Dolby Digital Plus (DD+) / Atmos over HDMI ARC - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 288Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 807 Old 08-04-2017, 06:42 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,224
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9525 Post(s)
Liked: 6216
If the ARC is working properly, it should auto compensate for any delay, so the audio and video will be in sync. This was the case in my setup when I used the ARC for twenty months with some of my devices.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 807 Old 08-04-2017, 12:38 PM
Member
 
mic22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickSomething View Post
Hi guy's, thanks for this thread its really informative and helpfull.

I just bought a LG C7 and im looking for a soundbar wich can pass the tv's internal netflix app's DD+ signal, i dont wanna lose Dolby Vision by using and external device's app.

My first pick right now is the yamaha yps-2700 but im unsure if it supports DD+ over arc,
one person on the avforum posted his Sony tv's netflix app signal comes as DD+ on the 2700's display but display's arent always accurate between input/output.

Anybody with a compatible tv and an yps-2700 that can confirm DD+ passthrough between the two over ARC?


Lg's own atmos soundbar the SJ9 is capable of sending even Atmos over arc but i've read multiple threads of sound delay's when using the ARC function from exteranl devices hooked up to your tv like shield and ps4 pro etc,
the tv's own netflix app has no delay but al external arc device's do and since the SJ9 has only one hdmi in port i dont feel like switching cables or buying a splitter.

Thanks and sorry for the grammar and spelling, not my native language
Hello Rick,
I have the LG C7 with LG SJ9
Not the SJ9 has the ARC issue, but the issue is related to the C7.
Yes the SJ9 got a Micom update that fixed hdmi loopthrough issues (for hdmi IN)
C7 is waiting for OTA update to 03.60.25 :
Dolby 5.1-channel Lip-Sync improved

https://www.lgservice.co.kr/search/d...currentPageNo=

On the SJ9 thread on the avsforum, more people use the combination with C7 like me. I was also blaming the SJ9. But now it seems the C7 has the issue.
To early to tell, but on the C7/B7 thread someone installed the Korean firmware.. and the ARC issue remained. I wait for the OTA update.. give it time, LG will fix it!

edit:
for 1 hdmi IN on the SJ9 there are hdmi splitters, search the SJ9 thread for a recommendation.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/#/topics/2794249
sikclown likes this.

Last edited by mic22; 08-04-2017 at 12:47 PM.
mic22 is offline  
post #273 of 807 Old 08-07-2017, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porfyren View Post
Hello all (I am getting desperate, please help!

I have a LG OLED65b7V / Anthem MRX 720-problem... Here goes...

I just bought a new LG OLED65b7V (I think the US model is the OLED65B7P) and I have trouble with the sound settings (in the built in TV apps, Netflix, YouTube etc.). My receiver is the Anthem MRX 720 and it’s connected to the TV through HDMI ARC in a 5.1 setup.

If I choose ”PCM” in the ”Digital output” setting on the TV, then there will be no sound from the center speaker, the surround back speakers etc. The display on the Anthem MRX 720 will read ”2.0 PCM” in this setting). On the Anthem I can then choose “Dolby Surround” via the “Mode” button and now sound will be produced from all the speakers. But, shouldn’t the receiver switch to the correct surround mode automatically?

Another question, as I “force” the receiver to be playing in surround mode – is it then “correct” surround sound I am hearing (or just an “imitated” one)?

If I choose ”Automatic” in the ”Digital output” setting on the TV (which I understand is bit stream sound), then there will be sound from all the speakers and the display now reads ”Dolby D+ 3/2”). But, the sound stutters/stops every 15 to 20 seconds. In this setting the display on the receiver switches between ”No signal”, ”Dolby D+ 3/2”, ”No signal” etc.

If I run Netflix from my PlayStation 4 instead then the display on the receiver will read “Multi PCM” (and not ”2.0 PCM”) and sound will be (correctly) produced from all the speakers. So, why this difference in sound between the built in WebOS 3.0 TV apps and the PlayStation 4 apps? As I see it, the PlayStation 4 apps works as intended?

What am I doing wrong here? In the TV/receiver settings I can’t see any settings which could fix the problem.

Any advice (settings on the TV and the receiver to try out etc.) are more than welcome!
This issue sounds very familiar from the 2017 LG OLED thread, and one that appears specific to the Anthem-LG pairing. There's a bug in there somewhere, potentially related to HDMI handshaking, that causes the sound stutter when using DD. I think the temp fix is forcing 2ch PCM output from the tv, which is unfortunate. You'd need to check your Anthem manual / thread for how to config the decoding to your liking, but usually any AVR's surround mixer will do a decent job of fillling all available channels including center. But as you said, it isn't the "real" surround sound, it is a simulation based on Dolby or DTS algorithms (depending on the case) to up-mix to multichannel. For TV shows, you aren't likely to be missing much. For movies, it will be distinctly less immersive than the true multichannel source, but at least you'll not experience the drop outs.

The stutter is a defect and should be reported to both LG and Anthem.

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos
Hresna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 807 Old 08-07-2017, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porfyren View Post
Hello all (I am getting desperate, please help!

I have a LG OLED65b7V / Anthem MRX 720-problem... Here goes...

I just bought a new LG OLED65b7V (I think the US model is the OLED65B7P) and I have trouble with the sound settings (in the built in TV apps, Netflix, YouTube etc.). My receiver is the Anthem MRX 720 and it’s connected to the TV through HDMI ARC in a 5.1 setup.

If I choose ”PCM” in the ”Digital output” setting on the TV, then there will be no sound from the center speaker, the surround back speakers etc. The display on the Anthem MRX 720 will read ”2.0 PCM” in this setting). On the Anthem I can then choose “Dolby Surround” via the “Mode” button and now sound will be produced from all the speakers. But, shouldn’t the receiver switch to the correct surround mode automatically?
Best regards
Jonas
I don't (yet) have a 7B but I had a similar problem and I found the best thing to do was use the optical audio rather than HDMI-ARC. In part the CEC has to be turned on and that created all sorts of hassles.

I am confused why one would want PCM turned on. Full audio is bitstream. PCM is normally two channel as the anthem says.

====
MRX1120, Oppo 203, LG & Samsung HDR, XboneS, Xfinity X1, Harmony
vodil is offline  
post #275 of 807 Old 08-11-2017, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Nathan0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

I went through this thread and didn't see if anyone ever concluded whether or not the X2300W supports DD+ over ARC? I recently bought the X2300 and will return it for a 3300 if it does not support this.

Thanks!
Nathan0490 is offline  
post #276 of 807 Old 08-11-2017, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan0490 View Post
I went through this thread and didn't see if anyone ever concluded whether or not the X2300W supports DD+ over ARC? I recently bought the X2300 and will return it for a 3300 if it does not support this.
If it's already at your disposal why can't you find out through the experiment?
hiisi is offline  
post #277 of 807 Old 08-11-2017, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Nathan0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiisi View Post
If it's already at your disposal why can't you find out through the experiment?

Because I have a C6P which don't support DD+ over ARC. I want to future proof myself for when I get a 2018+ OLED down the road.
Nathan0490 is offline  
post #278 of 807 Old 08-11-2017, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hi All,

Not sure if it's the right thread but anyway

It's known from publicly available materials that HDMI 2.0 (and above) may implement yet another mean for sources and sinks to communicate, the status and control data channel (SCDC). It's the first time in the HDMI history the sink can inform the source on TMDS error events. According to the spec, a sink devices may implement error counter (CED) for each TMDS lane and the mechanism (Read Request) is defined to notify the source on change of the CED values. If the signaling is enabled, the sink can generate Read Request each time an internal event has occurred (e.g. four or more CED errors has occurred by the end of a one second time period). The source receives this 'interrupt signal' and reads the SCDC registers in the sink to figure out what's up there. Based on that information, the source can perform certain corrective actions, e.g. to decrease the image resolution in order to reduce TMDS error events improving overall user's experience.

HDMI 2.0 (hence SCDC) exists for a while and I have two questions:

1. If the "automatic resolution reduction" feature is really implemented by any vendor?
2. The latest HDMI version defines eARC. If the new spec defines similar event-reporting functionality for eARC?
hiisi is offline  
post #279 of 807 Old 08-11-2017, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan0490 View Post
Because I have a C6P which don't support DD+ over ARC.
It's a bit bulky but as a last resort you can bring it to the nearest best buy. Just an advice
hiisi is offline  
post #280 of 807 Old 08-11-2017, 08:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 876
I've got a Vizio P75-C1 linked to a Denon X2300W via ARC. I get both Atmos and DD+ from Vizion Cast and Roku over ARC.
galonzo and reallynotnick like this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #281 of 807 Old 08-17-2017, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hresna View Post
There's a bug in there somewhere, potentially related to HDMI handshaking, that causes the sound stutter when using DD. I think the temp fix is forcing 2ch PCM output from the tv, which is unfortunate.
The stutter with DD+ and Atmos over ARC from a Tv only came with firmware .074 and upwards

DD+ and atmos are fine on Anthems with .067 . firmware .074 and upwards are attempts by Anthem to enable Dolby Vision pass through and they do allow it but in the process of allowing DV pass through DD+ and Atmos over ARC were broken

Anthem are now shipping sets with .074 on board (i think that is wrong) but if a user wants DD+ and Atmos over ARC all he has to do is download .067 from the Anthem site and all will be well

As a side note when I downgraded to .067 I still had DV pass through ! Athem cannot or will not say how this came to be

Contacting LG may be problem since the issue seems only to affect anthem sets with firmware .074 and upwards it suggests Anthem got it very wrong not LG
Hresna likes this.
333444 is offline  
post #282 of 807 Old 08-17-2017, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
I've got a Vizio P75-C1 linked to a Denon X2300W via ARC. I get both Atmos and DD+ from Vizion Cast and Roku over ARC.

Hi can I ask you what Anthem firmware are you using

Thanks
333444 is offline  
post #283 of 807 Old 08-17-2017, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by 333444 View Post
Hi can I ask you what Anthem firmware are you using

Thanks
I am not using Anthem at all. I was answering Nathan0490s question about the Denon x2300Ws ability to play DD+ and Atmos over ARC...

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #284 of 807 Old 08-17-2017, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
I am not using Anthem at all. I was answering Nathan0490s question about the Denon x2300Ws ability to play DD+ and Atmos over ARC...
I am so sorry I misread the posting
333444 is offline  
post #285 of 807 Old 08-17-2017, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by 333444 View Post
Contacting LG may be problem since the issue seems only to affect anthem sets with firmware .074 and upwards it suggests Anthem got it very wrong not LG
Perhaps the new firmwares had started using a feature that the LG does not properly implement. Who knows
hiisi is offline  
post #286 of 807 Old 08-17-2017, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiisi View Post
Perhaps the new firmwares had started using a feature that the LG does not properly implement. Who knows
Could be, but a another make/model does do DV passthrough and DD+ and Atmos via ARC no problem from the same LG tv
333444 is offline  
post #287 of 807 Old 08-18-2017, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Nathan0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if LG would bother to release a FW update to support DD+ over ARC? It wouldn't matter to me as much if Sony would get around to updating the VUDU app on the UX-80 to support UHD/DV but there's no announcement on that either.
Nathan0490 is offline  
post #288 of 807 Old 08-18-2017, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Nathan0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
I am not using Anthem at all. I was answering Nathan0490s question about the Denon x2300Ws ability to play DD+ and Atmos over ARC...
Thanks for the info Bobby. I have a C6P which as of now doesn't support DD+ over ARC, but I was wondering what settings, if any, you had to change to get your 2300W to accept DD+ over ARC?
Nathan0490 is offline  
post #289 of 807 Old 08-18-2017, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan0490 View Post
Thanks for the info Bobby. I have a C6P which as of now doesn't support DD+ over ARC, but I was wondering what settings, if any, you had to change to get your 2300W to accept DD+ over ARC?
I simply enabled ARC on the Denon. Of course I also enabled ARC only on my Vizio. It was quick and easy.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #290 of 807 Old 08-18-2017, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
animeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Does anyone know why the 2016 LG OLED's are unable to support DD+ over ARC?
animeking is offline  
post #291 of 807 Old 08-18-2017, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by animeking View Post
Does anyone know why the 2016 LG OLED's are unable to support DD+ over ARC?
That's the best hidden secret of history! . Hope desesperetly a fix (seems very easy) for uh850v.
Not only DD+, also atmos on netflix
finitol is offline  
post #292 of 807 Old 08-19-2017, 10:01 AM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,241
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2018 Post(s)
Liked: 1454
Quote:
Originally Posted by finitol View Post
That's the best hidden secret of history! . Hope desesperetly a fix (seems very easy) for uh850v.
Not only DD+, also atmos on netflix

The chipset used might not support it. If that is the case, petitions won't help.


Even if the chipset supported it, the recent 2016 OLED HDR game mode changes have caused a lot of controversy.
That may make LG relunctant to make further changes.


- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is offline  
post #293 of 807 Old 08-19-2017, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
animeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
The chipset used might not support it. If that is the case, petitions won't help.


Even if the chipset supported it, the recent 2016 OLED HDR game mode changes have caused a lot of controversy.
That may make LG relunctant to make further changes.


- Rich


Bitstream pass through please


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
animeking is offline  
post #294 of 807 Old 08-19-2017, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
The chipset used might not support it. If that is the case, petitions won't help.


Even if the chipset supported it, the recent 2016 OLED HDR game mode changes have caused a lot of controversy.
That may make LG relunctant to make further changes.


- Rich
Uhmmmmm, anyone knows that point (wich chipset was used on super uhd 2016 LG tv's)?. This should be first thing to know, before demand any fix....
finitol is offline  
post #295 of 807 Old 08-21-2017, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
waxhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can confirm that DD+ ARC works with the TCL 55S40X (55S401/55S403/55S405) TVs (2017 model) when paired with a Pioneer SC-1522k receiver.

Needed to turn on HDMI CEC control in the Pioneer settings along with turning on HDMI ARC as well as HDMI control in the TV settings.
galonzo likes this.
waxhell is offline  
post #296 of 807 Old 08-22-2017, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scarabaeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Leandro, CA, USA
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by waxhell View Post
Can confirm that DD+ ARC works with the TCL 55S40X (55S401/55S403/55S405) TVs (2017 model) when paired with a Pioneer SC-1522k receiver.
Thanks, added them to post #2.
scarabaeus is offline  
post #297 of 807 Old 08-22-2017, 01:39 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,224
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9525 Post(s)
Liked: 6216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan0490 View Post
I wonder if LG would bother to release a FW update to support DD+ over ARC? It wouldn't matter to me as much if Sony would get around to updating the VUDU app on the UX-80 to support UHD/DV but there's no announcement on that either.
it's not up to Sony. It's up to Vudu. The Sony devices need to meet the strict security requirements that Vudu has for UHD. And even if it does, Vudu has been extremely slow in rolling out UHD access to devices that do meet the security requirements. Supposedly the SOny TVs do not meet the requirements. Whether actually true though, I have no idea.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #298 of 807 Old 08-26-2017, 04:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Confirming DD+ ARC works with TCL 55P605 from Best Buy and Denon AVR-X4300H
jdurb is offline  
post #299 of 807 Old 09-08-2017, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi!

I just tested YAMAHA RX-V677 and ONKYO TX-NR 555. The Yamaha only supports Dolby Pro Logic over ARC. With the ONKYO I got a Dolby Digital 5.1 signal from Amazon/Netflix over my LG 60UJ6519 LED TV.

I also contacted YAMAHA support and the guy told me that the actual RX-V*83 receivers will get the eARC update by end of this year. Probably after the final HDMI 2.1 specifications have been released.

BR
sp00ky
sp00kyDD is offline  
post #300 of 807 Old 09-09-2017, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
Ozwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris, FR
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question

Hi guys,

I have just bought a Panasonic TX-55EZ950 high-end OLED TV, it's been released this early summer, so very new.

I have a Yamaha RX-A 2030 from 2013, it can read DD+ contents without issues through HDMI, never had an issue... until I needed ARC.

My use case: I want to use the Netflix app from the TV and only this one. As my amp is not HDCP2.2 it seems that all 4k image signals from Netflix cannot go through my amp (or maybe for another reason but it does not affect my ARC problem, I guess) so I can't use Netflix from PS4 Pro etc. unless I'm ok with 1080p only.

When I launch Netflix from the TV, I can select any of the proposed 2.0 / 5.1 audio options for any series. However, although I have absolutely no problem with stereo contents, everytime I switch to 5.1 sources (and they are the ones by default), my amp either act like no signal (decoder off) is received OR reads a DD+ signal for a few seconds then cuts audio (decoder off). Sometimes it goes on and off, alternating between decoder off >> dd+ >> decoder off >> dd+ etc.

I tried all possible options from the TV. All behaviours described above are with sound set to automatic. When set to PCM, decoder is off and never reads a signal.

Yesterday night something weird occured. The netflix app crashed and the TV auto rebooted itself. after this DD+ signals from Netflix were working great! Then I turned the TV off, my Yamaha off as well. Turned everything back to on and... the problem came back (and is still here).

I tried with different HDMI (High Speed ARC approved) cables.

It's hard for me to test with a different amp so what would you suggest me to do? I thought about asking Panasonic but I am quite confident they will tell me it's the amp or the Netflix app or I should update to the last firmware etc. and I feel like I will lose a lot of time as this is a very specific issue.

One happy end for me would be that my Yam RXA2030 is too old to deal with DD+ ARC.


Thanks

Last edited by Ozwel; 09-09-2017 at 05:48 AM.
Ozwel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off