Xiaomi Mi Box - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 51Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 329 Old 03-22-2017, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
unmesh59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diaz98 View Post
And you you think the issue comes because of the dongle of the system, unmesh?
I don't really know but am leaning towards the system since I've seen this happen with two dongles from different manufacturers, one Fast Ethernet and the other Gigabit Ethernet
unmesh59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 329 Old 03-30-2017, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
any news anywhere about an upcoming update? They said end of first quarter.
G-- likes this.
Gabre is offline  
post #213 of 329 Old 04-03-2017, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue with their Mi Box. Freezing every and reboots once in a while.

I was using my Mibox over wifi with no issues but horrible speed so i switched to the usb to Ethernet cable this one: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 Once i switched i found that the Mibox will reboot maybe once a day and also freeze up randomly. I'm noticing that the box is fairly warm when it reboots and locks up.
white_noise is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 329 Old 04-07-2017, 01:24 PM
Member
 
BiGx5MurF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have one of these, my inlaws brought it over from China, so they could watch TV when they visited. I got kodi to run on it just fine. But I couldn't get my vpn service running on it, so I don't really use it. Still prefer my desktop based HTPC over this. But it's a great device for use in a pinch.
BiGx5MurF is offline  
post #215 of 329 Old 04-07-2017, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I trully hope my netflix will finally work after update to 7.0 comes in.
Everything else is great.
But netflix no luck
Gabre is offline  
post #216 of 329 Old 04-11-2017, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You guys still having dts issues with plex and does your usb ethernet adapter get disconnected and you have to reboot the box.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #217 of 329 Old 04-12-2017, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
You guys still having dts issues with plex and does your usb ethernet adapter get disconnected and you have to reboot the box.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
I'm having the disconnect issue with my Ethernet adapter and i am also having at a minimum 2-3 reboots and lock ups a night.
white_noise is offline  
post #218 of 329 Old 04-12-2017, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I went back to wifi I get better speeds with WiFi

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Lp85253 likes this.
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #219 of 329 Old 04-12-2017, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Today netflix app hadan update on playstore, and even after the update Im getting that erro: we cannot play this title right now, try again later or another title"
So f$&#[email protected]$# annoying

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Gabre is offline  
post #220 of 329 Old 04-12-2017, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
adam355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiGx5MurF View Post
I have one of these, my inlaws brought it over from China, so they could watch TV when they visited. I got kodi to run on it just fine. But I couldn't get my vpn service running on it, so I don't really use it. Still prefer my desktop based HTPC over this. But it's a great device for use in a pinch.
I'd they brought it over from China than it's not this device. The Chinese one is Android. The one released on the states is Android TV
adam355 is offline  
post #221 of 329 Old 04-22-2017, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Has anyone figured out the fix with the problem of playing plex on this box yet??

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #222 of 329 Old 04-23-2017, 11:23 PM
Newbie
 
Tomas Killington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Great topic, I'm very glad that I found it!
Tomas Killington is offline  
post #223 of 329 Old 04-24-2017, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,561
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2313 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
Has anyone figured out the fix with the problem of playing plex on this box yet??
Plex is working fine for me. What problem are you having?
Ken.F is online now  
post #224 of 329 Old 04-24-2017, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Movies with DTS ma sound don't pkay

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #225 of 329 Old 04-24-2017, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,561
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2313 Post(s)
Liked: 2629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
Movies with DTS ma sound don't pkay
My Mi Box isn't connected to a receiver so I don't know if DTS-MA works on mine or not.
Ken.F is online now  
post #226 of 329 Old 04-24-2017, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Regular stereo works fine just the hd audio don't. It doesn't matter I am using my ps4 for plex and just using Mt mi box for kodi. So it's all good.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #227 of 329 Old 04-24-2017, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
insync44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I find that for $69, and used only for 1080p videos, it works perfectly connected through my Yamaha Receiver. I purchased both the Shield and Mi Box but found for my purpose the Shield played similarly to the Mi, at 3 times the price. Don't really need gaming since I have the PS4 and X1 for superior games. So I returned the Shield. Am impressed with the Mi, especially for the cost. Its a second to the Shield.
Lp85253 likes this.
insync44 is offline  
post #228 of 329 Old 05-09-2017, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
Movies with DTS ma sound don't pkay

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Ah okay so it's not just me. I got my Mi Box today and Plex would not play DTS-HD MA, it was instead transcoding it to DD+. So, I decided to just play the media through Kodi using USB. If anyone knows a fix, please let us know. Thanks!
Matafaka is offline  
post #229 of 329 Old 05-12-2017, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Anybody has any news about 7.0 update, as my netflix aint workind since day one

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Gabre is offline  
post #230 of 329 Old 05-26-2017, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any update with plex and this mi box.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #231 of 329 Old 06-07-2017, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Does Mi Box support autoframerate switching? so I can watch youtube in 60p and when I switch to a movie it automatically switches to the 24p?
ahtoh is offline  
post #232 of 329 Old 06-20-2017, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahtoh View Post
Does Mi Box support autoframerate switching? so I can watch youtube in 60p and when I switch to a movie it automatically switches to the 24p?
I think except Nvidia Shield, none of the Android based boxes support auto frame rate switching.
acefr is offline  
post #233 of 329 Old 06-20-2017, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 533
I got a mi box (from Wally world) a few days ago, and here is what I found:

1. Android TV system. It seems the interface is very simple. Not sure it is good or bad. It is new to me as I have been using other Chinese Android boxes.
2. No built-in File Explorer. I guess I need ES Explorer or Amaze to access the file or install apk.
3. No built-in media player. VLC is available, and the picture is beautiful and HDR is working, but I can't figure out how to bitstream audio.
4. Play store access, which is missing from all of the Chinese Android box. (No Google service in China) Make it easy to install official apps.
5. Under the Display Setting, there is an option to enable "Deep Color", which enables 10 bit color depth. (not sure it is BT.709 or BT.2020)
6. I installed Kodi 17.3. HEVC10 HDR playback on mkv is working. Picture is very good. However, audio bitstream option somehow do not have Dolby TrueHD and DTS-MA. So no bitstream in Atmos.
7. I installed SPMC from Play Store. HDR playback does not work. My TV does not see HDR meta data. Color looks off and some bandings. However, in the audio bitstream options, there are Dolby TrueHD and DTS-MA, and I enabled them, and Atmos bitstream is working.
8. Go back to Kodi 17.3, now in the audio bitstream options, there are Dolby TrueHD and DTS-MA. Probably due to my change of settings in SPMC. I enabled both. Both HDR and Atmos bitstreaming are now working.
9. I have not updated the firmware to the Nougat beta firmware. Now that both HDR and Atmos are working, I am not sure I want to update. Maybe I will give it a try.
10. No Auto Frame Rate switching in Android as expected. I can set the box refresh rate to 4K 24Hz. Noticed very minor judder. I guess it is not the ideal 23.976Hz to match the 23.976fps in Movie, but I am not super sensitive to the frame rate, so 24Hz is fine for me.
11. Debating whether to keep it or not. For the price, Mi box seems to be a bargain to be able to do HDR and Atmos, something even my KabyLake XPS13 cannot do. (cannot get 10bit color and HDR) I already have 4 Android boxes, one for each TV, and this will be my 5th. Maybe I will keep it and retire my Chinese version 2nd Gen Mi Box.

Last edited by acefr; 06-20-2017 at 12:10 PM.
acefr is offline  
post #234 of 329 Old 06-22-2017, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Where could I find that Nougat beta firmware link? Thanks
Gabre is offline  
post #235 of 329 Old 06-28-2017, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabre View Post
Where could I find that Nougat beta firmware link? Thanks
I decided to stay with the current stock firmware and not upgrade to Nougat. It seems there is nothing gain in Nougat other than a slightly faster interface, and I worry the beta firmware may break the HD audio pass through that is currently working. You can easily google the Nougat firmware and find the download. Just remember you cannot downgrade once upgrade, so you will stuck with Nougat beta until the official Nougat firmware is released.
acefr is offline  
post #236 of 329 Old 06-28-2017, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by acefr View Post
2. No built-in File Explorer. I guess I need ES Explorer or Amaze to access the file or install apk.
The free ES has become a very poor program with a lot of unwanted settings that have to be turned off as well as way too many adverts. The pro version is useful enough that I just went with that, but other good free explorers still exist

Does HDMI-CEC work for you with the Mi?
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #237 of 329 Old 06-28-2017, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
The free ES has become a very poor program with a lot of unwanted settings that have to be turned off as well as way too many adverts. The pro version is useful enough that I just went with that, but other good free explorers still exist

Does HDMI-CEC work for you with the Mi?
Well, that is what I heard about ES too. I think I will just use Amaze File Explorer. I hate Ads.

I never tested HDMI-CEC. Maybe I give it a try but I doubt it will work. HDMI-CEC never works well in my system (Samsung KS8000 TV + Onkyo TX-NR646 AVR + Samsung K8500 UHD BD player). It often turns on or off the wrong device.

From what I heard, the HDMI-CEC has its own switch in Nougat, but without a path to downgrade, I don't want to take the risk.
acefr is offline  
post #238 of 329 Old 06-28-2017, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Works on my panasonic 50S60 plasma and mibox which i just realised by accident,afyer having mi box since it came out lol
Gabre is offline  
post #239 of 329 Old 07-12-2017, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabre View Post
Works on my panasonic 50S60 plasma and mibox which i just realised by accident,afyer having mi box since it came out lol

Hey, I registered just to let you know that the problems with netflix are actually caused by the hdmi cable used with the TV, please read this:
Code:
xiaomi [dot] eu/community/threads/mi-box-4k-netflix-problems.36763/
Specially this comment:
Quote:
dr_pepper said:
LOL. Unbelievable. I don't know if its true of all the mibox's, but for those with this particular Netflix error that is indeed the case. YOU NEED A 4K HDCP 2.2 COMPLIANT TV to make this box work............quick go out and drop another $500 so your 69$ netflix streamer can work.

I tried two splitters

This one is HDCP 1.3 compliant and does not work
Code:
memoryexpress[dot]com/Products/MX55937
This one is HDCP 2.2 compliant and my Netflix now works if I route through this box.
Code:
bestbuy[dot]ca/en-ca/product...splitter-rf-g1502-c-rf-g1502-c/10449168.aspx?
What a joke.
Regards!
kagebattousai is offline  
post #240 of 329 Old 07-13-2017, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by kagebattousai View Post
Hey, I registered just to let you know that the problems with netflix are actually caused by the hdmi cable used with the TV, please read this:
Code:
xiaomi [dot] eu/community/threads/mi-box-4k-netflix-problems.36763/
Specially this comment:
Regards!
Thank you for your effort, and appreciate the PM I got.
I did see it before, but havent got to it, wanted to try it out first. From some principles I dont wanna buy a 30-40$ hdmi switch, for a box thats worth 70.

Netflix works when I connect through my AV Marantz, but directly to TV, no luck
Gabre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off