite the opposite.

https://www.androidpolice.com/2018/0...es-android-tv/
aaronwt likes this.
adam355 is offline  
post #6831 of 10826 Old 06-23-2018, 06:31 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,409
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8960 Post(s)
Liked: 5739
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Aaron, will the Shield display PGS subtitles (usually found on Blu Ray discs) without requiring transcoding? Either with Plex, Kodi, or some other player for local media?
I've only had burned in sub titles on the movies I've ripped so far. I know I can select from any of the closed caption tracks that were ripped with the movie. Since I rip all English subtitles tracks and all English audio tracks. There is no transcoding going on when displaying those captions that Im aware of. It seems no different than playing back my 2k BD ISO rips. Where You can select any of the following caption tracks. Except that with my UHD MKV rips, I only have English captions to choose from. While my 2K BD ISOs have all the language captions available.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 06-23-2018 at 06:34 AM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #6832 of 10826 Old 06-25-2018, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,765
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam355 View Post
Nice, thanks for sharing that's encouraging. I have experienced the struggles the article mentions. Being an early adopter with the under powered Nexus Player. Don't have that issue with the Shield but happy to hear software development is moving forward.

Last edited by whiteboy714; 06-25-2018 at 01:08 PM.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #6833 of 10826 Old 06-25-2018, 09:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Leftardia Kommiefornia
Posts: 9,647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 1094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Not entirely sure where to ask this but, I'll start here since it seems to be a Shield/Plex issue. I recently upgraded to a 4K system and now I'm having an issue when watching Plex on the Shield. At times when I start a movie Plex transcodes the audio as PCM instead of HD-MA, TruHD, etc. When I hit the select button to bring up Plex info It will say “XXX is not supported by thid device”. If I switch inputs or restart the movie (maybe more than once) it will direct play normally. I’ve used three different HDMI cables all with the same results. Tried tuning off ARC, setting different HDMI modes in the Shield all with the same results. My system is a LG C8, Yamaha A3070 and the Shield (15 MY 16GB). Any ideas? I’m really regretting the upgrade at this point. I was hoping all the bugs would be sorted out by now which is the very reason I waited so long to go to 4K.
Yes this is a known issue on the Plex forums, I have it too and I only have 1080p system, also this occurs on lossy tracks as well doesn't have to be lossless or object base. Ever since they started to use 'Exo player II" things have been dicey for many. I've been using Kodi forks with Plex add on and no issue there. Also uninstalling the updates will fix this issue, but might remove certain features that you use.

De sagittis Hungarorum libera nos, Domine!

Attention, don't read my posts if you're a snowflake or easily offended.

The Hun
thehun is offline  
post #6834 of 10826 Old 06-26-2018, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehun View Post
Yes this is a known issue on the Plex forums, I have it too and I only have 1080p system, also this occurs on lossy tracks as well doesn't have to be lossless or object base. Ever since they started to use 'Exo player II" things have been dicey for many. I've been using Kodi forks with Plex add on and no issue there. Also uninstalling the updates will fix this issue, but might remove certain features that you use.
Thanks for the info! That's great news. I haven't had time to head over there to look. I'm confident they'll sort it out.
Stevetd is offline  
post #6835 of 10826 Old 06-26-2018, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
cuibap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehun View Post
Yes this is a known issue on the Plex forums, I have it too and I only have 1080p system, also this occurs on lossy tracks as well doesn't have to be lossless or object base. Ever since they started to use 'Exo player II" things have been dicey for many. I've been using Kodi forks with Plex add on and no issue there. Also uninstalling the updates will fix this issue, but might remove certain features that you use.
Hi, can you share how to install Kodi with Plex add-on? Do I need to pay for Plex premium account for this?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-X940E; Yamaha RX-A1060; Nvidia Shield TV; OPPO BDP-93; Yamaha RX-A1070
cuibap is offline  
post #6836 of 10826 Old 06-26-2018, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,560
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 374
About an hour ago, my SHIELD TV turned itself on and was playing a commercial for Dr. Pimple Popper. I'm not sure why it happened, but it did.
aaronwt likes this.
LexInVA is offline  
post #6837 of 10826 Old 06-26-2018, 05:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
In general, how has everyone found the Shield in terms of reliability? I have had the shield for a while but am only now really starting to use as a switch from Cable to YouTube TV. I have noticed on a couple of occasions when I turned everything on the Shield was frozen / non responsive. It was a simple unplug and plug back in to fix, but not really ideal if this becomes a frequent occurrence.

From reading briefly through this thread, it sounds like as of now NVidia has not announced a new shield anytime soon with updated hardware, is that correct? I would like to pick up another Shield down the road, but the price is a bit stiff considering the hardware is aging (and I have plenty of alternatives for my setups).
When I had SPMC and Kodi installed I would see that, uninstalled Kodi and Ben fine ever since. I have 2 of the 2017 version and both are great. As with any open OS apps are a big factor in stability.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #6838 of 10826 Old 06-26-2018, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Leftardia Kommiefornia
Posts: 9,647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 1094
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuibap View Post
Hi, can you share how to install Kodi with Plex add-on? Do I need to pay for Plex premium account for this?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
No just regular free version. You just select Plex from the "Add on" menu from Kodi's repository that is already should be installed on your Shield, and follow instructions on the screen. You will see a four digit authorization code that must be entered on your PC on the address provided by Plex, and you done,Plex will link your account automatically so no sign in will need. It will look very similar to the regular Plex screen, but the player controls will be different.

I use this Kodi fork : MrMC not the actual Kodi app, the procedure is the same once you install it from the play store.


https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...d=tv.mrmc.mrmc

De sagittis Hungarorum libera nos, Domine!

Attention, don't read my posts if you're a snowflake or easily offended.

The Hun

Last edited by thehun; 06-26-2018 at 07:48 PM.
thehun is offline  
post #6839 of 10826 Old 06-27-2018, 06:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Shield Upgrade Experience 7.0 to roll out to all users today as per Nvidia's Twitter account.
aaronwt and shoman94 like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #6840 of 10826 Old 06-27-2018, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
DVD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Is the Nvidia Shield the only media box that allows Direct Play?

Home Theater: Stewart -100” 4 Way Sreenwall Electric Masking, JVC-DLA-NX9 Tivo Vox, Oppo-UDP-205, Roku 4K Ultra, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic UB9000 , Marantz AV8802A-7.1 SSP, Ayre K5 MP Stereo Pre Amp, Clearaudio Concept Turntable, Schitt Audio Phono Pre Amp, Rotel RB-1070, Rotel RMB-1095, Rotel RB-933, Ayre-V5xe,Vandersteen-3A Signature-Front LR, Vandersteen-VCC-5-Center, Vandersteen-VSM-Surrounds and Atmos, Dual SVS PB16 Ultras Subwoofers.
DVD MAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off