NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 474 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4720Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14191 of 14451 Old 05-25-2020, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
You may want to try rebooting the Shield. I've had to do that numerous times in order for the Prime app to work when using the Shield.
Yes, I have done everything, even unplugged from wall and re-registered device again. Don't understand why the only way to watch on Shield is to uninstall updates, then it works. Nothing else seem to be affected on shield, everything works except prime video.
hpottr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14192 of 14451 Old 05-25-2020, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpottr View Post
Is anyone else having an issue with Prime Video (5.2.8) not working at all? No matter what I try to play I get "Sorry something went wrong Please try again later or contact amazon.com/videohelp. I have contacted amazon (no help whatsoever) and logged out and logged back in, restarted shield, cleared cache and removed device and re-added it. The only way I can get the app to play video is to uninstall all updates and re-sign in. Issue is the same no matter what type of video I try to play (UHD, non-UHD). Prime video is working on computer and Nexus 7 tablet. Thanks.
No problems using Prime Video app v 5.2.8 here on either of my 2 Shields.
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14193 of 14451 Old 05-25-2020, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Can I ask what firmware version you guys are running on your shield. Only thing left that I can think of because uninstalling updates and the app works, I'm on 7.2.3. Thanks.

Last edited by hpottr; 05-25-2020 at 07:28 PM. Reason: Add info
hpottr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14194 of 14451 Old 05-25-2020, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpottr View Post
Can I ask what firmware version you guys are running on your shield. Only thing left that I can think of because uninstalling updates and the app works, I'm on 7.2.3. Thanks.
8.0.2 which is the current firmware level. Is there a reason you are running down level firmware?

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14195 of 14451 Old 05-25-2020, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
8.0.2 which is the current firmware level. Is there a reason you are running down level firmware?
Just all the problems it had when released, didn't want to deal with hotfixes and stuff. I'm the type if it works don't mess with it.
hpottr is offline  
post #14196 of 14451 Old 05-26-2020, 05:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpottr View Post
Just all the problems it had when released, didn't want to deal with hotfixes and stuff. I'm the type if it works don't mess with it.
Of course you have now found out why it's not a always a good idea to stay on back level firmware for too long. Your call but I've been running 8.0.2 on both my 2017 Shield since it came out. No issues...of course as always YMMV.
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14197 of 14451 Old 05-26-2020, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 831 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Updated to every new firmware ASAP with no problems ever.
mjwagner, ynnek63 and beerhunt like this.
Gary J is offline  
post #14198 of 14451 Old 05-26-2020, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2285 Post(s)
Liked: 1560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Updated to every new firmware ASAP with no problems ever.

I wouldn’t go that far as Nvidia has pushed out flawed firmware from time to time over the years (everyone does really) but in this case 8.0.2 has been out for a while and is pretty solid. YMMV.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #14199 of 14451 Old 05-26-2020, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 831 Post(s)
Liked: 384
"YMMV"

You got this part right.
Gary J is offline  
post #14200 of 14451 Old 05-26-2020, 05:36 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,947
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9976 Post(s)
Liked: 6640
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpottr View Post
Is anyone else having an issue with Prime Video (5.2.8) not working at all? No matter what I try to play I get "Sorry something went wrong Please try again later or contact amazon.com/videohelp. I have contacted amazon (no help whatsoever) and logged out and logged back in, restarted shield, cleared cache and removed device and re-added it. The only way I can get the app to play video is to uninstall all updates and re-sign in. Issue is the same no matter what type of video I try to play (UHD, non-UHD). Prime video is working on computer and Nexus 7 tablet. Thanks.
I watched fives episodes of the Amazon show Upload yesterday on my 2017 SHield TV. I did not run into any issues with the Amazon app.
galonzo likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #14201 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Boonies, MA
Posts: 18,483
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 399
HBO really needs to fix their apps on the Shield so we get proper DD+ instead of DD standard. It’s the only apps on the Shield that do this.
chi_guy50 likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #14202 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
HBO really needs to fix their apps on the Shield so we get proper DD+ instead of DD standard. It’s the only apps on the Shield that do this.
If the content isn't 7.1 or Atmos, what's the benefit of DD+ anyway?

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Hub Ultimate | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | Disney+ | Spotify
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14203 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post
If the content isn't 7.1 or Atmos, what's the benefit of DD+ anyway?

Higher bitrate and such.





My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
chi_guy50 likes this.
HD-Master is online now  
post #14204 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Of all the things that need to be fixed in various apps, I'm not sure I'd put DD vs DD+ very high on the list for any apps that aren't supporting Atmos.

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Hub Ultimate | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | Disney+ | Spotify
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14205 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post
Of all the things that need to be fixed in various apps, I'm not sure I'd put DD vs DD+ very high on the list for any apps that aren't supporting Atmos.

You can’t have Atmos in a streaming app without DD+. It’s either DD, DD+, DD+ w/ Atmos, Dolby TrueHD or Dolby TrueHD w/ Atmos. Any of these various app developers can’t implement Atmos without DD+ at the bare minimum. The two go hand-in-terms kid streaming.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
groove93 and chi_guy50 like this.
HD-Master is online now  
post #14206 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
You can’t have Atmos in a streaming app without DD+. It’s either DD, DD+, DD+ w/ Atmos, Dolby TrueHD or Dolby TrueHD w/ Atmos. Any of these various app developers can’t implement Atmos without DD+ at the bare minimum. The two go hand-in-terms kid streaming.
Indeed they do... but until the app is offering Atmos content or, at the very least, 7.1 content, I wouldn't really put much value on DD+ just for potentially higher bitrate for 5.1 content (which likely wouldn't be used in the first place). Without an actual need for DD+, I'm pretty sure their development resources (which aren't infinite) could be better prioritized elsewhere.

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Hub Ultimate | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | Disney+ | Spotify
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14207 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
You can’t have Atmos in a streaming app without DD+. It’s either DD, DD+, DD+ w/ Atmos, Dolby TrueHD or Dolby TrueHD w/ Atmos. Any of these various app developers can’t implement Atmos without DD+ at the bare minimum. The two go hand-in-terms kid streaming.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
That's what he said. If the app doesn't support Atmos, getting DD+ on it isn't as high a priority as other issues. And yes, it's a little chicken and egg. They can't add Atmos without adding DD+. But that's an improvement/enhancement, not fixing something that's not working correctly.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #14208 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post
Indeed they do... but until the app is offering Atmos content or, at the very least, 7.1 content, I wouldn't really put much value on DD+ just for potentially higher bitrate for 5.1 content (which likely wouldn't be used in the first place). Without an actual need for DD+, I'm pretty sure their development resources (which aren't infinite) could be better prioritized elsewhere.

...that doesn’t make any sense. The app developer cannot offer Atmos content unless the app has been configured to support Atmos content...the app cannot be configured to support Atmos content without simultaneously supporting DD+. Integrating DD+ compatibility in no way hampers their ability or resources for integrating Atmos. Aside from that, whomever owns the app assets has to either own the rights to or have a contract to distribute copies of content with Atmos tracks formatted for streaming purposes. Some seem perfectly content with what they have. Hulu is a prime example. They have shown very little interest in anything beyond DD 2.0 until recently. For a time they even dropped 4K content before making another push to roll it out.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
Gary J and chi_guy50 like this.
HD-Master is online now  
post #14209 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 224


If they're ready to start offering Atmos or 7.1 content (whether it be for resolving technical, licensing, or commercial reasons), sure, pile those resources into doing so along with the required DD+ rollout. If rolling out DD+ is a stepping stone in their app development pipeline for planned Atmos or 7.1 rollouts then, sure, roll it out now. If neither of those is the case, leave it alone and focus on app improvements most people will notice and appreciated... I HIGHLY doubt DD+ just for higher bitrate 5.1 is one of those improvements.

BenQ TK800 | Silver Ticket 106" 16:9 1.0 Grey | Marantz SR6011 | B&W P6 | B&W CDMC SE | Sonance .5 THX SUR | MCM In-Ceiling Atmos | Ascendant Avalanche 12" in 6 ft^3 @ 18Hz w/ BASH 500w Plate Amp | Sony X800 | NVidia Shield TV Pro | XBox One 500gb | Nintendo Switch | Harmony Hub Ultimate | SmartThings Hub | Google Home | AT&T Fiber 300 | YouTube TV | Netflix | Disney+ | Spotify
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #14210 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Boonies, MA
Posts: 18,483
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 399
HBO offers their streams in DD+. Their apps had DD+ only a few months back on the Shield- not sure when exactly we lost it, so not sure where the problem lies. Casting the HBO apps no longer outputs surround, only PCM 2.0. Casting worked fine before in DD+.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #14211 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,775
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5204 Post(s)
Liked: 3214
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
HBO really needs to fix their apps on the Shield so we get proper DD+ instead of DD standard. It’s the only apps on the Shield that do this.
Be happy it's DD 5.1 and not 2.0 stereo that I'm getting on my ATV4K with the new FandangoNow app.
aaronwt likes this.

lujan
693 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #14212 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
HBO really needs to fix their apps on the Shield so we get proper DD+ instead of DD standard. It’s the only apps on the Shield that do this.
Hell, I would be happy just to get HBO to get HBO Max to play on any of my three 2019 Shield Pros. And they removed the HBO Now app so I am out of luck. I am about ready to dump HBO at this point.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #14213 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Boonies, MA
Posts: 18,483
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Hell, I would be happy just to get HBO to get HBO Max to play on any of my three 2019 Shield Pros. And they removed the HBO Now app so I am out of luck. I am about ready to dump HBO at this point.
https://downloadmirror.co/330C/

Sideload it.

Tried it on my 4k Fire Sticks, works perfectly.
WOLVERNOLE likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #14214 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
https://downloadmirror.co/330C/

Sideload it.

Tried it on my 4k Fire Sticks, works perfectly.
The HBO Max app is installed and opens, any time I launch a video in the it gives a service error. There must be something wrong with my account.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #14215 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
https://downloadmirror.co/330C/

Sideload it.

Tried it on my 4k Fire Sticks, works perfectly.
Is sideloading necessary? I just checked the Google Play store from one of my Shields, and it's there.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #14216 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Boonies, MA
Posts: 18,483
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Is sideloading necessary? I just checked the Google Play store from one of my Shields, and it's there.
Well, no. I thought he said he couldn’t load it from the Play Store.

But if you have a Fire device it does work if you side load.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #14217 of 14451 Old 05-29-2020, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Well, no. I thought he said he couldn’t load it from the Play Store.

But if you have a Fire device it does work if you side load.

He was referring to the fact that HBO replaced the HBO Now app with the HBO Max app, so the old one is no longer available in the app store.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
aaronwt likes this.
HD-Master is online now  
post #14218 of 14451 Old 06-01-2020, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I use the SmartYouTubeTV app too instead of the official YouTube app. Much more configurable...and no ads!

You can't do YT HDR on a Shield. The Shield does not have VP9 profile 2 support and that is not something that can be fixed by an app...

I finally got Smart Youtube TV app installed on the Shiedl and do some quick tries.
I've played some 4K HDR 60fps clips from Youtube, eventhough I can select different Video options, every time I select HDR option, it won't play, just idling.
Is that normal?
Was that what you said earlier?
I thought you meant to say no HDR in the regular Youtube app. I was under the impression that with Smart Youtube TV apps, it can play HDR.


Anyway, besides not able to play HDR, I got 5.1 audio back which is very nice.
Great work, Smart YTTV team.
tinhvo is offline  
post #14219 of 14451 Old 06-01-2020, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
I finally got Smart Youtube TV app installed on the Shiedl and do some quick tries.
I've played some 4K HDR 60fps clips from Youtube, eventhough I can select different Video options, every time I select HDR option, it won't play, just idling.
Is that normal?
Was that what you said earlier?
I thought you meant to say no HDR in the regular Youtube app. I was under the impression that with Smart Youtube TV apps, it can play HDR.


Anyway, besides not able to play HDR, I got 5.1 audio back which is very nice.
Great work, Smart YTTV team.
Correct, that is what I said. Even the SmartYouTubeTV app does not support HDR - “You can't do YT HDR on a Shield. The Shield does not have VP9 profile 2 support”. In order to support YT HDR it requires VP9 profile 2 currently which the Shield does not have, even the most recent (2019) version.
tinhvo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #14220 of 14451 Old 06-03-2020, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2511
Regarding the recent snafu with playback on the Amazon Prime Video app, it appears from an email I received today that Amazon is proactively granting a universal credit of $12.99 in recognition of the service glitch:


Dear Customer,

We recently learned that you may have had an issue with viewing titles through Prime Video on your Nvidia device between March 30, 2020 and May 4, 2020. This was due to a technical error that is now resolved.

In an effort to compensate you for the inconvenience, we have applied a $12.99 credit to your account for use towards your next Amazon.com order.
aaronwt, galonzo, JGrana and 3 others like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
nvidia shield remotes , onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off