NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 473 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4604Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14161 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 771
You're not going to get HDR/Atmos from Google Play Movies. That app is in the same boat as YouTube for the Shield, lack of VP9 Profile 2 (no HDR support).

Only TVs and streaming devices with the VP9 Profile 2 spec will stream Google Play Movies and YouTube videos in HDR.


Purchase (not rent) a movie from Google Play Movies, then play it in Vudu.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
aaronwt likes this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 05-20-2020 at 12:33 PM.
groove93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14162 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,169
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
You're not going to get HDR/Atmos from Google Play Movies. That app is in the same boat as YouTube for the Shield, lack of VP9 Profile 2 (no HDR support).

Only TVs and streaming devices with the VP9 Profile 2 spec will stream Google Play Movies and YouTube videos in HDR.
Actually I'm not even sure stream devices will support that even with VP9 profile 2 support. I have tested two of my Android TV boxes, both have SoC that supports VP9 Profile 2 and the official YouTube app still doesn't support HDR. Only the Smart YouTube App can play HDR.

Since Google is going to kill off Play Music soon, wonder if Play Movie is the next on the chopping board.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #14163 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Actually I'm not even sure stream devices will support that even with VP9 profile 2 support. I have tested two of my Android TV boxes, both have SoC that supports VP9 Profile 2 and the official YouTube app still doesn't support HDR. Only the Smart YouTube App can play HDR.
Yea, HDR for Google Play Movies and Youtube will work on my Sony TV and Chromecast Ultra. I know it won't work on an Apple TV4K, but wasn't sure about Rokus and Amazon Fire Devices.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14164 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,169
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 585
YouTube on Apple TV 4K does not even support 4K, let alone HDR.
galonzo likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #14165 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
YouTube on Apple TV 4K does not even support 4K, let alone HDR.
Wow, did not know it lacked 4K for Youtube.
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14166 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,269
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
I purchased movies on Google Play Movies, linked it to MA, I got 4K HDR but no Atmos.
Take the Blade Runner 2049 as an example,

It shows 4K Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos in the description but I am not getting Atmos.
Are you playing back in the MA app, or in Vudu? The MA app supports 4K, HDR10, and Vision but not Atmos. You need to link both Google Play and Vudu through MA, then playback in Vudu to get Atmos.
galonzo and tinhvo like this.

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Smart Control | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | HBO Now | Spotify
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14167 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1208 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
I purchased movies on Google Play Movies, linked it to MA, I got 4K HDR but no Atmos.
Take the Blade Runner 2049 as an example,

It shows 4K Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos in the description but I am not getting Atmos.
You need to link the accounts thru MA and use the VUDU app. Plays fine here in 4k HDR with ATMOS (lossy if course).
galonzo and tinhvo like this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14168 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Apologize that I didn't make it clear first hand.
I meant to say that I couldn't get Atmos out of "Blade Runner 2049" from MA on Shield TV.
Is it clearer?
Anyway, here: I purchased BR2049 from Google Play Movies, I got the MA (MOvie Anywhere) account, I linked the movie to MA account.
On the ShieldTV, I downloaded and installed MA, played BR2049 using MA app on the Shield.
I got 4K, HDR (my TV doesn't support DV so no DV) but not getting Atmos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BR2049.png
Views:	53
Size:	560.4 KB
ID:	2729792  

Last edited by tinhvo; 05-20-2020 at 02:06 PM.
tinhvo is offline  
post #14169 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2364 Post(s)
Liked: 2480
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
I am a new subscriber to HBO Now as of last week, having used HBO Go (via my Comcast CATV subscription) for many years, and have encountered an odd (relatively minor) audio glitch specific to my Nvidia Shield TV (2017 model).

For some reason, all of the shows that I am currently following on HBO are streaming in DD rather than DD+. I am certain that they were in DD+ via the HBO Go app and, in fact, every one of these same shows continues to show up in DD+ on my Roku Ultra in the same setup (via my Denon AVR-X8500H). Even more bizarre (and seemingly ruling out a technical limitation in the app), the one exception that I have been able to locate so far is the show High Maintenance, which does stream in DD+ via the HBO Now app on my Shield.

Needless to say, I have gone through all the recommended troubleshooting steps (e.g., checking for updates, rebooting, clearing app data and cache, deleting and reinstalling app, etc.) and have even consulted HBO Now technical support, who were equally nonplussed.

Having said all that, I am cautiously hopeful that this audio issue will be obviated next week when (presumably) the new HBO Max app becomes available on the Shield. But I would be interested to know whether anyone else has seen this problem or has a suggested diagnosis or solution.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
But is it a problem? Or is it being converted from DD+ to DD? If it's being converted then it will sound the same. Since the converted DD audio will be a 640kbs bitrate. Which is more than enough to equal the much, much lower DD+ bitrates used.

I am assuming that the audio is originating as a DD codec but don't know how I would confirm whether it is being converted from DD+ to DD. However, the issue is moot for my purposes as explained below.

As to whether it is a problem: Only someone lacking OCD could pose such a question on a forum dedicated to A/V. Even assuming I could not discern any audible differences between the two formats, it will become a serious problem if/when HBO Max starts streaming DD+/Dolby Atmos (which is undoubtedly in the pipeline for some future date due to competitive pressure from other streaming media sources). Besides, anytime I spot an anomaly I just naturally want to get to the bottom of it.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #14170 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 172 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1517 Post(s)
Liked: 2098
@tinhvo , if you scroll down, you'll see 5.1 at MA:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-05-20 at 5.11.51 PM.png
Views:	60
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	2729794

You must link to VUDU and watch on that app to get Atmos
tinhvo likes this.

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630) | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Star Wars Saga ('77 - '19) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #14171 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Ah, OK
I'll try to play BR2049 using Vudu app.
I guess I have to create an account with Vudu first?
I'll give it a try


Thanks Stephen Hopkins and mjwagner and galonzo and groove93.
Keep editing
galonzo likes this.
tinhvo is offline  
post #14172 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
Apologize that I didn't make it clear first hand.
I meant to say that I couldn't get Atmos out of "Blade Runner 2049" from MA on Shield TV.
Is it clearer?
Anyway, here: I purchased BR2049 from Google Play Movies, I got the MA (MOvie Anywhere) account, I linked the movie to MA account.
On the ShieldTV, I downloaded and installed MA, played BR2049 using MA app on the Shield.
I got 4K, HDR (my TV doesn't support DV so no DV) but not getting Atmos.
Just create a Vudu account and link it to Movies Anywhere. In some of the movie descriptions for Movies Anywhere, it says "Dolby Vision". 2015/17 Shields don't even support DV. I never got Atmos to work with MA to begin with. Same occurs with the same purchased titles when using Amazon Prime. Vudu has been the most consistent out of all of them.
galonzo and tinhvo like this.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #14173 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 02:49 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,829
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9917 Post(s)
Liked: 6550
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
I am assuming that the audio is originating as a DD codec but don't know how I would confirm whether it is being converted from DD+ to DD. However, the issue is moot for my purposes as explained below.

As to whether it is a problem: Only someone lacking OCD could pose such a question on a forum dedicated to A/V. Even assuming I could not discern any audible differences between the two formats, it will become a serious problem if/when HBO Max starts streaming DD+/Dolby Atmos (which is undoubtedly in the pipeline for some future date due to competitive pressure from other streaming media sources). Besides, anytime I spot an anomaly I just naturally want to get to the bottom of it.
Yes. Atmos would be an issue or streaming content with any 7.1 DD+ tracks. Since when converted to the 640 kbps 5.1DD, the rear surround channels are truncated.

But for streaming content with 5.1 DD+ and lower, being converted to 5.1 DD at the 640 kbps bitrate will sound the same.

This is something I had to deal with on my 2015 Sony UHD TV. And it converts the DD+ from it's HDMi inputs to DD for output over the ARC. But after more streaming content started having Atmos, and 7.1 DD+ tracks I got more HDMi switches so the devices could go through a receiver. And now a speaker bar since that TV is in my secondary UHD setup.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 05-20-2020 at 02:55 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #14174 of 14200 Old 05-20-2020, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1208 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
Apologize that I didn't make it clear first hand.
I meant to say that I couldn't get Atmos out of "Blade Runner 2049" from MA on Shield TV.
Is it clearer?
Anyway, here: I purchased BR2049 from Google Play Movies, I got the MA (MOvie Anywhere) account, I linked the movie to MA account.
On the ShieldTV, I downloaded and installed MA, played BR2049 using MA app on the Shield.
I got 4K, HDR (my TV doesn't support DV so no DV) but not getting Atmos.
Use the VUDU app...
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14175 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Just a quick update,
Yep, I got it
Atmos played nicely using Vudu app.
Thanks folks


Just a headup,
I got latest Prime Video app installed on ShieldTV, got HDR/Atmos on JRI/II and Carnival Row.
Others 4K aren't Atmos capable.
galonzo and groove93 like this.
tinhvo is offline  
post #14176 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 164
My shield pro 2019 came in and what a disappointing device this is. Gamestream is absolutely awful, half the time my Bluetooth keyboard won’t work in game, but works in every other app. It also has almost double the input lag (I measured 100 ms in destiny 2 1080 p) than moonlight.

Also, since moonlight uses GeForce experience it has its own issues too. The keyboard always works and the input lag is very low (60 ms) however for some reason mouse acceleration keeps being added and mouse pointer speed gets increased which makes mouse and keyboard games unplayable.

So either deal with less input lag but messed up mouse, or use GeForce experience and maybe the keyboard just decides to not work and for some reason has much higher input lag than an open source program created by students (moonlight) oh and side mouse buttons don’t work in gamestream, but they do in moonlight...

As for video watching, it’s annoying that I have to manually enable framerate match instead of it doing automatically like Apple TV.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #14177 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 771
I would suggest discussing issues regarding your 2019 Shield in the appropriate thread. This thread covers only the 2015/17 Nvidia Shield.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...ew-remote.html

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 05-21-2020 at 03:05 PM.
groove93 is offline  
post #14178 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I would suggest discussing issues regarding your 2019 Shield in the appropriate thread. This thread covers only the 2015/17 Nvidia Shield.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...ew-remote.html

Okay, I’ll port it there, but in certain these issues affect older models too.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #14179 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,314
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1743 Post(s)
Liked: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Actually I'm not even sure stream devices will support that even with VP9 profile 2 support. I have tested two of my Android TV boxes, both have SoC that supports VP9 Profile 2 and the official YouTube app still doesn't support HDR. Only the Smart YouTube App can play HDR.

Since Google is going to kill off Play Music soon, wonder if Play Movie is the next on the chopping board.
All three of my Roku TV's can do HDR inside YouTube, there is actually some pretty sweet HDR material, stuff I only watched when I got the TV but still
it was impressive. Standard 4K right now on YT because of the bandwidth shrinking looks pretty terrible.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #14180 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Sorry men, are Vudu accounts free of charge?
I have a good deal of movies in MA that I may benefit from Atmos for free then or I misunderstood you?
asabrag is online now  
post #14181 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,625
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1649 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by asabrag View Post
Sorry men, are Vudu accounts free of charge?
I have a good deal of movies in MA that I may benefit from Atmos for free then or I misunderstood you?
No, there is no cost to create an account on Vudu. I can't recall if a credit card is required during creation, since one would be needed to rent/buy media from them. But I've never spent a dime at Vudu but have access to all my Movies Anywhere content, including 4K/HDR/Atmos if they have that available in those titles. But they don't always have a 4K version of something. For example, I have 4K versions of Dracula (1992), The Fifth Element and Close Encounters, but Vudu only have them in 1080.
aaronwt, galonzo and asabrag like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #14182 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
No, there is no cost to create an account on Vudu. I can't recall if a credit card is required during creation, since one would be needed to rent/buy media from them. But I've never spent a dime at Vudu but have access to all my Movies Anywhere content, including 4K/HDR/Atmos if they have that available in those titles. But they don't always have a 4K version of something. For example, I have 4K versions of Dracula (1992), The Fifth Element and Close Encounters, but Vudu only have them in 1080.
Great news...I will try that
asabrag is online now  
post #14183 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2229 Post(s)
Liked: 1502
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
No, there is no cost to create an account on Vudu. I can't recall if a credit card is required during creation, since one would be needed to rent/buy media from them. But I've never spent a dime at Vudu but have access to all my Movies Anywhere content, including 4K/HDR/Atmos if they have that available in those titles. But they don't always have a 4K version of something. For example, I have 4K versions of Dracula (1992), The Fifth Element and Close Encounters, but Vudu only have them in 1080.
Never realized Vudu didn’t have those titles in 4K. Glad I’m itunes focused but those are popular movies and they’re all MA.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #14184 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,625
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1649 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Never realized Vudu didn’t have those titles in 4K. Glad I’m itunes focused but those are popular movies and they’re all MA.
Between Amazon, Vudu, Apple TV and Movies Anywhere, I think I can get them all in 4K. And of course I've ripped them all to my media server. Just had to add a new 8 TB drive this week, because I was running out of space. It is annoying that I can't get them all in 4K from the same source. But that's the reality of licensing between the streaming providers and the studios.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #14185 of 14200 Old 05-21-2020, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2229 Post(s)
Liked: 1502
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Between Amazon, Vudu, Apple TV and Movies Anywhere, I think I can get them all in 4K. And of course I've ripped them all to my media server. Just had to add a new 8 TB drive this week, because I was running out of space. It is annoying that I can't get them all in 4K from the same source. But that's the reality of licensing between the streaming providers and the studios.

So true.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #14186 of 14200 Old 05-23-2020, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Dennis.Mitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: N Massapequa, NY USA
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hi, my 2017 Shield is still on 7.2.3 firmware. Should I upgrade? Have all this issues of 8.xx been sorted out?

Thanks in advance.

Dennis
Dennis.Mitchell is offline  
post #14187 of 14200 Old 05-23-2020, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1208 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis.Mitchell View Post
Hi, my 2017 Shield is still on 7.2.3 firmware. Should I upgrade? Have all this issues of 8.xx been sorted out?

Thanks in advance.
I’ve been running 8.0.2 on both my 2017 Shield since it came out. No issues...YMMV.
lax01 and galonzo like this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14188 of 14200 Old 05-25-2020, 03:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Nvidia Shield (2017) Prime video

Is anyone else having an issue with Prime Video (5.2.8) not working at all? No matter what I try to play I get "Sorry something went wrong Please try again later or contact amazon.com/videohelp. I have contacted amazon (no help whatsoever) and logged out and logged back in, restarted shield, cleared cache and removed device and re-added it. The only way I can get the app to play video is to uninstall all updates and re-sign in. Issue is the same no matter what type of video I try to play (UHD, non-UHD). Prime video is working on computer and Nexus 7 tablet. Thanks.
hpottr is online now  
post #14189 of 14200 Old 05-25-2020, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Nope. Watching Homecoming.
Gary J is offline  
post #14190 of 14200 Old 05-25-2020, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,690
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5145 Post(s)
Liked: 3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpottr View Post
Is anyone else having an issue with Prime Video (5.2.8) not working at all? No matter what I try to play I get "Sorry something went wrong Please try again later or contact amazon.com/videohelp. I have contacted amazon (no help whatsoever) and logged out and logged back in, restarted shield, cleared cache and removed device and re-added it. The only way I can get the app to play video is to uninstall all updates and re-sign in. Issue is the same no matter what type of video I try to play (UHD, non-UHD). Prime video is working on computer and Nexus 7 tablet. Thanks.
You may want to try rebooting the Shield. I've had to do that numerous times in order for the Prime app to work when using the Shield.

lujan
676 Ultra HD
731 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off