Dune HD SOLO 4K Media Player - Page 189 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1405Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 5668 Old 11-27-2019, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 169
My flash storage is full so I am trying to initialise a 8Gb USB stick to act as system storage. It is formatted to FAT 32. The machine keeps on saying no suitable storage found to initialise, it however does see the stick. Any ideas?

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBone, ATV 4K, Node 2i, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome/Seismic 110, Firestick 4K, Panasonic TX55GZ950B
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite, Dune HD RealBox 4K, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Anti Mode 8033
sutton8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 5668 Old 12-02-2019, 03:44 AM
Chh
Newbie
 
Chh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Had the same problem recently. IIRC, I finally managed to get it recognized by formatting the stick to ext3 first...
sutton8 likes this.
Chh is offline  
post #5643 of 5668 Old 12-15-2019, 03:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chh View Post
Had the same problem recently. IIRC, I finally managed to get it recognized by formatting the stick to ext3 first...
Thanks that worked for me.

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBone, ATV 4K, Node 2i, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome/Seismic 110, Firestick 4K, Panasonic TX55GZ950B
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite, Dune HD RealBox 4K, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Anti Mode 8033
sutton8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5644 of 5668 Old 12-23-2019, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 169
As above, I’ve run out of flash storage and had to resort to adding an 8Gb USB stick as system storage.

1. The unit forced a 2Gb partition to be created leaving the other six unused. Any way I can use all eight since I’m going to run out of space again by next summer probably?

2. Since moving to system storage some of the movies in MyCollection are returning generic movie reel photos. Doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason as to which and I’m indexed and matched fully. I’m storing posters in the unit rather than bringing from the internet. Any ideas?

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBone, ATV 4K, Node 2i, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome/Seismic 110, Firestick 4K, Panasonic TX55GZ950B
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite, Dune HD RealBox 4K, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Anti Mode 8033
sutton8 is offline  
post #5645 of 5668 Old 03-01-2020, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mask0rz View Post
Hi all,

I recently bought a Dune HD Solo 4K.
It is connected with HDMI to my receiver (Onkyo TX-SR509e) and the receiver is connected to my TV (Panasonic)

Everything works fine but i keep having wierd aspect ratio changes when playing video content. I primarely have HD content (full bluray/mkv) which have the well known 2.35:1 aspect ratio. That aspect ratio creates the usual black bars top and bottom on my 16x9 tv which is fine by me.

Only the Dune HD constantly changes the aspect ratio to full screen or back while playing movies. i tried alot with the Zoom function but even at custom or normal it does not help. also the subtitles disappear with full blurays when the aspect is changing again to full screen.
I never had this with my old Netgear Neo TV550 and i can't figure out how to disable any aspect ratio changing while watching.

Do you guys have any idea?



Hi mask0rz,
I have the same problem too, please tell me how you solved it. Thank you!
vidax is offline  
post #5646 of 5668 Old 03-01-2020, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by vidax View Post
Hi mask0rz,
I have the same problem too, please tell me how you solved it. Thank you!
Could it be that you are talking about movies with IMAX scenes included?
Because those movies (Dunkirk for example) switch between 235:1 and full screen aspect ratios constantly
hellhero is online now  
post #5647 of 5668 Old 03-01-2020, 10:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The media player Dune HD Solo 4K is connected to my Panasonic plasma TV, 1920x1080, via HDMI. If I watch movies with a different kind of resolution than 1920X1080, the phenomenon described by mask0rz happens, the Dune HD constantly changes the aspect ratio to full screen or back. Does not keep the "Zoom" setting to "Normal".
vidax is offline  
post #5648 of 5668 Old 03-16-2020, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jordan Springs NSW Australia
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 91
How can I play a 4K ISO file on the Dune Solo? I tried from a USB stick but the player just wanted to format the drive.
blairy is offline  
post #5649 of 5668 Old 03-16-2020, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
crussader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Let the DUNE format the drive, then copy the ISO file on to the drive.

David
crussader is offline  
post #5650 of 5668 Old 03-16-2020, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
blairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jordan Springs NSW Australia
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussader View Post
Let the DUNE format the drive, then copy the ISO file on to the drive.
Thanks, I'll try that.
blairy is offline  
post #5651 of 5668 Old 04-15-2020, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
kdbrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
Anyone having issues trying to do the initial indexing of their folders using My Collection?
I keep getting "Failed to connect to Internet. Please check Internet connection."
But the Dune YouTube app is working fine streaming video off of the internet so it definitely isn't an issue with the connection to the internet.

I am also experiencing this problem. Did it ever get solved?
kdbrink is offline  
post #5652 of 5668 Old 04-15-2020, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdbrink View Post
I am also experiencing this problem. Did it ever get solved?
Not really besides my Solo stopped working just outside of the warranty period so went with a Zidoo and back to my HTPC with Driver Media Center which I find has a much more reliable playback experience compared to the media players available.
Apgood is offline  
post #5653 of 5668 Old 04-15-2020, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
kdbrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
Not really besides my Solo stopped working just outside of the warranty period so went with a Zidoo and back to my HTPC with Driver Media Center which I find has a much more reliable playback experience compared to the media players available.
Thanks for the quick reply! Perhaps I should bail on the Dune and look at something else. It's weird, because like you I can get out on the Internet through the Dune, but it's won't index.
kdbrink is offline  
post #5654 of 5668 Old 04-15-2020, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdbrink View Post
Thanks for the quick reply! Perhaps I should bail on the Dune and look at something else. It's weird, because like you I can get out on the Internet through the Dune, but it's won't index.
I didn't much like how the Dune poster wall indexer works as it relies on Dune's own database instead of IMDB or TMDB. At least that was my understanding when I was using it, but that was 3 years ago now.
Apgood is offline  
post #5655 of 5668 Old 05-07-2020, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
videogamelover5122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i get like 5 mb a sec transferring movies by lan from pc to dune is that normal or am i missing some setting?
videogamelover5122 is offline  
post #5656 of 5668 Old 05-08-2020, 12:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by videogamelover5122 View Post
i get like 5 mb a sec transferring movies by lan from pc to dune is that normal or am i missing some setting?
I get anything from 9-16 mb a sec. There's very little to change in the settings on the Dune other than wired or wireless connection and the DHCP mode. Mines set for wired and automatic DHCP.

I use FlashFXP (FTP) to transfer to the Dune.
Aziraphale is offline  
post #5657 of 5668 Old 05-21-2020, 10:38 AM
Member
 
maxblast72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I am a basic user of my Dune HD 4K Solo and I usually play mkv files from my Synology NAS. I can play 1080P and 4K files without any problem.

At the moment I cannot play one episode of a series, all other episode as ok.
I tried 1080P, 720P, 4K version of this episode, all in MKV, but not one file is playing; no sound and only black screen.

What could be wrong?
maxblast72 is offline  
post #5658 of 5668 Old 05-21-2020, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #5659 of 5668 Old 05-21-2020, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxblast72 View Post
I am a basic user of my Dune HD 4K Solo and I usually play mkv files from my Synology NAS. I can play 1080P and 4K files without any problem.

At the moment I cannot play one episode of a series, all other episode as ok.
I tried 1080P, 720P, 4K version of this episode, all in MKV, but not one file is playing; no sound and only black screen.

What could be wrong?
Try to recode using Handbrake. Some captures use rare profiles that no not work with the Dune, and with settings high enough, you lose nothing.

Robert
robena is offline  
post #5660 of 5668 Old 05-22-2020, 04:38 PM
Member
 
maxblast72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Please post some mediainfo of said episode.
here is a file from mediainfo
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (26.9 KB, 11 views)
maxblast72 is offline  
post #5661 of 5668 Old 05-22-2020, 11:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 397
I assume that this is the HDR GHOSTS version and the other episodes where the same version as well.
Nothing I can really find that is different from the earlier episodes.
Having said that, these files use BT.2020 and HDR. None of it is supported by the SoC of the Dune. So you might want to consider a player with support for that format. Dune just released a new player (Dune Pro 4K II) which is supposed to be available in June.
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #5662 of 5668 Old 05-23-2020, 03:13 AM
Member
 
maxblast72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by robena View Post
Try to recode using Handbrake. Some captures use rare profiles that no not work with the Dune, and with settings high enough, you lose nothing.
Can you recommend some settings? Do not really need the 4K versions, just 1080P would do fine.
maxblast72 is offline  
post #5663 of 5668 Old 05-23-2020, 03:15 AM
Member
 
maxblast72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
I assume that this is the HDR GHOSTS version and the other episodes where the same version as well.
Nothing I can really find that is different from the earlier episodes.
Having said that, these files use BT.2020 and HDR. None of it is supported by the SoC of the Dune. So you might want to consider a player with support for that format. Dune just released a new player (Dune Pro 4K II) which is supposed to be available in June.
Thanks for checking and your suggestion.
maxblast72 is offline  
post #5664 of 5668 Old 05-23-2020, 03:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxblast72 View Post
Can you recommend some settings? Do not really need the 4K versions, just 1080P would do fine.
Set video quality to H.265 and 20 if you're using software encoding, and resolution to 2K without any filters.
Keep aspect ratio.

Robert
robena is offline  
post #5665 of 5668 Old 05-23-2020, 03:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxblast72 View Post
I am a basic user of my Dune HD 4K Solo and I usually play mkv files from my Synology NAS. I can play 1080P and 4K files without any problem.

At the moment I cannot play one episode of a series, all other episode as ok.
I tried 1080P, 720P, 4K version of this episode, all in MKV, but not one file is playing; no sound and only black screen.

What could be wrong?

Remove some of the sub files from your MKV's. Dune has a issue with MKV's with more than 30 files in them. Use MKVtoolnix to do this, quicker than recoding.
maxblast72 likes this.
Aziraphale is offline  
post #5666 of 5668 Old 05-23-2020, 04:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aziraphale View Post
Remove some of the sub files from your MKV's. Dune has a issue with MKV's with more than 30 files in them. Use MKVtoolnix to do this, quicker than recoding.
My first thought as well, but the other files have the exact same amount.
maxblast72 likes this.
Sledgehamma is online now  
post #5667 of 5668 Old 05-23-2020, 08:19 AM
Member
 
maxblast72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aziraphale View Post
Remove some of the sub files from your MKV's. Dune has a issue with MKV's with more than 30 files in them. Use MKVtoolnix to do this, quicker than recoding.
That did the trick; thanks!
maxblast72 is offline  
post #5668 of 5668 Old 05-25-2020, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
videogamelover5122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 13
anyone know if the hd max works as good as solo 4k? i like the look compared to the solo and they are both sigma chipped hdmax has older chip though, also older chip probaby cant do hevc

Last edited by videogamelover5122; 05-26-2020 at 02:46 PM.
videogamelover5122 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off