NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 472 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4720Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14131 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
If you installed Dolby Access app on PC, it will report everything as Atmos because it upscales it by default. If the TrueHD track is truely Atmos (which I think it is not the case), your receiver will automatically switch to Atmos when it receives TrueHD bitstreamed over. There is not much need to be done on the player side.
Foxbat121, that's a good thing to check but I don't remember installing Atmos access app on my pc. And did another test on pc by playing a DTS HDMA file and that displayed DTS-HD MSTR on the receiver. So i am guessing dolby access app is not installed or upscaling everything by default?

Here is interesting part, I downloaded Dolby Atmos leaf trailer from dolby.com but that is showing DD Plus on receiver, and plex on shield is showing direct play (EAC3 5.1). So not sure where is the issue for not understanding Atmos audio, only weak link I can guess is HDMI cable. Please suggest what else could be the problem.

TV:Samsung QN75Q90R
HT: Pioneer Elite sc-95, 5.1.2 speaker setup
Player: Nvidia Shield 2017
av_stuff is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14132 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Are the audio settings correct in Plex? Are you actually playing the Atmos track from the title?
Both my 2017 and 2019 Shields have no problem playing lossless Atmos and DTS:X with Plex using my Onkyo receiver and also a Vizio speaker bar. Using both the native Plex app and plex inside Kodi.
Hi aaronwt, That's what I am reading that Shield 2017 supports dolby atmos but its not working for me for some reason. I downloaded atmos sample from dolby website and that is playing DD+ and not atmos. Audio settings on shield and plex should be fine as it passes through TrueHD, DTS etc just fine.

TV:Samsung QN75Q90R
HT: Pioneer Elite sc-95, 5.1.2 speaker setup
Player: Nvidia Shield 2017
av_stuff is online now  
post #14133 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,683
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by av_stuff View Post
Yes I am getting multiple audio choices like english (TrueHD 7.1), English (AC3 5.1) etc. for that mkv file but no Atmos choice is coming.
Yeah already getting TrueHD so no more settings changes may be needed in Plex or Shield settings, or receiver that I have selected ALC.
If the TrueHD track has Atmos, you get it. There's no separate audio selection for Atmos. What you may need to do is ensure Plex is configured correctly to stream everything to the Shield without transcoding. I believe they call it Direct Stream. If it transcodes the audio, you lose the lossless audio, including Atmos.

I'm looking at the Plex player on my '19 Shield, and I really don't like what they've done. I can't even find the settings to make those changes. It looks like they're only available after playback begins. Another reason I don't use Plex for my home streaming. It's great when I'm traveling and use a Roku on the hotel TV. But home I much prefer using a dedicated DLNA server (Serviio) and use Kodi as my player.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14134 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
There's only one setting to adjust in Plex, and that's enabling Passthrough in the settings. Either the file does not have Atmos, or you'll need to check for additional audio tracks within the file. If Atmos is not playing on the Shield, and only Dolby TrueHD is, then the file probably does not have Atmos to begin with.


One additional thing to check is the status of the Playback on both your PC and Shield using your Plex Media Server. Check if both devices are in "Direct Play" regarding the file in question.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 05-19-2020 at 03:34 PM.
groove93 is offline  
post #14135 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by av_stuff View Post
Hi,
I am a new user here and have a question on shield connected to pioneer sc-95 receiver. I see TrueHD displayed on receiver for a mkv file with TrueHD Atmos when I play through plex on shield. Same file shows Atmos on receiver when I play from PC connected to receiver.
So looks like shield is only playing up to TrueHD through audio pass-through to the receiver and not Atmos.

Do anyone has inputs on what I am missing for getting Atmos on receiver and not just TrueHD? I already unplugged and and re-plugged shield and receiver but no changes for getting Atmos. Does HDMI cable plays a role for any role in getting up to TrueHD sound and not Atmos sound on receiver?

Thanks!
You have a lot of responses already.
I'm sure you've done a lot of testing on your end.
If I might, can I suggest the following
+ be sure to download another TrueHD Atmos demo and try it again
+ download and install Kodi or VLC in ShieldTV and play your Atmos demo clips using those apps


I'm sure the ShieldTV, both 2017 and 2019 version, supports audio passthru.
I have no issue with TrueHD/Atmos and/or DTS-MA/:X


Also, when you tested playing the same clip from ShieldTV and from PC, did you use the same HDMI input (on AVR)?
tinhvo is offline  
post #14136 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by asabrag View Post
For that to be true, we wouldnt get JR Season 1 with Atmos and none of the other titles.
For me, its an Amazon issue and most probably related to geography location.

To minimize the variables I am using just the Oled TV and same results as with the Shields. So, no shield issue.
What are some other solid Atmos titles to check on Prime on the Shield? I notice that the 4K UHD titles all say 5.1, should it say Atmos in the description?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #14137 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
What are some other solid Atmos titles to check on Prime on the Shield? I notice that the 4K UHD titles all say 5.1, should it say Atmos in the description?

bob
On the Shield, Atmos was never in the description. HDR10 used to be in the description, but it's no longer there. For other TVs and devices, those descriptions are present.

The titles mentioned earlier are the typical "goto" titles for Atmos on Amazon Prime.

One thing I enjoyed about watching "The Aeronauts" was not only the Image quality, but there are instances where the film takes advantage of your "height" speakers, particularly in the Hot-Air Balloon sequences.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14138 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 04:05 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,976
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10000 Post(s)
Liked: 6660
Quote:
Originally Posted by av_stuff View Post
Hi aaronwt, That's what I am reading that Shield 2017 supports dolby atmos but its not working for me for some reason. I downloaded atmos sample from dolby website and that is playing DD+ and not atmos. Audio settings on shield and plex should be fine as it passes through TrueHD, DTS etc just fine.
Maybe the demo is the issue? Maybe there is some kind of incompatibility? My Lossless Atmos and DTS:X is coming from my UHD BD rips. That I have in MKV files.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #14139 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
These should be the two settings to look at within the Plex settings:

Passthrough should be enabled, and Home Steaming should be "Maximized", or the audio will definitely drop to a lossy version of Dolby or DTS.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
aaronwt likes this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14140 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
CBA All Access now has HDR for those interested. Like Amazon Prime, there's no indication of HDR in a series description, so you'll have to just play and see.

https://www.cordcuttersnews.com/cbs-...ndroid-tv-app/
aaronwt likes this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14141 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
What are some other solid Atmos titles to check on Prime on the Shield? I notice that the 4K UHD titles all say 5.1, should it say Atmos in the description?



bob
-Jack Ryan 1 / 2
-Suspiria 2018
-Carnival Row
Confirmed by the Torrents I ended up downloading.

They support team dont even know how to tell you whats supposed to be in Atmos...
asabrag is online now  
post #14142 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
Just checking JR season 2 15' ago.
Still got 4K, HDR + Atmos.
So good so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
And now Atmos/HDR10 is working again for Prime.

SMH
Guys, please, can you check these titles for the rest of us who it isnt working Atmos:
-Spiderman Far From Home
-Anna
-John Wick Chapter 3
-Men in Black International
-Brightburn
-Avengers Endgame
-Alita Battle Angel
-Marvels Iron Fist Season 2

Thanks in advance
asabrag is online now  
post #14143 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by asabrag View Post
Guys, please, can you check these titles for the rest of us who it isnt working Atmos:
-Spiderman Far From Home
-Anna
-John Wick Chapter 3
-Men in Black International
-Brightburn
-Avengers Endgame
-Alita Battle Angel
-Marvels Iron Fist Season 2

Thanks in advance
Those are titles that have nothing to do with Amazon Prime. One of those titles is from Netflix. It's the original series that have HDR/Atmos.

If you're downloading torrents, then this is not the place to discuss these files.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14144 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Those are titles that have nothing to do with Amazon Prime. One of those titles is from Netflix. It's the original series that have HDR/Atmos.



If you're downloading torrents, then this is not the place to discuss these files.
I am just guessing...could you please let us know the complete list of Amazon Prime's Atmos?
asabrag is online now  
post #14145 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by asabrag View Post
I am just guessing...could you please let us know the complete list of Amazon Prime's Atmos?
Me too. Got to get to the bottom of it, LOL

bob
pg22 and asabrag like this.
spongebob is offline  
post #14146 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Jack Ryan Seasons 1 and 2
Carnival Row
Aeronauts (Film)
Suspiria (Film)


Many original series titles will be in HDR, but no Atmos. (then again, could depend on the device)
Bosch
Upload
Tales from the Loop
Hanna
Hunters
The Boys
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel


From my experience regarding renting movies from Amazon Prime, I can get HDR, but no Atmos.

If you have a Movies Anywhere account with Amazon, Google Play Movies, and Vudu all linked to your account, but purchase a film from MA, Amazon Prime, or Google Play movies, you're more than likely going to get an Atmos/HDR Presentation for the same title through Vudu.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14147 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post
Thanks for that. I haven't tried Dolphin directly, only the Dolphin core in RetroArch. I'm trying to keep it simple/consolidated for my 10yr old and she's able to navigate RetroArch fairly well... I'll give stand-alone Dolphin a try and see how well it works for the games she's interested in (Mario Sunshine, Paper Mario, Mario Party, etc) and how navigable it would be for her.
I got Dolphin up and running for GC games and the ones she would play seem to be working passably... Mario Sunshine runs along just fine between 50 and 60 FPS, while Paper Mario is playable at 40-50 FPS with some occasional audio glitches. I haven't played with CPU scaling on a per-game basis and probably won't since she'll likely play and given game for a few hours before losing interest.
galonzo likes this.

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Hub Ultimate | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | Disney+ | Spotify
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14148 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Jack Ryan Seasons 1 and 2
Carnival Row
Aeronauts (Film)
Suspiria (Film)


Many original series titles will be in HDR, but no Atmos. (then again, could depend on the device)
Bosch
Upload
Tales from the Loop
Hanna
Hunters
The Boys
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel


From my experience regarding renting movies from Amazon Prime, I can get HDR, but no Atmos.

If you have a Movies Anywhere account with Amazon, Google Play Movies, and Vudu all linked to your account, but purchase a film from MA, Amazon Prime, or Google Play movies, you're more than likely going to get an Atmos/HDR Presentation for the same title through Vudu.
Tried all of these and yes to HDR, none have Atmos. I do run my Shield into a Marantz 7012 AVR that is not set up for Atmos. Could that be it? I get Atmos on these titles using the LG Tv App. I guess I could plug te Shield direstly into the TV but not idael even if it worked.

bob
asabrag likes this.
spongebob is offline  
post #14149 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I DL this Atmos test file and playing it from the Shield w/ VLC into my AVR, I don't get the Atmos logo. Could someone check it too?


http://s1.demo-world.eu/hd_trailers....less-DWEU.m2ts

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #14150 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Do you have Atmos speakers connected to the terminals on your AVR?

Within the Audio Menu/Amp Assign, do you have a similar speaker configuration?

Also, in the Main Zone option, you may need to toggle between the Audio choices with the "Movie" or "Music" links.




Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14151 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Tried all of these and yes to HDR, none have Atmos. I do run my Shield into a Marantz 7012 AVR that is not set up for Atmos. Could that be it? I get Atmos on these titles using the LG Tv App. I guess I could plug te Shield direstly into the TV but not idael even if it worked.

bob
Try enabling the ATMOS channels on your AVR, even if there's nothing hooked up. Set the surround mode to Auto and use the Info button on the Marantz remote to see if you're getting an Atmos signal from Vudu, Prime, or Plex. Without Atmos enabled on your AVR, it won't show Atmos playback on the AVR and likely won't tell the Shield that it is Atmos capable. (for the streaming apps that check).
galonzo likes this.

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Hub Ultimate | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | Disney+ | Spotify

Last edited by Stephen Hopkins; 05-19-2020 at 07:17 PM.
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14152 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
I DL this Atmos test file and playing it from the Shield w/ VLC into my AVR, I don't get the Atmos logo. Could someone check it too?





http://s1.demo-world.eu/hd_trailers....less-DWEU.m2ts



thx



bob
Tried this video using Plex and Atmos works.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14153 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Tried this video using Plex and Atmos works.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Thanks for doing that. On further review checking Disney+ titles that marked Atmos, I am not getting Atmos from any source. So it's the Shield or the AVR. Might have to plug the Shield into the TV now.

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #14154 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1403 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Thanks for doing that. On further review checking Disney+ titles that marked Atmos, I am not getting Atmos from any source. So it's the Shield or the AVR. Might have to plug the Shield into the TV now.

bob
If you do not have any "Atmos" speakers connected to the proper inputs on the AVR along with the proper speaker configurations, then the AVR will not activate settings such as Neural X or DSU (Dolby Surround Upmix). As a result, there will be no Atmos from the Shield. Remember the Shield is set to "Passthrough" the signal, not decode it. Decoding is up to the AVR.
aaronwt and galonzo like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14155 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
If you do not have any "Atmos" speakers connected to the proper inputs on the AVR along with the proper speaker configurations, then the AVR will not activate settings such as Neural X or DSU (Dolby Surround Upmix). As a result, there will be no Atmos from the Shield. Remember the Shield is set to "Passthrough" the signal, not decode it. Decoding is up to the AVR.
That's exactly it, then. I'm only 5.1 for now. What threw me was the TV's app displaying Atmos when it only has stereo speakers. Thanks for letting me put this to rest for now.

bob
groove93 likes this.
spongebob is offline  
post #14156 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,718
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Also, you may have to tell your AVR to output Atmos (or DTS X). I noticed with my Onkyo, even though the Shield was bitstreaming the correct audio, my AVR wasn't decoding it properly (it said the input was Atmos, but it was outputting Dolby Surround). I had to hit the "Mode" button on the Onkyo remote to get the correct output, but it then remembered the settings going forward for said sound format. I had to do that for both Atmos and DTS:X tracks.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is offline  
post #14157 of 14456 Old 05-19-2020, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post
Try enabling the ATMOS channels on your AVR, even if there's nothing hooked up. Set the surround mode to Auto and use the Info button on the Marantz remote to see if you're getting an Atmos signal from Vudu, Prime, or Plex. Without Atmos enabled on your AVR, it won't show Atmos playback on the AVR and likely won't tell the Shield that it is Atmos capable. (for the streaming apps that check).
Tried it just for fun. I couldn't change the speaker config unless I redo the Audyssey but I did try changing amp assign adding the extra channels but it didn't change anything. Someday I'll get the real Atmos going

Thanks for the help, guys

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #14158 of 14456 Old 05-20-2020, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,885
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
I am a new subscriber to HBO Now as of last week, having used HBO Go (via my Comcast CATV subscription) for many years, and have encountered an odd (relatively minor) audio glitch specific to my Nvidia Shield TV (2017 model).

For some reason, all of the shows that I am currently following on HBO are streaming in DD rather than DD+. I am certain that they were in DD+ via the HBO Go app and, in fact, every one of these same shows continues to show up in DD+ on my Roku Ultra in the same setup (via my Denon AVR-X8500H). Even more bizarre (and seemingly ruling out a technical limitation in the app), the one exception that I have been able to locate so far is the show High Maintenance, which does stream in DD+ via the HBO Now app on my Shield.

Needless to say, I have gone through all the recommended troubleshooting steps (e.g., checking for updates, rebooting, clearing app data and cache, deleting and reinstalling app, etc.) and have even consulted HBO Now technical support, who were equally nonplussed.

Having said all that, I am cautiously hopeful that this audio issue will be obviated next week when (presumably) the new HBO Max app becomes available on the Shield. But I would be interested to know whether anyone else has seen this problem or has a suggested diagnosis or solution.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #14159 of 14456 Old 05-20-2020, 11:00 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,976
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10000 Post(s)
Liked: 6660
But is it a problem? Or is it being converted from DD+ to DD? If it's being converted then it will sound the same. Since the converted DD audio will be a 640kbs bitrate. Which is more than enough to equal the much, much lower DD+ bitrates used.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #14160 of 14456 Old 05-20-2020, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Jack Ryan Seasons 1 and 2
Carnival Row
Aeronauts (Film)
Suspiria (Film)


Many original series titles will be in HDR, but no Atmos. (then again, could depend on the device)
Bosch
Upload
Tales from the Loop
Hanna
Hunters
The Boys
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel


From my experience regarding renting movies from Amazon Prime, I can get HDR, but no Atmos.

If you have a Movies Anywhere account with Amazon, Google Play Movies, and Vudu all linked to your account, but purchase a film from MA, Amazon Prime, or Google Play movies, you're more than likely going to get an Atmos/HDR Presentation for the same title through Vudu.

I purchased movies on Google Play Movies, linked it to MA, I got 4K HDR but no Atmos.
Take the Blade Runner 2049 as an example,

It shows 4K Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos in the description but I am not getting Atmos.
tinhvo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off