Dune HD SOLO 4K Media Player - Page 105 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1388Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3121 of 5620 Old 09-07-2016, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Each of my movies are inside it's own folder (to suite other apps like YaDIS).
Does the new scraper expect me to add each of those folders one-by-one? I was hoping I can simply add my top-level shared folder..

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3122 of 5620 Old 09-07-2016, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
This issue was reported and requested several months ago. No confirmed date has been given at this time. Forced titles are honored and sub text is clean and quite legible. They play just not in 3D. I really do not think it is a priority at this time. Look elsewhere for 3D sub support if a deal breaker for you. Some members have confirmed other players support them but without full BD menus. Pick your poison.
I believe kadqs confirmed that Dune is working on it:

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
As I know, Dune works on 3D subtitles with high-priority.
harrids is offline  
post #3123 of 5620 Old 09-07-2016, 10:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
One you add and scrape a folder, does it monitor for additions, deletions, or changes, or do you have to manually re-scrape.

Nice new feature, especially for initial beta...
You have reindex but it doesn't take long. I added one movie to my source and reindexed my collection in about 20 seconds.
dalek69 likes this.

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, Sony X700, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3124 of 5620 Old 09-07-2016, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 56
It seems the Audio stuttering bug when Info screen is overlaid on Atmos tracks is now fixed in the latest beta.
I tested that earlier today..

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
post #3125 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 01:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
It's average. Nothing to complain about but also not great. and it also looks like it's not doing much caching of images at this point as well unless it's just slow pulling them from system storage.

What I'm incredibly impressed by is the scraper. It's getting movies with similar names correct, and matching movies that both Zappiti and yadis can't find at all. I've gone through half my collection and only found 3 or 4 misses so far.

Nice features to add right off are better filters, not just genres, watched/unwatched of course. Multi-Part movie matching would be nice. That's one area where it completely fails.

Overall I think it's a very strong start that the Dune guys should be proud of.
I agree its very impressive for a beta. I really like that it also lists related films by directors and actors. Almost like your own mini IMDB

I'm hoping they add something specific for TV series as I use my Dune at least 70% of the time for watching TV shows. Until that happens I will have to continue to use YaDIS.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #3126 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 02:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
I still think this issue is the same as this one http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh...ght=saturation on the vten they explain in detail using ipro to measure the levels. I could be wrong but is this what you are seeing as well whirlpool
Thanks for the supporting reference to a similar issue, but because it is not evident on all 4K TV models, I suspect fixing it will be given low priority. I am using the Dune Solo 4K at 1080P and allowing the 4K TV to upscale.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3127 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
Thanks for clarifying,
I suspect the 'red' oversaturation when the Dune Solo 4K is upscaling may be one of those issues that will remain unresolved as it is only observed with some models of 4K TV.
One more small thing. With VXP on, I see clipping of white color (squares dissapears inside white rectangles). So tests shall be done with VXP off, I think.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #3128 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
Each of my movies are inside it's own folder (to suite other apps like YaDIS).
Does the new scraper expect me to add each of those folders one-by-one? I was hoping I can simply add my top-level shared folder..
You can add top level folder, scraper will scan all subfolers recursively. And you also do not have to keep each movie in its own folder.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast

Last edited by kadqs; 09-08-2016 at 05:44 AM.
kadqs is offline  
post #3129 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
You can add top level folder, scraper will scan all subfolers recursively. And you also do not have to keep each movie in its own folder.
Hi kadqs,

I have tested the movie scraper but having issues where it pickups multiple movies in a single folder now with just one movie.

So eg

Avatar (2009) [Extended 1080p DTS HD 5.1].mkv

The above movie is in its own folder same name BUT I do have kodi data in that folder so background jpg pictures and also. Nfo file.

Does it ignore things is open brackets like [ ] and does it only look for movie files within the folders like .Mkv .ts .iso etc?

Thanks




Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #3130 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrids View Post
I believe kadqs confirmed that Dune is working on it:
That would be awesome.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
post #3131 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,225
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Sorry for coming late to this party, but without sorting through the 79 pages, is there a summary of the current "negatives" or features that are lacking or are inferior to competing products? Here are a few questions if you guys don't mind...

1. Is the scraper and the GUI interface you guys are discussing for this unit both native or an add on? I come from a Smart D1 that I used Zappiti with, but a native interface that is actually good would be a great feature.

2. It also plays back ripped 2d Blu rays either from ISO / folder structure with full menu support or from MKV with support for forced subs and bitstreaming of all current audio formats?

3. As referenced above, it plays back 3D with full menu support from ISO, but currently does NOT support forced subtitles (or any subtitles?) in 3D mode, but this is being worked on?

4. Any negatives from a video quality standpoint? My benchmark would be an Oppo 103 for comparison of a "clean" Blu Ray signal.


Thanks!!
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #3132 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,148
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2530 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Hoping auto re-indexing schedule can be set so the library is relatively up to date all the time. Wife and kids won't be reindexing manually...

Also perhaps add an option where the act of selecting My Collection silently initiates a re-index of existing sources....

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #3133 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Hoping auto re-indexing schedule can be set so the library is relatively up to date all the time. Wife and kids won't be reindexing manually...

Also perhaps add an option where the act of selecting My Collection silently initiates a re-index of existing sources....
That would be top of my personal wish list. Second, fix the scrolling bar when viewing info on biography etc...

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, Sony X700, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is online now  
post #3134 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post
Sorry for coming late to this party, but without sorting through the 79 pages, is there a summary of the current "negatives" or features that are lacking or are inferior to competing products? Here are a few questions if you guys don't mind...

1. Is the scraper and the GUI interface you guys are discussing for this unit both native or an add on? I come from a Smart D1 that I used Zappiti with, but a native interface that is actually good would be a great feature.

2. It also plays back ripped 2d Blu rays either from ISO / folder structure with full menu support or from MKV with support for forced subs and bitstreaming of all current audio formats?

3. As referenced above, it plays back 3D with full menu support from ISO, but currently does NOT support forced subtitles (or any subtitles?) in 3D mode, but this is being worked on?

4. Any negatives from a video quality standpoint? My benchmark would be an Oppo 103 for comparison of a "clean" Blu Ray signal.


Thanks!!
1. Can't say since I don't have it anymore.
2. Yes, for both.
3 It does play the subtitles, but only in 2D.
4. Only problem with color accuracy when upscaling to 2160p with certain setups. Otherwise its a Sigma SoC, so good picture quality. You can have a look here to find some details about the PQ https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...4k-review.html
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #3135 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,225
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Thanks! Just read the review. YOu mentioned a 3D iso issue in the summary but I didnt see details. What was it, and do you know if it is still present?
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #3136 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post
Thanks! Just read the review. YOu mentioned a 3D iso issue in the summary but I didnt see details. What was it, and do you know if it is still present?
It does not play mkv mvc 3d files and 3d subtitles.

The scraper is native within the firmware and not an add on.

In terms of image quality a user mentioned it was on par with the oppo who owned both by the way.

Thanks


Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #3137 of 5620 Old 09-08-2016, 11:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post
Thanks! Just read the review. YOu mentioned a 3D iso issue in the summary but I didnt see details. What was it, and do you know if it is still present?
The problem was that a 3D BD iso stuttered when it was not the first video that was played after it booted up. So if you watched something else before, you had to reboot the unit.
I have no idea if they fixed it or not.
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #3138 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 329
The latest beta with MyCollection has just become stable version 160831_0240_r11
http://dune-hd.com/firmware/solo4k/
So MyCollection in current initial version is official now, Dune will probably announce it officially in their materials.
And yes - list of demands to improve functionality of MyCollection is long, Dune is aware. If I will have any next information about their priorities, I will let you know.


Edit: earier I wrote that 160824_2122_r11 become stable. It was my mistake (wrong copy paste).
Geronimo.USMC likes this.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast

Last edited by kadqs; 09-10-2016 at 09:30 AM.
kadqs is offline  
post #3139 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 01:56 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Hi kadqs,
I have tested the movie scraper but having issues where it pickups multiple movies in a single folder now with just one movie.
So eg
Avatar (2009) [Extended 1080p DTS HD 5.1].mkv
The above movie is in its own folder same name BUT I do have kodi data in that folder so background jpg pictures and also. Nfo file.
Does it ignore things is open brackets like [ ] and does it only look for movie files within the folders like .Mkv .ts .iso etc?
I am not sure if I understand your example.
Scraper has complex algorithm to recognize the movie. It check few elements, also for example header tags in MKV movies. I do not know all the details. I need to check if nfo files are also checked. File name has high priority for sure.
If you have any jpg posters etc in the movie folder, it is ignored for sure (I also have it from Mede8er and PopcornHour scrapers). When you open manual search you will see file name(s) used to search DB build base on movie file and also movie folder.
I do not know what they do with text in brackets. I have some movies with file parameters in breackets, and it is indexed well. And yes, it scans movie files recognized by known file extensions (plus BDMV and Video_Ts for unpacked BD/DVD). The exception is when movie file is very small one. Like 1KB. I do not know what is the limit, but too small files are ignored. So if you have not real collection with empty files, just to test the scraper by file names only, you can have problems. But I am not sure if was it your question.


BTW. I have issues with movies with EXTRAS subfolder. I would like to treat content of Extras as additional materials for main movie, but it is indexed as independent files, and I have to correct it manually.


And one more interesting thing - Dune store some information about matching filenames with movies (when you use B/C/D to match), to improve matching quality. Their system remembers that for example file "Avatar (2009) [Extended 1080p DTS HD 5.1].mkv" was manually matched to Avatar movie - extended version, and when next user will scan movie with same file name, the scraper will use that information. Of course it is bit more complex (because it bases on statistics), but it is very smart thing, and it improves matching quality (and will improve it even much more in the future).
a5ian300zx likes this.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast

Last edited by kadqs; 09-09-2016 at 02:11 AM.
kadqs is offline  
post #3140 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 01:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Are you sure these cases are always connected?
Base on how much configurations?
Both cases gives wrong/negative results for Solo4k + Panasonic TX58-DX902. As I see, this TV model is available mainly (only?) in UK.

I tested BT709 as described earlier at my Sony 4K TV, wit same result for 1080p and upscalling to 4K:
Clipping area - squares visible in all 6 sections
ColorSpaceCoversion - squares fisible in white and green area, and also in red, but only when I stay 20cm from the screen and increase black-level in setting to almost maximal values - and it was at the limit of eye perception. So it can be my mistake.
Chroma Range Check - i see rectangles within Red and Blue, nothing inside Green.

And I do not have oversaturation of Red when upscaling 1080p to 4k


So the request is to other users how it is with their TVsets, and in case of negative results, please share data of your devices. If possible, please do tests with TVset connected directly to solo4k (no AVR).
After further research regarding sending 4k 4:2:2 at 10 or 12 bit I have found a comment on Avforums which may explain why the 'red' oversaturation issue when the Dune Solo 4K is upscaling only occurs with some models of 4K TV


" I have come across plenty of displays where the colour decoder seems to behave quite differently when 4:2:2 is sent instead of rgb or 4:4:4"


I have contacted Panasonic Support regarding sending 4:2:2 vs 4:4:4 and whether it is possible to configure the TV to correct the 'red' oversaturation. The statement implies that configuring the Dune to send RGB might work, but I have already tried that.


It would be useful if anyone else with a Panasonic 4K TV could check out the 'red' oversaturation issue when the Dune is upscaling.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3141 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
The latest beta with MyCollection has just become stable version 160824_2122_r11
http://dune-hd.com/firmware/solo4k/
So MyCollection in current initial version is official now, Dune will probably announce it officially in their materials.
And yes - list of demands to improve functionality of MyCollection is long, Dune is aware. If I will have any next information about their priorities, I will let you know.
Thanks again for the update.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #3142 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlpool0548 View Post
After further research regarding sending 4k 4:2:2 at 10 or 12 bit I have found a comment on Avforums which may explain why the 'red' oversaturation issue when the Dune Solo 4K is upscaling only occurs with some models of 4K TV


" I have come across plenty of displays where the colour decoder seems to behave quite differently when 4:2:2 is sent instead of rgb or 4:4:4"


I have contacted Panasonic Support regarding sending 4:2:2 vs 4:4:4 and whether it is possible to configure the TV to correct the 'red' oversaturation. The statement implies that configuring the Dune to send RGB might work, but I have already tried that.


It would be useful if anyone else with a Panasonic 4K TV could check out the 'red' oversaturation issue when the Dune is upscaling.
Without waiting for a response from Panasonic, I did some checking.
I had previously tried setting the colourspace on the Dune to RGB, which did not fix the 'red' oversaturation issue when the Dune is upscaling. But, the correct rgb setting for sending to a TV is actually RGB-Limited not RGB.


With all setting on the Dune configured to Auto, except for the colourspace setting (RGB-Limited) and auto resolution set to disabled (Dune doing the upscaling) the 'red' oversaturation issue is fixed.
(I have always had VXP set to disabled).


Also, the video of the Spears and Munsil test now looks comparable with the results from the Panasonic 4K Blu-ray player. BT.709 is lit up for a Blu-ray film (BT.601 is correctly not lit up) and the Clipping and Chroma results look correct.


If anyone else has the 'red' oversaturation issue when the Dune is doing the upscaling, it could be that the TV's colour decoder is not responding correctly because the Dune is sending 4K 4:2:2.
Operon, a5ian300zx, Chh and 1 others like this.
Whirlpool0548 is offline  
post #3143 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 07:06 AM
Member
 
francomg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
This issue was reported and requested several months ago. No confirmed date has been given at this time. Forced titles are honored and sub text is clean and quite legible. They play just not in 3D. I really do not think it is a priority at this time. Look elsewhere for 3D sub support if a deal breaker for you. Some members have confirmed other players support them but without full BD menus. Pick your poison.
Is the 3D subtitles issue only concerns MVC material, or also SBS and Under/Over using external 3D subs such as .idx and .sub??? I think I read somewhere that Dune has issues only with 3D subtitles if playing MVC files such as 3D ISO's???
francomg is offline  
post #3144 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Nitemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by francomg View Post
Is the 3D subtitles issue only concerns MVC material, or also SBS and Under/Over using external 3D subs such as .idx and .sub??? I think I read somewhere that Dune has issues only with 3D subtitles if playing MVC files such as 3D ISO's???
3D subtitles are currently not supported for any 3D sources. Subtitles are supported for all 3D sources but they are 2D only so it is possible that the 3D content will go over them.
Nitemage is offline  
post #3145 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
The latest beta with MyCollection has just become stable version 160824_2122_r11
http://dune-hd.com/firmware/solo4k/
So MyCollection in current initial version is official now, Dune will probably announce it officially in their materials.
And yes - list of demands to improve functionality of MyCollection is long, Dune is aware. If I will have any next information about their priorities, I will let you know.
Sorry I don't understand. Surely the latest version is 160831_0240_r11?

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #3146 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 02:08 PM
Member
 
raymen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: netherlands
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I think he means you have to go back one firmware,because the version 160824_2122_r11 changed from beta to stable

if i read it right
raymen is offline  
post #3147 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,148
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2530 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymen View Post
I think he means you have to go back one firmware,because the version 160824_2122_r11 changed from beta to stable

if i read it right
So what's the later unstable beta for? Self flaggelation?

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #3148 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 02:11 PM
Member
 
raymen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: netherlands
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 24
see here at the bottom



This firmware version adds "My Collection" application -- a built-in
Jukebox for automatic indexing and nice visualization of movies
collections. For more information, see here:
http://dune-hd.com/support/my_collection

NOTE: Use this version instead of buggy 160831_0236_r11.
raymen is offline  
post #3149 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 926 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymen View Post
see here at the bottom



This firmware version adds "My Collection" application -- a built-in
Jukebox for automatic indexing and nice visualization of movies
collections. For more information, see here:
http://dune-hd.com/support/my_collection

NOTE: Use this version instead of buggy 160831_0236_r11.

Ah so 160831_0240_r11 is now the stable version of 160824_2122_r11?

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #3150 of 5620 Old 09-09-2016, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Has anyone tried to use the z-wave controller in the Solo 4K yet?
I tried installing the plugin but it failed to install.

By the way I bought the version of the players sold in Hong Kong in case there are regional differences.
Apgood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off