Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 308 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9663Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9211 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
MA is Movies Anywhere. And that sums up the value of a digital version. I can be in a hotel across the country from home, but with my Roku Stick in the hotel TV I can watch titles that have at home. That is the main advantage, having the ability to watch something even if you don't have easy access to the physical disc.
Gotcha... I guess I should stop throwing those inserts away... LOL

Vizio M70-D3 | Marantz AV7702mkII | ARCAM P1000 | AppleTV 4K | Roku4 | OPPO UDP-203 | Tannoy Definition DC10A/DC8/DC6LCR | SVS SB2000 | Panamax M5300-PM
ToneGrinder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9212 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
@aaronwt : My meaning of reliable here is: If I see a coming title in 4k on a service such as VUDU, I expect to also buy it on UHD disc. That hasn't been the case for the last couple discs I've gotten.
as @atc98092 also added, the version of the content you want isn't always consistent between providers either.


When I talk about going back to DVD, or Blu-ray, I'm speaking from two prospectives:
1. with DVD, you don't need mess with smart devices, put in the disc and go. Good masters have picture and sound quality I'm happy with and I don't have to mess with firmware updates and smart updates / copy protection problems.
2. The second prospective is, content availability. As mentioned above, If I see something I'm interested in (say on VUDU), and it says it's in 4K UHD, I prepare to buy it on disc as that's my preferred format. Lately that hasn't been consistent for all releases.


This particular thread is directed to the 4K compatible ROKU devices. I have one, as well as other 4K devices from other vendors.


I keep bringing up the topic here because what i'm addressing isn't limited to one particular device, it's the whole set of new standards and the way the tech seems to be going.
My main point is, and has always been, If I can't use the new stuff in a way I want to deal with, or with the expected results I had going into it. Then I would rather use something I can depend on.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9213 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
sotwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 49
why can i not get Atmos via my roku ultra? Neither Netlfix (altered carbon) or Vudu will pass the signal to my Denon 6200. I play UHD discs fine with Atmo via my Oppo 203. I can get a 4K HDR picture but all i get is DD+ from my roku ultra. Any ideas?

Last edited by sotwell; 06-14-2018 at 02:04 PM.
sotwell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9214 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
sotwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotwell View Post
why can i not get Atmos via my roku ultra? Neither Netlfix (altered carbon) or Vudu will pass the signal to my Denon 6200. I play UHD discs fine with Atmo via my Oppo 203. I can get a 4K HDR picture but all i get is DD+ from my roku ultra. Any ideas?
Well in my research Netflix Atmos is only available either LG tv or xbox. Is true with Vudu as well?
sotwell is offline  
post #9215 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotwell View Post
Well in my research Netflix Atmos is only available either LG tv or xbox. Is true with Vudu as well?
I believe you are correct. Netflix only offers Atmos with those two devices. But I would expect Vudu to work with a Roku. But I've never had an Atmos system to try. I just replaced my bedroom AVR with one that supports 5.1.2, so I'll be experimenting with that some time soon.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9216 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
sotwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I believe you are correct. Netflix only offers Atmos with those two devices. But I would expect Vudu to work with a Roku. But I've never had an Atmos system to try. I just replaced my bedroom AVR with one that supports 5.1.2, so I'll be experimenting with that some time soon.
I have rented 2 UHD atmos movies on Vudu - Jumanji and Annihilation. Neither of those sent an Atmos signal to my receiver. But when i try the Atmos demo on Roku (leaf and Silent), my receiver receives that Atmos signal. I'm not sure what is wrong.
sotwell is offline  
post #9217 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:27 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,202
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8847 Post(s)
Liked: 5634
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
@aaronwt : My meaning of reliable here is: If I see a coming title in 4k on a service such as VUDU, I expect to also buy it on UHD disc. That hasn't been the case for the last couple discs I've gotten.
as @atc98092 also added, the version of the content you want isn't always consistent between providers either.


......
This has also been the case with HD content. Some titles were available from streaming in HD, yet not available on disc in HD. This is nothing new.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #9218 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:29 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,202
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8847 Post(s)
Liked: 5634
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotwell View Post
I have rented 2 UHD atmos movies on Vudu - Jumanji and Annihilation. Neither of those sent an Atmos signal to my receiver. But when i try the Atmos demo on Roku (leaf and Silent), my receiver receives that Atmos signal. I'm not sure what is wrong.
I have no problem getting Atmos from Vudu with my UHD titles. With both my Roku Ultra and Streaming Stick +.

And as was mentioned with Netflix, only LG TVs and Xbox currently have access to Netflix Atmos tracks. I will certainly be glad when Netflix expands Atmos to other devices. Because I hate having to use my XB1X to play back Netflix content with Atmos audio.
gwsat, Ted99 and galonzo like this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #9219 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,423
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4160 Post(s)
Liked: 2355
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotwell View Post
I have rented 2 UHD atmos movies on Vudu - Jumanji and Annihilation. Neither of those sent an Atmos signal to my receiver. But when i try the Atmos demo on Roku (leaf and Silent), my receiver receives that Atmos signal. I'm not sure what is wrong.
I've had the exact same experience with the Roku Ultra. Why would the Atmos demos work while the other movies on Vudu which carry Atmos audio not work?

lujan
490 Ultra HD
725 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #9220 of 11471 Old 06-14-2018, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
This has also been the case with HD content. Some titles were available from streaming in HD, yet not available on disc in HD. This is nothing new.
You are correct,in my experience, I've noticed that more with small studios vs large studios, and it was far less common for me to have a DVD vs a Blu-ray option. Now with UHD, I've noticed a couple times it's been a major studio.

At the end of the day it's not a big deal since I'm perfectly happy with blu-ray or DVD. I try to get UHD though, just to see the best quality as possible. I think what I'll do is stick with HD unless it's something I specifically want to see in UHD, and the media I want is available.

That goes for streaming too.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9221 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 01:51 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,594
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2086 Post(s)
Liked: 3964
Let’s stick to the Roku, please. Too many complaints about off-topic tangents.
bwaldron likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #9222 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 87
New to Roku Ultra & have a couple of questions. Maybe I'm not using it right. With nVidia Shield TV I could voice search pretty much anything. If I wanted to know a late night baseball score I'd just ask about my team & a lady would say the score + the box score on my screen. With Roku it texts it cannot find anything. It searches entertainment great but doesn't Roku search the net like Shield. Maybe something (app) isn't installed?

Also are 4k Spotlight, The Roku Channel, free services?

Man-Cave Home Theater: Sony VPL-VW385ES 4k Projector, CIH, 130" Stewart ScreenWall 2.35:1 1.3 gain, Denon AVR-X4400H, nVidia Shield TV (2017), Oppo BDP-203 Blu-ray Player, 6 - HSU HB-1 MK2 Front & Surrounds, 1 - HSU HC-1 MK2 Center, 4 - HIW-1 Horn In-Wall Speakers (ceiling mount), 2 - HSU VTF-15H Subwoofers.
Up stairs: LG OLED65C8PU, Roku Ultra, Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray Player.

Last edited by DERG; 06-15-2018 at 05:26 AM.
DERG is online now  
post #9223 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by DERG View Post
New to Roku Ultra & have a couple of questions. Maybe I'm not using it right. With nVidia Shield TV I could voice search pretty much anything. If I wanted to know a late night baseball score I'd just ask about my team & a lady would say the score + the box score on my screen. With Roku it texts it cannot find anything. It searches entertainment great but doesn't Roku search the net like Shield. Maybe something (app) isn't installed?

Also are 4k Spotlight, The Roku Channel, free services?
Roku doesn't really have a "smart assistant " like google, apple, or amazon do. The ROKU voice search is mainly for finding movies / tv shows. I don't think it really does anything else right now such as give scores, tell when things are on, etc.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9224 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 511
The Roku Channel and 4K Spotlight are both free channels. If I recall, Spotlight simply lists 4K content available on other services and will take you to them with a click. It provides no content itself.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9225 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Roku doesn't really have a "smart assistant " like google, apple, or amazon do. The ROKU voice search is mainly for finding movies / tv shows. I don't think it really does anything else right now such as give scores, tell when things are on, etc.
Okay. Thanks.

Man-Cave Home Theater: Sony VPL-VW385ES 4k Projector, CIH, 130" Stewart ScreenWall 2.35:1 1.3 gain, Denon AVR-X4400H, nVidia Shield TV (2017), Oppo BDP-203 Blu-ray Player, 6 - HSU HB-1 MK2 Front & Surrounds, 1 - HSU HC-1 MK2 Center, 4 - HIW-1 Horn In-Wall Speakers (ceiling mount), 2 - HSU VTF-15H Subwoofers.
Up stairs: LG OLED65C8PU, Roku Ultra, Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray Player.
DERG is online now  
post #9226 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
The Roku Channel and 4K Spotlight are both free channels. If I recall, Spotlight simply lists 4K content available on other services and will take you to them with a click. It provides no content itself.
Thanks.

Man-Cave Home Theater: Sony VPL-VW385ES 4k Projector, CIH, 130" Stewart ScreenWall 2.35:1 1.3 gain, Denon AVR-X4400H, nVidia Shield TV (2017), Oppo BDP-203 Blu-ray Player, 6 - HSU HB-1 MK2 Front & Surrounds, 1 - HSU HC-1 MK2 Center, 4 - HIW-1 Horn In-Wall Speakers (ceiling mount), 2 - HSU VTF-15H Subwoofers.
Up stairs: LG OLED65C8PU, Roku Ultra, Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray Player.
DERG is online now  
post #9227 of 11471 Old 06-15-2018, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
I have the ROKU channel installed as there are things I've found on it that I actually like. The 4K spotlight, I tried it for a while back when it was new, but just found it a waste of space. I think the only thing I've continued to pay for that I found there has been a subscription to Smithsonian Earth.


With that said, yes, i found it useful at least once, but beyond that. Not really.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9228 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 02:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 227
That question is better answered here https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...v-service.html

or any of the other service threads.
rockaway1836 is offline  
post #9229 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 03:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
I'll look at the thread, but I was more looking at this from a device comparison as well as service. I have both a Roku and Apple TV devices, and both have native support for my own cable provider as well as the third party services.
Granted, like I said Apple's support isn't coming until the fall when TVOS 12 is released. So, I was more looking for which device I should go with. The actual services, I have a good idea of their offerings and differences. Neither of them had exactly what I wanted when I tried the free trial, so that's why I never went with either for long term.


Thanks again, I'll just wait until the fall when i have better information to compare.
This is supposed to be a 4k Roku Premiere & Ultra owners thread. If you want to compare boxes start a new thread. I come here to read about issues and features of those devices. If I want to know about other devices, I go to that thread.

I don't think you intend to take things off topic, but you do it all the time. We have been through sound bars, Roku sticks, ATV comparisons, and now service providers.

I'm begging you to please, just stay on topic.
rockaway1836 is offline  
post #9230 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Anyone watch a lot of Vudu on the Roku Ultra? We do....and I have noticed in the past couple of months that there tends to be an audio issue where you start a program and you hear audio fine for 5-10 seconds, then the audio level will increase and stay increased. Seems to only happen on the Vudu app. This issue will re-occur anytime you pause the program and start again.
kbmb is online now  
post #9231 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Anyone watch a lot of Vudu on the Roku Ultra? We do....and I have noticed in the past couple of months that there tends to be an audio issue where you start a program and you hear audio fine for 5-10 seconds, then the audio level will increase and stay increased. Seems to only happen on the Vudu app. This issue will re-occur anytime you pause the program and start again.
I wonder if it's connected with the other audio issue I had when testing ROKUs on my bedroom setup where anything DD+ would take a few seconds to start playing ?


Here, again I find myself having to watch different content on different services. Mainly in my case it usually is a case of stereo vs 5.1 availability.


As a whole, VUDU has been pretty reliable for me. I don't notice the differences in volume as I use to (say last year).
MacinMan is offline  
post #9232 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I've had the exact same experience with the Roku Ultra. Why would the Atmos demos work while the other movies on Vudu which carry Atmos audio not work?
That’s really strange for me all Atmos works for me but the Atmos demos do not vudu roku ultra (2017).

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic ubp9000
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #9233 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
What are the requirements to get ATMOS from VUDU on the ROKU? would my current setup work? I know not lossless, so does it get transmitted over DD+, and will it pass over a standard DD 5.1 signal too? I really haven't checked to see if i'm getting it.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9234 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,423
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4160 Post(s)
Liked: 2355
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
What are the requirements to get ATMOS from VUDU on the ROKU? would my current setup work? I know not lossless, so does it get transmitted over DD+, and will it pass over a standard DD 5.1 signal too? I really haven't checked to see if i'm getting it.
I don't know since it's not working for me on the Roku but works with other devices such as the Shield TV. The only thing I can figure out is maybe it's because I have my Roku Ultra connected to the HDMI input of the Oppo UHD player. Although the Atmos demos still work under this configuration but the Atmos titles on Vudu are not working for me.

lujan
490 Ultra HD
725 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #9235 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
What are the requirements to get ATMOS from VUDU on the ROKU? would my current setup work? I know not lossless, so does it get transmitted over DD+, and will it pass over a standard DD 5.1 signal too? I really haven't checked to see if i'm getting it.
On the Roku's it is a DD+ encoded signal.

In Vudu do a search for Dolby Atmos and you will find some Dolby Lab shorts. While they play on my Atmos system, running them on my bedroom 2.1 soundbar yields no sound and a message incompatible system. YMMV.
naustin is offline  
post #9236 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't know since it's not working for me on the Roku but works with other devices such as the Shield TV. The only thing I can figure out is maybe it's because I have my Roku Ultra connected to the HDMI input of the Oppo UHD player. Although the Atmos demos still work under this configuration but the Atmos titles on Vudu are not working for me.
That's why I was curious because I don't know if it's working here or not. I don't have a receiver capable of ATMOS, but it sounds like to me, that you don't need one to use VUDU ATMOS via ROKU or any other device since it's not a lossless format.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9237 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
On the Roku's it is a DD+ encoded signal.

In Vudu do a search for Dolby Atmos and you will find some Dolby Lab shorts. While they play on my Atmos system, running them on my bedroom 2.1 soundbar yields no sound and a message incompatible system. YMMV.
@naustin , so If I can get a DD+ signal direct from ROKU to sound bar does that mean AtMOS is going to work ? I've been able to get DD+ output from ROKU in my 1080p setup but does it have to be 4k to get almost audio ?
MacinMan is offline  
post #9238 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't know since it's not working for me on the Roku but works with other devices such as the Shield TV. The only thing I can figure out is maybe it's because I have my Roku Ultra connected to the HDMI input of the Oppo UHD player. Although the Atmos demos still work under this configuration but the Atmos titles on Vudu are not working for me.
That has been my experience as well with a Roku Ultra going through an Oppo 203. I really try to avoid Vudu because it is so flaky. Quality varies from day to day on the same program. A real shame because the product has a good catalogue. Since I also have an ATV4K, i'm starting to use iTunes for Dolby Vision and soon Atmos.
naustin is offline  
post #9239 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,423
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4160 Post(s)
Liked: 2355
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
@naustin , so If I can get a DD+ signal direct from ROKU to sound bar does that mean AtMOS is going to work ? I've been able to get DD+ output from ROKU in my 1080p setup but does it have to be 4k to get almost audio ?
Not necessarily. The Dolby Atmos samples on Vudu are 1080p and not 4k so you don't need to have 4k on Vudu to get Atmos.
galonzo likes this.

lujan
490 Ultra HD
725 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #9240 of 11471 Old 06-16-2018, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
@naustin , so If I can get a DD+ signal direct from ROKU to sound bar does that mean AtMOS is going to work ? I've been able to get DD+ output from ROKU in my 1080p setup but does it have to be 4k to get almost audio ?
I don't think so but your mileage may vary. Atmos is audio so 1080i would be fine.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off