Nvida Shield Andriod tv - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 05-28-2015, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Nvida Shield Andriod tv

anandtech has a review up for those interested


http://anandtech.com/show/9289/the-n...roid-tv-review
iatacs19 likes this.
bluewhale1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 05-28-2015, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,219
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 760
No HD Audio, MPEG-2 isn't working... Doesn't look good for either Kodi or HDHomerun View.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
No HD Audio, MPEG-2 isn't working... Doesn't look good for either Kodi or HDHomerun View.
Unless something changes might as well use a Nuc or Chromebox for a HTPC. Lots of disappointment this year.
bluewhale1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 297
May still end up becoming a good box for Kodi. 24/auto framerate support is in the works, and HD audio could also be added (as 8-channel PCM, or native DTS-MA/TrueHD). Follow discussion here. But, yes, for right now, it's lacking.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 657 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Brajesh, do you know anything about Kodi, Plex, or anyone else implementing libdcadec, the new open source DTS-MA decoder that is now part of ffmpeg?

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Do you still need a license to bitstream HD audio to a receiver? I was a bit confused by this while reading the review...

-

OLED65C9PUA, AVR-X4200W, NVIDIA SHIELD TV, SVS SB12-NSD, RC-52 II, RB-41 II, KEF E301, BDI 8179
iatacs19 is online now  
post #7 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 657 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by iatacs19 View Post
Do you still need a license to bitstream HD audio to a receiver? I was a bit confused by this while reading the review...
I think that's a grey area, and why so many devices from big manufacturers can't/won't do it.

Open source software skirts the issue, as do many fly by night unlicensed media players.
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmystikcfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am going to order one of these boxes, but I'm a little torn on which one. I do plan on doing some gaming on it and possibly using Nvidia's Grid service. Having a hard time justifying paying 150% of the base price for nothing more than storage and a game that doesn't really interest me all that much. All media will be streamed to it and I will be using a wired GB connection. What are the pluses of having the additional onboard storage?
jmystikcfl is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmystikcfl View Post
I am going to order one of these boxes, but I'm a little torn on which one. I do plan on doing some gaming on it and possibly using Nvidia's Grid service. Having a hard time justifying paying 150% of the base price for nothing more than storage and a game that doesn't really interest me all that much. All media will be streamed to it and I will be using a wired GB connection. What are the pluses of having the additional onboard storage?
It does support external storage via MicroSD, so you may not need the 500GB version.

-

OLED65C9PUA, AVR-X4200W, NVIDIA SHIELD TV, SVS SB12-NSD, RC-52 II, RB-41 II, KEF E301, BDI 8179
iatacs19 is online now  
post #10 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
cstmstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just got the Nvidia Shield this afternoon. I installed Kodi on it and so far works fine, yes no HD audio but other then that this is perfect as a replacement to my Boxee Box that was on it's last legs. Extremely happy with this purchase.

Xbox Live- DragonsLee

"I'm not in this world to live up to your expectations and you're not in this world to live up to mine." - Bruce Lee
cstmstyle is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,219
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmstyle View Post
I just got the Nvidia Shield this afternoon. I installed Kodi on it and so far works fine, yes no HD audio but other then that this is perfect as a replacement to my Boxee Box that was on it's last legs. Extremely happy with this purchase.
Playing what kind of files? Be specific, it helps everyone. Use Mediainfo to get file details if you need to.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #12 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
HDHomeRun View app works just fine, including protected channels (HBO) but only Stereo audio.

'Live Channels' does not work, blank video but audio works.
Kris404 is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
cstmstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Playing what kind of files? Be specific, it helps everyone. Use Mediainfo to get file details if you need to.
Downloaded MKV TV shows and tried a few MKV Blue-ray rips I have. They played fine. I can't test surround sound as this is a bedroom setup and its just plugged into my TV. If you want more info there is a thread in the Kodi forums with discussions from the Kodi Developers.

Xbox Live- DragonsLee

"I'm not in this world to live up to your expectations and you're not in this world to live up to mine." - Bruce Lee
cstmstyle is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,219
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmstyle View Post
Downloaded MKV TV shows and tried a few MKV Blue-ray rips I have. They played fine. I can't test surround sound as this is a bedroom setup and its just plugged into my TV. If you want more info there is a thread in the Kodi forums with discussions from the Kodi Developers.
Are they full blueray rips that you did or crap from the internet?

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 05-29-2015, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
cstmstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Are they full blueray rips that you did or crap from the internet?
Both

Used MakeMKV for my Blu-ray rips but also have a few MKV's that I downloaded

Xbox Live- DragonsLee

"I'm not in this world to live up to your expectations and you're not in this world to live up to mine." - Bruce Lee
cstmstyle is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 05-30-2015, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Mine is arriving next week! Will test my makemkv blu-ray rips. Supposedly VC-1 and mpeg2 files (progressive, not sure about interlaced) play fine with software decoding in Kodi. Don't care much about HD audio because I only have 2.1 audio. My major concern is 3:2 pulldown performance, which I'm very sensitive to. We shall see!
lockdown571 is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 05-30-2015, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Found this comment to be interesting:

Quote:
The NVIDIA SHIELD is currently the only Netflix 4K-certified set-top box in the market. This certification involves two important requirements:
One would think they would be aware of the Sony FMP-X10 that can stream Netflix in UHD.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 05-31-2015, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,335
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Found this comment to be interesting:



One would think they would be aware of the Sony FMP-X10 that can stream Netflix in UHD.

While it can play the 4k Netflix, it isn't "Netflix certified 4k". It's all in the wording of the statement


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 06-01-2015, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NE USA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post
Brajesh, do you know anything about Kodi, Plex, or anyone else implementing libdcadec, the new open source DTS-MA decoder that is now part of ffmpeg?
No, but hopefully it means Kodi devs can implement HD audio via software in Shield. A nVidia rep also posted in their forum that they're considering h/w supporting it.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #20 of 35 Old 06-01-2015, 09:40 AM
Member
 
elcubano1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can any owner of the shield verify in the HDMI settings if you choose YUV or RGB output?
elcubano1 is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 06-01-2015, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcubano1 View Post
Can any owner of the shield verify in the HDMI settings if you choose YUV or RGB output?
Using RGB 16-235 on my Kuro.

YUV doesn't work as the Shield cannot output YCbCr. You get washed out blacks with 'Full RGB'.
Kris404 is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 06-01-2015, 08:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 241
They mentioned on the Nvidia forums they're adding 0-255 in a future update.
staknhalo is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 44
So no DD 5.1 available in Kodi,right? Any hope for an update to correct this?
hodges69 is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It does pass through DD and DTS (as well as software decode). Decodes TrueHD. Handles LPCM (I've only tried 5.1). Nvidia has said (on Amazon review responses) they will handle HD audio pass through in the future. Also in the future DTS-HD* should be able to be decoded in software by Kodi whenever libdcadec/newer ffmpeg is merged.

Hopefully they give us a codec pack purchase option to be able to decode all of those (and VC-1) in hardware, but ultimately audio will handle itself.

It's currently missing 23.976hz and 59.94hz support, but does do 24.00hz. Nvidia said they would look into it.
drhill is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Right now, The shield isn't a good media center just for the sole fact that it can't do bitstreaming of HD audio streams, AND can't do VC-1.

As my current Dune Base 3 can do these things (and I got it in 2010)..it seems rather petty that something coming out in 2015 can't to all the things that the Dune Base 3 can do right at the start. It's disappointing.

I'm waiting for Nvidia to get off their butts and implement HD audio passthrough and VC-1 capability. THEN it would be a capable box. But without HD audio..you may as well stick with DVD's. It's either go all the way or don't go at all (for me)
SilverBlade is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post
Right now, The shield isn't a good media center just for the sole fact that it can't do bitstreaming of HD audio streams, AND can't do VC-1.

As my current Dune Base 3 can do these things (and I got it in 2010)..it seems rather petty that something coming out in 2015 can't to all the things that the Dune Base 3 can do right at the start. It's disappointing.

I'm waiting for Nvidia to get off their butts and implement HD audio passthrough and VC-1 capability. THEN it would be a capable box. But without HD audio..you may as well stick with DVD's. It's either go all the way or don't go at all (for me)
i think i agree..just bought one and could be returning it until a more robust offerring exists,

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,335
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6254
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post
Right now, The shield isn't a good media center just for the sole fact that it can't do bitstreaming of HD audio streams, AND can't do VC-1.



As my current Dune Base 3 can do these things (and I got it in 2010)..it seems rather petty that something coming out in 2015 can't to all the things that the Dune Base 3 can do right at the start. It's disappointing.



I'm waiting for Nvidia to get off their butts and implement HD audio passthrough and VC-1 capability. THEN it would be a capable box. But without HD audio..you may as well stick with DVD's. It's either go all the way or don't go at all (for me)

We often see these types of comments with "new" devices. Remember some of the issues it (The Shield) has are related to limitations of the current OS. You can't really compare the two as the dune basically has one function and has limitations regarding other things. I'm watching the shield closely, but without HD audio capabilities it's not worth it at this point.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Thanks guys for all the responses and giving me hope...I bought the Shield on faith that the audio issues will be addressed...still have a 3
Week window of return though.....just sayin
hodges69 is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 07-28-2015, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhill View Post
It does pass through DD and DTS (as well as software decode). Decodes TrueHD. Handles LPCM (I've only tried 5.1). Nvidia has said (on Amazon review responses) they will handle HD audio pass through in the future. Also in the future DTS-HD* should be able to be decoded in software by Kodi whenever libdcadec/newer ffmpeg is merged.

Hopefully they give us a codec pack purchase option to be able to decode all of those (and VC-1) in hardware, but ultimately audio will handle itself.

It's currently missing 23.976hz and 59.94hz support, but does do 24.00hz. Nvidia said they would look into it.

Perhaps the shield does not like my Denon ....after setting speakers (In Kodi audio settings) to 5.1 and allowing pass thru ..all I get is
A multi channel readout from my Denon 2311...Am I missing something here?
hodges69 is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 07-29-2015, 05:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodges69 View Post
Perhaps the shield does not like my Denon ....after setting speakers (In Kodi audio settings) to 5.1 and allowing pass thru ..all I get is
A multi channel readout from my Denon 2311...Am I missing something here?
Seems rightish. My Denon x2100w works fine for AC-3 and DTS passthrough.
drhill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off