*Official* HIMEDIA Q16 quad-core 4k media player thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 81 Old 06-05-2015, 11:10 AM
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 17,607
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2273 Post(s)
Liked: 1292
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Got note from postmaster. It got quicker from Malasia to Ft Lauderdale than to Hong Kong.
CINERAMAX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 81 Old 06-05-2015, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
^CINERAMAX,

Great to hear that you'll be getting your Q16 early. Think you're going to be the trail blazer for the rest of us.

Maybe you can take a some pictures of what's inside the box and answer Brajesh's questions in post number 23.

Vendor has confirmed that the HiMedia wrapper app has NOT been installed so you'll have to do this manually. Just follow the instructions given by Brajesh in post number 27. This will enable one to use Kodi as the user interface and calls the HiMedia player to be Kodi's external player for playback of local files. Believe it's important to get correct playback of 23.976 fps and support for other video codecs.

I'm trying to be patient while awaiting the arrival of the Q16, which is on the slow boat from Malaysia...

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #33 of 81 Old 06-10-2015, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
If you get a HiMedia M3, Q5 or Q10, be sure to get the English version... the branding, remote in English characters & even firmwares are different.

See the two Kodi threads I linked above in post #12.

Steve, did you get your Q16? Chinese writing on box/remote? What about UI?
Hi Brajesh,

Just got the Q16 today...

The remote is in English and picture is shown below.


Wont have much time this week due to other commitments, but hope to have some time this weekend to set it up and play around with it.

Wondering if CINERAMAX got his Q16 box yet?

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 81 Old 06-11-2015, 05:28 AM
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 17,607
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2273 Post(s)
Liked: 1292
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Yes I have. But have mixed results, it boots to pal so there is a dot crawl distortion that can get fixed by cycling through display button to 3128 x 2048 (or whatever 4k is).

The amount of chinese programs loaded is overwhelming , i deleted most but the launch icons remained.

The picture in 4k is very good but when you reeboot it goes back to dot crawl pal.

No zoom for 3D deal breaker for large screens/no apparent easy to use basic file manager.8 tera no problem via usb3.

For the price it is good, but for Westerners definitely best to wait for English version, this is right out of BLADERUNNER.
Cheers!
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #35 of 81 Old 06-11-2015, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
^CINERAMAX,

So you're reporting good results for connect an 8TB drive via USB 3.0 to the Q16? That's great news as I intend to grab one of these units in the not too distant future.

Are you able to go to the settings menu and select 1080p60Hz? Does this provide a better resolution for your TV?

How is the user interface with Kodi? Are you able to use apps such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, Vudu, etc. and able to stream some shows? If you're in state side, this should be possible as the apps geo-positional net address before streaming can begin. I'm unable to start any of these apps due to my current location.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #36 of 81 Old 06-13-2015, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 66
How does this compare to Openhour chameleon with a faster A17 chip instead of A9 for the Himedia?
http://cloudmedia.com/products/open-hour/chameleon
latreche34 is offline  
post #37 of 81 Old 06-15-2015, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
How does this compare to Openhour chameleon with a faster A17 chip instead of A9 for the Himedia?
http://cloudmedia.com/products/open-hour/chameleon
Hi latreche34,

I don't have a Open hour chameleon so can't compare with the HiMedia Q16. According to user feedback, there seems to be some missing features (no wifi, no USB 3.0, no SATA port) as well as a few bugs that need to be worked out.

Apart from the differences in processors (and a few hardware differences), the User Interface (UI) between the two is quite drastic in appearance. It much depends on which one you like and the willingness to put on a custom UI if neither appeal to you. The UI respond to commands from the remote should be an important factor as people tend to be a bit impatient when pressing buttons and seeing a slow response on screen. The UI response time for the Q16 is okay so far as the wife hasn't complained about it. A happy wife is a happy life...

How quick is the boot time of the Open hour chameleon? One review says its a porky 80 seconds. The Q16 is a bit better than this.
Support for various video and audio codecs is another important aspect. The Q16 was able to play the ISO file of a blu-ray backup that choked the WDTV Live SMP. Got DTS-MA HD audio output to the Marantz SR-7009 receiver. The ability to play back ISO files and other formats was one of the main reasons for up-grading from the WDTV Live SMP. Will be trying some MKV and M2TS files and see how it performs - I expect it to pass. Next step is 3D ISO support.

Had a quick play around with Kodi on the Q16 and it looks nice, didn't spend too much time with it.

Thinking about getting an air mouse or wireless keyboard + mouse combo as the stock remote is a bit cumbersome.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #38 of 81 Old 06-19-2015, 11:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, will it decode dts ma and send as LPCM?
Thanks!
rover2002 is offline  
post #39 of 81 Old 06-20-2015, 12:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
Hi, will it decode dts ma and send as LPCM?
Thanks!
Hi rover2002,

Due to licening issues, the HiMedia Q16 will not decode lossless high definition sound tracks that is encoded in either Dobly TrueHD or DTS-MA HD. It will only pass through (i.e. bit stream) these audio files for decoding to the downstream device such as a receiver.

The HiMedia Q16 will decode the lossy Dolby Digital and DTS sound tracks to LPCM.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #40 of 81 Old 06-20-2015, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx Steve!
rover2002 is offline  
post #41 of 81 Old 06-21-2015, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
^rover2002,

Noticed that you're around Hong Kong and there's plenty of Android TV boxes available in places such as the Golden Arcade Center in Sham Shui Po. Was thinking about getting one from there and another AVS member offered to source from another retail outlet, but decided to grab one from Malaysia due to the technical support being offered there.

This was important to me as I knew next to nothing about these new devices.

Fiddled around with Kodi and managed to playback a DVD ISO file. The quality isn't as good as compared to the Oppo BDP-93 and wondering if there's a few settings that I must have incorrectly set?

When using Kodi to playback blu-ray ISO files, it shutters badly that it's basically unacceptable. Another problem is that the audio output is just 2.0 channels in LPCM and couldn't get it switch across to the surround sound track.

Then tried the default video player on the Q16 and it's much better for playback of blu-ray ISO files. Was able to bit stream loss less DTS-MA soundtrack to the receiver...

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.

Last edited by steveting99; 06-22-2015 at 11:22 PM. Reason: typo
steveting99 is offline  
post #42 of 81 Old 06-22-2015, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im really new to these media boxes!
I'v gone from HD Base 3.0 to this (Q16) but have only limited time to play around with it, iv just connected a WD Ultra drive with full ISO 3D files and messed with it for a while and must say im not to impressed. On fast moving sceans it really does not look good at all and on top of that im getting ghosting which maybe TV related not sure yet.
rover2002 is offline  
post #43 of 81 Old 06-22-2015, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
^rover2002,

What is the firmware version on your HiMedia Q16? Is it the latest version 1.08?

What is your display setting? I've got mine at 1080p60Hz and also enabled 1080p24Hz.

Are you using the default video player that came with the Q16? It's kinda plain file manger type, but so far plays backup ISO files that came from original DVD/blu-ray discs.

Just installed a Rapoo E9180P wireless keyboard+trackpad and works okay. Typing on a mechanical keyboard is a lot better than virtual one on the screen and using the remote to 'select' letters.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.

Last edited by steveting99; 06-22-2015 at 08:07 AM. Reason: typo
steveting99 is offline  
post #44 of 81 Old 06-22-2015, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
^rover2002,

What is the firmware version on your HiMedia Q16? Is it the latest version 1.08?

What is your display setting? I've got mine at 1080p60Hz and also enabled 1080p24Hz.

Are you using the default video player that came with the Q16? It's kinda plain file manger type, but so far plays backup ISO files that came from original DVD/blu-ray discs.
It says 1.7 and when i check the update feature it says its up to date.
Same setting 1080P60hz enabled 1080P24hz
Yes same stock player.

I only have 3D ISO files atm, no DVD files as i find DVDs very hard to watch these days.
My TV is JS9800 which is in the process of being replaced due to ghosting when viewing 3D through disc, i must say as this is my first time with a 3D tv i'm not to impressed. Does all 3D movies have this soap opera effect?
Next ill try and figure out how to use kodi although that might take sometime !
rover2002 is offline  
post #45 of 81 Old 06-22-2015, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did you get the 1.8 update?
Thx
rover2002 is offline  
post #46 of 81 Old 06-22-2015, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
How did you get the 1.8 update?
Thx
rover2002,

Looks like your firmware version number is 1.07?

Version 1.08 came with the Q16. I can ask the vendor whom I bought the Q16 if it's okay to permit others to use firmware version 1.08. If not permissible, you can ask the vendor who you bought it from to up-date to version 1.08 or download it from HiMedia's website do the up-date yourself.

Do you have the dual core or quad core version of the Q16? A friend of mine has the Q16 quad core version, but no 4k support.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #47 of 81 Old 06-23-2015, 01:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
rover2002,

Looks like your firmware version number is 1.07?

Version 1.08 came with the Q16. I can ask the vendor whom I bought the Q16 if it's okay to permit others to use firmware version 1.08. If not permissible, you can ask the vendor who you bought it from to up-date to version 1.08 or download it from HiMedia's website do the up-date yourself.

Do you have the dual core or quad core version of the Q16? A friend of mine has the Q16 quad core version, but no 4k support.
Thx Steve, Got mine from Sham Shui Po it's quad core with 4k support, I'm able to set the res to 3840x2160.
Unfortunately I can't read or write Chinese but if you have a link that would be great!
rover2002 is offline  
post #48 of 81 Old 06-24-2015, 01:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
Thx Steve, Got mine from Sham Shui Po it's quad core with 4k support, I'm able to set the res to 3840x2160.
Unfortunately I can't read or write Chinese but if you have a link that would be great!
rover2002,

Got permission from the vendor to share the latest firmware (1.08) with you and download link is here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/syflytbel3...e_Q16.zip?dl=0

Be sure you are using the Mango launcher in the Q16.

1. Download the firmware file from dropbox.

2. Copy the file into a USB thumb drive and place it in the ROOT directly. Don’t change the file name or unzip the file.

3. Goto Setting -> Upgrade -> Upgrade local
rover2002 likes this.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.

Last edited by steveting99; 06-24-2015 at 01:35 AM. Reason: typo
steveting99 is offline  
post #49 of 81 Old 06-24-2015, 09:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
rover2002,

Got permission from the vendor to share the latest firmware (1.08) with you and download link is here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/syflytbel3...e_Q16.zip?dl=0

Be sure you are using the Mango launcher in the Q16.

1. Download the firmware file from dropbox.

2. Copy the file into a USB thumb drive and place it in the ROOT directly. Don’t change the file name or unzip the file.

3. Goto Setting -> Upgrade -> Upgrade local
Thx Steve, updated last night and it definitely has improved the 3d, I'm still getting a bit of a stutter (for want of a better word) but that could be having [email protected] set to on? Not sure will have a play with it later, once again thx for the update file
rover2002 is offline  
post #50 of 81 Old 06-26-2015, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,418
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 286
There's actually a firmware v1.0.9 for Q16; see here. But, at least on Q5/10, the English & Chinese versions are different.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #51 of 81 Old 06-26-2015, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
There's actually a firmware v1.0.9 for Q16; see here. But, at least on Q5/10, the English & Chinese versions are different.
Brajesh,

The date for the firmware version number (1.09) on the Q16 look suspicious.
型号:Q16emmc
版本号:HMD-1.0.9 2014-11-20.152319
MD5: 16FA26F9ADF246D1DCF622414CA0944F

As far as I'm aware, firmware version number 1.08 is in April 2015.

Edit: I'm really liking Kodi. I enabled hardware acceleration and the picture is more smoother. Using software decoding results in a lot of judder and skipped/dropped frames. Having some difficulties with reading all my backup ISO folders/files off the WD MyBook Live 3TB NAS. Not sure why it would display some of the movies and not others? Have you come across this problem before?

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.

Last edited by steveting99; 06-26-2015 at 06:52 PM. Reason: additional text.
steveting99 is offline  
post #52 of 81 Old 07-07-2015, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Guys,

New firmware is now available. Version 1.09. Change log details as follows.

Date: July 2015
1). Improve Blueray file initial loading.
2). Resolve TVAPP.SO incompatibility issue.
3). Resolve CloudTV default player issue.
4). Rectify WIFI unable to connect to Access Point.
5). Fix 4K black screen problem.
6). Fix AirPlay TrueHD movies no sound.
7). Fix minor DLNA problem.
8). Fix minor User interface bug and errors.

Will be up-dating the Q16 in the next few days. Will provide feedback if there's any issues.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #53 of 81 Old 07-24-2015, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Maison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hi Steve... How does the PQ of this compares to to the Oppo 93?
Maison is offline  
post #54 of 81 Old 07-26-2015, 01:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
Hi Steve... How does the PQ of this compares to to the Oppo 93?
With the older LCD TV, I thought the Oppo had the edge. Recently got a new OLED which is quite unforgiving with poor source material. It shines with 1080p sources.

Once I've got about few hundred hours on the OLED, will do a comparison again.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #55 of 81 Old 07-31-2015, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
This product looks really interesting. I do have some questions (though they only apply if you have an external hard drive attached)

How do you get your movies onto external hard drives? I've read that Android doesn't have the ability to write to external hard drives (SD cards and flash drives, yes..but not USB hard drives).

My current set up is an HD Base 3.0 with a multi-bay enclosure attached, and I send files over the network.
SilverBlade is offline  
post #56 of 81 Old 08-01-2015, 01:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post
This product looks really interesting. I do have some questions (though they only apply if you have an external hard drive attached)

How do you get your movies onto external hard drives? I've read that Android doesn't have the ability to write to external hard drives (SD cards and flash drives, yes..but not USB hard drives).

My current set up is an HD Base 3.0 with a multi-bay enclosure attached, and I send files over the network.
Hi SilverBlade,

Simply put your ripped movies into the appropriate folder that has the same name as the movie file. The Q16 video player has a file manager with the ability to auto detect when a USB drive is connected to one of it's ports and will make it available to browse and play back the video file.

At least that's what I did.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #57 of 81 Old 08-01-2015, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Hi SilverBlade,

Simply put your ripped movies into the appropriate folder that has the same name as the movie file. The Q16 video player has a file manager with the ability to auto detect when a USB drive is connected to one of it's ports and will make it available to browse and play back the video file.

At least that's what I did.
I meant write *to* the player from your computer.
SilverBlade is offline  
post #58 of 81 Old 08-10-2015, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
edsuarez99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
^Brajesh,

Thanks for the link and pointer on HiMedia wrapper. I'm expecting it to work exactly like the Q5 since the components are the same except the eMMC being 16GB vs. 8GB.

Will be testing the HiMedia wrapper with Kodi once I get the Q16.
As far as a HDD, I plan on using a seagate sshdd 4tb. How do you keep your HDD cool? I couldn't find a case that has an SATA external connection. So I was just going to connect it up to the Q16 and lay it on a surface in the back of the cabinet. Should I worry about heat affecting the drive without a fan? How long did it take to get the Q16 from Malaysia? Should I just get the Q10 since I can get it through Amazon?
edsuarez99 is offline  
post #59 of 81 Old 08-10-2015, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post
I meant write *to* the player from your computer.
Hi SilverBlade,

Sorry for the late reply, been moving into a new place and the gear are in boxes waiting for setup. I haven't tried writing to the player from the PC. I recall a YouTube video giving guidance on how to setup the Q16 as an FTP so it can be recognised on the network.

Since the storage capacity of the Q16 is small, it would be better to connect an external HDD which the Q16 can write to it. Again, I haven't tried this out.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #60 of 81 Old 08-11-2015, 01:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,981
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Steve, you may find these threads at Kodi forum useful. I maintain the latter thread. And, I'd love to hear your experience about Q16 especially in regards to Kodi and 3D playback + HD audio...

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...055#pid1954055

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=221407
I have not jumped on the Kodi bandwagon previously as I did not realize the feature set competed with or surpassed stand-alone players. I thought you were stuck transcoding with Kodi if you used full rips like MKV. Now that I've finally installed Kodi, I'm trying to find a player that will work in my environment.

Is there any chance you could upgrade your chart with the specific feature as follows:

simultaneous output of lossless audio through HDMI and lossy audio through optical/coax

This is an important feature for use with the D-BOX motion system in a home theater environment. Currently non-Kodi media players like Mede8er will do simultaneous output but you only get lossy audio through HDMI. My Oppo Blu-ray player is the only device I have found that will meet the requirement listed. I shouldn't have to stick with disc to get the best audio that is compatible with D-BOX.

Matt
turls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off