Official Roku 4 Thread - Page 60 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 505Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywood Jablomi View Post
Wow, this a depressing thread. I've been using Roku boxes (first Roku XS, then Roku 3) all over my house as my main media solution for years, but just bought my first UHD HDR TV. I was going to grab a Roku 4, but now I'm thinking about holding out to take a look at the new Samsung UHD Blu-Ray player, which has the Tizen OS and app ecosystem they use in their new smart TVs.
This is my first Roku and it's going back. It's totally inexcusable to bring out a UHD device where the aux audio out does not work reliably

Home Theater and Home Automation Enthusiast
MalevolentHamster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Most look look up inputs/outputs before they buy.
Gary J is online now  
post #1773 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Most look look up inputs/outputs before they buy.
Errr..... hello, i did lookup the inputs/outputs and they are there. Most reasonably expect provided inputs/outputs to works as defined before they buy

Home Theater and Home Automation Enthusiast
MalevolentHamster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1774 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,677
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4349 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalevolentHamster View Post
This is my first Roku and it's going back. It's totally inexcusable to bring out a UHD device where the aux audio out does not work reliably
Yes, I don't know what Roku was thinking when they released this? Probably just the bottom dollar and not how unreliable the device is? BTW, I love my Roku 3 and it's the device I use most of the time. Recently I have to keep rebooting it though, probably about to give out from all the use.

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #1775 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Naylorman32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 218
I emailed Roku again this morning with my unpleasant experience thus far. Just feel its ridiculous I cannot get refund after trying a 2nd unit from them without any fix.
Naylorman32 is offline  
post #1776 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by er824 View Post
Lack of DD+ to DD transcoding is disappointing for sure. I ended up returning my Roku and am sticking with my 'smart' blu-ray player for now.

There are a few threads on the Roku forums where they indicated it might be added in a future update. Several people have requested it in the Feature Requests thread.
Glad I found this thread, almost pulled the trigger on a Roku 4 but this is a deal breaker for sure. THANKS!
Jim-W is offline  
post #1777 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 09:06 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Me too, but the interface is getting a bit spam ridden lately. I do not like how large the advertising has become in the last few releases or the pay for play advertising buttons. We had a good run but I am starting to look at other options now.
FX4 is offline  
post #1778 of 2655 Old 02-03-2016, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2214 Post(s)
Liked: 2069
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Atmos over optical is just wishful thinking on my part.

Also, it seems that people who are using optical rather than HDMI for audio don't have the lip sync issues.
Not true. Just returned my Roku 4 as the audio over optical to my AVR was so out of sync with the HDMI video to my projector that even the maximum 200 ms delay my AVR permits was not sufficient to fix the lip sync.

The Samsung UHD Blu-Ray player will have its own audio delay feature that allows up to a 250 ms delay. Roku should implement the same. I suspect the extra processing required for 4k video is causing the lip sync issue.

Last edited by claw; 02-03-2016 at 11:57 AM.
claw is offline  
post #1779 of 2655 Old 02-04-2016, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
africanlivedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Not true. Just returned my Roku 4 as the audio over optical to my AVR was so out of sync with the HDMI video to my projector that even the maximum 200 ms delay my AVR permits was not sufficient to fix the lip sync.

The Samsung UHD Blu-Ray player will have its own audio delay feature that allows up to a 250 ms delay. Roku should implement the same. I suspect the extra processing required for 4k video is causing the lip sync issue.

I think you're right about the extra processing of the Roku that is causing the lip sync issue. In other words, the Roku 4 is underbaked. I am guessing they rushed it out the door in time for the holidays? Either way, it really sucks it's not fully working because the interface is beautiful and the apps are plentiful.
africanlivedit is offline  
post #1780 of 2655 Old 02-04-2016, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,279
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5360 Post(s)
Liked: 3769
Not sure if this is in the right section. CBS is going to stream the Super Bowl live this Sunday. They are going to use 5k cameras for this game. Does anyone know if CBS will stream the game in 4K? Would be perfect for the Roku 4.
wxman is offline  
post #1781 of 2655 Old 02-04-2016, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Not sure if this is in the right section. CBS is going to stream the Super Bowl live this Sunday. They are going to use 5k cameras for this game. Does anyone know if CBS will stream the game in 4K? Would be perfect for the Roku 4.
1080i , 4K not possible

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), RC-64II, RS-62II(2), RP-160M(2), Velodyne HGS-15, HSU VTF-15H, Atlantic Technology IC-6-OBA(4)
AVP: Yamaha CX-A5100, BJC certified cables
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5(2), XPA-3
Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Sony UBP-X800
JVC DLA-RS540K, (132" screen), Vizio P75-C1 and Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
promike is offline  
post #1782 of 2655 Old 02-04-2016, 12:07 PM
Member
 
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by promike View Post
1080i , 4K not possible

Why not? These are the Roku 4 specs:


Tech specs

Networking

802.11ac MIMO dual-band wireless
10/100 Base-T Ethernet

Video Outputs

Up to 4K UHD (3840 × 2160) on 4K UHD TVs
Up to 1080p HD (1920 x 1080) on HD TVs
Up-scales 720p to 1080p HD on 1080p HD and 4K UHD TVs
Up-scales 1080p HD to 4K UHD on 4K UHD TVs
4K UHD 60 fps HEVC Playback
4K UHD 30 fps VP9 Playback (YouTube)
Playback from USB drives

1) Vizio PQ65-F1 and 2) Visio D32F-F1
Yamaha RX-A3080 - Darbee Darblet DVP-5000
Roku - 2) Ultra, 1) Premiere, 1) nVidia Shield
SageTV v9 - HD300, Tablo QUAD
4) SiliconDust HDHomeRun units (10 tuners)
RonBoyd is offline  
post #1783 of 2655 Old 02-04-2016, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Firmware

New firmware update today, anyone have any idea what's in it?
rdgcss is online now  
post #1784 of 2655 Old 02-04-2016, 07:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,922
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3292 Post(s)
Liked: 6117
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
New firmware update today, anyone have any idea what's in it?
For the Roku 4? I'm not seeing it. I'm still on ver# 8863 and the system say's I'm "up to date".

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #1785 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 03:54 AM
Senior Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Why not? These are the Roku 4 specs:


Tech specs

Networking

802.11ac MIMO dual-band wireless
10/100 Base-T Ethernet

Video Outputs

Up to 4K UHD (3840 × 2160) on 4K UHD TVs
Up to 1080p HD (1920 x 1080) on HD TVs
Up-scales 720p to 1080p HD on 1080p HD and 4K UHD TVs
Up-scales 1080p HD to 4K UHD on 4K UHD TVs
4K UHD 60 fps HEVC Playback
4K UHD 30 fps VP9 Playback (YouTube)
Playback from USB drives
CBS is broadcasting in 1080i. There is plenty of 1080i programming on the Roku now and it only up scales to 1080p. Wish I was wrong.

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), RC-64II, RS-62II(2), RP-160M(2), Velodyne HGS-15, HSU VTF-15H, Atlantic Technology IC-6-OBA(4)
AVP: Yamaha CX-A5100, BJC certified cables
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5(2), XPA-3
Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Sony UBP-X800
JVC DLA-RS540K, (132" screen), Vizio P75-C1 and Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
promike is offline  
post #1786 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 04:05 AM
Senior Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
New firmware update today, anyone have any idea what's in it?
What's the #? Still showing 9044 here since early January.

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), RC-64II, RS-62II(2), RP-160M(2), Velodyne HGS-15, HSU VTF-15H, Atlantic Technology IC-6-OBA(4)
AVP: Yamaha CX-A5100, BJC certified cables
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5(2), XPA-3
Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Sony UBP-X800
JVC DLA-RS540K, (132" screen), Vizio P75-C1 and Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
promike is offline  
post #1787 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 07:58 AM
Member
 
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
For the Roku 4? I'm not seeing it. I'm still on ver# 8863 and the system say's I'm "up to date".

I, too, show v8863 and a Manual Update says the system is "up to date."

1) Vizio PQ65-F1 and 2) Visio D32F-F1
Yamaha RX-A3080 - Darbee Darblet DVP-5000
Roku - 2) Ultra, 1) Premiere, 1) nVidia Shield
SageTV v9 - HD300, Tablo QUAD
4) SiliconDust HDHomeRun units (10 tuners)
RonBoyd is offline  
post #1788 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 07:59 AM
Member
 
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by promike View Post
CBS is broadcasting in 1080i. There is plenty of 1080i programming on the Roku now and it only up scales to 1080p. Wish I was wrong.

Got it. I misread what you said.

1) Vizio PQ65-F1 and 2) Visio D32F-F1
Yamaha RX-A3080 - Darbee Darblet DVP-5000
Roku - 2) Ultra, 1) Premiere, 1) nVidia Shield
SageTV v9 - HD300, Tablo QUAD
4) SiliconDust HDHomeRun units (10 tuners)
RonBoyd is offline  
post #1789 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,922
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3292 Post(s)
Liked: 6117
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I, too, show v8863 and a Manual Update says the system is "up to date."
I just did a web chat with their tech support and confirmed they have a newer firmware but was told to "wait a few days". ??

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #1790 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 08:07 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by promike View Post
CBS is broadcasting in 1080i. There is plenty of 1080i programming on the Roku now and it only up scales to 1080p. Wish I was wrong.
1080i to 1080P is not upscaling, it's a display format change. Both formats are 1080 lines of resolution.
FX4 is offline  
post #1791 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 08:08 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,399
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8956 Post(s)
Liked: 5733
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
1080i to 1080P is not upscaling, it's a display format change. Both formats are 1080 lines of resolution.
1080i is deinterlaced to 1080P.
aaronwt is online now  
post #1792 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 09:35 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Yes I am fully aware. The difference is frame rate. A progressive scan gives you 60fps and interlaced gives you 30 fps. The progressive scan reduces observable flickering and ragged looking edges. That being said there is no resolution change between an interlaced and progressive scan.
FX4 is offline  
post #1793 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
I just did a web chat with their tech support and confirmed they have a newer firmware but was told to "wait a few days". ??
What does the new FW do? @rdgcss
korsjs likes this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP
ahro is offline  
post #1794 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
barneypoo69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kyle, Republic of Texas
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Sure hope the firmware takes care of all of the issues. Also hope they will make it HDR compliant because Netflix is starting to stream movies with HDR this year.

Edit:Just checked my Roku 4, firmware updated.
v# 7.0 8901
Anyone know what the update covers ?

Last edited by barneypoo69; 02-05-2016 at 11:48 AM.
barneypoo69 is offline  
post #1795 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,677
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4349 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by barneypoo69 View Post
Sure hope the firmware takes care of all of the issues. Also hope they will make it HDR compliant because Netflix is starting to stream movies with HDR this year.

Edit:Just checked my Roku 4, firmware updated.
v# 7.0 8901
Anyone know what the update covers ?
Let us know if the update fixed the lip sync issues...

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #1796 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,677
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4349 Post(s)
Liked: 2447
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I have watched Netflix UHD content from six of my devices(including the Roku 4). Only with my Roku 4 and FireTV do I need to use an audio delay. But I also run my ROku4 and FIreTV through the same switch and splitter. So it could be that setup that causes the video delays forcing me to use around a 125ms audio delay.
I just found out today from calling Onkyo how to use the AV Sync Control so that I can try that with the Roku 4. Too bad I returned it. I still have the BB Gift Card for the same amount in store credit so I suppose I can just go back and re-purchase it? Anyone know if the Sync Control is per source or is it for all sources on the Onkyo?

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #1797 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Landenberg, PA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Roku 4

I'm a bit surprised regarding the negative experiences. I added a 4.0 to my system, that includes a sammy 4K 65" display. I have it passing through my new Denon 4200 and it has been great for Netflix and Amazon 4K UHD. OK, I don't have an "s" series 10 bit TV, but the difference Vs. 1080P is noticeable.

I am also getting the new sammy BD 8500, but may well move the Roku up stairs. We'll see how it performs.

Jim
jreash is offline  
post #1798 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
mine www auto updated today. Wonder if they fixed my 4K 10bit bug.
FX4 likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #1799 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 05:02 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 57
If anybody is using Sling TV, I would like to know if it is fixed with the update.
FX4 is offline  
post #1800 of 2655 Old 02-05-2016, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
mine www auto updated today. Wonder if they fixed my 4K 10bit bug.
No dice. 4K bug with 10bit is still broke
thomasfxlt likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
65JS9500

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off