Official Roku 4 Thread - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 505Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 2655 Old 10-28-2015, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Maison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Is there a way to change the resolution with the remote? If not, there should be or have an auto function
Maison is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 03:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Could be the Vizio and certain displays since the issue is not widespread.
Gary J is offline  
post #573 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 32,914
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7196 Post(s)
Liked: 7881
As far as the magenta color issue is concerned, I think many people don't see it because a) they're watching on an HDTV, not a UHD display, where the color issue doesn't exist or b) they're insensitive to this type of color issue.

I can say that I've fed my Sony 940c no less than 4 other dedicated 4K sources via HDMI (2 4K media players and 2 4K cameras) and I've seen nothing like the Roku's 4K color shift.

I have little doubt the issue resides within the Roku. I'm also sure this is something that can be addressed by a firmware update, IF Roku acknowledges the issue and addresses it.
GerryWaz likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
africanlivedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
Is there a way to change the resolution with the remote? If not, there should be or have an auto function


I don't think so or I haven't figured it out myself. It's quite annoying! Perhaps you could also suggest a feature for this in the Roku Suggestions forum? I have already myself.
africanlivedit is offline  
post #575 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Think i figured out the loud fan 85% problem. Im running out the door so ill post pics later but I pulled mine apart. Theres 4 screws on the bottom under the rubber pad then used an xacto knife and jewlers flat tip screww driver to pry open the top.

Discovered no thermal paste or pad between cpu and larger flat metal heatsink.
aaronwt likes this.
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #576 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
That would not be good. Unless small device like this run without thermal paste.
metalsaber is offline  
post #577 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Think i figured out the loud fan 85% problem. Im running out the door so ill post pics later but I pulled mine apart. Theres 4 screws on the bottom under the rubber pad then used an xacto knife and jewlers flat tip screww driver to pry open the top.

Discovered no thermal paste or pad between cpu and larger flat metal heatsink.
Please post pictures, there is no teardown currently available.

Please visit the YouTube HDR (Chromecast Ultra) Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/TheHDRChannel
zmarty is offline  
post #578 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmarty View Post
Please post pictures, there is no teardown currently available.
I will as soon as get back home probably hour and haf or so.
aaronwt likes this.
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #579 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Pictures are UP! So the story is, I bought this Roku yesterday from best buy. Hooked it up and wife used Netflix. I was gone for 5 min came back and the thing sounded like the most hardcore gaming laptop you've ever seen running handbrake for hours. I was like there is no way its supposed sound like this no one in there right mind would use it. Did some research lots of people say there is quite but there are a lot that has my issue and apparently if you call Roku they will exchange it.

If you press home home home home home FF play RW Play FF it will bring up the secret menu which will show temp and fan speed percent. Mine was idling at 77-79c and fan at 85%.
However I noticed mine didn't "feel" hot and the air in the vents didn't feel hot. Seemed like the heat couldn't escaped the CPU.

I just put some arctic silver 5 and put it back together, will report back, I'm just hoping the heat sink actually touches the CPU and doesn't need a thermal tape/pad to make up the difference.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20151029_101330_resized_1.jpg
Views:	1378
Size:	377.6 KB
ID:	1027089   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151029_101313_resized_1.jpg
Views:	1537
Size:	468.7 KB
ID:	1027097   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151029_101309_resized_1.jpg
Views:	1104
Size:	462.0 KB
ID:	1027105   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151029_101249_resized_1.jpg
Views:	1266
Size:	450.4 KB
ID:	1027113   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151029_101200_resized_1.jpg
Views:	2249
Size:	486.2 KB
ID:	1027121  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20151029_100454_resized_1.jpg
Views:	1015
Size:	143.7 KB
ID:	1027129  

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #580 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
CPU looks like its related to this
http://www.sigmadesigns.com/news/sig...rahd-chipsets/

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #581 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Update, after 10min od BR mkv streaming at 20 min of netflix ( 1080p ), the unit was 73c and fan of 40% but 1 min after idling fan dropped back to 25% Huge improvment but I dont know what the numbers are supposed to be. If anyone can post up heat and fan from good units it would give me something to compare this repair against.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #582 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Update, after 10min od BR mkv streaming at 20 min of netflix ( 1080p ), the unit was 73c and fan of 40% but 1 min after idling fan dropped back to 25% Huge improvment but I dont know what the numbers are supposed to be. If anyone can post up heat and fan from good units it would give me something to compare this repair against.
Thanks for the tear down and pics!

After about two hours of 1080o netflix, my box is in the mid/upper 60c, and fan at 25%. Yours still seems hot.
clocks11 is offline  
post #583 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,487
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2951 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Non military spec electronics over 70 C can start to fail. I know I have issues when certain chips in my PC get that hot. 73 C is pretty toasty. Doesn't seem like a good operating range to me.
mdavej is online now  
post #584 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Non military spec electronics over 70 C can start to fail. I know I have issues when certain chips in my PC get that hot. 73 C is pretty toasty. Doesn't seem like a good operating range to me.
Mine is at 69 and fan at 25 . So some are quiet and some are loud makes me wonder if they may have come from two different manufacturing plants ?
Kingram is offline  
post #585 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Mine is 69c and 25%. It's also dead quiet.
metalsaber is offline  
post #586 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
When mine is at 25% its dead quite too and when at 40% i can hear it but its not noticeable unless the room its quite. At 85% however, forget about it.

I wonder if i need a pad with a little more thickness than just thermal past as it seems to still be warmer than your units.

Im assuming someone was asleep at the switch on the assembly line and for got the thermal interface and a big batch of units.

We wont know unless someone opens up a known good unit.
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #587 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 112
I have had mine since Friday and really like it, Roku has always been my favorite media player.

I never heard the fan on it until this morning... I haven't used the Roku in 2 days, but when I got out of the shower this morning and walked into my bedroom I was hearing the sound of a mini vacuum, i walked around all the electronics in my bedroom and found the noise was from the Roku 4. I unplugged it and plugged it in again and the noise went away.

I am kind of concerned why it was on and running like that when I haven't used the unit in two days.

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #588 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Non military spec electronics over 70 C can start to fail. I know I have issues when certain chips in my PC get that hot. 73 C is pretty toasty. Doesn't seem like a good operating range to me.
It varies a lot based on generation of chip, most run easily up to 85c + before any issues nowadays.
danbfree is offline  
post #589 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 09:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 178
The heat issue is the main reason I'm holding off on buying one of these for now.

I don't care about apathy

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Marantz SR6010 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi HTPC (OpenPHT/Aeon Nox) * Roku Ultra * Samsung Blu-Ray * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2 * Harmony Ultimate One * HDFury Linker (Zone 2)
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #590 of 2655 Old 10-29-2015, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 363
So my unit has been perfect from day one, software updates right out of the box, using wired connection to keep my WiFi signal clear for phones and laptops in the house. I'm running [email protected], never even thought about running 1080p and letting TV upscale, it looks good running at [email protected] all the time. Not sure how/why the player format is an issue at all when Plex is free and plays it all in excellent quality. You can even keep original bit rate. Anyway, no HDCP issues either with my cheap 65" RCA 4K and no color issues either... those worried about issues based on this thread should give it a try, many of us are very happy. Would like to see 10-bit color fixed, glad to hear it's not just me, and the Amazon app improved, that's it!
Gary J and Kingram like this.
danbfree is offline  
post #591 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
africanlivedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 108
I haven't heard my Roku 4's fan either.


My Roku 4 is in the basement where it's quite cool ... so maybe that helps? Anyway, Roku did release a statement saying if people are hearing the fans, they should contact them for an exchange.
__________


I think I read that at present, HBO Go doesn't offer 5.1 ... and that Roku/HBO are working on this issue, right? I need to finish off Boardwalk Empire but hesitate because I want that 5.1! lol


__________


It would also be nice if Roku kept a good list of changes that were implemented and a list of 'soon-to-be-patched/worked on issues.'
Kingram likes this.
africanlivedit is offline  
post #592 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
http://cordcuttersnews.com/roku-4-fa...ried-about-it/
Posted this over in the Roku forums. Cordcutter posted this short article with the first point being "Don't block the two vents on bottom of unit." So I checked and the vents are flush to whatever the unit is sitting on. Guess I need to sit it on something to raise it up an inch or so. I checked my unit this morning and it was at 59-64 and 25%. Watched about 2 hours of soccer last night and did hear it for the first time when I woke up 2 hours later.
EDIT-Well just as an update here, I just put my ear to the back of my new 27" retina iMac and the sound from it is identical to the noise coming from my Roku 4. Unit still does not feel hot. So now I don't know what to think. I did put a deck of cards under my unit and will wait and see if that helps.


Last edited by subavision212; 10-30-2015 at 07:00 AM.
subavision212 is offline  
post #593 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
To update my continuing saga, it's been about 15 minutes since I put my iMac to sleep and it is silent. Roku 4 fan is still running though it is low.

subavision212 is offline  
post #594 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 09:14 AM
Member
 
gonzlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Please don't tell me I'm the only one that had issues running Dolby/DTS on an old hdcp 2.0 system. I bought (and returned) my roku4 because I wanted 1080p.

Denon AVR-X3200W
B&W 683s1/685s1/HTM61s1 (FL/FR/SL/SR/C), Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos)
Paradigm DSP-3100 v2 (Sub)
Oppo 103 / Roku3
Panasonic TC-P60ST50
gonzlobo is offline  
post #595 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzlobo View Post
Please don't tell me I'm the only one that had issues running Dolby/DTS on an old hdcp 2.0 system. I bought (and returned) my roku4 because I wanted 1080p.
My roku 4 plugged into my onkyo tx-nr1007 has no problem passing DTS from my BR MKV rips. my whole setup is 1080p.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #596 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
My roku 4 plugged into my onkyo tx-nr1007 has no problem passing DTS from my BR MKV rips. my whole setup is 1080p.
What is the HDCP version?
Gary J is offline  
post #597 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
What is the HDCP version?
Haven't been able to find that information anywhere, its a 2009 era with hdmi 1.3a but haven't found anything that actually lists the HDCP version.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #598 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
Memphis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool Victoria's Secret APS

Roku 4 runs silent.
Super super low cost 4K streamer.
Resulution on a 50" is better than all my other streamers (7) and I have an I5 ivy 7TB located right under my Roku 4.
With remote you can do any and every thing. Change resolution power down power up anything
Tons and tons of free movie APS
For me I am a documentary APS freak with some news Technology APS
Roku 4
Easly jumps from USB HDD media to tons and tons of APS. S
Only 2 problems
Could not find
Victoria's Secret APS
and
AVS APS
WTF
May have to return my Roku 4 and see if VS and AVS get their act together

Last edited by Memphis3; 10-30-2015 at 02:19 PM.
Memphis3 is offline  
post #599 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,605
Mentioned: 125 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2184 Post(s)
Liked: 2757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
As far as the magenta color issue is concerned, I think many people don't see it because a) they're watching on an HDTV, not a UHD display, where the color issue doesn't exist or b) they're insensitive to this type of color issue.

I can say that I've fed my Sony 940c no less than 4 other dedicated 4K sources via HDMI (2 4K media players and 2 4K cameras) and I've seen nothing like the Roku's 4K color shift.

I have little doubt the issue resides within the Roku. I'm also sure this is something that can be addressed by a firmware update, IF Roku acknowledges the issue and addresses it.
Ken.. I started a support case with them.. unfortunately this is the reply I got..

"Dear Marc,

Thank you for contacting Roku Customer Support.
I believe that you are getting improper picture quality from Roku 4 on 4K TV.
I apologize for the delay in response and inconvenience caused to you.

I would suggest you to try connecting the Roku to the TV with different input ports and check for the presence of issue.

If this does not work, please let us know the connection setup between Roku and TV."

Mine went back today until they resolve the issue... among the others I was having..
FilmMixer is offline  
post #600 of 2655 Old 10-30-2015, 02:26 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,215
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8855 Post(s)
Liked: 5643
I thought the Roku 4 had a fan? If there is a fan it cannot be silent.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
65JS9500

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off