Local Plex server/client advice - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dan0myte

post #1 of 15 Old 01-01-2016, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Local Plex server/client advice

Hi there,

I'm just getting into Plex and there is a world of various configurations and setups, however I think the way I want use Plex is fairly simple.

Currently I have my laptop connected to my TV/Receiver via HDMI. On my laptop I have the client and home theatre software installed and it all works great. However I don't want to keep moving my laptop to and fro from behind my TV and would like something more permanent.

From what I have read, I don't think I need to do any transcoding to other devices as I just want to direct stream/play straight from my NAS to my TV locally so I don't think I need any beefy hardware. (Correct me if I'm wrong).

My main caveats are being able to play 1080p MKV/MP4 movies (some 3D) and TrueHD and DTS-HD audio and to have both client/server on the same system. (I.e. I would prefer not to have to use my laptop as the server.)

Can anyone recommend me something cheap (<£150) I can use that would be suitable.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 01-01-2016, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Quoted: 2324 Post(s)
Liked: 1437
Quote:
Originally Posted by daan_vb View Post
From what I have read, I don't think I need to do any transcoding to other devices as I just want to direct stream/play straight from my NAS to my TV locally so I don't think I need any beefy hardware. (Correct me if I'm wrong).
With Plex you need a Plex server somewhere. So from what you have written, can I assume you have Plex server running on your NAS unit?