NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 284 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4630Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8491 of 14252 Old 11-21-2018, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1657 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
How did you get kodi 18 on to your shield?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Just download it from Kodi.tv, copy to a thumb drive, then install it from the thumb drive. There's one or two security settings that have to be changed to allow installing apps locally, rather than from the Play Store. And you have to have an app that allows browsing the thumb drive. I think the one I have is called ES File Explorer.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8492 of 14252 Old 11-21-2018, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,837
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Just download it from Kodi.tv, copy to a thumb drive, then install it from the thumb drive.
Another way... If you have remote storage you can install/update it from there.

| 125" Projection - 5.2.4 Audio - Dual boot ODROID-N2 CoreELEC 4K Media Player / Ubuntu Media Server | 65" OLED TV - TiVo - Fire TV 4K |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
post #8493 of 14252 Old 11-21-2018, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
JGrana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 149
16GB Shield on sale at Ebay - $119 and free shipping
Best Buy via Ebay with coupon code PICKFAST
aaronwt likes this.
JGrana is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8494 of 14252 Old 11-22-2018, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1902 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Just download it from Kodi.tv, copy to a thumb drive, then install it from the thumb drive. There's one or two security settings that have to be changed to allow installing apps locally, rather than from the Play Store. And you have to have an app that allows browsing the thumb drive. I think the one I have is called ES File Explorer.
vertical shift is now missing from the latest android build of kodi.

this is getting super irritating.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #8495 of 14252 Old 11-22-2018, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,430
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1760 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
Another way... If you have remote storage you can install/update it from there.
I just signed up for Kodi beta access and my Kodi 17 from the play store got a version 18 pushed through as an update.

bryansj is offline  
post #8496 of 14252 Old 11-22-2018, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1902 Post(s)
Liked: 635
NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
vertical shift is now missing from the latest android build of kodi.



this is getting super irritating.

Ok I found a way around this

Set zoom to 1.35 and use video calibration to bring the bottom of the screen up by 240 (no idea what that number means)

Or stretch Instead of zoom if it was encoded without the black bars.

No idea what I am doing to video quality with all this manipulation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by JRock3x8; 11-22-2018 at 06:50 PM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #8497 of 14252 Old 11-23-2018, 03:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I just signed up for Kodi beta access and my Kodi 17 from the play store got a version 18 pushed through as an update.
Are there any big changes? I currently use Kodi 17 with no issues so I can't see wanting to upgrade unless there are some benefits?
coxy2416 is offline  
post #8498 of 14252 Old 11-23-2018, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,837
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I just signed up for Kodi beta access and my Kodi 17 from the play store got a version 18 pushed through as an update.
Yeah I was signed up as such on one of my previous Shields. Not sure I went through a major release though... does it keep 17 and 18 installed or does it nix 17?

| 125" Projection - 5.2.4 Audio - Dual boot ODROID-N2 CoreELEC 4K Media Player / Ubuntu Media Server | 65" OLED TV - TiVo - Fire TV 4K |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
post #8499 of 14252 Old 11-23-2018, 12:35 PM
Member
 
seiji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can't seem to stream dolby atmos on Amazon Prime video or Vudu anybody having that problem?
seiji is offline  
post #8500 of 14252 Old 11-23-2018, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,362
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1309 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by seiji View Post
I can't seem to stream dolby atmos on Amazon Prime video or Vudu anybody having that problem?
Both apps steaming Atmos on my end.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8501 of 14252 Old 11-23-2018, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1212 Post(s)
Liked: 1126
Quote:
Originally Posted by seiji View Post
I can't seem to stream dolby atmos on Amazon Prime video or Vudu anybody having that problem?
No problem getting ATMOS on both here...

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #8502 of 14252 Old 11-23-2018, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,711
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
I just signed up for Kodi beta access and my Kodi 17 from the play store got a version 18 pushed through as an update.
I never signed up for beta access, but received the Kodi 18 update a couple of weeks ago as well.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is offline  
post #8503 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
I never signed up for beta access, but received the Kodi 18 update a couple of weeks ago as well.
Are there any major updates or advantages to using 18 vs 17?
coxy2416 is offline  
post #8504 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
beerhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Isn't kodi a native app (preinstalled) for the 2017 Shield TV? I couldn't find it in settings>device>apps/system apps

Last edited by beerhunt; 11-25-2018 at 07:52 AM. Reason: left out info
beerhunt is offline  
post #8505 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1657 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
Are there any major updates or advantages to using 18 vs 17?
I'm sure there's quite a bit, but the one thing I've noticed compared to 17 is that it will play one movie after another without action. With 17, it always returned to the movie list when one finished. TV episodes would play continuous if I remember correctly, but movies didn't.

That said, I installed 18 beta almost immediately after I bought my Shield, so didn't really use 17 much. I might have just overlooked a setting somewhere.
coxy2416 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #8506 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 01:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Have Sony 900F and using Shield (Kodi-Netflix-Hulu) to stream mostly 1080p movies. Is it better to set Shield resolution to 1080 and let the TV perform upscaling?
killbill07 is offline  
post #8507 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1657 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by killbill07 View Post
Have Sony 900F and using Shield (Kodi-Netflix-Hulu) to stream mostly 1080p movies. Is it better to set Shield resolution to 1080 and let the TV perform upscaling?
That's what some say. And Kodi is capable of sending 4K native even when the Shield is set to 1080. Can't say if that can happen with Netflix or Hulu.
killbill07 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #8508 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
beerhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 50
@KillBill ....go into the settings > device > Display & sound, then it will reveal the recommend resolution
beerhunt is offline  
post #8509 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerhunt View Post
@KillBill ....go into the settings > device > Display & sound, then it will reveal the recommend resolution
Thanks
Recommended res is 4K 59.940 Hz by default. I was wondering if users here achieved better picture quality with setting it to 1080p 59.940 Hz and let tv do upscaling. I guess that depends on the app as well (Netflix vs Kodi)
killbill07 is offline  
post #8510 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
beerhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 50
@KillBill ....I am just a novice at this stuff, but from what I have read about the Shield TV's upscaling ( not so good) then let the TV do it!
killbill07 likes this.
beerhunt is offline  
post #8511 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1902 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Somewhat off topic but the shield home screen looks like ass in 4k


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #8512 of 14252 Old 11-25-2018, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,624
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 921 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by killbill07 View Post
Have Sony 900F and using Shield (Kodi-Netflix-Hulu) to stream mostly 1080p movies. Is it better to set Shield resolution to 1080 and let the TV perform upscaling?
In your case, yes. Let the Sony do the upscaling.
sjm817 is offline  
post #8513 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1902 Post(s)
Liked: 635
FYI deals on the shield just keep getting hotter. Look at slickdeals.net for details.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aaronwt likes this.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #8514 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,331
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1756 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Somewhat off topic but the shield home screen looks like ass in 4k


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
In what way? Color, resolution?
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #8515 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 09:11 AM
Member
 
zzoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerhunt View Post
@KillBill ....go into the settings > device > Display & sound, then it will reveal the recommend resolution
If I want my TV handling the 4K upscaling, instead of Shield. Should I just set Shield resolution to 1080p or just set Kodi to output 1080p or both at the same time ?
zzoo is offline  
post #8516 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,362
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1309 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzoo View Post
If I want my TV handling the 4K upscaling, instead of Shield. Should I just set Shield resolution to 1080p or just set Kodi to output 1080p or both at the same time ?
I noticed you posted in the x900F forum. Since you have a Sony, I would just leave it alone. Keep the Shield at 3120x2160.

On the TV, set HDR to "Auto", Colorspace to "Auto" and RGB to "Limited".
Note that the Shield does not have the ability to switch Colorspace from rec 709 to bt2020, and vise/versa. The Sony is great at handling scaling and colorspace (at least in my experience).

If you use Kodi/SPMC/MrMC, set the resolution within the App to 1080p. This will allow for any 1080p content to display at this resolution. Any 4k Content viewed through one of these apps will leave the resolution at 3120x2160. Also enable Refresh Rate switching within the app as well. This will allow for 24p content to play at the correct refresh rate, and thus allow the TV to switch to "Cinema Home" or Cinema Pro".

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8517 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1902 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
In what way? Color, resolution?


Both. Looks really muddy


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #8518 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,624
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 921 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzoo View Post
If I want my TV handling the 4K upscaling, instead of Shield. Should I just set Shield resolution to 1080p or just set Kodi to output 1080p or both at the same time ?
If Kodi is not the only app you use, set the Shield to 1080P. You want the Sony to upscale to 4K, not the Shield.
sjm817 is offline  
post #8519 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cliff Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by killbill07 View Post
Thanks
Recommended res is 4K 59.940 Hz by default. I was wondering if users here achieved better picture quality with setting it to 1080p 59.940 Hz and let tv do upscaling. I guess that depends on the app as well (Netflix vs Kodi)
Nothing on the Shield will touch the up-scaler in your TV (it would take a pretty crappy TV for any software on the Shield to do a better job). I leave it on 1080p/59.94Hz; 8-bit; 4:4:4 until I watch something in 4k/HDR. Then I just click the recommended resolution (4k/59.94Hz; 10-bit; 4:2:0). I filter the results in the advanced settings to include only 1080p, 4:4:4 and 8-bit to make it easy to change it back to 1080. Still a bit of a pain but it is what it is.

EDIT: I don't use Kodi and I know there are users whom are happy with the up-scaling that it provides. So ignore my advice if using Kodi. Or you can experiment and see what you prefer.
Cliff Olson is offline  
post #8520 of 14252 Old 11-26-2018, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,624
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 921 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliff Olson View Post
Nothing on the Shield will touch the up-scaler in your TV (it would take a pretty crappy TV for any software on the Shield to do a better job). I leave it on 1080p/59.94Hz; 8-bit; 4:4:4 until I watch something in 4k/HDR. Then I just click the recommended resolution (4k/59.94Hz; 10-bit; 4:2:0). I filter the results in the advanced settings to include only 1080p, 4:4:4 and 8-bit to make it easy to change it back to 1080. Still a bit of a pain but it is what it is.

EDIT: I don't use Kodi and I know there are users whom are happy with the up-scaling that it provides. So ignore my advice if using Kodi. Or you can experiment and see what you prefer.
Kodi upscalers are nothing special. There was a special fork called SPMC that had advanced upscalers. Another fork, MrMC also has the advanced scalers. I dont use my Shield for anything 4K and just leave it set to 1080P and have the Sony do the upscale.
sjm817 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off