NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 294 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4133Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8791 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,236
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4035 Post(s)
Liked: 3748
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
The Shield already has framerate switching, but apps have to support it. There was some reddit post a couple weeks ago that claimed 7.2 was bringing system wide frame rate switching, color space switching, and better upscaling, but that was all BS.
So if I want 24Hz playback from Netflix I have to set the Shield to output that framerate and not rely on the Netflix app to do it?
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8792 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
So if I want 24Hz playback from Netflix I have to set the Shield to output that framerate and not rely on the Netflix app to do it?
Correct.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #8793 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
So if I want 24Hz playback from Netflix I have to set the Shield to output that framerate and not rely on the Netflix app to do it?


Which is ridiculous. They need to fix this already.

LG OLED65C7P - Professionally Calibrated l Apple TV 4K l Microsoft Xbox One S l Sony STR-ZA1100ES l Polk Audio CS2 Series II Center Channel l Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II Floorstanding L/R l Polk Audio Monitor 45B Rear Surround l Dual BIC V1220 Subwoofers
HD-Master is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8794 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 03:21 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,236
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4035 Post(s)
Liked: 3748
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
Which is ridiculous. They need to fix this already.
I agree, but given how many years it's been like this it seems clear that it's never going to happen.
Keenan is online now  
post #8795 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
John_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I just upgraded to 7.2 and I could have sworn it displayed in the enhancements that color switching was fixed, crap. One thing listed that is present is Dolby Atmos in the Amazon app as I just tried it for Jack Ryan and my Denon receiver displays Atmos. It listed 5.1 support for YouTube but I did not find any 5.1 encoded videos when I did a quick search.
John_D is offline  
post #8796 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_D View Post
I just upgraded to 7.2 and I could have sworn it displayed in the enhancements that color switching was fixed, crap. One thing listed that is present is Dolby Atmos in the Amazon app as I just tried it for Jack Ryan and my Denon receiver displays Atmos. It listed 5.1 support for YouTube but I did not find any 5.1 encoded videos when I did a quick search.
The patch notes on the website say that color switching is supported: "Automatically sets color mode when playing Rec. 709 content" https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shield/software-update/, but developers have already confirmed that this is not correct and was listed in error: https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...38230/#5938230. They still haven't fixed it though on the website. Very confusing.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #8797 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
Which is ridiculous. They need to fix this already.
If this is extremely important to you, then I would look at the Apple TV 4K. The only major downside of the Apple TV 4K is that it won't play Atmos and DTS:X from rips. Otherwise it's just about perfect. I rarely use my Shield now. It's awesome that Nvidia keeps pushing updates for the Shield, but they really need to fix some serious issues. The lack of automatic color space switching makes it next to useless for me.
luzovich, G-Rex and coxy2416 like this.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #8798 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 07:40 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,115
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9435 Post(s)
Liked: 6115
I just updated both of my Shields. Luckily I had no issues. For both It only took six minutes from the start ot the download to it being back on the home screen after the update and reboot.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
giomania likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #8799 of 13104 Old 12-12-2018, 11:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lax01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I just updated both of my Shields. Luckily I had no issues. For both It only took six minutes from the start ot the download to it being back on the home screen after the update and reboot.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
Upgraded...no issues so far. Tried to find some 5.1 on YouTube...found VERY little actual 5.1 content but a LOT of content marked as 5.1 haha

Josh
lax01 is online now  
post #8800 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 12:26 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,236
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4035 Post(s)
Liked: 3748
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
If this is extremely important to you, then I would look at the Apple TV 4K. The only major downside of the Apple TV 4K is that it won't play Atmos and DTS:X from rips. Otherwise it's just about perfect. I rarely use my Shield now. It's awesome that Nvidia keeps pushing updates for the Shield, but they really need to fix some serious issues. The lack of automatic color space switching makes it next to useless for me.
The Apple TV 4K is very good at handling different refresh rates. I watched a few episodes of 'Pine Gap' on Netflix tonight and the ATV4K played the content in its truly native format of 50Hz, the only other device I know of that will do that is my OPPO 203. The downside of the ATV4K for me is the lousy Amazon Prime app where much of the content is lacking multi-channel audio.
Keenan is online now  
post #8801 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 01:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
If this is extremely important to you, then I would look at the Apple TV 4K. The only major downside of the Apple TV 4K is that it won't play Atmos and DTS:X from rips. Otherwise it's just about perfect. I rarely use my Shield now. It's awesome that Nvidia keeps pushing updates for the Shield, but they really need to fix some serious issues. The lack of automatic color space switching makes it next to useless for me.
Well, the ATV doesn’t support 24.000 framerate as output plus it outputs 10 bit rec.709 videos (some UHD BDs) at 8 bit. I wouldn’t call that perfect.
From what I understand the Shield maps BT.709 into the BT.2020 colorspace in case you set it to BT.2020 and watch BT.709 content. This mapping is trivial and gives you correct colors. The only downside I can think of would be when using a projector which needs a color filter to obtain DCI-P3 coverage. So you would need to disable that filter or you will have a significantly darker picture.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #8802 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 05:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,391
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1045 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Anyone have an apk from FireTV for Philo with the new grid guide that will run on ShieldTV?

TIA

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8803 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jawaburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddogud View Post
This is exactly what my doubt was. Thank you for clarifying it to me. I just bought my first HTS and I need to recover on my budget to get an Oppo 303 or 205 (currently back-ordered). I like the Shield and for now, I'll keep the Shield to do all that stuff and a few months later I'm gonna buy that beast and a screen.
I may be misunderstanding your comment, but the Oppos are not backordered, they are discontinued. They are not making more of them. Panasonic and Pioneer should be having new "reference" players coming out soon, though.
baddogud likes this.

Sharp LC-80LE844U | Marantz BD8002 | Marantz AV8003 | Marsh Sound Design A400s (FL/FR) | Marantz MM7055 (C/SL/SR) | Phase Tech PC 9.1 (FL/FR) | Phase Tech PC 3.1 (C/SL/SR) | Dual PSA S1811 Subs
Jawaburger is online now  
post #8804 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,769
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
If this is extremely important to you, then I would look at the Apple TV 4K. The only major downside of the Apple TV 4K is that it won't play Atmos and DTS:X from rips. Otherwise it's just about perfect. I rarely use my Shield now. It's awesome that Nvidia keeps pushing updates for the Shield, but they really need to fix some serious issues. The lack of automatic color space switching makes it next to useless for me.
That's fair, and I don't doubt for a moment that it's accurate/correct for you and your use-case and situation.

For me? Owning a 2017 Sony means that the color space switching isn't an issue for me anymore, which is convenient. I still have a few complaints/wish-list items about Shield, but they're pretty small/pretty minor (for me), and Shield is a "about perfect" for my needs, certainly compared to all the other options out there (including AppleTV).

I'm not up-to-date on the recent goings-on of AppleTV, but if it still doesn't support:
1) The HDHomeRun View app for my live TV and whole-home-DVR that I'm running
2) bitstreaming of TrueHD and HD-MA for my MKV rips via Plex
3) Google Cast for ease of use/compatability with our mobile devices (or, conversely, if Apple allowed us to "airplay" from our Android devices to their player the way Google supports cast from iOS to Shield)
4) Steam portal for my son's growing enthusiasm and collection of games

... then it wouldn't be "about perfect," for me and anyone else that likes/prefers those features....
psuKinger is online now  
post #8805 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 07:21 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,115
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9435 Post(s)
Liked: 6115
Definitely nowhere near perfect for me. My main use for my ATV 4K now is Netflix DV titles with Atmos audio. Otherwise I'm using my Shield TV, Roku, or FireTV 4K Stick for streaming content.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #8806 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Anyone here using PLEX Live TV/DVR with the Shield? 7.2 seems to have broken this. I cant tune any channels.
sjm817 is offline  
post #8807 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm817 View Post
Anyone here using PLEX Live TV/DVR with the Shield? 7.2 seems to have broken this. I cant tune any channels.
I only use Plex for DVR Purposes, but I just checked out the Live TV feature and all channels are working fine. Have you rebooted your PMS or checked to see if there is a need to scan the channels again?

Also, is your Plex Media Server on the Shield or a separate box?

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 12-13-2018 at 07:56 AM.
groove93 is online now  
post #8808 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,769
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I only use Plex for DVR Purposes, but I just checked out the Live TV feature and all channels are working fine. Have you rebooted your PMS or checked to see if there is a need to scan the channels again?

Also, is your Plex Media Server on the Shield or a separate box?
I haven't *tried* to watch Live TV via Plex in a loooong time. And I'm running a *really* old version of PMS (probably more than a year old). Probably one of the first 2-3 versions after the DVR version stopped being only in *Beta* versions and became just part of a the main PMS update...

Does Live TV now work natively, right alongside the DVR, or do you still have to be running a "Plex Channel" (like "GrandSlam", etc) in order to watch live TV?
psuKinger is online now  
post #8809 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
1) The HDHomeRun View app for my live TV and whole-home-DVR that I'm running

The Channels app is the solution to that.

LG OLED65C7P - Professionally Calibrated l Apple TV 4K l Microsoft Xbox One S l Sony STR-ZA1100ES l Polk Audio CS2 Series II Center Channel l Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II Floorstanding L/R l Polk Audio Monitor 45B Rear Surround l Dual BIC V1220 Subwoofers
HD-Master is online now  
post #8810 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 08:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 624
For Plex, Live TV is part of the main interface. I believe the developers are getting rid of Channels in place of "Web Shows". Although there is a new Channel Guide Grid available for Live Channels, I still much prefer to use the Android TV Live Channels app. You still cannot change channels on the fly like the built-in Live Channels app.

In the Live TV section, you do have the to option to watch the channel or record the channel, rather than program recordings from your Plex Media Server.

I do have a Plex Pass, so I could be wrong about the availability of some of the Plex features to regular customers.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8811 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 74
A question for the NVIDIA Plex users:


I currently have a Firestick and use my desktop PC as my Plex media server. There are several HDDs on that computer, and two of them, 8 TB each, contain all my media files.



I will be getting an NVIDIA Shield (basic version) for Xmas. I would like for various reasons to get the PMS off my desktop and put it all on the Shield. It is my understanding that the Shield works well as a PMS. I also know you can now offload the PMS metadata files onto a USB drive. What I would like to do is get a 32 or 64 GB USB flash drive for one USB port for these files, and take the 2 8TB HDDs out of the desktop and put them in a USB external HDD enclosure (or two enclosures with a USB hub if that would work), and keep all the media there. Will this work, and if so, how well? Is anyone doing this.


Last, I understand that using an app such as ES File Explorer I will be able to transfer video/music files from the desktop to the Shield and I would expect I could specify where they should be stored. That would make it easier to get content onto those drives, but if they are USB, I could always move them.


Thanks for any advice.


SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
post #8812 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I only use Plex for DVR Purposes, but I just checked out the Live TV feature and all channels are working fine. Have you rebooted your PMS or checked to see if there is a need to scan the channels again?

Also, is your Plex Media Server on the Shield or a separate box?
Shield is the media server. Tried reboots a couple times. LiveTV and DVR both use the same tuner. If one is broken the other will be too. What are you using for a tuner? Mine is Hauppauge WinTV USB. Many use HDHR which may not be having same issue. Later when I have some time Im going to try the Live Channels apps and see if it has same issue. Im wondering if 7.2 broke the WinTV USB tuner compatibility. I will also try to delete the DVR and set up again.
sjm817 is offline  
post #8813 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm817 View Post
Shield is the media server. Tried reboots a couple times. LiveTV and DVR both use the same tuner. If one is broken the other will be too. What are you using for a tuner? Mine is Hauppauge WinTV USB. Many use HDHR which may not be having same issue. Later when I have some time Im going to try the Live Channels apps and see if it has same issue. Im wondering if 7.2 broke the WinTV USB tuner compatibility. I will also try to delete the DVR and set up again.
I'm using an HD HomeRun Extend Dual Network Tuner. My Plex Media Server is on a separate box.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8814 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,769
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
The Channels app is the solution to that.
If that's an app that would allow me to continue to use the HDHomeRun DVR software, access my already-made DVR recordings, and manage/change/add/delete from my list of scheduled recordings, then I have no problem with deleting that from the list of things that might stand between myself and an AppleTV being "near perfect" for me....

If it's an alternative solution that would work with all of my other hardware options (5 nvidia shields, 1 nexus player, 3 Win10 PCs, 1 Android Tablet and 2 android phones) the way HDHomeRun DVR does (and Plex DVR does/would, I'm just not currently using it), then I'm interested to learn about it and consider making a switch...

If this is an app/live tv/dvr solution that wouldn't work on *any* of my current gear, then it's not something that I'd have much interest in, when the alternatives I"m currently using are already working pretty well for me and are supported across all the hardware I've already invested in...

Last edited by psuKinger; 12-13-2018 at 09:49 AM.
psuKinger is online now  
post #8815 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Deleted DVR and reinstalled. ALL GOOD NOW!!
sjm817 is offline  
post #8816 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,769
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGBiv View Post
A question for the NVIDIA Plex users:


I currently have a Firestick and use my desktop PC as my Plex media server. There are several HDDs on that computer, and two of them, 8 TB each, contain all my media files.



I will be getting an NVIDIA Shield (basic version) for Xmas. I would like for various reasons to get the PMS off my desktop and put it all on the Shield. It is my understanding that the Shield works well as a PMS. I also know you can now offload the PMS metadata files onto a USB drive. What I would like to do is get a 32 or 64 GB USB flash drive for one USB port for these files, and take the 2 8TB HDDs out of the desktop and put them in a USB external HDD enclosure (or two enclosures with a USB hub if that would work), and keep all the media there. Will this work, and if so, how well? Is anyone doing this.


Last, I understand that using an app such as ES File Explorer I will be able to transfer video/music files from the desktop to the Shield and I would expect I could specify where they should be stored. That would make it easier to get content onto those drives, but if they are USB, I could always move them.


Thanks for any advice.


SMK
I believe that will all work as you intend. But I don't do it that way, so I can't confirm first-hand. I use a separate Win10 desktop as my Plex Media Server, and a separate NAS (QNAP) for storing my files.
psuKinger is online now  
post #8817 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I believe that will all work as you intend. But I don't do it that way, so I can't confirm first-hand. I use a separate Win10 desktop as my Plex Media Server, and a separate NAS (QNAP) for storing my files.

Thanks. Is there anyone here who is actually doing this and can tell me if it would work?


SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
post #8818 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DesertDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 2076
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
If that's an app that would allow me to continue to use the HDHomeRun DVR software, access my already-made DVR recordings, and manage/change/add/delete from my list of scheduled recordings, then I have no problem with deleting that from the list of things that might stand between myself and an AppleTV being "near perfect" for me....

If it's an alternative solution that would work with all of my other hardware options (5 nvidia shields, 1 nexus player, 3 Win10 PCs, 1 Android Tablet and 2 android phones) the way HDHomeRun DVR does (and Plex DVR does/would, I'm just not currently using it), then I'm interested to learn about it and consider making a switch...

If this is an app/live tv/dvr solution that wouldn't work on *any* of my current gear, then it's not something that I'd have much interest in, when the alternatives I"m currently using are already working pretty well for me and are supported across all the hardware I've already invested in...
Channels is great. I've been using it since it first came out in 2015 for the AppleTV 4. It doesn't work with the HDHomeRun DVR. Back in the day when SiliconDust started it they had a ton of issues getting it going. It was very delayed and the betas did not work well. Channels was initially adding support for it but do to the issues they stopped and implemented their own DVR solution. So it's an alternate solution more like Plex. For your devices they have iOS and Android clients that cover most of your list. The Win10 PCs are the only ones I don't know about. I've never looked into it.

The rest of your list of AppleTV shortcomings are still issues unfortunately. Bitstreaming audio is why I've recently started using a Shield over my ATV. Plex and Infuse will play TrueHD and DTS HD-MA title and send the audio out as PCM but they can't pass through Atmos or DTS:X. That was the dealbreaker for me after I put in my ceiling speakers.
psuKinger likes this.
DesertDog is online now  
post #8819 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DesertDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 2076
My 7.2 update went smoothly and I didn't run into any issues with it. Anyone see any CEC improvement in it? It's works for the most part for me except for turn on. If my TV and AVR are off, it turns them on but always switches my AVR to "TV Sound" input instead of the "Media Player" input. Turning the system on from my AppleTV or auto-switching from the ATV to my Shield, volume control, etc. all work as expected and perfectly.

The only other thing that I noticed after the update, and I'm not sure if it's real, is that the touch volume control on the remote seems more sensitive. It was always touchy but it seems even more so now. Like any little touch is changing it by 4-5 db.

BEQ Slack group
The struggle is real for Generation Xplain Digital to the Analog and Analog to the Digital.
Klipsch RF-7III, RC-64III
SI HS-24mkIII BOSS-Sac
Sony 85X900F, Denon 8500, nVidia Shield, Apple TV
DesertDog is online now  
post #8820 of 13104 Old 12-13-2018, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertDog View Post
My 7.2 update went smoothly and I didn't run into any issues with it. Anyone see any CEC improvement in it? It's works for the most part for me except for turn on. If my TV and AVR are off, it turns them on but always switches my AVR to "TV Sound" input instead of the "Media Player" input. Turning the system on from my AppleTV or auto-switching from the ATV to my Shield, volume control, etc. all work as expected and perfectly.

The only other thing that I noticed after the update, and I'm not sure if it's real, is that the touch volume control on the remote seems more sensitive. It was always touchy but it seems even more so now. Like any little touch is changing it by 4-5 db.
That is not a function of the Shield. When the TV turns on (for any reason) it sends a CEC signal to the AVR saying "Im on, switch to me". Some AVRs have a setting to ignore when that happens.
sjm817 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off