NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 68 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3592Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2011 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is anybody using a 2017 16 GB Shield with a FLIRC IR receiver along side a Windows Media Center PC with a traditional IR receiver?

Do the two play nicely together?

I'd like to run this combination and control both with a Harmony One IR based remote but am wondering if this might pose a problem and/or if either the Shield or the Windows Media Center PC might respond in unpredictable ways?
dabl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2012 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
I got my bandwidth bumped yesterday from 12 Mbps to 18. I had tried for 24 Mbps that might require some rewiring although maybe not true because for a brief while last night it was running at 24 and working. I think they were testing at the central office to see if houses with my wiring really needed Cat 5 and two pair bonding for 24.

However with the exception of Netflix 4K streams which they recommend 24 Mbps most the other services recommend 18 Mbps minimum. The TV is a 4K Roku TV and so doesn't not have support for 4K AVC just HEVC and VP9. On it YouTube 4K including the ones I posted there will only do 1080p. On the Shield TV I can force the YouTube interface to use 2160p (4k). I also installed the update last night to see if it and the 18 Mbps upgrade helped. It still wanted to default to lower bitrate 1080p files but I could force it to 4K but with rebuffering. The file streamed is VP9. The Shield can play locally my 4K files including the ones from the camera which are MJPEG at 65 Mbps. So some sleuthing is in order!
I had some buffering when streaming 4K UHD content, and I have a 300Mbps connection. I had to log into my router, figure out which devices were connected online, go around the house and power them all off, and then it was working fine. Sometimes, with 42 clients on my home network, my connection gets a little congested.
rolldog is offline  
post #2013 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmil View Post
I too had a positive upgrade experience. I chose to do a factory reset after updating -- I'm not running Plex server on the Shield, and resetting wasn't a burden -- easy initial setup and then simply redownload a couple of apps, and re-signed into Netflix/Vudu/Plex/etc and that was about it. So far everything working well and lag-free.
I was using a Plex server on my QNAP TS-451+, but it's not powerful enough to stream to multiple clients without buffering, especially if transcoding on the fly. Then I setup my Shield to run Plex Server and direct the libraries to the NAS, then it worked great, until I wanted to use the Shield for Gamestream or GeForce Now.

So, now I'm thinking that I'll either upgrade my NAS to one of the newer QNAP NAS with the Thunderbolt 3 connections so it can run Plex server on its own, or, since I got my new Shield in yesterday, I could use my older Shield as a dedicated Plex server, but it would really be nice to have another Shield that can be used somewhere else in the house. I'm not quite sure what I want to do yet. All my home videos are recorded in 4K, so if someone starts streaming one of those files, it seems like my bandwidth is coming through a straw.
rolldog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2014 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Just got my Shield to replace Roku Ultra. Definitely works better all around in my set up. It's nice to have one box to do pretty much everything except for AppleTv stuff.

On question I have is, does it work with Logitech Hub remote? I added it to the hub but usually it walks you through connecting to the device with bluetooth if it isn't a ir device. But I didn't get that with the Shield.
gadgtfreek likes this.

1) JVC RS540, Yamaha CX-A5100, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7140, Wharfedale Jade 7's series speakers, RSL C34e(Atmos)
2) LG OLED65B6, Integra DRC-R1, Emotiva XPA9, Klipsch RP8000F, Klipsch RP404C, Klipsch RP500SA, Klipsch RP140D
Carbo is offline  
post #2015 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Just wanted to ask, does everyone completely shut down your Nvidia Shield or do you just put it to sleep?

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2016 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Just wanted to ask, does everyone completely shut down your Nvidia Shield or do you just put it to sleep?
When you press the power button on the remote I believe it is just asleep.... This is what I do.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
brickyardz likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #2017 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
When you press the power button on the remote I believe it is just asleep.... This is what I do.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Thanks for the info. I have always completely turned off my Nvidia Shield.
Have seen some people on here that put their Shield to sleep instead.
Was just curious as to why they would select sleep?

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2018 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Thanks for the info. I have always completely turned off my Nvidia Shield.
Have seen some people on here that put their Shield to sleep instead.
Was just curious as to why they would select sleep?
There isn't a way that I have seen in the menu to completely power it down.

That said, I put it to sleep so it kicks off shutting the TV off with IR.

When it's in that mode, if I hit the home button on the remote it also powers on the TV, which works well in my setup with both PlayStation VUE and the live TV on the Shield.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
TexaClone is offline  
post #2019 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexaClone View Post
There isn't a way that I have seen in the menu to completely power it down.

That said, I put it to sleep so it kicks off shutting the TV off with IR.

When it's in that mode, if I hit the home button on the remote it also powers on the TV, which works well in my setup with both PlayStation VUE and the live TV on the Shield.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Do you have a 2017 model or 2015?
I have a 2015. You can select Sleep or Power Off

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2020 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Do you have a 2017 model or 2015?
I have a 2015. You can select Sleep or Power Off
2017. I have sleep or restart.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
brickyardz likes this.
TexaClone is offline  
post #2021 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexaClone View Post
2017. I have sleep or restart.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Did not know that there was no power off option on the 2017 model, wonder why?
Thanks for the info.

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2022 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Did not know that there was no power off option on the 2017 model, wonder why?
Thanks for the info.
Because there's no power button on the device. I assume it automatically powers on when power is applied.

Takes forever to boot anyway, I just sleep my first gen one. Turns off when I turn my TV off.

Sent from my mobile device.
npaladin2000 is offline  
post #2023 of 12070 Old 01-29-2017, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,207
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1378 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Question for 2017 Owners - DLNA playback

Question for all of you that have the new model. Since the only old versions I can find for sale are used on EBay, I don't figure I can find one.

When playing videos from your local DLNA server, what are you using for a client? I am aware of Plex, and do have Plex server running on my media server. However, Plex has one major limitation for my use in that it will not automatically play the next video in the list. It also doesn't support my .pls playlist files. I do understand that Plex on the Shield will passthough HD audio.

I am looking for the ability to playvideos from my Serviio DLNA server, with full HD audio where available. Virtually all of my media is either mpeg2 or h.264, although there are a few VC-1 or wmv files, but I could always convert them if necessary. Almost all audio is AC-3, with some TrueHD or DTS-MA files on my Blu Ray rips. Containers are mostly MKV, with some m2ts, ts, and avi. I have a bunch of wtv recorded TV as well, but transcoding them to a different container doesn't take much server power, so I'm not concerned with them.

I understand the Shield comes with a native DLNA media player, but I can't find any information about it. Does it support continuous playback? Playlist support isn't a problem, as that is handled by Serviio. Does it display metadata and cover art? Both are contained in the Serviio database, but not all players provide the information.

I'm looking to swap out my Roku Ultra with a Shield if it will do what I need. I'll put the Ultra on a 1080 set, so the HDCP issues that some are experienceing won't ever be an issue for me, and I'll use my 4 for travel instead of the Stick. If Roku only handled MPEG2, I would be in great shape, but they don't.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #2024 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 03:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,715
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1586 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
When playing videos from your local DLNA server, what are you using for a client? I am aware of Plex, and do have Plex server running on my media server. However, Plex has one major limitation for my use in that it will not automatically play the next video in the list. It also doesn't support my .pls playlist files. I do understand that Plex on the Shield will passthough HD audio.
Maybe I'm not understanding your question/problem, but as a client, the Plex app on the shield definitely CAN be configured to play the *next* video (if you are watching a TV series, for example, their is a setting within the Plex app that tells Plex to play the next episode after a 10 second pause).
i2k likes this.
psuKinger is offline  
post #2025 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 04:30 AM
Senior Member
 
vadergr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 53
A review loaded with photos here.
vadergr is offline  
post #2026 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 05:55 AM
Member
 
bw8755's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I updated my Gen 1. I have re-arranged my app icons and after going into an app and exiting back to the home screen, the apps are re-arranged again. It keeps shoving KODI all the way to the right for example. Anyone else having issues like this?
bw8755 is offline  
post #2027 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 06:10 AM
Member
 
bw8755's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post
Has anybody used the new 'write to external USB drive/SD Card' feature that came with the most recent update?
I'm very curious about this. Currently, I have my desktop running my Plex server but would really love to offload that to my Shield. What I currently do is transfer media over the network through Windows from into the media folder (from my laptop) and then run upstairs to refresh the library through the desktop since it seems to never recognize changes in any reasonable speed.

What I'd like to do is be able to access the same media drive folder on a drive connected to the Shield. If I connect a drive to the Shield, will it be able to be discovered as a network location through Windows that I can drag and drop into from my laptop? I'm trying to put off buying a NAS for as long as possible.
bw8755 is offline  
post #2028 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1681 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by vadergr View Post
A review loaded with photos here.
Worth noting, I am pretty sure the latest update gave the 2015 Shield TV HDMI 2.0b which is only a software upgrade.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple 4K, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One X
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
LG OLED 55C8PUA, Denon x4400h, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is offline  
post #2029 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
JGrana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by bw8755 View Post
I'm very curious about this. Currently, I have my desktop running my Plex server but would really love to offload that to my Shield. What I currently do is transfer media over the network through Windows from into the media folder (from my laptop) and then run upstairs to refresh the library through the desktop since it seems to never recognize changes in any reasonable speed.

What I'd like to do is be able to access the same media drive folder on a drive connected to the Shield. If I connect a drive to the Shield, will it be able to be discovered as a network location through Windows that I can drag and drop into from my laptop? I'm trying to put off buying a NAS for as long as possible.
From what I read (and tried), there is a new folder on the external USB drive called NVIDIA_SHIELD. This it seems is created by the new software.
You can write to this folder over the network.
I have Windows Network showing my Shield. I can write to "internal", the SD Card and I can see all of the files on my external USB drive. But, I can only write to the folder NVIDIA_SHIELD on the external drive.
So, I moved my videos and music folders from the top level into the NVIDIA_SHIELD directory - and can now read/write over the network.
JGrana is online now  
post #2030 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,207
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1378 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Maybe I'm not understanding your question/problem, but as a client, the Plex app on the shield definitely CAN be configured to play the *next* video (if you are watching a TV series, for example, their is a setting within the Plex app that tells Plex to play the next episode after a 10 second pause).
I was aware that Plex could continue playback with series, but I want it to continue with the next movie in the last as well. I also know Plex can have playlists, but it doesn't recognize my pls files, so I'd have to recreate them.

Thanks!

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #2031 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Did anyone got the Sony 4k Ultra movie app to work playing HDR movies from Sony?
Kage is offline  
post #2032 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 11:07 AM
Member
 
onabuc67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Question for all of you that have the new model. Since the only old versions I can find for sale are used on EBay, I don't figure I can find one.

When playing videos from your local DLNA server, what are you using for a client? I am aware of Plex, and do have Plex server running on my media server. However, Plex has one major limitation for my use in that it will not automatically play the next video in the list. It also doesn't support my .pls playlist files. I do understand that Plex on the Shield will passthough HD audio.

I am looking for the ability to playvideos from my Serviio DLNA server, with full HD audio where available. Virtually all of my media is either mpeg2 or h.264, although there are a few VC-1 or wmv files, but I could always convert them if necessary. Almost all audio is AC-3, with some TrueHD or DTS-MA files on my Blu Ray rips. Containers are mostly MKV, with some m2ts, ts, and avi. I have a bunch of wtv recorded TV as well, but transcoding them to a different container doesn't take much server power, so I'm not concerned with them.

I understand the Shield comes with a native DLNA media player, but I can't find any information about it. Does it support continuous playback? Playlist support isn't a problem, as that is handled by Serviio. Does it display metadata and cover art? Both are contained in the Serviio database, but not all players provide the information.

I'm looking to swap out my Roku Ultra with a Shield if it will do what I need. I'll put the Ultra on a 1080 set, so the HDCP issues that some are experienceing won't ever be an issue for me, and I'll use my 4 for travel instead of the Stick. If Roku only handled MPEG2, I would be in great shape, but they don't.
Try SPMC kodi. I stream from my synology server wireless and get full DTS and ATMOS audio enabled.
onabuc67 is offline  
post #2033 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 11:19 AM
Member
 
Bullwyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
Did anyone got the Sony 4k Ultra movie app to work playing HDR movies from Sony?
No luck. It plays other Sony movies, but the UHDHDR ones fail with the error - "The content item location is not available." - whatever that means.
I've not heard back from Sony regarding this, could not find anything in the support forums yet.
Bullwyf is offline  
post #2034 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 02:07 PM
Member
 
crackthewhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 83
For those of you with the new SHIELD who are using a FLIRC usb ir receiver with a Harmony remote, today FLIRC released version 2.1.1 of their software. I had to uninstall the old software version on my Windows PC before installing the new version. This software update includes a SHIELD controller, which makes programming the FLIRC device much easier. The Harmony remote now functions the same as the SHIELD remote. Note: This is only for those using Harmony remotes programmed with the MyHarmony desktop software, not for the Hub remotes. You should also re-program your Harmony remote, since less buttons are required for SHIELD.

Many apps now support the new multi-functionality of the remote OK button, which includes the following commands in a pop-up window: Select, Pause, Play, Fast Forward, and Rewind.

For apps that don't support this, only the Select command works with the OK button.

Display: Vizio M65-D0 4K/HDR
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-530K 4K/HDR Pass-Thru
Media Player: AT&T DirecTV Now Beta Streaming Box
Remote: Logitech Harmony 700 and Harmony Hub
HDMI Cables: Monoprice Premium Certified 18Gbs
crackthewhip is offline  
post #2035 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 02:09 PM
Member
 
isupes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ordered the new shield but haven't gotten it yet. Can anyone tell me what media streaming apps available exactly are HDR capable besides Netflix and Amazon Video?

----We are not the same. I am an alien.----
isupes is offline  
post #2036 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 03:02 PM
Member
 
crackthewhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Forgot to include updated programming instructions for Harmony and FLIRC. See attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Flirc Setup - Harmony & Nvidia Shield.pdf (204.0 KB, 82 views)
mike1sc likes this.

Display: Vizio M65-D0 4K/HDR
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-530K 4K/HDR Pass-Thru
Media Player: AT&T DirecTV Now Beta Streaming Box
Remote: Logitech Harmony 700 and Harmony Hub
HDMI Cables: Monoprice Premium Certified 18Gbs
crackthewhip is offline  
post #2037 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
dabl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackthewhip View Post
Forgot to include updated programming instructions for Harmony and FLIRC. See attachment.
Thanks, greatly appreciated!
dabl is offline  
post #2038 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 03:44 PM
Member
 
crackthewhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by isupes View Post
Ordered the new shield but haven't gotten it yet. Can anyone tell me what media streaming apps available exactly are HDR capable besides Netflix and Amazon Video?
Hulu
Vudu
YouTube
UltraFlix
Fandango Now

Display: Vizio M65-D0 4K/HDR
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-530K 4K/HDR Pass-Thru
Media Player: AT&T DirecTV Now Beta Streaming Box
Remote: Logitech Harmony 700 and Harmony Hub
HDMI Cables: Monoprice Premium Certified 18Gbs
crackthewhip is offline  
post #2039 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
TimGoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackthewhip View Post
Hulu
Vudu
YouTube
UltraFlix
Fandango Now
Hulu doesn't have any programming that is in HDR.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
TimGoodwin is offline  
post #2040 of 12070 Old 01-30-2017, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,437
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Question for all of you that have the new model. Since the only old versions I can find for sale are used on EBay, I don't figure I can find one.

When playing videos from your local DLNA server, what are you using for a client? I am aware of Plex, and do have Plex server running on my media server. However, Plex has one major limitation for my use in that it will not automatically play the next video in the list. It also doesn't support my .pls playlist files. I do understand that Plex on the Shield will passthough HD audio.

I am looking for the ability to playvideos from my Serviio DLNA server, with full HD audio where available. Virtually all of my media is either mpeg2 or h.264, although there are a few VC-1 or wmv files, but I could always convert them if necessary. Almost all audio is AC-3, with some TrueHD or DTS-MA files on my Blu Ray rips. Containers are mostly MKV, with some m2ts, ts, and avi. I have a bunch of wtv recorded TV as well, but transcoding them to a different container doesn't take much server power, so I'm not concerned with them.

I understand the Shield comes with a native DLNA media player, but I can't find any information about it. Does it support continuous playback? Playlist support isn't a problem, as that is handled by Serviio. Does it display metadata and cover art? Both are contained in the Serviio database, but not all players provide the information.

I'm looking to swap out my Roku Ultra with a Shield if it will do what I need. I'll put the Ultra on a 1080 set, so the HDCP issues that some are experienceing won't ever be an issue for me, and I'll use my 4 for travel instead of the Stick. If Roku only handled MPEG2, I would be in great shape, but they don't.

So I handle this 2 ways. I have Serviio and a few other DLNA servers I have run that is use for my Oppo to play raw MKVs with TrueHD and DTS-MA, I also loaded SMPC onto my new Shield that I can point direct to the UNC paths on my NAS this way I can get to it 2 ways through different devices.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
onkyo ht s7800 , samsung ks8000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off