NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 254 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3141Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7591 of 10867 Old 08-20-2018, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
I can not comment on Vudu as it is not an available streaming service in Canada. So I am not sure if it will change the colour space or not. I do know that the Netflix app will not change the colour space as I have tried that one.

As for upscaling - I find using Kodi or Netflix with a 1080P source looks worse on the Shield then it does on my Oppo.

Best for you to try it out and see if it works for your needs. Maybe it will and maybe it won't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJBBJB View Post
Thanks a lot for that! I will definitely put it through its paces over the next 30 days.

Odd that you cannot tell shield to not upscale its apps or Kodi. O well.

Any suggestion on 8 or 10 bit, 4:4:4 setting?
I know several X940D Sony owners moved to the shield when fed up with the internal apps. Perhaps they will chime in.


Thanks,
BJBBJB
When you plug the shield in it will automatically suggest what setting you should be using so I left it on that.

There may be an option somewhere to tell it not to upscale but because of the colour space issue that I have I always use the Oppo for 1080P sources. It works awesome for me to play my 4K MKV files and that's the main reason I Purchased it.

I have read from one poster that they did not have the colour space issue while using it with their Sony TV. Not sure how that works for them but I have a JVC projector and I haven't been able to figure anything out as of yet.
coxy2416 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7592 of 10867 Old 08-20-2018, 06:15 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,454
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8985 Post(s)
Liked: 5759
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJBBJB View Post
Thanks a lot for that! I will definitely put it through its paces over the next 30 days.

Odd that you cannot tell shield to not upscale its apps or Kodi. O well.

Any suggestion on 8 or 10 bit, 4:4:4 setting?
I know several X940D Sony owners moved to the shield when fed up with the internal apps. Perhaps they will chime in.


Thanks,
BJBBJB
Sony's do not have a problem with the Shield color space. Set it for 10 bit bt2020 and it will look correct for HDR and SDR content.

I don't have any color space issues with my Sony 850C and the Shield.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
psuKinger and groove93 like this.

53TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #7593 of 10867 Old 08-20-2018, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
BJBBJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Sony's do not have a problem with the Shield color space. Set it for 10 bit bt2020 and it will look correct for HDR and SDR content.

I don't have any color space issues with my Sony 850C and the Shield.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Thanks!
BJBBJB
BJBBJB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7594 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 12:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,714
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4387 Post(s)
Liked: 2453
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Sony's do not have a problem with the Shield color space. Set it for 10 bit bt2020 and it will look correct for HDR and SDR content.

I don't have any color space issues with my Sony 850C and the Shield.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
I wonder if the Vizio's have issues with the color space issue as well?

lujan
516 Ultra HD
727 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7595 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 01:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WereWolf84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 170
can the nvidia shield perform the HDR to SDR BT.2020 tone mapping (direct playback via Plex no transcoding) flawlessly like the Panasonic UB900/820 ?

WereWolf84 is offline  
post #7596 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,073
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4227 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by WereWolf84 View Post
can the nvidia shield perform the HDR to SDR BT.2020 tone mapping (direct playback via Plex no transcoding) flawlessly like the Panasonic UB900/820 ?



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2s5SN2pIw2Q


The picture will be washed out.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #7597 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by WereWolf84 View Post
can the nvidia shield perform the HDR to SDR BT.2020 tone mapping (direct playback via Plex no transcoding) flawlessly like the Panasonic UB900/820 ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2s5SN2pIw2Q
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
The picture will be washed out.
The beta version of Kodi 18 I have on my computer can now do tone mapping. This means it should work once released to the Shield but I am not sure how good it will look.
aaronwt likes this.
coxy2416 is offline  
post #7598 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 10:20 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,454
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8985 Post(s)
Liked: 5759
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I wonder if the Vizio's have issues with the color space issue as well?
That is one thing I was wondering. Since I have been seriously considering getting the Vizio P series Quantum set to replace my 2015 Sony 850C.

53TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 08-21-2018 at 10:26 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #7599 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,073
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4227 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
The beta version of Kodi 18 I have on my computer can now do tone mapping. This means it should work once released to the Shield but I am not sure how good it will look.


Plex doesn’t tone map though. It should but it’s rather limited in that way.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #7600 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 636
I keep running into a annoying issue with Plex on the Shield. Sometimes when starting a movie that has TrueHD/Atmos, DTS Master/DTS-X my Denon AVR will see it as Dolby Digital+. Just have to stop the movie ...sometimes kill the Plex APP and start movie and its correct. Its like the Plex/Shield sometimes doesn't 'passthru' like it normally does.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #7601 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Plex doesn’t tone map though. It should but it’s rather limited in that way.

Yeah, when i try to play a 4k/HDR file via Plex or Kodi on the Shield on my 1080p projector the image is noticeably washed out. So far as I can tell no mapping is happening.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #7602 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
christoffeldg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1310 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Hey guys, I'm wondering. Can the Shield really run 100GB 4k Blurays through the network without a problem? I've been thinking of ripping my 4k blurays and utilizing the shield for my second room. But I don't want to go through the pain of needing more power and regretting the purchase.

Video: Sony VPL-VW760ES, Elite screen Aeon 135" Cinewhite + JVC X7900, Magicscreen Reference ALR 120"
Speakers: Bowers and Wilkins 802 D3 front, JBL 580, JBL 520c, JBL 550p
Amplifiers: Lyngdorf stereo TDAI 2170, Lyngdorf SDA 2400, Denon 4300H Home Theatre
Equipment: PC/PS4/Xbox One/Switch/Synology 2415+
christoffeldg is offline  
post #7603 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoffeldg View Post
Hey guys, I'm wondering. Can the Shield really run 100GB 4k Blurays through the network without a problem? I've been thinking of ripping my 4k blurays and utilizing the shield for my second room. But I don't want to go through the pain of needing more power and regretting the purchase.
Yes it can. Not sure if there are really many, if any, 100GB UHD rips. Most are in the 40GB to 60GB range.

If you can maintain direct playback with your system then there isn't much power needed to make this happen. If you have crappy WiFi instead of Ethernet then you might have an issue.

bryansj is offline  
post #7604 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 02:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,454
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8985 Post(s)
Liked: 5759
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoffeldg View Post
Hey guys, I'm wondering. Can the Shield really run 100GB 4k Blurays through the network without a problem? I've been thinking of ripping my 4k blurays and utilizing the shield for my second room. But I don't want to go through the pain of needing more power and regretting the purchase.
Yes. No problem. The absolute highest bitrate a UHD BD could have is 128Mb/s with a triple layer disc(BD-100). Which is nothing for a modern hard drive and gigabit network. And 108 Mb/s with a dual layer BD-66 disc. ANd 82 Mb/s with a dual layer BD-50 disc. I've also played test videos over the network with a much higher bitrate than those and my Shield had no issues with playback.

53TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #7605 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I wonder if the Vizio's have issues with the color space issue as well?
My Vizio P series properly displays 709 colorspace when I set the Shield to 2020. Other Vizio P series owners have stated the same.
aaronwt likes this.
smhealey is offline  
post #7606 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
christoffeldg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1310 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes. No problem. The absolute highest bitrate a UHD BD could have is 128Mb/s with a triple layer disc(BD-100). Which is nothing for a modern hard drive and gigabit network. And 108 Mb/s with a dual layer BD-66 disc. ANd 82 Mb/s with a dual layer BD-50 disc. I've also played test videos over the network with a much higher bitrate than those and my Shield had no issues with playback.
I'm more concerned over the CPU power needed for decoding. My rather fast i7 CPU of my HTPC can't handle it (In software mode), while my network connection can.

Everything is wired, so no concern there.

Video: Sony VPL-VW760ES, Elite screen Aeon 135" Cinewhite + JVC X7900, Magicscreen Reference ALR 120"
Speakers: Bowers and Wilkins 802 D3 front, JBL 580, JBL 520c, JBL 550p
Amplifiers: Lyngdorf stereo TDAI 2170, Lyngdorf SDA 2400, Denon 4300H Home Theatre
Equipment: PC/PS4/Xbox One/Switch/Synology 2415+
christoffeldg is offline  
post #7607 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,714
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4387 Post(s)
Liked: 2453
Quote:
Originally Posted by smhealey View Post
My Vizio P series properly displays 709 colorspace when I set the Shield to 2020. Other Vizio P series owners have stated the same.
Good to hear...

lujan
516 Ultra HD
727 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7608 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoffeldg View Post
I'm more concerned over the CPU power needed for decoding. My rather fast i7 CPU of my HTPC can't handle it (In software mode), while my network connection can.

Everything is wired, so no concern there.
No decoding necessary. The Shield can play UHD titles without transcoding. I've seen peak rates hitting about 110 Mbps, with most steady average bitrates around 60-70. My Serviio server is sending without touching anything. I get full HDR and TrueHD/Atmos and DTS:X on my Yamaha AVR. My server is an i5 with 8 gig of ram. Doesn't even blink an eye.
lockdown571, groove93 and azz7686 like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #7609 of 10867 Old 08-21-2018, 08:18 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,454
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8985 Post(s)
Liked: 5759
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoffeldg View Post
I'm more concerned over the CPU power needed for decoding. My rather fast i7 CPU of my HTPC can't handle it (In software mode), while my network connection can.

Everything is wired, so no concern there.
You shouldn't need much CPU power. The SHield is doing the decoding. All the PC is doing is streaming the file. My 4th gen core i3 has no problem feeding my SHield TV my UHD MKV rips. The CPU is barely used. And I have zero issues streaming from my even older, low power CPUs in my unRAID setups.

EDIT: I just checked. My gen 4, Core i3 has around 15% CPU Utilization when streaming a UHD MKV rip to PLEX on my Shield TV.
smhealey likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 08-21-2018 at 08:30 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #7610 of 10867 Old 08-22-2018, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5937
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Sony's do not have a problem with the Shield color space. Set it for 10 bit bt2020 and it will look correct for HDR and SDR content.

I don't have any color space issues with my Sony 850C and the Shield.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
That is how I roll with my A8F OLED. UHD HDR files, I set the Shield to 2160p/24 BT 2020 10 bit. HDR is great, comes out at 4k/24 with lossless audio (Using Kodi 17). If it is a 1080p MKV, I was forcing 1080p/24 so the Shield was not scaling, my display was, but now I play all 1080p/24 stuff with the ATV4K and Infuse Pro.

I think the Shield scaling lacks, where the new version of Infuse Pro does well, but for 2160p output of UHD content, I think the Shield looks pretty dang good.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #7611 of 10867 Old 08-22-2018, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
BJBBJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
That is how I roll with my A8F OLED. UHD HDR files, I set the Shield to 2160p/24 BT 2020 10 bit. HDR is great, comes out at 4k/24 with lossless audio (Using Kodi 17). If it is a 1080p MKV, I was forcing 1080p/24 so the Shield was not scaling, my display was, but now I play all 1080p/24 stuff with the ATV4K and Infuse Pro.

I think the Shield scaling lacks, where the new version of Infuse Pro does well, but for 2160p output of UHD content, I think the Shield looks pretty dang good.
Thanks. Would that setting be correct for app-based viewing also?

I was also trying to figure out if the 1080p to 4k upscaling issue was only with Kodi or with typical streaming apps like vudu and amazon ?

I probably won't mess with Kodi for a while.
BJBBJB
BJBBJB is offline  
post #7612 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 234
I'm having an issue with Netflix on my 65XBR900E. With the Shield outputting 4k 2020 12bit Netflix will not output at 4k, just HD. I have to set it at 10bit 4:2:0 to get Netflix 4k. Anyone else have this problem?

I could use the TV's built in Netflix app but it's just slow (like everything else on this TV).

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #7613 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I'm having an issue with Netflix on my 65XBR900E. With the Shield outputting 4k 2020 12bit Netflix will not output at 4k, just HD. I have to set it at 10bit 4:2:0 to get Netflix 4k. Anyone else have this problem?

I could use the TV's built in Netflix app but it's just slow (like everything else on this TV).
I have the 55x900e. It is connected to an Oppo 203.

Minus the 203 here were my initial settings:

Shield
Set to 3840x2160 @60hz
BT2020 420 10bit

TV
Colorspace set to Auto
HDR set to Auto
HDMI set to Limited

Shield is connected to HDMI port 3 of TV


Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #7614 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJBBJB View Post
Thanks. Would that setting be correct for app-based viewing also?

I was also trying to figure out if the 1080p to 4k upscaling issue was only with Kodi or with typical streaming apps like vudu and amazon ?

I probably won't mess with Kodi for a while.
BJBBJB
IMHO the preferred method for using the Shield with Kodi/SPMC/MRMC is to set the shield to bt2020 4k 10bit @60hz. In the app (Kodi/SPMC/MRMC) set the resolution to 1080 and auto refresh rate enabled.


This will play all 1080 FHD in native resolution and refresh rate allowing the TV to handle upscaling. It will also play 4k UHD at native resolution and proper refresh rate. Vizio and Sony TV's will handle the proper colorspace for 709 (otherwise you may want to manually change the shield to the colorspace 709/2020 ) most common for the material you watch. Setting the base resolution and colorspace let the app do or do not with the rest works for Kodi/SPMC/MRMC.
groove93 likes this.
smhealey is offline  
post #7615 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I have the 55x900e. It is connected to an Oppo 203.

Minus the 203 here were my initial settings:

Shield
Set to 3840x2160 @60hz
BT2020 420 10bit

TV
Colorspace set to Auto
HDR set to Auto
HDMI set to Limited

Shield is connected to HDMI port 3 of TV


Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Wouldn't BT2020 422 12bit be better?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #7616 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
I've always had my Shield set up in this manner, even now as it is connected to my Oppo 203's HDMI Input.

I'm able to get HDR to work for Netflix, Vudu, and Amazon.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #7617 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I've always had my Shield set up in this manner, even now as it is connected to my Oppo 203's HDMI Input.

I'm able to get HDR to work for Netflix, Vudu, and Amazon.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
HDR works in 12bit 2020, Netflix just isn't 4k. 10bit works fine.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
post #7618 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Creator44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by smhealey View Post
IMHO the preferred method for using the Shield with Kodi/SPMC/MRMC is to set the shield to bt2020 4k 10bit @60hz. In the app (Kodi/SPMC/MRMC) set the resolution to 1080 and auto refresh rate enabled.


This will play all 1080 FHD in native resolution and refresh rate allowing the TV to handle upscaling. It will also play 4k UHD at native resolution and proper refresh rate. Vizio and Sony TV's will handle the proper colorspace for 709 (otherwise you may want to manually change the shield to the colorspace 709/2020 ) most common for the material you watch. Setting the base resolution and colorspace let the app do or do not with the rest works for Kodi/SPMC/MRMC.
I concur with this. I did a lot of testing to compare Kodi on the shield tv to madVR on PC and Dune HD Solo 4K player and during these tests I tried to understand what in the shield is called "blurry" by lots of people.

I found out that it seems like it's when it needs to scale, either upscale or downscale, but it's way worst when Kodi on the shield UPscale than when it DOWNscale.

By the way, Kodi v18 Leia that I use permits you to have the Kodi GUI in 4K 60hz (or 59.94Hz like I prefer to use it) AND it will switch to 1080p on 1080p source because they added a whitelist where you select a list of [email protected] detected by Kodi that your TV support. It also plays 25 fps files @25Hz and not 50Hz and 29.97 fps files @29.97Hz and not at @59.94Hz which I find pretty nice even if the difference is probably nothing in quality since one is just doubling the time each frames appear probably. Also, that last part might already be there on Kodi v17, I didn't notice.

On my OLED I just select all the 1080p and all the 4k options in the whitelist of Kodi and the TV will do the scaling for 1080p sources.

I know the LG OLEDs are not known for their upscaling quality but to my eyes the quality is close to madVR even and WAY better than what Kodi itself does. In fact the upscaling of Kodi on the shield is by far the worst of all the tests I did (madVR, Dune HD Solo 4K and Kodi on Shield).

So yeah, if your tv is half decent at upscaling let it do the job or use something else in the chain for upscaling.

I have two questions though:

1) Does the colorspace issue happens on an LG OLED C7? I set it to limited, auto colorspace and auto hdr. I didn't do tests to try and see color differences in details yet but was wondering if it's the case? If so what's the best setting to put the shield at if I don't want to switch it everytime on that TV?

2) Is the bad PQ on upscaling with Kodi on the shield due to the Shield or Kodi? My guess would be Kodi?

I'll probably try to upscale with Kodi on the PC to try and respond to question #2 .
Creator44 is offline  
post #7619 of 10867 Old 08-23-2018, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
BJBBJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by smhealey View Post
IMHO the preferred method for using the Shield with Kodi/SPMC/MRMC is to set the shield to bt2020 4k 10bit @60hz. In the app (Kodi/SPMC/MRMC) set the resolution to 1080 and auto refresh rate enabled.


This will play all 1080 FHD in native resolution and refresh rate allowing the TV to handle upscaling. It will also play 4k UHD at native resolution and proper refresh rate. Vizio and Sony TV's will handle the proper colorspace for 709 (otherwise you may want to manually change the shield to the colorspace 709/2020 ) most common for the material you watch. Setting the base resolution and colorspace let the app do or do not with the rest works for Kodi/SPMC/MRMC.
Smheal ,
Thanks. What about for 4k UHD and 10i0p from Vudu and Amazona? Still bt2020 4k 10bit @60hz?

I have seen a few different thoughts.
Thanks,
BJBBJB
BJBBJB is offline  
post #7620 of 10867 Old 08-24-2018, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,605
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1506 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Sony's do not have a problem with the Shield color space. Set it for 10 bit bt2020 and it will look correct for HDR and SDR content.

I don't have any color space issues with my Sony 850C and the Shield.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
+1 and another Vote of Confidence for HDR-to-SDR mapping working well on Sony's. I have a 940E and haven't had the "washed out" / tone-mapping issues for many months now.
psuKinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off