Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9965Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Go into settings of Netflix and exit Netflix. Then restart it and see if it fixes the problem.
That didn't help, but it did bring up some interesting data. When go into Get Help on the settings page of Netflix, and then look at Display, I see 4k Video Connection set to "4k30". I am curious on what others see on that screen.

When I did a "restart Neflix" from the settings, I actually lost that 4k Video Connection info completely, and the 4K Shows weren't even listed anymore. It would still do HD, but it wouldn't do 5.1 sound anymore either. I had to reboot the whole Roku to get the 4k and 5.1 info back.
snowcat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 408
[QUOTE=snowcat;47446161]The Premier+ does have HDR. The plain Premier ($79.99) does not. The only differences between the Premier+ and the Ultra are the optical port and voice search.

The Ultra has both a micro sd slot and a USB port, the Premiere Plus only has a micro sd slot; this may be a potentially important difference to some.
docrog is offline  
post #363 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowcat View Post
That didn't help, but it did bring up some interesting data. When go into Get Help on the settings page of Netflix, and then look at Display, I see 4k Video Connection set to "4k30". I am curious on what others see on that screen.

When I did a "restart Neflix" from the settings, I actually lost that 4k Video Connection info completely, and the 4K Shows weren't even listed anymore. It would still do HD, but it wouldn't do 5.1 sound anymore either. I had to reboot the whole Roku to get the 4k and 5.1 info back.
Initially, my Netflix app had some random issues. I would/could watch HDR, then the next time I went back to Netflix it only showed HD. I then restarted Netflix (by exiting in the settings menu, not the Exit Neflix button). The HDR came back...odd behavior for sure.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #364 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Regarding Vudu, is the Vidity exclusive timeframe FINALLY over? I now have 61 UHD movies I can see on the Ultra player. It seems that has opened up in the last couple of days.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #365 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Carmel Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Initially, my Netflix app had some random issues. I would/could watch HDR, then the next time I went back to Netflix it only showed HD. I then restarted Netflix (by exiting in the settings menu, not the Exit Neflix button). The HDR came back...odd behavior for sure.
How do you exit Netflix from the Settings Menu? Can't find a way to exit other than from Netflix app itself.

Shelly

Farewell Voom. Farewell Directv. Farewell Bell Express Vu. Farewell Dish, Farewell Comcast.
Had 6 dishes, now none. Just streaming.
Back in the early days, there were just HD demo loops, no programming. Now HD 3D and 4k.
Amazing!
shelly is offline  
post #366 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by shelly View Post
How do you exit Netflix from the Settings Menu? Can't find a way to exit other than from Netflix app itself.

Shelly
It's in the Netflix Settings menu, not the player. The gear icon is the settings menu, you can restart Netflix within that.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #367 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,018
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4618 Post(s)
Liked: 2680
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Regarding Vudu, is the Vidity exclusive timeframe FINALLY over? I now have 61 UHD movies I can see on the Ultra player. It seems that has opened up in the last couple of days.
I'm not sure what you mean by "... Vidity exclusive timeframe..." because Vidity is FandangoNow and Vudu and they each have different movies? Vudu has always had the same movies (currently at 61) but they were different from the Vidity (FandangoNow movies).

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #368 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I'm not sure what you mean by "... Vidity exclusive timeframe..." because Vidity is FandangoNow and Vudu and they each have different movies? Vudu has always had the same movies (currently at 61) but they were different from the Vidity (FandangoNow movies).
Initially, the only way you could play Vudu UHD movies was via download on a Vidity enabled device.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #369 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
dominica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Audio Support

Does the Roku Premiere or Ultra support streaming on a file ( mkv, mp4) that has dts-hd audio/ Bitstream?. Also can it read from USB a demo file that has HDR? I looked on Roku web site but it hardly has any info on the new players.


Thanks
dominica is offline  
post #370 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
melvin7822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I wanted to echo that I'm having the same issues with Netflix. I have even opened a ticket with Roku to look into the issue, though I'm not confident that it will be fixed. I have my Roku Ultra connected directly to my LG OLED55B6P and "HDMI Deep Color" is turned on. Every time I wake up the Roku after it's been sleeping for a while, I have to reboot it so I can watch 4K or 4K HDR on Netflix.
melvin7822 is offline  
post #371 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1084 Post(s)
Liked: 2085
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Initially, the only way you could play Vudu UHD movies was via download on a Vidity enabled device.
You are mixing it up with FandangoNow (formerly MGO). They still have separate Vidity titles: https://www.fandangonow.com/list/uhd-with-download-beta
puddy77 is offline  
post #372 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
You are mixing it up with FandangoNow (formerly MGO). They still have separate Vidity titles: https://www.fandangonow.com/list/uhd-with-download-beta
Thanks! That's why I love this forum.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #373 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4254 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
I have streamed it through the Tv.I really don`t see any difference sitting 12 ft away with a 65 in screen.

Thanks again.


Yeah at 12ft you really need a huge screen IMO. Then the impact of the change will be greater.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #374 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4254 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by shelly View Post
I'm trying to clear up what appears to be a problem with Netflix app on Ultra. Is it true that it is 4k when the Ultra is set to 4k but reverts to 1080p when the Ultra is set to 4khdr?



But using the tv built-in Netflix app allows for 4khdr with no problemr?



Thanks as always.



Shelly


No, I am getting 4K hdr from Netflix with my roku ultra. Both my avr and my tv report a 4K/60hz signal and Netflix diagnostic info says it's sending a 2160 resolution. My guess on what is happening with some members is an EDID problem with the new Netflix app on the Roku. Most people can get amazon fine. I am 100% certain hdr should be 4K from all sources with the roku.
_spasm_ likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #375 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
plasmodeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I picked up an Ultra model yesterday and was disappointed to find—yet again—no apps that stream in 4K/24p with HDR enabled. I think someone tried to explain this on either the Shield TV, Xbox One S, or Samsung SEK-3500U forums, but...does anyone know exactly why every device released so far only does this at 60p?! UHD playback and FandangoNow VIDITY content seem to be the only ways to get this combo; is there some restriction in place by the UHD Alliance or some other group that specifically prohibits streaming apps from doing this?

I tried to watch Marco Polo: One Hundred Eyes and could not get past the forced 60p, which disables Auto Motion Plus on my Samsung F9000 and introduces the lovely duo of soap opera effect and 2:3 pulldown judder...all because the HDR stream messes with the 24p signal that most Netflix content is encoded with. If there is no real restriction in place, companies need to unlock 24p on all devices to improve the streaming experience. At the very least, TV manufacturers should make any motion interpolation menu accessible to minimize the artificial smoothing...why have it "grayed out" in the first place when it isn't while watching UHD discs or VIDITY movies on an external drive?

Also, for those reading who may have Dolby Vision TVs and rent/purchase VUDU content, is 60p forced on those streams as well? IMO, that distraction would defeat the purpose of DV/Dolby Atmos working in concert.
CarpeNoctem likes this.

Last edited by plasmodeus; 10-13-2016 at 09:09 AM.
plasmodeus is offline  
post #376 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Thanks! That's why I love this forum.
i wasn't going to say anything but i knew what you meant
CCsoftball7 likes this.

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #377 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,018
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4618 Post(s)
Liked: 2680
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
You are mixing it up with FandangoNow (formerly MGO). They still have separate Vidity titles: https://www.fandangonow.com/list/uhd-with-download-beta
Yes, Vudu was never in any arrangement with Vidity and that's what confused me. Vidity has always been FandangoNow (MGo) since the beginning. Vidity UHD movies are HDR-10 and Vudu UHD movies are Dolby Vision.
CCsoftball7 likes this.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #378 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Yes, Vudu was never in any arrangement with Vidity and that's what confused me. Vidity has always been FandangoNow (MGo) since the beginning. Vidity UHD movies are HDR-10 and Vudu UHD movies are Dolby Vision.
do you know if Vudu will eventually also have HDR-10 l prefer Vudu because it has Atmos with many UHD titles. for me my biggest likes are Atmos along with HDR

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #379 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
do you know if Vudu will eventually also have HDR-10 l prefer Vudu because it has Atmos with many UHD titles. for me my biggest likes are Atmos along with HDR


Yes. Vudu announced it not long ago.
bargervais likes this.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #380 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,020
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1745 Post(s)
Liked: 1109
As an FYI, I just bought a new 6 ft. AmazonBasics High Speed HDMI cable "latest standard", for my Roku Ultra and its HDR content.

Received the cable & its imprinted "HDMI High Speed cable with Ethernet" The packing pouch/container says HDMI 2.0.

Standard Amazon cable thickness unlike the thicker (28AWG) Monoprice Premium certified HDMI cables I also own.

If flexibility is important I'd recommend the recent AmazonBasics HDMI.
naustin is offline  
post #381 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:03 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,966
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9320 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
At least my Ultra was delivered a couple of hours ago. When I get home tonight I can get it setup. I guess I will use wireless like I am with my ROku4. With my Roku 4, using WiFi avoided any standby issues. And it sounds like these issue might persist with the new models as well. So hopefully, like with the Roku 4, using WiFi with the Ultra will help me avoid any standby issues.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #382 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,958
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2322 Post(s)
Liked: 2174
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmodeus View Post
I picked up an Ultra model yesterday and was disappointed to find—yet again—no apps that stream in 4K/24p with HDR enabled. I think someone tried to explain this on either the Shield TV, Xbox One S, or Samsung SEK-3500U forums, but...does anyone know exactly why every device released so far only does this at 60p?!
The Samsung K8500 UHD disc player streams 4K content from Netflix and Amazon at 4K24 4:4:4 10 bit. It is the only player that I know of that does it properly. Although at this time only Amazon is BT.2020 HDR. Still waiting for a Netflix HDR update.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #383 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
joez7700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Just got my Roku ultra in last night . Im going to be hooking it up to an LG oled65e6p. It will be running through a Yamaha cx a 5100 with all my other devices. I have a question about Uhd deep color. Do i need to enable that on the LG in order to HDR from the Roku.
The second part of my question is that if I do turn on UHD deep color on the LG how will that affect my other non 4k sources(cable box and dvd player )? The reason i ask is because I use the Yamaha as an HDMI switch since its HDMI 2.0A.
Any assistance would be appreciated.
joez7700 is offline  
post #384 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:27 AM
 
Sbuchanan813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Hey everyone . I have a vizio p75c1 and just got the roku ultra which is directly connected . So when I go to Netflix I see shows like daredevil for example that just says hdr in the description , doesn't say ultra 4K like it used to . Then on Jessica jones for example again it says ultra 4K but nothing about hdr ... is the daredevil that says hdr also 4K? It used to say it was both but now it doesn't . I am hooked up on the ultra with 4K hdr display .. so it knows my tv supports both. Just odd . Wondering if I'm indeed getting 4K and hdr.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sbuchanan813 is offline  
post #385 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
At least my Ultra was delivered a couple of hours ago. When I get home tonight I can get it setup. I guess I will use wireless like I am with my ROku4. With my Roku 4, using WiFi avoided any standby issues. And it sounds like these issue might persist with the new models as well. So hopefully, like with the Roku 4, using WiFi with the Ultra will help me avoid any standby issues.
i have my ultra wired mine wakes up just fine my Roku4 had issues which i had to unplug once in a while. I have the screen saver running and it sits over night and it wakes up just fine.

Living Room Sam. UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 / M-5010 Amp. /Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player.
DEN TCL 65R617 65-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.2.4 / Philips 4K UHD Dolby Vision Player (P7502) BEDROOM Sam. 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #386 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
plasmodeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
The Samsung K8500 UHD disc player streams 4K content from Netflix and Amazon at 4K24 4:4:4 10 bit. It is the only player that I know of that does it properly. Although at this time only Amazon is BT.2020 HDR. Still waiting for a Netflix HDR update.
Thanks for replying, claw. Yes, I have the K8500 and have been wondering when or if that will happen. That's my go-to device for streaming Netflix, though the TV app on the F9000 comes in at a close second for me. I've been theorizing that either Netflix or Samsung aren't sure how to enable 24p for HDR streaming without disabling the AMP menu or locking it at 60p, which is what happens on the new Rokus, the Xbox One S, the Shield, etc.

Last edited by plasmodeus; 10-13-2016 at 01:40 PM.
plasmodeus is offline  
post #387 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1271 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmv50 View Post
I found that I do get HDR when the Roku is plugged directly into my Vizio! When going thru my Denon AVR-S720w no HDR. The Phillips and Samsung UHD players don't seem to have this problem. Also even when plugged in to the TV the output is always 60Hz regardless of the source material. I bought this Roku to get away from the casting nonsense on the Vizio.
You're the third person I've seen who's reported this issue when using the Roku Ultra, a D+M receiver, and a Vizio display. And yep, the Philips and Samsung UHD players don't have the issue.

Until the HDR issues (hopefully) get worked out, you can connect the Roku directly to your display and use ARC back to your receiver. You won't be losing out on anything doing this because streaming audio maxes out with DD+ and the Vizio displays can handle DD+ over ARC.

This HDR issue is being discussed over the in the Vizio P-series thread. You might want to chime in over there if you're affected since I suspect the culprit is the Vizio display. I've read reports from non-Vizio display owners for whom D+M receivers are passing HDR from their Rokus without issue.
cmdrdredd likes this.
Schwa is offline  
post #388 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:43 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,236
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2269 Post(s)
Liked: 1914
Quote:
Originally Posted by shelly View Post
I'm trying to clear up what appears to be a problem with Netflix app on Ultra. Is it true that it is 4k when the Ultra is set to 4k but reverts to 1080p when the Ultra is set to 4khdr?

But using the tv built-in Netflix app allows for 4khdr with no problemr?

Thanks as always.

Shelly
Do you have Samsung's UHD Color "on"; or the equivalent setting "on" for your make/model? That provides 10-bit support which is required for 4K/60 HDR.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #389 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
normandia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lewes, DE
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Andy,

I have a 665 being installed next week and haven't yet ordered the Ultra, as I am confused as to what 4k HDR output options are available. If it outputs at 60fps at 4:4:4 (was my understanding) then that requires 18 Gb and the 665 is limited to 10.2 Gb.

What is the output of the Roku Ultra, are their settings? When you view the 4k HDR Roku output what is displayed on the Sony 665? 4:2:0? Does it show a 4k input?

I am getting an 18Gb capable processor TBD (using a Marantz 8802a to test the connections).

Thanks,
Mike
normandia is offline  
post #390 of 11927 Old 10-13-2016, 11:58 AM
Member
 
lloyd123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by joez7700 View Post
Just got my Roku ultra in last night . Im going to be hooking it up to an LG oled65e6p. It will be running through a Yamaha cx a 5100 with all my other devices. I have a question about Uhd deep color. Do i need to enable that on the LG in order to HDR from the Roku.
The second part of my question is that if I do turn on UHD deep color on the LG how will that affect my other non 4k sources(cable box and dvd player )? The reason i ask is because I use the Yamaha as an HDMI switch since its HDMI 2.0A.
Any assistance would be appreciated.
I was having a problem with the Ultra being connected to input HDMI 1 on my LG 65UH8500 from the HDMI SUB OUT on my Onyko TX-NR646. It keep turning on the Deep Color on the LG HDMI 2 that was for my cable box plus some other devices that were coming out of the Onyko MAIN HDMI OUT which I didn't want to have Deep Color turned on. Only way I could figure out to avoid was to connect the ROKU directly to the LG in HDMI 3 and feed the Onyko the Dolby+ audio by Optical through the TV - seems to work. I also have a Samsung UHD DVD player and connect that directly to the LG on HDMI 1 but because it also has a second HDMI out for audio only I connect that to an input on the Onyko and can get all the audio formats that a disc may offer.

I also had the Netflix problem that many have reported but seemed to have solved it by unplugging the power to the ROKU and then plug back in. Then go to display setting and do 1080. Once you accept that then do display setting again but for 4K HDR this time. This seemed to fix the problem,

Another thing I noticed is that when I watch a Dolby Vision encoded show on Amazon with either an app on the Samsung UHD player on a built-in app on the LG it's listed as Dolby Vision by the LG when the show starts. With the ROKU it lists the format as HDR, not Dolby Vision.

LG 65UH8500 / Onyko TX-NR646 / Samsung UBD-K8500 / Roku Ultra / iVid 780 / Toshiba HD DVD HD-A3 / Panasonic DMR-E30

Last edited by lloyd123; 10-13-2016 at 12:11 PM.
lloyd123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off