NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 314 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4150Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9391 of 13137 Old 01-13-2019, 07:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Have you tried just playing the files directly using something like ES File Browser and the built-in video player?

No I have not - odd that these are the only files that have issue though.

"You’re KILLIN’ ME Smalls! "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9392 of 13137 Old 01-13-2019, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvos View Post
Is your plex server on the Shield? I've seen some people on the nvidia forums having issues with it after the last update.

No I run it in a docker on my unraid server.

"You’re KILLIN’ ME Smalls! "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #9393 of 13137 Old 01-13-2019, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
malmstump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvos View Post
How is your Shield connected to the avr? Which apps? Have you compared them with the same apps on other devices?
harvos, hdmi connection and stremio and terrarium apps are really low sound compared to casting from laptop .i haven't setup kodi yet also the usb movies thru the shield are lower as well

klipsch klf-30 s Vizio p65
klipsch klf c-7 x 2
klipsch klf-20 s
onkyo tx Nr-818 soon denonx4500
3 crown xls 2502 1 xls 1502, HSU vtf-15 Mk 2
malmstump is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9394 of 13137 Old 01-13-2019, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvos View Post
The switch happens automatically only if both the resolution and refresh rate of the source video are a match in the whitelist. So, since the Shield doesn't support resolutions lower than 720p, SD videos will be displayed at [email protected] or 4K, depending on your output settings. What you can do is to manually change from the OSD controls, after playback has started, to any combo from your whitelist . I have to do that all the time when I play lower resolution videos because I don't like to play at 23.97 refresh rate and all the videos are at 23.97.
Thanx for the info, I play all my files at 23,97.
jbarteli is offline  
post #9395 of 13137 Old 01-13-2019, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,
I bought Nvidia shield pro device and I am playing movies from Netflix app which has Dolby Atmos audio format! I can see that it’s sends signal to my AV Reciver Dolby digital hd not as Dolby Atmos, but where as my Apple TV able to sends Dolby Atmos signal to my AV receiver, Did anybody encounter same issue? And Nvidia shield pro can support Netflix movies in Dolby Atmos format?

Last edited by gakbw; 01-13-2019 at 10:50 PM.
gakbw is offline  
post #9396 of 13137 Old 01-13-2019, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by gakbw View Post
Hello All,
I bought Nvidia shield pro device and I am playing movies from Netflix app which has Dolby Atmos audio format! I can see that it’s sends signal to my AV Reciver Dolby digital hd not as Dolby Atmos, but where as my Apple TV able to sends Dolby Atmos signal to my AV receiver, Did anybody encounter same issue? And Nvidia shield pro can support Netflix movies in Dolby Atmos format?
Shield does not support Atmos with Netflix.......
Zoland2020 likes this.
jbarteli is offline  
post #9397 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,612
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarteli View Post
Shield does not support Atmos with Netflix.......
To be clear, this is an issue with the NetFlix app on the Shield not a limitation of the Shield itself. NetFlix needs to update the NetFlix app for the Shield. This is entirely on NetFlix.
chi_guy50 likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #9398 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Anyone using devices that support Netflix Dolby Atmos? My Xbox One X supports Atmos, but like the Apple TV 4K, Atmos (Dolby Digital MAT) is being used, which means Atmos is "on" all the time, even if you're not using Netflix.

Does anyone have a device that supports Netflix Atmos without the use of "MAT"?

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #9399 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,612
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Anyone using devices that support Netflix Dolby Atmos? My Xbox One X supports Atmos, but like the Apple TV 4K, Atmos (Dolby Digital MAT) is being used, which means Atmos is "on" all the time, even if you're not using Netflix.

Does anyone have a device that supports Netflix Atmos without the use of "MAT"?
Not sure about using the NetFlix app but on the new FireTV Stick 4k I have watched content that includes ATMOS and content that does not using, for example, Vudu and Amazon Prime with no problem. ATMOS is certainly not on all the time.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #9400 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Not sure about using the NetFlix app but on the new FireTV Stick 4k I have watched content that includes ATMOS and content that does not using, for example, Vudu and Amazon Prime with no problem. ATMOS is certainly not on all the time.
Thank you for the info!

This reinforces my belief that Netflix needs to "flip the switch". From what I can tell, on the Xbox One, 5.1 will display for a movie or a TV show's description on Netflix, but my Atmos speakers are completely silent, meaning that the DSU on my Receiver is not engaged. This is not the case with the Shield and I much prefer my Atmos speakers to work even though Atmos is not available.

It also appears that the Shield handles HDR much better than the Xbox One X as well. There are a few videos by Vincent Teoh of HDTVtest on Youtube that explains my findings when it comes to Netflix HDR on the Xbox. HDR is constantly on for Netflix, and when the Netflix logo appears, it's Pink. For weeks I thought there was a need to make further adjustments to my display's image settings, but Vincent's observations put me at ease. On the Shield, the logo is "Red".

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #9401 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,303
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1442 Post(s)
Liked: 653
For quite a while Netflix had an exclusive agreement with the XBox and LG TVs as the only devices that supported Atmos. I believe that agreement might have expired, but they aren't rolling out support for new devices very fast. Or maybe the agreement hasn't expired yet.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9402 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,152
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4738 Post(s)
Liked: 2767
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
For quite a while Netflix had an exclusive agreement with the XBox and LG TVs as the only devices that supported Atmos. I believe that agreement might have expired, but they aren't rolling out support for new devices very fast. Or maybe the agreement hasn't expired yet.
It must have expired because Atmos via Netflix is also available on the Apple TV 4k device as well...

lujan
571 Ultra HD
725 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #9403 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by malmstump View Post
harvos, hdmi connection and stremio and terrarium apps are really low sound compared to casting from laptop .i haven't setup kodi yet also the usb movies thru the shield are lower as well
In the Shield settings, if you have Audio set to constant, turn that off (or to variable). Then, using the Shield remote, raise the volume to the max, and then turn it back to "Constant". I had the same problem one time after an update, and the volume output by the Shield was only at 50%. This fixed it.
malmstump likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV
taz291819 is offline  
post #9404 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,702
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2275 Post(s)
Liked: 2344
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Thank you for the info!

This reinforces my belief that Netflix needs to "flip the switch". From what I can tell, on the Xbox One, 5.1 will display for a movie or a TV show's description on Netflix, but my Atmos speakers are completely silent, meaning that the DSU on my Receiver is not engaged. This is not the case with the Shield and I much prefer my Atmos speakers to work even though Atmos is not available.

I understand what you mean from the context, but please be aware that there is no such thing as an "Atmos speaker." Use of such a misnomer could confuse the casual reader who might infer that there are speakers that are employed solely for Dolby Atmos-encoded content.

What you are referring to are either your overhead (or height or "top level") speaker locations (as opposed to the "listener-level" locations) or Dolby Atmos-enabled (DAE) speakers, which are designed to fire sound upward to "bounce" off the ceiling using psychoacoustic effects. Any of those speakers (depending on the designation) can receive content from both the immersive audio codecs (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, or Auro-3D) as well as various upmixers such as Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X, as well as proprietary DSP surround-sound modes.
Gary J likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #9405 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 04:18 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,128
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9444 Post(s)
Liked: 6130
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Anyone using devices that support Netflix Dolby Atmos? My Xbox One X supports Atmos, but like the Apple TV 4K, Atmos (Dolby Digital MAT) is being used, which means Atmos is "on" all the time, even if you're not using Netflix.

Does anyone have a device that supports Netflix Atmos without the use of "MAT"?
My ATV 4K does not have Atmos on all the time like the XBox does. It only sends Atmos on titles that have it. Otherwise my ATV 4K is sending 2.0, 5.1, or 7.1 pcm audio.
groove93 likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9406 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 04:21 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,128
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9444 Post(s)
Liked: 6130
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Thank you for the info!

This reinforces my belief that Netflix needs to "flip the switch". From what I can tell, on the Xbox One, 5.1 will display for a movie or a TV show's description on Netflix, but my Atmos speakers are completely silent, meaning that the DSU on my Receiver is not engaged. This is not the case with the Shield and I much prefer my Atmos speakers to work even though Atmos is not available.

It also appears that the Shield handles HDR much better than the Xbox One X as well. There are a few videos by Vincent Teoh of HDTVtest on Youtube that explains my findings when it comes to Netflix HDR on the Xbox. HDR is constantly on for Netflix, and when the Netflix logo appears, it's Pink. For weeks I thought there was a need to make further adjustments to my display's image settings, but Vincent's observations put me at ease. On the Shield, the logo is "Red".
SOunds like you need to have your receiver set to DOlby Surround. DOlby Surround will use the height speakers. It upconverts the non Atmos content. I use it with all my Non Atmos DD and PCM audio. And then I use the DTS equivalent for DTS content that is not in DTS:X.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9407 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 04:23 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,128
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9444 Post(s)
Liked: 6130
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
For quite a while Netflix had an exclusive agreement with the XBox and LG TVs as the only devices that supported Atmos. I believe that agreement might have expired, but they aren't rolling out support for new devices very fast. Or maybe the agreement hasn't expired yet.
Netflix has said that they plan to bring Atmos to more devices this year. But they said it is a slow process since they need to test it thoroughly. And that it's was not an easy process to add Atmos capability to their apps on different devices.
vn800art likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9408 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
SOunds like you need to have your receiver set to DOlby Surround. DOlby Surround will use the height speakers. It upconverts the non Atmos content. I use it with all my Non Atmos DD and PCM audio. And then I use the DTS equivalent for DTS content that is not in DTS:X.
No, this appears to be the norm for Xbox One users. By default with my Shield, surround settings are set to "Auto". So whatever signal it passes through to my AVR, the the AVR handles to audio.

To get Atmos on the Xbox One, you have to the audio settings to "Bitstream out", then "Dolby Atmos for Home Theater". This sends an Atmos signal to my receiver where in the main interface is always in Atmos. Compatible games will play in Atmos as well as some Netflix titles. Any titles without Atmos will cut off my height speakers.

I've yet to try the Blu Ray player but I believe this is the only way to get Dolby and DTS (Lossless) sound formats on the Xbox One.

If I want the DSU or Neural X to work I'd have to set the Xbox to DTS Digital Sound or Dolby Digital.



Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #9409 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 04:45 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,128
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9444 Post(s)
Liked: 6130
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
No, this appears to be the norm for Xbox One users. By default with my Shield, surround settings are set to "Auto". So whatever signal it passes through to my AVR, the the AVR handles to audio.

To get Atmos on the Xbox One, you have to the audio settings to "Bitstream out", then "Dolby Atmos for Home Theater". This sends an Atmos signal to my receiver where in the main interface is always in Atmos. Compatible games will play in Atmos as well as some Netflix titles. Any titles without Atmos will cut off my height speakers.

I've yet to try the Blu Ray player but I believe this is the only way to get Dolby and DTS (Lossless) sound formats on the Xbox One.

If I want the DSU or Neural X to work I'd have to set the Xbox to DTS Digital Sound or Dolby Digital.



Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
The easiest solution is to use the XB1 as little as possible for streaming. That is my solution. Especially with Netflix. SInce it improperly has HDR on all the time. I got sick of it and I stopped using my XB1X for Atmos titles on Netflix since the forced HDR was so annoying. I was glad when the ATV 4K got Atmos.

Hopefully the SHield TV will get access to Atmos audio from Netflix sometime this year.
azz7686 likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9410 of 13137 Old 01-14-2019, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The easiest solution is to use the XB1 as little as possible for streaming. That is my solution. Especially with Netflix. SInce it improperly has HDR on all the time. I got sick of it and I stopped using my XB1X for Atmos titles on Netflix since the forced HDR was so annoying. I was glad when the ATV 4K got Atmos.



Hopefully the SHield TV will get access to Atmos audio from Netflix sometime this year.
I only use it for gaming for now. Compared to the Shield when it comes to media streaming, in its current state, the Xbox One X is not up to par. There's a lot of potential for the Xbox One X as a media streamer but for now, it can't hold a candle to the Shield.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #9411 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
malmstump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
In the Shield settings, if you have Audio set to constant, turn that off (or to variable). Then, using the Shield remote, raise the volume to the max, and then turn it back to "Constant". I had the same problem one time after an update, and the volume output by the Shield was only at 50%. This fixed it.
i appreciate this and will try today .

klipsch klf-30 s Vizio p65
klipsch klf c-7 x 2
klipsch klf-20 s
onkyo tx Nr-818 soon denonx4500
3 crown xls 2502 1 xls 1502, HSU vtf-15 Mk 2
malmstump is offline  
post #9412 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I only use it for gaming for now. Compared to the Shield when it comes to media streaming, in its current state, the Xbox One X is not up to par. There's a lot of potential for the Xbox One X as a media streamer but for now, it can't hold a candle to the Shield.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

I don't know why the XboxOneX has to select the audio passthrough for streaming vids. The blueray player in the Xbox works fine for DD vs DTS. The Shield is still the king of streamers.
I haven't found a one box solution yet for streaming, disk playing, and gaming.
Tfid is offline  
post #9413 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 01:14 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,128
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9444 Post(s)
Liked: 6130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I don't know why the XboxOneX has to select the audio passthrough for streaming vids. The blueray player in the Xbox works fine for DD vs DTS. The Shield is still the king of streamers.
I haven't found a one box solution yet for streaming, disk playing, and gaming.
And you probably never will.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9414 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Everything I'm typing isn't making sense to me but here it goes......


I have hundreds of hours of experience with the dune players on my system and thought the shield would be a step down in quality......but that's not the case. The picture quality is beter imo and so is the audio, witch doesn't make any sense to me....but here it is.....
jbarteli is offline  
post #9415 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 02:20 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,128
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9444 Post(s)
Liked: 6130
The audio should be identical. I know it is in my setups with my Popcorn hour players. The bitstreamed audio sounds identical to the bitstreamed audio from my SHields.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9416 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The audio should be identical. I know it is in my setups with my Popcorn hour players. The bitstreamed audio sounds identical to the bitstreamed audio from my SHields.
That's where "the making no sense" comes in play.....
jbarteli is offline  
post #9417 of 13137 Old 01-15-2019, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,774
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarteli View Post
Everything I'm typing isn't making sense to me but here it goes......


I have hundreds of hours of experience with the dune players on my system and thought the shield would be a step down in quality......but that's not the case. The picture quality is beter imo and so is the audio, witch doesn't make any sense to me....but here it is.....
Can you describe your audio setup and signal chain?
Is your Shield connected to the same AVR & Speakers than the Dune is/was? Where you bitstreaming in both instances? Is the AVR indicating it's receiving the same signal ("HD-MA", etc?)


And can you try to elaborate on what you mean by "better?" "Better" could mean "better A/V sync" which wouldn't be better actual "sound quality," just better fine-tuning/accuracy with lip-sync?

If the AVR is the same, and the speakers are the same, and the signal being received by the AVR is the same, and the "better" is something other than A/V sync, it's hard for me to imagine what it could be (other than placebo)....
psuKinger is offline  
post #9418 of 13137 Old 01-16-2019, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Can you describe your audio setup and signal chain?
Is your Shield connected to the same AVR & Speakers than the Dune is/was? Where you bitstreaming in both instances? Is the AVR indicating it's receiving the same signal ("HD-MA", etc?)


And can you try to elaborate on what you mean by "better?" "Better" could mean "better A/V sync" which wouldn't be better actual "sound quality," just better fine-tuning/accuracy with lip-sync?

If the AVR is the same, and the speakers are the same, and the signal being received by the AVR is the same, and the "better" is something other than A/V sync, it's hard for me to imagine what it could be (other than placebo)....

Setup:



7.1.4 Atmos | Arcam AVR390+Arcam P7 | Focal Aria 926 |Focal Aria CC900 | Epson TW9300 | KINGPIN Velvet Framed Screen VFS270-2:35.1 | 8x Boston Acoustics A25 | Rythmik FV15HP | Xbox ONE X | PS4 Pro | Sony 4k X800 | TV: Sony 65x8505c | Bluesound Node 2



Everything is the same and bitstreaming, only thing that changed is the shield. (and the HDfury linker I took out of the chain).
Listening to movie parts and music blu-rays it sounds calmer and hearing more details in for example with multiple people singing with more separation......I wasn't listening for sound changes just making sure things were working....
But I understand it has to be placebo....witch is strange because in this case you should think it would work the other way around because in my head I was thinking it would be a step back.......
jbarteli is offline  
post #9419 of 13137 Old 01-16-2019, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 3,230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Have you tried just playing the files directly using something like ES File Browser and the built-in video player?

Gave this a try and that works. Still not sure why Plex won't play the files though.

"You’re KILLIN’ ME Smalls! "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #9420 of 13137 Old 01-16-2019, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 595 Post(s)
Liked: 190
If the source audio signal has NOT been decoded but just pass-through device(s) (bitstreaming) to the destination (speakers), it would be the exact same.
tinhvo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off