NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 351 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3141Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10501 of 10867 Old 06-05-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,764
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1726 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Plus one for MrMC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10502 of 10867 Old 06-05-2019, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Plus one for MrMC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I switch between MrMC and Kodi. MrMC has a nicer UI, but Kodi displays the metadata from my DLNA server. Don't know why MrMC doesn't.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10503 of 10867 Old 06-05-2019, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,764
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1726 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I switch between MrMC and Kodi. MrMC has a nicer UI, but Kodi displays the metadata from my DLNA server. Don't know why MrMC doesn't.


Kodi is great if you just want to watch any file right now.

MRMC is better at the total experience.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10504 of 10867 Old 06-05-2019, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 612
(Unless something(s) has changed since I last experimented)
For one particular "main room install"? Sure, Kodi's great.

But if you have lots of TVs in lots of rooms, and have lots of "portable" screens too (phone - tablet - laptop) that you sometimes leave the house with, and you use your Plex Server to acces lots of different kinds of content on all of those different screens (movies, tv shows, live sports, lossless FLAC)? It tracks watched states from device-to-device out-of-the-box, no MySQL-esque setup needed, no manual Port Forwarding or VPNing, etc. It's very user-friendly and useful, and supports just about every "local media" feature I'd want it too...
psuKinger is online now  
post #10505 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
(Unless something(s) has changed since I last experimented)
For one particular "main room install"? Sure, Kodi's great.

But if you have lots of TVs in lots of rooms, and have lots of "portable" screens too (phone - tablet - laptop) that you sometimes leave the house with, and you use your Plex Server to acces lots of different kinds of content on all of those different screens (movies, tv shows, live sports, lossless FLAC)? It tracks watched states from device-to-device out-of-the-box, no MySQL-esque setup needed, no manual Port Forwarding or VPNing, etc. It's very user-friendly and useful, and supports just about every "local media" feature I'd want it too...
When I first started using Kodi several years ago I set up MySQL to share all my content, which is stored on my Synology NAS, across all my Kodi instance thru out my home. It has worked perfectly ever since. It was not very hard at all and now their are plenty of guides out their that walk you thru the setup. IMPO I would not consider that an issue with using it.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #10506 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,422
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6148 Post(s)
Liked: 5376
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I switch between MrMC and Kodi. MrMC has a nicer UI, but Kodi displays the metadata from my DLNA server. Don't know why MrMC doesn't.
Is there a way to sync the database between Kodi and MrMC?
Alan P is online now  
post #10507 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Is there a way to sync the database between Kodi and MrMC?
Since my media is on a DLNA server (Serviio), neither Kodi nor MrMC maintain a database. It's all on my server itself.
Alan P likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10508 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Kodi is a real disappoint for me. After not using the Shield for a few months and doing updates pretty much nothing worked anymore. 4k mkv were showing about half of the picture, no more Atmos, resolution issues. Whitelist blank but additions didn't change much. Why are the most used resolution not already there anyway?

DL'd VLC player and it works great - Atmos and everything.
Gary J is online now  
post #10509 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Kodi is a real disappoint for me. After not using the Shield for a few months and doing updates pretty much nothing worked anymore. 4k mkv were showing about half of the picture, no more Atmos, resolution issues. Whitelist blank but additions didn't change much. Why are the most used resolution not already there anyway?

DL'd VLC player and it works great - Atmos and everything.
No idea why yours does that. I have no issues with my 4K media, including Atmos or DTS:X. I agree about the whitelisting. It seems more that they should all be enabled, and let the user deselect any they don't want to use.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10510 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
mborland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sun Prairie Wisconsin
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
When I first started using Kodi several years ago I set up MySQL to share all my content, which is stored on my Synology NAS, across all my Kodi instance thru out my home. It has worked perfectly ever since. It was not very hard at all and now their are plenty of guides out their that walk you thru the setup. IMPO I would not consider that an issue with using it.
I have tried the guides I have found, and they leave a lot to the imagination. Do you have one you think is the definitive one?
mborland is offline  
post #10511 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,818
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Is there a way to sync the database between Kodi and MrMC?
Or use something else in the background like Emby.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #10512 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
No idea why yours does that. I have no issues with my 4K media, including Atmos or DTS:X. I agree about the whitelisting. It seems more that they should all be enabled, and let the user deselect any they don't want to use.
Me either. What I do know is I downloaded VLC, changed Audio to bitstream and all MKVs just work - with detailed thumbnails no less.
Gary J is online now  
post #10513 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I can't add my NAS to kodi with the Shield. Says some kind of error. Works fine on Amazon Fire TV Kodi. What is going on? Can anybody summarize. Thanks.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #10514 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by mborland View Post
I have tried the guides I have found, and they leave a lot to the imagination. Do you have one you think is the definitive one?
I set mine up several years ago and haven’t had to touch it since. I haven’t really taken a detailed look at the guides that are out there currently other than noticing that their seem to be a lot of them. IIRC the trickiest part was on the NAS side getting MySQL and PHP setup correctly and I think that is going to depend on what NAS you are using and the database sw packages it uses. I had never touched any database sw before and don’t recall that it was that hard to setup. I would definitely start with the Kodi wiki. I seem to recall their was some helpful info in there on how to get it setup. Again, it’s been a long time since I had to touch any of it. Once it’s setup it just works...thankfully...LOL

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #10515 of 10867 Old 06-06-2019, 08:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 364
So what's the best VPN? I've never used one, but got a few notices from my internet provider about illegal downloads.

Sent from my LGUS997 using Tapatalk
buju22 is offline  
post #10516 of 10867 Old 06-07-2019, 07:29 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,831
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
While the 4:2:0 colorspace is technically capable of supporting everything, you are also limited to what the HDMi 2.0 spec supports. And the HDMI 2.0 spec only supports 4:2:0 at 50Hz and 60hz. No matter what the bit depth.
You cannot use the 4:2:0 colorspace at 24hz or 30Hz since it is not in the HDMi 2.0 spec.

EDIT: Here is a table that shows what is supported in the HDMI 2.0 spec. So this is all that can be used with any device that is certified to use HDMI 2.0.


This table comes from http://www.acousticfrontiers.com/uhd-101-v2/

I know the dozens of UHD devices I have used have all conformed to the HDMI 2.0 spec and have matched what this table shows. And this includes my Shield TVs.

Here is another chart from the same website.


That is a fantastic resource. The only thing lacking was a single graph/chart encompassing the information, so I created one for myself, and am sharing it here. For me, this has everything in one graph, and is easy to understand; YMMV. This graph has been in the 4K Media Player spreadsheet in the thread linked in my signature for quite some time, but that requires folks to find it, download it, and then users need to realize there are multiple worksheets. I will note the spreadsheet also has additional information in the some cell notes, so this image posted below and the PDF (attached below) do not allow viewing that additional information.

Mark

Anyway, without further adieu:


4K UHD HDMI Data Rates.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDMI Rates.JPG
Views:	186
Size:	213.9 KB
ID:	2577062  
giomania is offline  
post #10517 of 10867 Old 06-07-2019, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,546
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by mborland View Post
I have tried the guides I have found, and they leave a lot to the imagination. Do you have one you think is the definitive one?
I always reference this page... https://kodi.wiki/view/MySQL/Setting_up_MySQL

It covers most devices and the following shows how to configure clients... https://kodi.wiki/view/MySQL/Setting_up_Kodi
giomania likes this.

125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K Monitor |
Charles R is offline  
post #10518 of 10867 Old 06-07-2019, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,554
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2996 Post(s)
Liked: 1344
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju22 View Post
So what's the best VPN? I've never used one, but got a few notices from my internet provider about illegal downloads.
https://www.techradar.com/vpn/best-vpn
Mine (VPNUnlimited) doesn't even crack the top 10, but it's cheap and has always worked fine for my purposes (streaming foreign TV). I don't do torrents.
mdavej is offline  
post #10519 of 10867 Old 06-07-2019, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Performed a system restore of the Shield today and discovered two kinks in the system. The Live Channels app's Channel Guide was a hot mess and I thought it was due to the recent updates. The system restore fixed that. I also forgot to Change my HDMI Ports 2 and 3/Arc on my Sony Display to "Enhanced" after I performed a system restore a week earlier.



After connecting the Shield to my NAS, configuring the Plex Media Server on the Shield was much easier, and I did not have to fix drive shares this time.

The only issue I'm having now is getting the Netflix Addon for Kodi to change resolutions. I'm pretty sure there's an option I missed, as I had it working before, plus all of my local media, HD and 4K/HDR, are all working properly regarding Colorspace, Resolution, and Framerate switching. Atmos and HDR from Netflix using this addon is working properly.


Update: Thanks to the charts provided by @giomania and @aaronwt , Resolution switching is now fixed.

A A Ron.....sorry......................
aaronwt and giomania like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 06-07-2019 at 05:48 PM.
groove93 is offline  
post #10520 of 10867 Old 06-07-2019, 07:23 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,831
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Performed a system restore of the Shield today and discovered two kinks in the system. The Live Channels app's Channel Guide was a hot mess and I thought it was due to the recent updates. The system restore fixed that. I also forgot to Change my HDMI Ports 2 and 3/Arc on my Sony Display to "Enhanced" after I performed a system restore a week earlier.







After connecting the Shield to my NAS, configuring the Plex Media Server on the Shield was much easier, and I did not have to fix drive shares this time.



The only issue I'm having now is getting the Netflix Addon for Kodi to change resolutions. I'm pretty sure there's an option I missed, as I had it working before, plus all of my local media, HD and 4K/HDR, are all working properly regarding Colorspace, Resolution, and Framerate switching. Atmos and HDR from Netflix using this addon is working properly.





Update: Thanks to the charts provided by @giomania and @aaronwt , Resolution switching is now fixed.



A A Ron.....sorry......................


How did you fix it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is offline  
post #10521 of 10867 Old 06-07-2019, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
I've always had the Shield set to 420/10-bit/rec2020, but setting it to 422/12-bit-rec2020 fixed the resolution issue. I can't say that this was the actual fix, for it worked with the "420" setting, but the display now switches to the proper resolution. I thought I may not have had the correct resolutions "whitelisted" within Kodi, but the ones I needed were all checked.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #10522 of 10867 Old 06-08-2019, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cliff Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contuzzi View Post
Those two pictures look like DVD vs BD. Are we just going to ignore the fact that the Kodi add on looks like its half the resolution? Also the colors look pushed on the Kodi addon. I don't notice these problems when I run the addon, but I just installed it a few days ago and haven't watched much. As far as those photos go, the native app looks hilariously better. I can't fathom how anyone can think otherwise.



If it's the camera, why post them? Lock the exposure on the phone and just take a photo of each without changing anything. If they look different, then there is some issue with color space/resoution/etc making them look different.
Which is yet another reason I use TV Apps for streaming everything except live TV. The sharpness, vivid colors, contrast...everything that I gain from using my Samsung S8000 (2016), is far superior to anything the Shield TV or any apps within it are capable of. So I lose Atmos for a handful of titles. Oh well...

Below is from my 'ancient TV' Netflix app.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Cliff Olson is offline  
post #10523 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju22 View Post
So what's the best VPN? I've never used one, but got a few notices from my internet provider about illegal downloads.

Sent from my LGUS997 using Tapatalk
I have NordVPN... costly but it works so well. And I get nearly no slowdowns with streaming or downloading. You can get 3 years for $100, which is well worth it.
russdornisch is offline  
post #10524 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Is there a way to sync the database between Kodi and MrMC?
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Since my media is on a DLNA server (Serviio), neither Kodi nor MrMC maintain a database. It's all on my server itself.
I believe the important question is whether Kodi and MrMC can share the same current Kodi database version (18), the answer to which I believe is sadly no, but would welcome a correction on this.

MySQL Compatibility

database versions (DB sharing with external SQL)
dabl is offline  
post #10525 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Is there a way to sync the database between Kodi and MrMC?
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Or use something else in the background like Emby.
Unless you need support for .iso images
dabl is offline  
post #10526 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,818
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
Unless you need support for .iso images
When using Emby to catalog media doesn't Kodi still use its playback engine?
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #10527 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1023 Post(s)
Liked: 344
iso?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10528 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
When using Emby to catalog media doesn't Kodi still use its playback engine?
I guess I can't speak with authority on that but certainly that is the logical assumption.

It never occurred to me until I tried substituting Emby as a back end for Kodi, but in my experience, for whatever reason when using Emby as a back end, Kodi would not play .iso files like it would when using a local database. I can only draw the conclusion that the general lack of official support for .iso in Emby is responsible. It seems worse for Android clients, perhaps somewhat better in PC clients but when seeking out answers from official Emby support I mostly I found the suggestion 'just convert to .mkv' whenever somebody asked about it.

I would love to be proven wrong on this. When I posted about this in a related Emby forum nobody disputed my findings.

Last edited by dabl; 06-10-2019 at 02:10 PM.
dabl is offline  
post #10529 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,818
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabl View Post
I guess I can't speak with authority on that but certainly that is the logical assumption.

It never occurred to me until I tried substituting Emby as a back end for Kodi, but in my experience, for whatever reason when using Emby as a back end, Kodi would not play .iso files like it would when using a local database. I can only draw the conclusion that the general lack of official support for .iso in Emby is responsible. It seems worse for Android clients, perhaps somewhat better in PC clients but when seeking out answers from official Emby support I mostly I found the suggestion 'just convert to .mkv' whenever somebody asked about it.

I would love to be proven wrong on this. When I posted about this in a related Emby forum nobody disputed my findings.
It makes sense, I guess you can't use Emby for just a database. I don't use .IOS's so never ran into that issue.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #10530 of 10867 Old 06-10-2019, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
https://www.techradar.com/vpn/best-vpn
Mine (VPNUnlimited) doesn't even crack the top 10, but it's cheap and has always worked fine for my purposes (streaming foreign TV). I don't do torrents.
I'm a little bit suspicious of them.

Reviews keep referring to them as a New-York based company. But looking the list of employees' names, it sure doesn't look like random tech employees in New York to me (see attached).

Also, they don't promise zero logging like other VPNs, which almost certainly means your session is being logged for some future use.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0769.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	146.6 KB
ID:	2578612  
Actionable Mango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off