NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 408 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4226Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12211 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,237
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Seems to me this is a BIG upgrade in hardware and capabilities.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm not sure what the big upgrade is? DV is most likely done with software. As far as the video scaling features are we really don't know at this point. Other than the slight bump in processor speed (which was a given being that it's the same chip used in the new Switch) there doesn't seem to be anything different.

Maybe I'm missing something?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12212 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I'm not sure what the big upgrade is? DV is most likely done with software. As far as the video scaling features are we really don't know at this point. Other than the slight bump in processor speed (which was a given being that it's the same chip used in the new Switch) there doesn't seem to be anything different.

Maybe I'm missing something?
Regardless of the hardware improvements, if the new Shield provides Dolby Vision and better upscaling, that's a huge improvement. Hopefully they will support Atmos in Netflix too. I've switched to the Apple TV 4K primarily because of Dolby Vision support and significantly better upscaling.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #12213 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I've switched to the Apple TV 4K primarily because of Dolby Vision support and significantly better upscaling.
Bingo, as many others have as well.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12214 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
This makes no sense. The Shield already bitstreams HD audio. Also, I don't know why people keep asking for eARC on the Shield. Streaming devices don't need to support eARC. Only your TV and your receiver need to support eARC in the HDMI chain. The whole point of eARC is to send HD audio from your TV to your receiver.
I don’t see how this can be true if you connect your Shield directly to HDMI port on TV, wouldn’t the device need to support eARC?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #12215 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,237
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
Regardless of the hardware improvements, if the new Shield provides Dolby Vision and better upscaling, that's a huge improvement. Hopefully they will support Atmos in Netflix too. I've switched to the Apple TV 4K primarily because of Dolby Vision support and significantly better upscaling.
I assume everyone with a DV TV already has a built in Netflix app that supports it. That said, yes, it would be nice to have Atmos support finally with Netflix on the Shield. Let's hope Nvidia sprang for the licensing fees for it.

If you want Atmos w/Netlix (although no DV) what you can do is use the Kodi Netflix add-on. I tend to use it anyways because I like using my TV's built in upscaler- I assume most people who care about this will do it anyways. Use auto-refresh rate or some other tool that lets your TV's upscaler handle the job.

I have an Apple TV too, I just don't use it much. I also don't use my Shield for Kodi- too many issues, audio drop-outs with the new firmware (even with the test releases). I use a $30 Coreelec box because it has better PQ than the Shield and fewer bugs. Yes, I know people have no issues at all, but the audio-dropout problem is a known issue- it happens in all content.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #12216 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cliff Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don’t see how this can be true if you connect your Shield directly to HDMI port on TV, wouldn’t the device need to support eARC?
No, only the TV and your Pre/Pro need to support eARC.

Sent from my Samsung S9+ using Tapatalk
dwaleke likes this.
Cliff Olson is offline  
post #12217 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliff Olson View Post
No, only the TV and your Pre/Pro need to support eARC.

Sent from my Samsung S9+ using Tapatalk
That’s good to hear, then we only need the streaming vendors to pass the audio via eARC...

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #12218 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,362
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1482 Post(s)
Liked: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don’t see how this can be true if you connect your Shield directly to HDMI port on TV, wouldn’t the device need to support eARC?
If your desire is support for lossless audio (TrueHD, DTS MA), why on earth would you connect the Shield directly to the TV and not directly to the AVR? I see no benefit to connecting any device directly to the display when using an AVR.

But yes, in your scenario the TV and AVR would both need to support eARC.
Gary J, aaronwt and groove93 like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #12219 of 13256 Old 10-17-2019, 08:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
confinoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shaker Heights, OH
Posts: 2,084
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1284 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
That’s good to hear, then we only need the streaming vendors to pass the audio via eARC...
Unlikely we are going to see lossless audio from streaming services anytime soon. They are mostly focussing on optimizing bitrate and encoding of dolby digital plus which as we all know is lossy. It is adaptive and designed for streaming applications. Additionally the demand is rather low other than for us AVSers. If you want best video and audio quality it will have to be disc based for the foreseeable future. Personally I think the video quality of streaming has gotten very good and on my 65" OLED it's really hard to tell a difference most of the time. I'm sure on a large screen/projector setup differences will be more obvious. For audio however lossless audio on discs is more clearly superior, particularly bass response.
groove93 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P (Chad B Calibrated) | Denon X4300H | HDHomeRun Quatro | Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 | ATV 4K | Oppo UDP-203 | 40TB Plex server
5.2.4 | Front Klipsch RP-160M x2 | Center Klipsch RP-450C | Surrounds Klipsch RP-150M x2 | Atmos Klipsch RP-140SA x 4 | Subs SVS PC-4000 x 2
confinoj is online now  
post #12220 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 12:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by confinoj View Post
Unlikely we are going to see lossless audio from streaming services anytime soon. They are mostly focussing on optimizing bitrate and encoding of dolby digital plus which as we all know is lossy. It is adaptive and designed for streaming applications. Additionally the demand is rather low other than for us AVSers. If you want best video and audio quality it will have to be disc based for the foreseeable future. Personally I think the video quality of streaming has gotten very good and on my 65" OLED it's really hard to tell a difference most of the time. I'm sure on a large screen/projector setup differences will be more obvious. For audio however lossless audio on discs is more clearly superior, particularly bass response.
Yes, I notice the difference in the audio when streaming titles. I guess this is true so that we'll never see DTS:X or Dolby True HD audio except maybe in some compressed version like they do with Atmos.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #12221 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 650
For those with Shields attached to their Oppo 203's HDMI Input:

I've been enjoying bit perfect audio through MrMC after making a few adjustments within this App's settings.

One thing I've noticed is that my AVR switches between Dolby Surround and Multi Channel In as a result of using the Stereo Upmix feature within MrMC.

In the past when I had my Shield attached to my Oppo 203, switches between Dolby Surround and Multi Channel In would result in the picture skipping frames or completely pausing while the audio played on. Since I removed the Shield from the Oppo, that issue was fixed.

Considering I hear my AVR click between audio settings more often, I thought of what could possibly occur when the Shield was attached to the 203. So anyone with a Shield attached to their 203, and using MrMC or Kodi for music playback, whether it be 2-channel or DSD, the issues I described above may occur.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #12222 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Heh? Speak for yourself, one of the biggest complaints is upscaling, and that looks like it is being addressed which is great.
With probably the exact same result as the upscaling done elsewhere with probably the exactly same commodity scaling chip.
Gary J is offline  
post #12223 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
With probably the exact same result as the upscaling done elsewhere with probably the exactly same commodity scaling chip.


So it's being upgraded to current standards. Whats wrong with that?

I don't know what AI will do to help upscaling but I'm curious to check it out.
aaronwt and archer75 like this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #12224 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 370
It has already been "addressed" by most users meaning no upgrade incentive for them.
Gary J is offline  
post #12225 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 636
NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
It has already been "addressed" by most users meaning no upgrade incentive for them.


Well we can agree to disagree. Not sure what all people would have realistically expected from a new shield. No YouTube HDR is probably the biggest gaf if it's not included. Send at this point there shouldn't be anything like that missing at launch.

But I like new toys. So I'll bite.

Edit##
Anyone else feel their shield is slow to wake up? I have mine connected to an AVR and use a harmony remote.

Often lately when I hit the activity on tht harmony I get a signal screen from my TV. Sometimes if I wait it will go to the shield finally. Or sometimes I need to push the activity button again. It's really annoying. I'd just like the thing to never sleep but I haven't figured that out yet. Doesn't seem to be an option.

I should probably also revisit CEC on my TV and turn that all off (new TV still getting used to it)

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10

Last edited by whiteboy714; 10-18-2019 at 07:52 AM.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #12226 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Nothing to disagree with. My point stands true and uncorrected.
Gary J is offline  
post #12227 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 650
My Shield is never slow to wake up and never has been. I have CEC turned off on all of my devices because I use a Harmony Remote.



Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #12228 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:00 AM
Member
 
bobdro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Well we can agree to disagree. Not sure what all people would have realistically expected from a new shield. No YouTube HDR is probably the biggest gaf if it's not included. Send at this point there shouldn't be anything like that missing at launch.

But I like new toys. So I'll bite.

Edit##
Anyone else feel their shield is slow to wake up? I have mine connected to an AVR and use a harmony remote.

Often lately when I hit the activity on tht harmony I get a signal screen from my TV. Sometimes if I wait it will go to the shield finally. Or sometimes I need to push the activity button again. It's really annoying. I'd just like the thing to never sleep but I haven't figured that out yet. Doesn't seem to be an option.

I should probably also revisit CEC on my TV and turn that all off (new TV still getting used to it)
Also more than just stereo on youtube would be great too.
bobdro is offline  
post #12229 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdro View Post
Also more than just stereo on youtube would be great too.


Does any device actually get 5.1 from YouTube? I read that people put it in the title but YouTube doesn't support it. Is that false?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #12230 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:28 AM
Member
 
bobdro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Does any device actually get 5.1 from YouTube? I read that people put it in the title but YouTube doesn't support it. Is that false?
My Vizio TV, Roku Ultra, and Firetv 4k Stick all do surround on youtube.
bobdro is offline  
post #12231 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 479 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Well we can agree to disagree. Not sure what all people would have realistically expected from a new shield. No YouTube HDR is probably the biggest gaf if it's not included. Send at this point there shouldn't be anything like that missing at launch.
I think others are being a bit too quick to pronounce VP9.2 dead because of the ad copy on a deleted Amazon listing. I'm optimistic YouTube HDR will be available, because there's really no reason Google wouldn't want the flagship android box to have it. It's open source... no reason not to. Also optimistic the stupid Netflix button means it'll get Atmos. Netflix is artificially holding back that capability, but Netflix rewards those who promote Netflix.

As for the "minor upgrade" complaints in the thread, this is an huge silicon upgrade from an ancient 20nm chip to the 16nm or 14nm used on the new Nintendo Switch. Nintendo used the chip shrink to lower power consumption, but the Shield is using it to boost performance 25% over what was already the king of streaming boxes. So it can play bitstreamed 4k movie backups (eventually including DV once that gets sorted), and all the streaming services in the full quality available. It can do gamestreaming. It's the one box that rules them all. For those who don't have DV sets -- well, you have a 2017 Shield that will continue getting full support. Sticking with the X1 chip design means you'll get all the new software features. Win.
aaronwt likes this.

XBR-75Z9D fed by Oppo 203. Decrapifying the X1 Extreme
Taxcheat is online now  
post #12232 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdro View Post
My Vizio TV, Roku Ultra, and Firetv 4k Stick all do surround on youtube.


Interesting I didn't know that.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #12233 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Jeff5347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have the 2017 shield. I hear ppl say we will get the optimizations of the new one but I'm not thinking so. This would decrease the sales of the new. If they say the 17 will get all the stuff the new one has minus the faster chip..why upgrade? The new SW releases would include ai upscaling and dv. What's my incentive to buy the new box. That's why I think we will still see updates just not in those major catagories

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Jeff5347 is offline  
post #12234 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,992
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1865 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Nothing to disagree with. My point stands true and uncorrected.


Dude. Don’t internet. Not here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hogues likes this.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #12235 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Does any device actually get 5.1 from YouTube? I read that people put it in the title but YouTube doesn't support it. Is that false?
There was a time where the YouTube exclusive content and some videos had 5.1 surround enabled. My AVR would switch to Multi Channel In. A couple of months ago, that feature was disabled on all content.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #12236 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Dude. Don’t internet. Not here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Ha thanks. I was like really? Just trying to enjoy discussing some tech.
hogues likes this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #12237 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,992
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1865 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Ha thanks. I was like really? Just trying to enjoy discussing some tech.


Maybe he thought he was being funny. It didn’t work.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hogues likes this.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #12238 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Dude. Don’t internet. Not here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thank you.

hogues is offline  
post #12239 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
If your desire is support for lossless audio (TrueHD, DTS MA), why on earth would you connect the Shield directly to the TV and not directly to the AVR? I see no benefit to connecting any device directly to the display when using an AVR.

But yes, in your scenario the TV and AVR would both need to support eARC.

I can give you 3 good reasons to connect devices to the TV first with an AVR:
1. AVR doesn't have enough HDMI ports for all your devices.
2. AVR doesn't support 4K 60fps HDR passthrough of video.
3. If no HDMI inputs are used on the AVR, there's no need to switch inputs on the TV and AVR when going from OTA tuner to video source. Only the TV input needs changing.


I personally don't use lossless audio or Atmos (ceiling speakers), or even have the internet speed to stream 4K, so my streaming is limited to 1080P, 5.1(DTS, DD, DD+).
My AVR (Vizio 5.1 sound bar/speaker combo) has HDMI ARC, DTS/DD/DD+ decoding. That's good enough for me.
Tfid is offline  
post #12240 of 13256 Old 10-18-2019, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdro View Post
My Vizio TV, Roku Ultra, and Firetv 4k Stick all do surround on youtube.

Are you talking about YouTube TV, or regular YouTube. What vids do you watch on YouTube that even warrant the use of 5.1 or HDR?
Aren't most YT vids just someones face talking in front of a selfie cam? I don't get the 'gripe'.
Tfid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off