Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 218 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10876Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6511 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
They aren’t really “new” though. Not as I read the pre-release notes anyway. A little better, a little pumped up, okay. Just seems trying to act like they are keeping pace with Apple more than “new”.
New-ish
jsmiddleton4 and atc98092 like this.
kbmb is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6512 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 12:23 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
I thought the lower end models have a new processor? That is 50% faster?

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6513 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 01:20 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Lower end models are dead to me.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6514 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,353
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 1304
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
They aren’t really “new” though. Not as I read the pre-release notes anyway. A little better, a little pumped up, okay. Just seems trying to act like they are keeping pace with Apple more than “new”.
Cheaper prices to match Chromecast Ultra and Fire TV 3, $69 HDR. Move along, nothing to see here. Except OS8 which we will all get.
naustin is online now  
post #6515 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Cheaper prices to match Chromecast Ultra and Fire TV 3, $69 HDR. Move along, nothing to see here. Except OS8 which we will all get.
Agreed.

But with new remote on newer Roku Ultra, I'd hope for two things:
Power on/off for all Roku Ultra models (not on older remotes but universal remote providers).
Volume buttons that work for all TVs (even on old remotes with OS 8?).

Maybe my Logitech Hub gets Roku dedicated power on/off discretes soon?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
post #6516 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 04:07 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Lower end models are dead to me.
That's what sells the most.

I might pick up the new Roku stick if I can't find an Ultra on Closeout. I want to replace my gen 1 Roku 3 in my 2K setup. But I also want a voice remote. And that would be the cheapest option since Roku wants $30 for a voice remote. And even though I could get a Premiere for $40. With the remote cost it would be $70. While the new Roku stick, with an included voice remote, is only $50.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6517 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,788
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1224 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
The new Ultra appears to be identical to the current Ultra except they removed the optical output.
Well that sucks.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #6518 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 06:35 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
And the new Ultra has the new Voice remote. Which also has a TV power button.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6519 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 07:17 PM
Member
 
GSimmons1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So my Ultra just got the version 8 update....

Hopefully they fixed the Purple Screen of Death...
aaronwt, robsis, galonzo and 1 others like this.
GSimmons1987 is offline  
post #6520 of 13223 Old 10-03-2017, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
And the new Ultra has the new Voice remote. Which also has a TV power button.
I must have misread. Thought the power button was also for Roku dedicated power on/off.

So much for hoping for less power draw in standby. What use is it? I'd prefer it to sync/refresh/update on power on or extended interval as minimally needed. Or have a sub-routine to power on temporarily for app and OS updates. Perhaps it already does this to an extent with power saving in mind but I dislike spam intents.

I think standing by for splash screen ads and promos on demand are a waste at the expense of my electricity bill. I uninstalled several unused apps the other day and power cycled the Roku. I checked for updates and got a dialogue box with, "expanding media opportunities". More spam I don't need.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
post #6521 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 03:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
I must have misread. Thought the power button was also for Roku dedicated power on/off.

So much for hoping for less power draw in standby. What use is it? I'd prefer it to sync/refresh/update on power on or extended interval as minimally needed. Or have a sub-routine to power on temporarily for app and OS updates. Perhaps it already does this to an extent with power saving in mind but I dislike spam intents.

I think standing by for splash screen ads and promos on demand are a waste at the expense of my electricity bill. I uninstalled several unused apps the other day and power cycled the Roku. I checked for updates and got a dialogue box with, "expanding media opportunities". More spam I don't need.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
I don't think they've made clear if the power button does anything to the Roku, or if it's only to control the TV power through HDMI-CEC. I wonder if it will power off an AVR that's in the chain as well? Right now, I use my TV remote to power off the TV and AVR. It would be nice if it powered down all of them with the Roku remote.

Real world, the Roku uses so little power when unused, I think that's why they decided to not completely power down. Also, most consumers want something to be instantly available, and don't want to wait while they boot. They forget something like a Roku is really a mini computer, and has to boot just like any other computer.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6522 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 783
And they've gone and kept the same name with players that are more powerful (capable) than the previous models (Express and Express +). I thought they would have learned their lesson with so many different versions called a Roku 2.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6523 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 06:02 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
I must have misread. Thought the power button was also for Roku dedicated power on/off.

So much for hoping for less power draw in standby. What use is it? I'd prefer it to sync/refresh/update on power on or extended interval as minimally needed. Or have a sub-routine to power on temporarily for app and OS updates. Perhaps it already does this to an extent with power saving in mind but I dislike spam intents.

I think standing by for splash screen ads and promos on demand are a waste at the expense of my electricity bill. I uninstalled several unused apps the other day and power cycled the Roku. I checked for updates and got a dialogue box with, "expanding media opportunities". More spam I don't need.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
Why would the Roku need to power down? It only uses a few watts. It takes too long to boot up. I turn on my TV, my receiver automatically comes one, and everything is ready in a few seconds. I would not want my ROku booting up every time since it takes much longer. For me, I use instant on with every device that has it. Especially since devices nowadays use much less power than even just a few years ago.
gwsat, galonzo, naustin and 1 others like this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6524 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 06:06 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
And they've gone and kept the same name with players that are more powerful (capable) than the previous models (Express and Express +). I thought they would have learned their lesson with so many different versions called a Roku 2.
Well there is no Premiere or Premiere+ any more. They do have a Streaming Stick+ which seems to replace the Premiere+. But with keeping the some of the same names throughout different iterations, didn't they get that crap from Apple?

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6525 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Well there is no Premiere or Premiere+ any more. They do have a Streaming Stick+ which seems to replace the Premiere+. But with keeping the some of the same names throughout different iterations, didn't they get that crap from Apple?
And they also have found issues with a + in the device name with some routers not providing a DHCP IP address. Another lesson they should have learned. Of course, we don't know if the + shows up in the device name when it queries the DHCP server, so maybe they did fix that. No way of knowing until someone buys one and can't get it to connect to their network.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6526 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 06:50 AM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Whomever came up with the “refresh” word, that is a great description of these releases.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #6527 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,353
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 1304
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Whomever came up with the “refresh” word, that is a great description of these releases.
Looking at the new cheaper Ultra product comparision chart, the
Dolby Audio™ decode via HDMI® and optical feature gone.

https://image.roku.com/ww/docs/compa...ucts-en-us.pdf
naustin is online now  
post #6528 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,730
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSimmons1987 View Post
So my Ultra just got the version 8 update....
My Premiere+ received 8 as well yesterday. I decided to do a factory reset just for the heck of it (fresh start). It didn't resolve my biggest issue. It's connected to a Denon receiver and the moment you switch to another input on the receiver it will no longer sync (properly). I'm using "quality" cables and other 4K devices have worked using the same chain. With this version at least the image only "flashes" and I don't have to do a blind restart like before... Home, Up - OK, Up - OK, down 6 times, OK, OK...

Gee... I restarted once again and now it's frozen... at least in the past when it became unresponsive it would reboot itself... not now. A cold reboot got it working. I was about to punt and if this is the future (latest OS) I guess that seals the deal.

| 125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | CoreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV | Fire TV 4K |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
post #6529 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 10:21 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Looking at the new cheaper Ultra product comparision chart, the
Dolby Audio™ decode via HDMI® and optical feature gone.

https://image.roku.com/ww/docs/compa...ucts-en-us.pdf
Well I guess that is another way they save money. By not having to pay Dolby the fee to covert everything to DD. So it sounds like the Ultra is much more like the Premiere+ now.
brotony likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6530 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Why would the Roku need to power down? It only uses a few watts. It takes too long to boot up. I turn on my TV, my receiver automatically comes one, and everything is ready in a few seconds. I would not want my ROku booting up every time since it takes much longer. For me, I use instant on with every device that has it. Especially since devices nowadays use much less power than even just a few years ago.
Agreed, sync of unwatched content and watch lists are ideal. Limited instant on state that avoids full reboot is ideal too.

I'd like to opt out of more than just "do not track". What does do not track guarantee when there's no privacy or cookie opt out or 3rd party opt out which includes Google and Roku app on other devices? I've asked Roku a similar question.

Targeted ads are at expense of user data, time wasted rather than experiencing pure viewing, browsing and privacy. Asking a user for their viewing habits on a voluntary basis (check all that apply) would be less intrusive and conserve resources.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
post #6531 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
LDBetaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 227
I spied he Stick+ and the Ultra on the shelf at a local Wal-Mart today. They've been known to jump the gun on release dates in the past.
aaronwt, galonzo and brotony like this.
LDBetaGuy is online now  
post #6532 of 13223 Old 10-04-2017, 06:12 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,663
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9814 Post(s)
Liked: 6482
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBetaGuy View Post
I spied he Stick+ and the Ultra on the shelf at a local Wal-Mart today. They've been known to jump the gun on release dates in the past.
I wonder if they will make a mistake and sell it for the price of the old Ultra? The Walmart I looked at yesterday was sold out of the clearance Ultra. But they still had the tag on the empty shelf for $64.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6533 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 10:04 AM
Member
 
W2IRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
My Premiere+ received 8 as well yesterday. I decided to do a factory reset just for the heck of it (fresh start). It didn't resolve my biggest issue. It's connected to a Denon receiver and the moment you switch to another input on the receiver it will no longer sync (properly). I'm using "quality" cables and other 4K devices have worked using the same chain. With this version at least the image only "flashes" and I don't have to do a blind restart like before... Home, Up - OK, Up - OK, down 6 times, OK, OK...

Gee... I restarted once again and now it's frozen... at least in the past when it became unresponsive it would reboot itself... not now. A cold reboot got it working. I was about to punt and if this is the future (latest OS) I guess that seals the deal.
I own a Vizio P65, and can't stand the casting input, since everything runs through a Denon AVR, and getting it to switch inputs back to HDMI is non-trivial with a universal remote. As such I bought an Ultra last Christmas, specifically for Amazon content, which I couldn't cast to the Vizio even if I wanted to, but also as an alternative to stream Netflix to my P65. I expected everything to "just work." Well, purple screens of death are a constant, and as such, I gave up entirely on the Ultra this past spring, and now I hear that OS8 supposedly is the same? And yes, I'm using certified 18 Gbps cables from Monoprice (and before that, from Amazon).

If anybody ever invents a streaming device that works properly and reliably, on all the major streaming services, outputs 4k UHD with DV and HDR-10, Atmos or DTS:X sound, and provides a signal that makes full use of my display without failing every damned day I'll pay a handsome sum for it, to be sure. I use a full 5.2.2 audio system via a Denon X3300W AVR, and I need to switch HDMI inputs as the sole means of selecting source material. Much as I want to love Roku, their Ultra from last year laid a huge egg with regards to purple screens. Why should I trust them again?
tvwatcher12345 likes this.
W2IRT is offline  
post #6534 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1566 Post(s)
Liked: 783
I've experienced a couple of issues with the auto-frame rate. One is with YouTube. Probably because everything on the site is mastered by someone different, it is constantly flashing the screen with every start of play. I've also had a couple of HDCP errors, but they vanish within a second or so. Was streaming something off of my DLNA server, and the framerate switched as expected. The screen flash at the beginning doesn't really bother me, as it only happens once when playback begins. However, this particular video began what I call stuttering. Basically, motion just wasn't fluid. When I turned auto-framerate off, playback was perfectly smooth.

This particular video was an OTA recording in Windows Media Center, converted to a MKV with H.264 video by MCEBuddy, then the commercials were edited out with VideoReDo and saved in a MP4 container (no change in video or audio codecs). I don't have the original file any longer to see if perhaps something happened during all the conversions. I do have many other videos that are DVD and Blu Ray rips, and I'll try one of them tonight to see if the same thing occurs.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #6535 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 10:37 AM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 374
No OS8 yet. I tend to be last in line here in Arizona, USA.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #6536 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 10:45 AM
Member
 
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
No OS8 yet. I tend to be last in line here in Arizona, USA.

Must be a Regional thing. Here in Colorado, I am still at v7.7.0 on all three ROKU devices (1-Ultra, 2 Premier).


So I'll just have to be satisfied with someone telling me all about the changes: http://cordcuttersnews.com/first-loo...w-home-screen/

1) Vizio PQ65-F1 and 2) Visio D32F-F1
Yamaha RX-A3080 - Darbee Darblet DVP-5000
Roku - 4) Ultra, 1) nVidia Shield
SageTV v9 - HD300, Tablo QUAD, AirTV Pro, FireTV Cube
4) SiliconDust HDHomeRun units (10 tuners)

Last edited by RonBoyd; 10-05-2017 at 11:11 AM.
RonBoyd is offline  
post #6537 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Well there is no Premiere or Premiere+ any more. They do have a Streaming Stick+ which seems to replace the Premiere+. But with keeping the some of the same names throughout different iterations, didn't they get that crap from Apple?
I bought my parents a Premiere+ since they're obviously priced to be moved off the shelves. Love my Premiere+ and they need something to stream Vudu, since their Sony TV doesn't have the app.

It's a shame that the only large box with ethernet plugin seems to be the new Ultra. I always thought there was a market for the Premiere box - in that $50-$80 range. Ah well.

Samsung 55" JS8500
7.1 Setup:
Onkyo TX-NR646, Chane A1.4 & A2.4 (LCR), Yamaha NS-IC600 surr, TDG Audio NFC-61 back surr, SVS SB-2000
Samsung K8500, Roku Premiere+ and Roku 2, Harmony 650
jfwilliams1 is offline  
post #6538 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 227
No OS 8 here in SE Michigan yet, either.
Scott M is offline  
post #6539 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 04:57 PM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
snip
Does vudu and Netflix movies kick in 24p ?

I have been waiting for this feature since roku1.....My ultra has yet to receive os8....Thanks.

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is offline  
post #6540 of 13223 Old 10-05-2017, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
Does vudu and Netflix movies kick in 24p ?

I have been waiting for this feature since roku1.....My ultra has yet to receive os8....Thanks.
They do on a TiVo. So I'm assuming they would on the Roku.
kbmb is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off