Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9803Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
twaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Perry, MI
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Youtube has nothing in HDR and anything labled as such is not sending any metadata.



Please clarify what's going on with the Roku. Unless I'm misunderstanding you claim Amazon works but Netflix does not is this right? You mention your TV has Amazon UHD stuff available which would have nothing to do with the Roku. Just to clarify are you able to get anything in HDR through the roku?


Yes, I am able to get Amazon UHD and HDR with the Ultra, but all Netflix titles only play in 1080p. With the apps built into my Samsung I am able to play Netflix titles in UHD.
twaller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4237 Post(s)
Liked: 4530
Quote:
Originally Posted by twaller View Post
Yes, I am able to get Amazon UHD and HDR with the Ultra, but all Netflix titles only play in 1080p. With the apps built into my Samsung I am able to play Netflix titles in UHD.
Is there anything between the Roku box and the TV or does it go directly to the TV? We have the same TV so I know Netflix HDR should work provided you have the proper cables and HDMI equipment in the chain.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #333 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
twaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Perry, MI
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Is there anything between the Roku box and the TV or does it go directly to the TV? We have the same TV so I know Netflix HDR should work provided you have the proper cables and HDMI equipment in the chain.


Yes, there is a Denon 1200 AVR between.
twaller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Youtube has nothing in HDR and anything labled as such is not sending any metadata.

Please clarify what's going on with the Roku. Unless I'm misunderstanding you claim Amazon works but Netflix does not is this right? You mention your TV has Amazon UHD stuff available which would have nothing to do with the Roku. Just to clarify are you able to get anything in HDR through the roku?
I was able to play chefs table france and marco polo in hdr on my jvc x550r.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
darkrenata is offline  
post #335 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4237 Post(s)
Liked: 4530
Quote:
Originally Posted by twaller View Post
Yes, there is a Denon 1200 AVR between.
Well, definitely shouldn't be a problem as I know that model has HDMI 2.0a for a fact. Try unplugging the roku, setting your AVR to the input for the Roku and turning your Tv on. verify you have HDMI UHD color on for the input you plug the AVR into as well. Then plug the Roku in and let it start up. With luck this will refresh the EDID info when you launch netflix. If that doesn't work launch your web broswer and log into your netflix account there. Check your account settings and click playback settings. Verify it's not set too low by accident which could limit what quality is offered on the app. Also try opening netflix and going to the menu where you can do a search and go to settings there and exit out which will refresh netflix again and reacquire the EDID info if you made any quality changes.

If none of these work, try running the Roku directly into your TV just as a test to see if Netflix will offer HDR that way(again making sure HDMI UHD color is on for the HDMI input you use). I don't think it would matter because your AVR definitely has the proper HDMI support.

It's just odd to me that Amazon seems to work but Netflix will not. Maybe the new Netflix app has a nasty bug people are running into.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #336 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4237 Post(s)
Liked: 4530
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrenata View Post
I was able to play chefs table france and marco polo in hdr on my jvc x550r.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Not off Youtube, from Netflix yes and both of them are in HDR.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #337 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Not off Youtube, from Netflix yes and both of them are in HDR.
Yes i meant on netflix, im sorry if i created confusion i may have read your post in the wrong way.

Edit: on a side note does anyone know if uts possible to trick it into setting 24Hz output?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
cmdrdredd likes this.
darkrenata is offline  
post #338 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
twaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Perry, MI
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Well, definitely shouldn't be a problem as I know that model has HDMI 2.0a for a fact. Try unplugging the roku, setting your AVR to the input for the Roku and turning your Tv on. verify you have HDMI UHD color on for the input you plug the AVR into as well. Then plug the Roku in and let it start up. With luck this will refresh the EDID info when you launch netflix. If that doesn't work launch your web broswer and log into your netflix account there. Check your account settings and click playback settings. Verify it's not set too low by accident which could limit what quality is offered on the app. Also try opening netflix and going to the menu where you can do a search and go to settings there and exit out which will refresh netflix again and reacquire the EDID info if you made any quality changes.



If none of these work, try running the Roku directly into your TV just as a test to see if Netflix will offer HDR that way(again making sure HDMI UHD color is on for the HDMI input you use). I don't think it would matter because your AVR definitely has the proper HDMI support.



It's just odd to me that Amazon seems to work but Netflix will not. Maybe the new Netflix app has a nasty bug people are running into.


Thanks. Changing the HDMI input on the TV to UHD color did the trick. All is good.
cmdrdredd likes this.
twaller is offline  
post #339 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4237 Post(s)
Liked: 4530
Quote:
Originally Posted by twaller View Post
Thanks. Changing the HDMI input on the TV to UHD color did the trick. All is good.
Ahh nice. You should leave that on for all content. What it does is allow your TV to accept a 10 or 12bit color signal. Strange that Amazon worked though I question if it was even sending HDR and not just sending 4k at 8bit, but anyway all is well. Another note, make sure you set the color space on your TV to auto or native. If it's set to custom you won't be able to take advantage of wide color gamut from HDR sources. Auto will switch between rec.709 and bt.2020 depending on the incoming signal. Native will render everything in the TV's bt.2020 color space which will cause most content mastered for rec.709 to appear over saturated.

I wonder if others are having similar troubles. Every manufacturer calls this HDMI setting something different. Sony calls it Enhanced mode, LG calls it HDMI deep color, Samsung calls it HDMI UHD color. When this is off, the HDMI input won't accept a 10bit color signal from the Roku(or any UHD HDR device like a UHD Blu-Ray player) when it sends HDR metadata. I have no idea why this is even a toggle and not simply enabled full time since it does not affect the incoming signal at all.
twaller, makado and bargervais like this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II

Last edited by cmdrdredd; 10-12-2016 at 07:29 PM.
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #340 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jamesmil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by pearsco View Post
Could anyone verify that when playing back 4k HDR material From Amazon/Netflix are you seeing [email protected] in 4:4:4 or is it 4:2:0?


At 60hz, 4:4:4 10-bit HDR is not supported by the HDMI spec. It would have to be 4:2:0.
jamesmil is offline  
post #341 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,194
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6000
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsteve View Post
Mine is up and running fine. My only problem is I keep pushing the microphone button instead of the OK button on the new remote control. It's going to take some time getting used to them moving it. The voice search feature seems to be fairly speedy also. Unless there is some kind of nasty bug that pops up, it looks like a keeper.
Yep, I did that a few times.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
Jase,could you verify if your getting 24p on certain apps like the one gentleman in prior post's said.

Also,could you tell me the color space for Vudu UHD is, ie. BT2020 or is it like Netflix 4:2:0 8 Bit 60hz.

Thanks.
I have not seen it do 24hz on anything, was 4k/60 on everything I tried but I have HDR cut off. Not sure if some of the HDR stuff would result in 24hz output or not.

Ill have to try Vudu tomorrow.
PeterLewis likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #342 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
console's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 62
ROKU Ultra won't wake up.

Just installed Ultra. Works great but, if not in use for a while (1 hour?) goes to sleep and won't wake up without unplugging and plugging back in (rebooting).

I did not have this issue with 3 or 4. But I know it's been an issue in past with others. Is there some kind of fix for this?
console is offline  
post #343 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 10:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,800
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4462 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by twaller View Post
Got my ultra today. I can play 4k HDR from Amazon, and have seen some spectacular HDR demos on YouTube. The problem is that no title shows as UHD on Netflix. Yes I subscribe to the highest level of Netflix, and my smart TV (Samsung JS9000) has UHD Amazon titles on it's apps. Not showing up through the Ultra. I have deleted and reinstalled the Netflix app, no luck.
This appears to be the same problem the Roku 4 was having with Netflix when set to 10-bit? The actual resolution should be 4k but Netflix is incorrectly listing it as 1080p. This is not good as I would have thought Netflix and Roku would have fixed this issue by now? I know it was never fixed on the Roku 4.

lujan
526 Ultra HD
729 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #344 of 11693 Old 10-12-2016, 11:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Does the Roku support playback of any media files like .ts or .mp4 files, like available here: http://demo-uhd3d.com/categorie.php?tag=hdr . My Panasonic UHD player won't play them back. So I'm wondering if I can play them through the Roku like if it has a USB port or something. If not, what can I use to play these back if not my UHD player?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #345 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 04:50 AM
Newbie
 
bikerapn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi - I've had my Ultra for several days and I too am having issues with the Netflix app. My AVR is the Denon AVR-X7200WA, my projector is the Sony VPL-VW665ES and the Roku is set for "4K UHD HDR". I'm able to see in the listings UHD and HDR material where it exists on Amazon with no problem. I'm able to see and view material from Amazon, VuDu, UltraFlix in 4K too. However when looking at listings for Netflix, it always just shows "HD" with some shows that show "HDR" instead such as Daredevil. I never see a UHD tag and the output, according to the Sony, is always 1080 no HDR. As others have noted, if I set the Roku to "4K" only, then I will see the "Ultra HD" tag in Netflix and get 4K resolution on playback, but no HDR. I have tried connecting my Roku directly to the projector bypassing the AVR but there is no difference. I've also removed the Netflix app and readded it as well as did a "Factory Reset" on the Roku and started from scratch. Nothing has worked so far. Any thoughts as to settings or what else I can try with my setup. Thanks for any advice. BTW, I don't have any HDR or 4K issues with material streaming from my Samsung UBD-K8500.

Andy
bikerapn is offline  
post #346 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Any reason for me to update from Roku 3.
I have LG 4K Tv but it is not HDR compatible.
Avr is a Denon 4200.
dowop is offline  
post #347 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4237 Post(s)
Liked: 4530
Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Does the Roku support playback of any media files like .ts or .mp4 files, like available here: http://demo-uhd3d.com/categorie.php?tag=hdr . My Panasonic UHD player won't play them back. So I'm wondering if I can play them through the Roku like if it has a USB port or something. If not, what can I use to play these back if not my UHD player?


Most tvs can play them directly. The roku can play some of them but not the LG demos. My Samsung tv plays them all.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #348 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 791 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Does the Roku support playback of any media files like .ts or .mp4 files, like available here: http://demo-uhd3d.com/categorie.php?tag=hdr . My Panasonic UHD player won't play them back. So I'm wondering if I can play them through the Roku like if it has a USB port or something. If not, what can I use to play these back if not my UHD player?
The Ultra has a USB port. I'm quite sure it will not play .ts files but may play .mp4 files. I've read of folks changing the extension on .ts files to .mp4 and then they would play on some devices. Don't know if they will play on the Ultra as I have not tried it but maybe someone else has or will and chime in...
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #349 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 791 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerapn View Post
Hi - I've had my Ultra for several days and I too am having issues with the Netflix app. My AVR is the Denon AVR-X7200WA, my projector is the Sony VPL-VW665ES and the Roku is set for "4K UHD HDR". I'm able to see in the listings UHD and HDR material where it exists on Amazon with no problem. I'm able to see and view material from Amazon, VuDu, UltraFlix in 4K too. However when looking at listings for Netflix, it always just shows "HD" with some shows that show "HDR" instead such as Daredevil. I never see a UHD tag and the output, according to the Sony, is always 1080 no HDR. As others have noted, if I set the Roku to "4K" only, then I will see the "Ultra HD" tag in Netflix and get 4K resolution on playback, but no HDR. I have tried connecting my Roku directly to the projector bypassing the AVR but there is no difference. I've also removed the Netflix app and readded it as well as did a "Factory Reset" on the Roku and started from scratch. Nothing has worked so far. Any thoughts as to settings or what else I can try with my setup. Thanks for any advice. BTW, I don't have any HDR or 4K issues with material streaming from my Samsung UBD-K8500.

Andy
Don't know anything about your Sony projector but on the Sony UHD TVs you need to change the HDMI (input that you are connected to) to "Enhanced" (10 bit) in the settings or you will not get HDR...
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #350 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
Any reason for me to update from Roku 3.
I have LG 4K Tv but it is not HDR compatible.
Avr is a Denon 4200.

Could some one please answer. Going to Best Buy shortly.
dowop is offline  
post #351 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1557 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
Any reason for me to update from Roku 3.
I have LG 4K Tv but it is not HDR compatible.
Avr is a Denon 4200.
The only reason to upgrade is for the HDR.....I don't know your money situation either but 4k isn't worth it alone in my opinion. I am guessing that's maybe why you didn't get the Roku 4? If 4k is super important then you could upgrade, otherwise performance wise I don't think it will be that much better.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
cmdrdredd likes this.
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #352 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
The only reason to upgrade is for the HDR.....I don't know your money situation either but 4k isn't worth it alone in my opinion. I am guessing that's maybe why you didn't get the Roku 4? If 4k is super important then you could upgrade, otherwise performance wise I don't think it will be that much better.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
Thanks for answering. You saved me a $129.00.
dowop is offline  
post #353 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1557 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
Thanks for answering. You saved me a $129.00.
Haha......your welcome. I take it 4k alone isn't a huge deal to you.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #354 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
Could some one please answer. Going to Best Buy shortly.
I would go for the Roku Premier + which only has 4K without HDR for $99 or a clearance Roku 4 for about $50...

If you want to watch 4K content get ready for a price increase on rentals and subscription services...

The new roku's should be snappier than the Roku 3 and has updated apps such as amazon.

If down the road you upgrade to an HDR capable set,get the Ultra for future proofing...

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #355 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Haha......your welcome. I take it 4k alone isn't a huge deal to you.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
I have streamed it through the Tv.I really don`t see any difference sitting 12 ft away with a 65 in screen.
Thanks again.
dowop is offline  
post #356 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Carmel Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm trying to clear up what appears to be a problem with Netflix app on Ultra. Is it true that it is 4k when the Ultra is set to 4k but reverts to 1080p when the Ultra is set to 4khdr?

But using the tv built-in Netflix app allows for 4khdr with no problemr?

Thanks as always.

Shelly

Farewell Voom. Farewell Directv. Farewell Bell Express Vu. Farewell Dish, Farewell Comcast.
Had 6 dishes, now none. Just streaming.
Back in the early days, there were just HD demo loops, no programming. Now HD 3D and 4k.
Amazing!
shelly is offline  
post #357 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,037
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1557 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
I would go for the Roku Premier + which only has 4K without HDR for $99 or a clearance Roku 4 for about $50...

If you want to watch 4K content get ready for a price increase on rentals and subscription services...

The new roku's should be snappier than the Roku 3 and has updated apps such as amazon.

If down the road you upgrade to an HDR capable set,get the Ultra for future proofing...
Premeire + actually does have HDR...it is the cheapest one in the lineup to include it. Premeire just does 4k, otherwise the 50$ roku stick is a great value and as good as the Roku 3.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
naustin likes this.
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #358 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
I would go for the Roku Premier + which only has 4K without HDR for $99 or a clearance Roku 4 for about $50...

If you want to watch 4K content get ready for a price increase on rentals and subscription services...

The new roku's should be snappier than the Roku 3 and has updated apps such as amazon.

If down the road you upgrade to an HDR capable set,get the Ultra for future proofing...
The Premier+ does have HDR. The plain Premier ($79.99) does not. The only differences between the Premier+ and the Ultra are the optical port and voice search.


I did try to hook my Premier+ directly to my TV, and it still won't play Netflix at 4K.
snowcat is offline  
post #359 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1693 Post(s)
Liked: 1286
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowcat View Post
The Premier+ does have HDR. The plain Premier ($79.99) does not. The only differences between the Premier+ and the Ultra are the optical port and voice search.





I did try to hook my Premier+ directly to my TV, and it still won't play Netflix at 4K.


Go into settings of Netflix and exit Netflix. Then restart it and see if it fixes the problem.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #360 of 11693 Old 10-13-2016, 07:38 AM
Chief Observation Officer
 
Anodynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerapn View Post
Hi - I've had my Ultra for several days and I too am having issues with the Netflix app. My AVR is the Denon AVR-X7200WA, my projector is the Sony VPL-VW665ES and the Roku is set for "4K UHD HDR". I'm able to see in the listings UHD and HDR material where it exists on Amazon with no problem. I'm able to see and view material from Amazon, VuDu, UltraFlix in 4K too. However when looking at listings for Netflix, it always just shows "HD" with some shows that show "HDR" instead such as Daredevil. I never see a UHD tag and the output, according to the Sony, is always 1080 no HDR. As others have noted, if I set the Roku to "4K" only, then I will see the "Ultra HD" tag in Netflix and get 4K resolution on playback, but no HDR. I have tried connecting my Roku directly to the projector bypassing the AVR but there is no difference. I've also removed the Netflix app and readded it as well as did a "Factory Reset" on the Roku and started from scratch. Nothing has worked so far. Any thoughts as to settings or what else I can try with my setup. Thanks for any advice. BTW, I don't have any HDR or 4K issues with material streaming from my Samsung UBD-K8500.

Andy
Edit: I see you tried the factory reset. That did work for me when I had the same problem. Please let us know if you figure it out on your system in case it happens to others again.

One other troubleshooting item while I'm at it. I had the HDCP 2.2 error in Vudu when trying to watch UHD content, and tried a bunch of things with startup order of devices, etc. to no avail. Setting the preferred video quality to UHD in the Vudu settings resolved that. There was no video quality setting selected at all by default.

Last edited by Anodynic; 10-13-2016 at 07:53 AM.
Anodynic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off