NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 295 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4119Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8821 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_D View Post
I just upgraded to 7.2 and I could have sworn it displayed in the enhancements that color switching was fixed, crap. One thing listed that is present is Dolby Atmos in the Amazon app as I just tried it for Jack Ryan and my Denon receiver displays Atmos. It listed 5.1 support for YouTube but I did not find any 5.1 encoded videos when I did a quick search.

I did the update, and didn't see any videos on YouTube that would play in 5.1. I think this is a rumor or lie.
Tfid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8822 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertDog View Post
The rest of your list of AppleTV shortcomings are still issues unfortunately. Bitstreaming audio is why I've recently started using a Shield over my ATV. Plex and Infuse will play TrueHD and DTS HD-MA title and send the audio out as PCM but they can't pass through Atmos or DTS:X. That was the dealbreaker for me after I put in my ceiling speakers.
Good insight.

I fully understand how proper decoding can occur either at the box (and sent out unencoded to the AVR as LPCM) or "bitstreamed" to the AVR for decoding, and either can sound equally great/identical. But I personally prefer the convenience of having that little text light up on the front panel of my AVR. Just helps give quick/easy visual confirmation that all of my settings are still configured properly and my gear is working as-intended, right at the very start of the movie.
psuKinger is offline  
post #8823 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertDog View Post
My 7.2 update went smoothly and I didn't run into any issues with it. Anyone see any CEC improvement in it? It's works for the most part for me except for turn on. If my TV and AVR are off, it turns them on but always switches my AVR to "TV Sound" input instead of the "Media Player" input. Turning the system on from my AppleTV or auto-switching from the ATV to my Shield, volume control, etc. all work as expected and perfectly.

The only other thing that I noticed after the update, and I'm not sure if it's real, is that the touch volume control on the remote seems more sensitive. It was always touchy but it seems even more so now. Like any little touch is changing it by 4-5 db.
No CEC improvement for me. I took the update on my bedroom shield yesterday, and last night when the sleep timer on the TV shut the TV off, the Shield stayed on... There was a period of several months this year where the TV turning off due to the sleep timer would instantly put the Shield to sleep, but that hasn't been the case for a couple months now for me. Was hoping the new update might fix that... but it didn't help last night. TIFWIW.
psuKinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8824 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I did the update, and didn't see any videos on YouTube that would play in 5.1. I think this is a rumor or lie.

I found out on the Nvidia support site that YouTube only supports 5.1 PCM sound, so no using the TV's ARC line.
I'll have to plug the Shield into my soundbar first, and pass video to the TV.
Tfid is offline  
post #8825 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 01:11 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,105
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9427 Post(s)
Liked: 6110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I found out on the Nvidia support site that YouTube only supports 5.1 PCM sound, so no using the TV's ARC line.
I'll have to plug the Shield into my soundbar first, and pass video to the TV.
If your sound bar can handle HDR, that would be the preferred way.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #8826 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,391
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Anyone have an apk from FireTV for Philo with the new grid guide that will run on ShieldTV?

TIA

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
I know you guys are excited about Experience 7.2 but anyone know?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #8827 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
No CEC improvement for me. I took the update on my bedroom shield yesterday, and last night when the sleep timer on the TV shut the TV off, the Shield stayed on... There was a period of several months this year where the TV turning off due to the sleep timer would instantly put the Shield to sleep, but that hasn't been the case for a couple months now for me. Was hoping the new update might fix that... but it didn't help last night. TIFWIW.
If you turn the TV off does Shield turn off, or is it just the sleep timer that doesnt work?
On my Shield when TV shuts off, Shield shuts off as well. This has been the case even before Oreo. I dont use a sleep timer so never tested that.
sjm817 is online now  
post #8828 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I did the update, and didn't see any videos on YouTube that would play in 5.1. I think this is a rumor or lie.
If you go to the Original Content provided by Youtube, you will infact get 5.1 PCM audio from these streams. Not all youtube videos have 5.1 audio and never have.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8829 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1441 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I believe that will all work as you intend. But I don't do it that way, so I can't confirm first-hand. I use a separate Win10 desktop as my Plex Media Server, and a separate NAS (QNAP) for storing my files.
Something I've always wondered about with this configuration. Aren't you transferring your media twice, from the NAS to the PC, then the PC to the player? That's one reason I've always kept my media on the same computer as my DLNA/Plex servers. Just doubles your network traffic? Seems more efficient to run it all from one location.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #8830 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,391
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Something I've always wondered about with this configuration. Aren't you transferring your media twice, from the NAS to the PC, then the PC to the player? That's one reason I've always kept my media on the same computer as my DLNA/Plex servers. Just doubles your network traffic? Seems more efficient to run it all from one location.
No. The server tells the file to go directly from the NAS to the device playing it.

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
giomania likes this.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #8831 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DesertDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 2074
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm817 View Post
That is not a function of the Shield. When the TV turns on (for any reason) it sends a CEC signal to the AVR saying "Im on, switch to me". Some AVRs have a setting to ignore when that happens.
My AVR doesn't ignore that. The switching signal works correctly in every scenario for me except for it the AVR and TV are off and I turn on from the Shield. If I turn on from any of my other devices it switches to the correct input.

It's also that it's not just switching input but switching to the wrong input. If I have the shield on and let it power down everything by putting it to sleep when I wake everything by the shield's remote the AVR is switching from the shield's input to a different one. That's what's striking me as strange.
DesertDog is offline  
post #8832 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1020 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_D View Post
I just upgraded to 7.2 and I could have sworn it displayed in the enhancements that color switching was fixed, crap. One thing listed that is present is Dolby Atmos in the Amazon app as I just tried it for Jack Ryan and my Denon receiver displays Atmos. It listed 5.1 support for YouTube but I did not find any 5.1 encoded videos when I did a quick search.
It says it fixed switching to REC709, are you saying that is not Fixed?

I am hoping for a new Shield at CES otherwise I plan on using my ATV4K for more and more, my Shield will be used for MrMC since the audio from my movies sounds far better via Shield than ATV4K.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #8833 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
John_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
If you go to the Original Content provided by Youtube, you will infact get 5.1 PCM audio from these streams. Not all youtube videos have 5.1 audio and never have.
I have YouTube Premium and those videos show up as Multi Channel In on my Denon receiver. This free one does too:

John_D is offline  
post #8834 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_D View Post
I have YouTube Premium and those videos show up as Multi Channel In on my Denon receiver. This free one does too:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRzA...ndex=6&list=WL
This has been the case for Youtube Originals, some Channels that support Multi-Channel audio, and some On Demand content provided by the Youtube TV Service.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8835 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
John_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
It says it fixed switching to REC709, are you saying that is not Fixed?

I am hoping for a new Shield at CES otherwise I plan on using my ATV4K for more and more, my Shield will be used for MrMC since the audio from my movies sounds far better via Shield than ATV4K.
I set the Shield to REC 2020 and the color did not look right to me for SDR content. I set it back to REC 709 and the color looked right to me. I'm sure there are users who can measure the color space and give a better answer.
John_D is offline  
post #8836 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
John_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
This has been the case for Youtube Originals, some Channels that support Multi-Channel audio, and some On Demand content provided by the Youtube TV Service.
Was the Shield able to decode them before the 7.2 upgrade?
John_D is offline  
post #8837 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
It says it fixed switching to REC709, are you saying that is not Fixed?

I am hoping for a new Shield at CES otherwise I plan on using my ATV4K for more and more, my Shield will be used for MrMC since the audio from my movies sounds far better via Shield than ATV4K.
It did not: https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...38230/#5938230
lockdown571 is online now  
post #8838 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 623
It appears to be dependent upon your hardware I guess.

I set my Shield to rec2020 yuv 10-bit, and my Sony TV's Colorspace to auto, and RGB range to Limited. I can switch back and forth between HDR and SDR content without any manual adjustments.
My Xbox One X's RGB Range needs to be set to "Full", or else the colors for HDR content are washed out if set to limited.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8839 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_D View Post
Was the Shield able to decode them before the 7.2 upgrade?
The Shield doesn't decode, it passes through the audio to my receiver. This has been the case for a few years now.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8840 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DesertDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 2074
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Good insight.

I fully understand how proper decoding can occur either at the box (and sent out unencoded to the AVR as LPCM) or "bitstreamed" to the AVR for decoding, and either can sound equally great/identical. But I personally prefer the convenience of having that little text light up on the front panel of my AVR. Just helps give quick/easy visual confirmation that all of my settings are still configured properly and my gear is working as-intended, right at the very start of the movie.
I'm with you on that. I'd rather see it passed through as bitstream too. That's always been one of my biggest complaints about the AppleTV and why I'm here now. It actually bugs me a little that on my receiver for Atmos and DTS:X titles it just say the name and doesn't show the array of little lights that show what channels are active like it does for 5.1 and 7.1 content. I want to see all 13 lit up for visual confirmation. I keep getting paranoid now when trying out media players about whether or not it's actually passing through a bitstream.
DesertDog is offline  
post #8841 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
It appears to be dependent upon your hardware I guess.

I set my Shield to rec2020 yuv 10-bit, and my Sony TV's Colorspace to auto, and RGB range to Limited. I can switch back and forth between HDR and SDR content without any manual adjustments.
My Xbox One X's RGB Range needs to be set to "Full", or else the colors for HDR content are washed out if set to limited.
True. It seems most people with Sony TVs do not see this issue. I have an LG OLED and colors are not displayed properly. The color red is especially noticeable and appears washed out, which makes makes skin tones appear a sickly gray.
groove93 likes this.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #8842 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
On the upside, the 05.30.50 for the LG B6 fixes the banding issue with the Shield TV! No more hideous posterization on my blu-ray rips.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #8843 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
I only use 4k sdr and that’s why I bought a shield last week. I can confirm on the Sony 930e rec709 displays correctly in all apps so far
fssfguy is offline  
post #8844 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm817 View Post
If you turn the TV off does Shield turn off, or is it just the sleep timer that doesnt work?
On my Shield when TV shuts off, Shield shuts off as well. This has been the case even before Oreo. I dont use a sleep timer so never tested that.
For quite some time, when my TV turned off (either via a Sleep timer or just manually forced), my Shield went to sleep.

Then, one day, a couple months back, it stopped doing that. I wake up every morning and it's still on...


Typical of HDMI-CEC, in my experiences. When it works, it's *great*. When it doesn't? Good. luck.

I always turn it off on both of my "primary" rigs/setups... but for auxiliary/bedroom units, with no AVR involved and no sophisticated/expensive universal remote, that's where, if it's working, it really is quite nice...
psuKinger is offline  
post #8845 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by fssfguy View Post
I only use 4k sdr and that’s why I bought a shield last week. I can confirm on the Sony 930e rec709 displays correctly in all apps so far
You should be able to set it to 4K HDR with that set, and the color space mapping of the HDR outputs for SDR content should look right... @groove93 has a 900e, and I have a 940e, and both of us can confirm it works for us...
psuKinger is offline  
post #8846 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1619 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertDog View Post
I'm with you on that. I'd rather see it passed through as bitstream too. That's always been one of my biggest complaints about the AppleTV and why I'm here now. It actually bugs me a little that on my receiver for Atmos and DTS:X titles it just say the name and doesn't show the array of little lights that show what channels are active like it does for 5.1 and 7.1 content. I want to see all 13 lit up for visual confirmation. I keep getting paranoid now when trying out media players about whether or not it's actually passing through a bitstream.
I was a Shield early-adopter. I was more active over on the Home Theater Computers back then... but there was a time where bitstreaming was only working here for people who'd pushed their bit-for-bit MKV's through a program called MKVMerge and used the internal player (accessing files directly via something like ES File Browser). Back then bitstreaming wasn't supported via either Plex or Kodi. And in incremental steps, capabilities came to life. I remember a period of time where one of the two lossless codecs (I *think* Dolby TrueHD) was properly bitstreaming through Plex but not the other codec (DTS-HD-MA), and on the other side of the fence Kodi had found a way (via Beta releases) to properly decode DTS-HD-MA but not Dolby TrueHD (and couldn't bitstream either). I spent multiple hours going back and forth between Kodi and my Blu Ray player, A-B comparing Kodi's decoding to my disc player's bitstreaming, convincing myself that the decoding was being handled properly via Shield... and even after convincing myself that it was working ~properly and there was ~no perceivable difference, it *still* bothered me that my AVR said "MultiCh" and not "HD-MA"... couldn't shake it. Never got comfortable/happy with it. Then SPMC/Kodi/Plex all, one after the other, *figured it out* for Shield, and this has been a real winning box for me ever since...

I didn't upgrade to a 4K UHD tv until only a couple months before the color mapping issue got resolved, at least for the Sony TV that I ultimately bought... for the most part Shield ownership has been pretty seamless/enjoyable ever since mid-ish (3rd quarter) 2016? Great little box. I hope Nvidia keeps supporting, and I *really* hope they ultimately come out with a Shield 2.0 that builds upon this with a better upscaler, Dolby Vision support, and even more growth/capabilities for their Grid Gaming service/capabilities... really great, capable little swiss-army-knife, IMO.
Gary J, DesertDog and Sammy2 like this.
psuKinger is offline  
post #8847 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I was a Shield early-adopter. I was more active over on the Home Theater Computers back then... but there was a time where bitstreaming was only working here for people who'd pushed their bit-for-bit MKV's through a program called MKVMerge and used the internal player (accessing files directly via something like ES File Browser). Back then bitstreaming wasn't supported via either Plex or Kodi. And in incremental steps, capabilities came to life. I remember a period of time where one of the two lossless codecs (I *think* Dolby TrueHD) was properly bitstreaming through Plex but not the other codec (DTS-HD-MA), and on the other side of the fence Kodi had found a way (via Beta releases) to properly decode DTS-HD-MA but not Dolby TrueHD (and couldn't bitstream either). I spent multiple hours going back and forth between Kodi and my Blu Ray player, A-B comparing Kodi's decoding to my disc player's bitstreaming, convincing myself that the decoding was being handled properly via Shield... and even after convincing myself that it was working ~properly and there was ~no perceivable difference, it *still* bothered me that my AVR said "MultiCh" and not "HD-MA"... couldn't shake it. Never got comfortable/happy with it. Then SPMC/Kodi/Plex all, one after the other, *figured it out* for Shield, and this has been a real winning box for me ever since...

I didn't upgrade to a 4K UHD tv until only a couple months before the color mapping issue got resolved, at least for the Sony TV that I ultimately bought... for the most part Shield ownership has been pretty seamless/enjoyable ever since mid-ish (3rd quarter) 2016? Great little box. I hope Nvidia keeps supporting, and I *really* hope they ultimately come out with a Shield 2.0 that builds upon this with a better upscaler, Dolby Vision support, and even more growth/capabilities for their Grid Gaming service/capabilities... really great, capable little swiss-army-knife, IMO.


Yea it was the other way around. DTS-MA was available through KODI, and then through Plex, and it took a good while longer to get Dolby TrueHD to work for both Platforms.

From a Cord Cutters POV the Shield was and still is my goto device, but the Live Channels app was really bad for a time. It got to the point where I purchased a Tivo Bolt for OTA Reception, and it was a night and day difference regarding changing channels and recovering from interference or lower signal strength. Then when one of the Big Shield updates rolled out around the beginning of 2017, which included HDR, Plex Media Server, Live Channels DVR Beta, Amazon Prime, and a few other features, the Live Channels app was very stable and rendored my Tivo useless.
sjm817 and psuKinger like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #8848 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Hey guys so had the Shield over a week now and i have everything where I want it and am loving it. I can keep everything in rec709 for all my apps and that’s was my goal, as my 930e tv will force hdr in some like google movies.

All I need to know if I’m handling the resolution correctly to get the superior upscaling on my sony tv to do the work not the shield

So set it to 1080p @59 rec709 for all 1080 content

And [email protected] rec709 for anything I watch in 4k on shield?

Thanks
fssfguy is offline  
post #8849 of 13087 Old 12-13-2018, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Yea it was the other way around. DTS-MA was available through KODI, and then through Plex, and it took a good while longer to get Dolby TrueHD to work for both Platforms.

From a Cord Cutters POV the Shield was and still is my goto device, but the Live Channels app was really bad for a time. It got to the point where I purchased a Tivo Bolt for OTA Reception, and it was a night and day difference regarding changing channels and recovering from interference or lower signal strength. Then when one of the Big Shield updates rolled out around the beginning of 2017, which included HDR, Plex Media Server, Live Channels DVR Beta, Amazon Prime, and a few other features, the Live Channels app was very stable and rendored my Tivo useless.
Since I now have a nice Sony TV with Android Oreo, there isnt a lot that I use my Shield for other than OTA DVR and Plex server. The TV has all the same streaming apps that I use. The major feature still missing from Live Channels for me is the ability to play a recording before it is complete. "Channel Chase" I want to record an NFL game, start watching ~ 1r in, skip the commercials and catch up at the end of the game. Im using Plex which has that and a several other nice features that live channels is missing. Commercial removal, and I can watch on basically any device, not just the TV connected to the Shield, I can watch TV and also setup recordings on a web browser. That being said, if Live Channels adds Channel Chase I may forgo those extra features of Plex and use it. Rumor has it that it will be added at some point.
sjm817 is online now  
post #8850 of 13087 Old 12-14-2018, 12:02 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,105
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9427 Post(s)
Liked: 6110
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
It appears to be dependent upon your hardware I guess.

I set my Shield to rec2020 yuv 10-bit, and my Sony TV's Colorspace to auto, and RGB range to Limited. I can switch back and forth between HDR and SDR content without any manual adjustments.
......
Yes. It's fine on my 2015 Sony as well as my 2018 TCL TV.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off