Router for Audio Streaming - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By hpp8140
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-15-2016, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
malaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Router for Audio Streaming

I have an extensive MP3 music library, and currently stream form my PC to a Squeezebox on my HiFi, and use BubbleUPNP to stream to my android TV box and my android alarm clock.

I am in the market for a new router, probably a low-end AC router at around the $100 price point. I was looking into these routers, and saw that most of them have built in DLNA servers.

I was thinking tha If I could connect a Hard drive to the router then long term I could add a UPNP renderer (Chromecast Audio??) to my HiFi, get rid of the Squeezebox (which is now not supported), and stream music directly from the router. Then I would not need to have my PC on every time I want to listen to some music.

Does anyone have any experience with these DLNA servers built into a router? Do they work well? Are they underpowered?

Which router has the best DLNA server?

Note that I just need music streaming, I have other solutions for movies.
malaugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-15-2016, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,788
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 945
I have a Netgear router (can't remember the model off the top of my head) that I use with my Denon 4311ci receiver. It works, but the DLNA server seems buggy. The most frequent problem I have is that I'll go to play a track and my receiver will immediately spit back "lost connection". I can browse my library, but anything I try to play will result in this error until I reboot the router. This happens more often than I'd like. I wish there was at least just a way to reboot the DLNA server so I don't have to disrupt all the internet traffic in my house just to get the DLNA server working properly again.

I've had some other issues, too. I have the USB drive connected to the router as you want, and set up an SMB share on the router to place content on the drive. Sometimes, the data I copy to it gets lost. When that happens, I "safely remove" the drive through the router's web interface, disconnect it, and connect it directly to my PC and scan the disc. I find there are file system errors that need to be fixed and sometimes it can restore the data, but most times it is gone for good. The frequency of this problem has lessened in newer firmware updates, but sometimes it still happens. It may be poor NTFS support...don't know.

So...yeah, I'm not sure I could recommend it. Maybe newer Netgear routers are better, mine is a few years old.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-15-2016, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 143
I have done this with an Asus RTN16. It was running TomatoUSB, a 3rd party firmware though.

The DLNA server is minidlna, which I am now running on a Pogoplug or you could use a RaspberryPi.
Vlad_Z likes this.

Paradigm PW AMP, KEF Q100, Emotiva B1, Rythmik L12
hpp8140 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-16-2016, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
I have done this with an Asus RTN16. It was running TomatoUSB, a 3rd party firmware though.

The DLNA server is minidlna, which I am now running on a Pogoplug or you could use a RaspberryPi.
raspberrypi
mongldroid is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-18-2016, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by malaugh View Post
..., and use BubbleUPNP to stream to my android TV box and my android alarm clock. ...
Hi malaugh, out of curiosity - what do you use for an alarm clock?

Thanks!
Oggy Shopov is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-18-2016, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
malaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oggy Shopov View Post
Hi malaugh, out of curiosity - what do you use for an alarm clock?!
A Zettaly Avy http://www.amazon.com/Zettaly-Wirele.../dp/B00WR3W2TA

I really like it. I use Alarm Clock Plus for the alarm clock, because it dims to a good night setting, PowerAmp for local music, Podkicker for podcasts, BubbleUPNP for Networked music, Rad.io and Tunein for radio stations. Does everything I need for a bedside gadget.
malaugh is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-18-2016, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Great! Thanks for the info!
Oggy Shopov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off