Dune HD SOLO 4K Media Player - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1401Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 5644 Old 02-12-2017, 03:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiisi View Post
A lot of data! Thanks a lot. The process is started. BTW it's perfect example of the startup's beauty. Dropbox can move data between the user's accounts at the speed of light. Microsoft can't
I only have a 2gb account with Dropbox and 100gb account with one drive.

I have added few more bits for video like gradations, whites, moonscape etc.

I also added another dtsx demo which I really like it's called dust.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 5644 Old 02-13-2017, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Thanks to a5ian300zx and others we have identified the speaker assignment tests for the following surround sound systems:

Dolby:
5:1 - AC3, E-AC3;
7:1 - E-AC3, THD;
7:1:4 - Atmos/THD (not applicable to Dunes but anyway)

DTS:
5:1 - core+MA;
7:1 - core+MA;
7:0:4 - core+MA+X

Unfortunately still no files for the other popular DTS versions (like 24/96 and HRA)
hiisi is offline  
post #4323 of 5644 Old 02-14-2017, 12:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiisi View Post
Thanks to a5ian300zx and others we have identified the speaker assignment tests for the following surround sound systems:

Dolby:
5:1 - AC3, E-AC3;
7:1 - E-AC3, THD;
7:1:4 - Atmos/THD (not applicable to Dunes but anyway)

DTS:
5:1 - core+MA;
7:1 - core+MA;
7:0:4 - core+MA+X

Unfortunately still no files for the other popular DTS versions (like 24/96 and HRA)
have a look at halfelites post he has a like to samples files for dts hra and Dts 24bit

I will upload some more when I get time as I have truehd 24bit, dts hd 24bit, lpcm 24bit etc.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4324 of 5644 Old 02-14-2017, 06:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I have uploaded more test/demo files for audio/video.

the audio is bit stream so really depends on whatever you amp plays.

Ie my old hdi prime 3.0 bitstreams atmos and dtsx to the amp.

I have added a 9.1.6 atmos speaker test for anyone who has that many speakers.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE

Last edited by a5ian300zx; 02-15-2017 at 02:51 AM.
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #4325 of 5644 Old 02-18-2017, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I sometimes backup my 3D blu-rays and watch them via Solo 4K. I use makemkv to create the 3D mkv and them run it thru "tsMuxeR" to create an ISO. This method always worked and Dune always played them perfectly. That was until yesterday ...
For the first time, the ISO I created was showing some significant ghosting while playing.
I tried makemkv again in full backup mode and used "Imgburn" to create a second ISO which did not show ghosting while playing.


Has anyone experienced this? It appears to me makemkv maybe the culprit in this case while generating the 3D mkv..
but I always had 100% success until now..

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Fire TV Stick 4K, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
post #4326 of 5644 Old 02-18-2017, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,926
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3978 Post(s)
Liked: 3245
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
I sometimes backup my 3D blu-rays and watch them via Solo 4K. I use makemkv to create the 3D mkv and them run it thru "tsMuxeR" to create an ISO. This method always worked and Dune always played them perfectly. That was until yesterday ...
For the first time, the ISO I created was showing some significant ghosting while playing.
I tried makemkv again in full backup mode and used "Imgburn" to create a second ISO which did not show ghosting while playing.


Has anyone experienced this? It appears to me makemkv maybe the culprit in this case while generating the 3D mkv..
but I always had 100% success until now..
Seems like you go the long way around the barn. Why not just make a full disc ISO for your 3D titles?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #4327 of 5644 Old 02-18-2017, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Seems like you go the long way around the barn. Why not just make a full disc ISO for your 3D titles?
I do this so that I can remove unwanted audio tracks and other material. The mkv contains only the main movie and one audio track I need.
makemkv is capable of generating lossless 3D mkvs.

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Fire TV Stick 4K, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
post #4328 of 5644 Old 02-19-2017, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
I do this so that I can remove unwanted audio tracks and other material. The mkv contains only the main movie and one audio track I need.
makemkv is capable of generating lossless 3D mkvs.
This may help you with your media creation for the Dunes.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...ead-dunes.html
termite likes this.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
post #4329 of 5644 Old 02-19-2017, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
This may help you with your media creation for the Dunes.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...ead-dunes.html
Thanks blackssr.. will check it out.

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Fire TV Stick 4K, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
post #4330 of 5644 Old 02-19-2017, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
jasonkennethrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
I sometimes backup my 3D blu-rays and watch them via Solo 4K. I use makemkv to create the 3D mkv and them run it thru "tsMuxeR" to create an ISO. This method always worked and Dune always played them perfectly. That was until yesterday ...
For the first time, the ISO I created was showing some significant ghosting while playing.
I tried makemkv again in full backup mode and used "Imgburn" to create a second ISO which did not show ghosting while playing.


Has anyone experienced this? It appears to me makemkv maybe the culprit in this case while generating the 3D mkv..
but I always had 100% success until now..
I guess the real question is, do you want a 3D MKV or a 3D Blu-Ray ISO?

If you want a 3D Blu-Ray ISO skip the Full Disc > 3D MKV > 3D Blu-Ray ISO and go from Full Disc > 3D Blu-Ray ISO.

You could use tsMuxerGUI to handle the direct conversion but tsMuxer.exe has issues determining left eye/right eye by default. It is capable of setting left eye/right eye but it might take 2 rips to get it right.

I would definitely check out the thread blackssr pointed to and you could also ask for help in this thread Ripping Blu-Rays II

Does the Dune allow you to swap left eye/right eye? If it does, what happens when you do it to the movie that you had ghosting on?
jasonkennethrose is offline  
post #4331 of 5644 Old 02-19-2017, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkennethrose View Post
I guess the real question is, do you want a 3D MKV or a 3D Blu-Ray ISO?

If you want a 3D Blu-Ray ISO skip the Full Disc > 3D MKV > 3D Blu-Ray ISO and go from Full Disc > 3D Blu-Ray ISO.

You could use tsMuxerGUI to handle the direct conversion but tsMuxer.exe has issues determining left eye/right eye by default. It is capable of setting left eye/right eye but it might take 2 rips to get it right.

I would definitely check out the thread blackssr pointed to and you could also ask for help in this thread Ripping Blu-Rays II

Does the Dune allow you to swap left eye/right eye? If it does, what happens when you do it to the movie that you had ghosting on?

Jason I don't need 3D Blu-ray ISO if Dune can handle the untouched "3D MVC" mkv. Since Dune can't handle this yet I was sending that MKV thru the tsMuxer to create an ISO from that which doesn't take much time.
Anyway I'm going to read thru these links to learn more ..

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3060, Altantic Tech System 350 THX
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP Sub, Klipsch RP-140SA Atmos Height (x4)
Epson 5050UB, 120" 16:9 screen, Panasonic TC-P60ST50 Plasma
Dune HD Solo 4K, Popcorn Hour C-200, unRAID Server Pro OS 6
Oppo BDP-83, OPPO BDP-203, Fire TV Stick 4K, Sony BDP-BX520, Panasonic DMP‑BDT220
termite is offline  
post #4332 of 5644 Old 02-19-2017, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Any news on new firmware? Its about three and a half months since the last one. Thats a long wait. Hopefully we are in for a real a doozy. Full support for TV shows in My Collection would be nice.
RaggedEdge and ale70 like this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #4333 of 5644 Old 02-19-2017, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonkennethrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
Jason I don't need 3D Blu-ray ISO if Dune can handle the untouched "3D MVC" mkv. Since Dune can't handle this yet I was sending that MKV thru the tsMuxer to create an ISO from that which doesn't take much time.
Anyway I'm going to read thru these links to learn more ..
I know this is a Dune thread but I can't quite let this one go. tsMuxer does not create 3D MKV ISO's. It can read the contents of a MKV and create a Blu-Ray formatted ISO from the streams contained inside. This is most likely where your example failed by not correctly identifying the left eye/right eye.

Basically you are extracting streams from a Blu-Ray format and placing them into a MKV. Then taking the streams from the MKV and placing them back into a Blu-Ray format. If your player cannot handle the MKV then you should go straight to Blu-Ray ISO from the original disc and skip the MKV step all together.
blackssr likes this.
jasonkennethrose is offline  
post #4334 of 5644 Old 02-20-2017, 02:24 AM
Member
 
ale70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Any news on new firmware? Its about three and a half months since the last one. Thats a long wait. Hopefully we are in for a real a doozy. Full support for TV shows in My Collection would be nice.
Hopefully with the new firmware in MyCollection you can select watched / unwatched movie, and you receive the media type (for example: BD / 3D BD / DVD / etc.)
a5ian300zx, blenky, Untaru and 1 others like this.
ale70 is offline  
post #4335 of 5644 Old 02-20-2017, 02:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by ale70 View Post
Hopefully with the new firmware in MyCollection you can select watched / unwatched movie, and you receive the media type (for example: BD / 3D BD / DVD / etc.)
the way use to do that was I created a unwatched folder and put all my new movies in there manually and then move them across once I have seen them.

with my collection I just use to browse to the unwatched folder.

But it was too long winded and still use yadis.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #4336 of 5644 Old 02-20-2017, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1021 Post(s)
Liked: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by ale70 View Post
Hopefully with the new firmware in MyCollection you can select watched / unwatched movie, and you receive the media type (for example: BD / 3D BD / DVD / etc.)
My wishlist:

Watched Status with a filter to sort by that status.
Artwork editing, change the Poster and Background.
Proper TV Show Episode support with watched status.
blenky, ale70 and Dunesolo like this.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #4337 of 5644 Old 02-20-2017, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kirnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey guys!

I finally got my Solo hooked up and it's great! The built in movie list shows TONS of promise, but it's really not there yet. If they keep working on it, I think I'll like it more than Zappiti.

Speaking of Zappiti... I'm switching from a smart H1, and there is a small but annoying difference in the way the Solo runs Zappiti. On my H1, I get a nice shiny blue outline around whatever item I have selected. On the Solo--with the exact same Zappiti files--the outline for selected items is white. Given that the movie covers already have a white outline around them it is not nearly as visible as on the H1. I know this is a small thing, but it is rather annoying as it can be difficult to pick out which movie is selected. Is anyone else seeing this? Any solutions?

Thanks!
Kirnak is offline  
post #4338 of 5644 Old 02-21-2017, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Any news on new firmware? Its about three and a half months since the last one. Thats a long wait. Hopefully we are in for a real a doozy. Full support for TV shows in My Collection would be nice.
Dune works on many upgrades arround MyCollection, but it is still not sure what they release in next beta, and when. They say "soon" whatever it means. As I know, they plan to open MyCollection for community plugins. It is not sure when we will get it, but idea can be similar to plugins for Kodi.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #4339 of 5644 Old 02-21-2017, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Dune works on many upgrades arround MyCollection, but it is still not sure what they release in next beta, and when. They say "soon" whatever it means. As I know, they plan to open MyCollection for community plugins. It is not sure when we will get it, but idea can be similar to plugins for Kodi.
Thanks - always appreciate your updates kadqs. Hopefully they are also working on bug fixes like screen flicker when using VXD.
Nitemage likes this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #4340 of 5644 Old 02-21-2017, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Thanks - always appreciate your updates kadqs. Hopefully they are also working on bug fixes like screen flicker when using VXD.
with vxp you can switch off Adaptive contrast to get rid of the flicker for now.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #4341 of 5644 Old 02-21-2017, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,017
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3742 Post(s)
Liked: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
with vxp you can switch off Adaptive contrast to get rid of the flicker for now.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Yes, however the key point is that many people prefer to have the Adaptive Contrast Enhancement (ACE) ON, but the flickering can be quite distracting. ACE ON can really make a nice improvement. Does anyone know if the Dune support team is aware of the bug?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #4342 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 01:47 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Yes, however the key point is that many people prefer to have the Adaptive Contrast Enhancement (ACE) ON, but the flickering can be quite distracting. ACE ON can really make a nice improvement. Does anyone know if the Dune support team is aware of the bug?
Dune is aware. Some people from here also wrote them directly.
The problem is that VXP Flickering can be observed only with a few TV sets. I personally have never managed to get it with sample files mentioned at this forum. Dune shall investigate it, but as I know, they did not manage to replicate it at their TVsets. This case is to fix by Sigma not by Dune. And if Sigma will provide the fix, Dune will have to utilize new SDK in their firmware, what is not automatic and simple process, requires also lot of internal tests. So really hard to say more about progress with that fix. I will try to find out if Dune got any new SDK from Sigma last time, and if yes, when they plan to use it.
It is bit similar to red-oversaturation issue. But for that one (BTW), I was really surprised, I observed it last time at AmLogic s912 player, when it changed HDMI to 4k 10bit. And of course on the TVset that does not have such problems with Dune.
blenky likes this.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast

Last edited by kadqs; 02-22-2017 at 01:52 AM.
kadqs is offline  
post #4343 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 02:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Attika, Greece
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dune HD QWERTY incompatibility problems with the Solo 4K

Hi to all.

First post, as I'm trying to use the wireless keyboard Dune HD QWERTY with my Solo 4K, but some functions don't work as they should.

FYI, my Solo 4K has the latest firmware.

To begin with the problems I'm facing, I cannot power ON the player using the POWER button of the keyboard. It can only power it OFF.

Secondly, if I choose to play a bluray iso file through either the full or lite bluray menu, I cannot stop the playback. Instead of that, it pops up the window with the VXP options.
The only solution is to power off the unit or using the Stop button from the original IR remote control.

Does anyone of you have the same setup and encounters the same problems?

I'm in contact with the support team of Dune, and they say to me, that the QWERTY should be compatible with the Solo 4K.

Thank you,
Ilias
Hillmaster_GR is offline  
post #4344 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 03:59 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillmaster_GR View Post
Hi to all.
First post, as I'm trying to use the wireless keyboard Dune HD QWERTY with my Solo 4K, but some functions don't work as they should.
FYI, my Solo 4K has the latest firmware.
To begin with the problems I'm facing, I cannot power ON the player using the POWER button of the keyboard. It can only power it OFF.
Secondly, if I choose to play a bluray iso file through either the full or lite bluray menu, I cannot stop the playback. Instead of that, it pops up the window with the VXP options.
The only solution is to power off the unit or using the Stop button from the original IR remote control.
Does anyone of you have the same setup and encounters the same problems?
I'm in contact with the support team of Dune, and they say to me, that the QWERTY should be compatible with the Solo 4K.
There are some compatibilty issues.
STOP buton - as you mentioned.
And also TV, TopMenu and FAV. Dune knows that, but it is still not fixed. The keyboard was till now used rather with older players, by those who tried web browser. Now with MyCollection it get second life, and Dune shall improve it asap.
Untaru and Hillmaster_GR like this.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #4345 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Attika, Greece
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for the confirmation.

I'm very fond of this keyboard and I eagerly wait to replace the IR remote control.
Hillmaster_GR is offline  
post #4346 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 04:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 660 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Dune is aware. Some people from here also wrote them directly.
The problem is that VXP Flickering can be observed only with a few TV sets. I personally have never managed to get it with sample files mentioned at this forum. Dune shall investigate it, but as I know, they did not manage to replicate it at their TVsets. This case is to fix by Sigma not by Dune. And if Sigma will provide the fix, Dune will have to utilize new SDK in their firmware, what is not automatic and simple process, requires also lot of internal tests. So really hard to say more about progress with that fix. I will try to find out if Dune got any new SDK from Sigma last time, and if yes, when they plan to use it.
It is bit similar to red-oversaturation issue. But for that one (BTW), I was really surprised, I observed it last time at AmLogic s912 player, when it changed HDMI to 4k 10bit. And of course on the TVset that does not have such problems with Dune.
I'm not sure which kind of flickering you mean (I sent you a sample clip). The one I'm aware of is reproducible no matter the TV set. Sigma has been made aware of that, but won't fix it. However, it is only present in very specific scenes.
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #4347 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
I'm not sure which kind of flickering you mean (I sent you a sample clip). The one I'm aware of is reproducible no matter the TV set. Sigma has been made aware of that, but won't fix it. However, it is only present in very specific scenes.
I ment flickering of picture in dark parts of the picture, as if it was lighted by a candle. It was mentioned by some users here. As I remember, one of the file recomended here for test was "I Am Number Four", low bitrate version.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #4348 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN38 View Post
Yes with LG NS30 drive working very good, as ISO or Data on BD-R/RE/DL 50 GB.Just like with HDD.That his adventage over PH A500 , which probably not support this at all.
I just bought a slimline Sony bluray drive enclosed in external case and I can see it on the dune and when I navigate in explorer view and press play on the file all I get on mine is a blank screen. tried multiple blurays and dvds and same issue.

model: Sony BD-5740


Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #4349 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Is it still impossible to enable multi-channel decoding to LPCM, like it was with an unofficial DSF patch on the H1?

Robert
robena is offline  
post #4350 of 5644 Old 02-22-2017, 10:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jordan Springs NSW Australia
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 91
What is the maximum HDD size the Dune HD Solo 4K will accept? Are there any recommended HDD brands/models or will any HDD do the job?
blairy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off