Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 323 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11176Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9661 of 13686 Old 07-06-2018, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 850
@Hetfieldjames : the answer is, if Vudu has a 4K title in HDR10, the Ultra supports it. I have watched The Last Jedi on both my Ultra and Sharp 4K Roku TV with HDR detected and displayed.

Roku does not support Dolby Vision with any device. But remember, for DV everything in your HDMI chain has to support DV. Not just the player, but the AVR and TV must also support it.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9662 of 13686 Old 07-07-2018, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 2158
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
...Roku does not support Dolby Vision with any device...
well, they do on their DV TVs
aaronwt likes this.

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #9663 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 04:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
well, they do on their DV TVs
Isn't their main focus now, on TVs vs the streaming boxes that are external devices ?
davcole likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9664 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 2158
@MacinMan ,that I couldn't tell you, however, it sure seems like it the way their external streamer firmware is going.

Main: XBR-85X950H | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield Pro | PS4 Pro | CCU
2nd: XBR-65X950G | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | TiVo Mini | ATV (4thGen)
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K | Roku P+ (4630)
FS - Dr. Strangelove (1964) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #9665 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@MacinMan ,that I couldn't tell you, however, it sure seems like it the way their external streamer firmware is going.
That's ok, I asked because that was impression I got from people when reading the quarterly report from Roku posted here a couple months back. No one has really confirmed it was for sure though.
galonzo likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9666 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 161
ROKU is going to focus on wherever and however they make the most money.

Which is why end users are last in their hierarchy of priorities.
roland6465 likes this.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #9667 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
ROKU is going to focus on wherever and however they make the most money.

Which is why end users are last in their hierarchy of priorities.
True for most companies !
roland6465 likes this.
rdgcss is offline  
post #9668 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 161
"True for most companies !"

Yep and that's my point. There's some that paint ROKU as birthed from Mother Theresa.

End users barely a blip on ROKU's radar.

The issues with 8.1 are coming out every day. Issues that as I read back a few pages some in this thread denied as if ROKU got it right this time. ROKU did not and they don't care if they do or do not.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #9669 of 13686 Old 07-08-2018, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
"True for most companies !"

Yep and that's my point. There's some that paint ROKU as birthed from Mother Theresa.

End users barely a blip on ROKU's radar.

The issues with 8.1 are coming out every day. Issues that as I read back a few pages some in this thread denied as if ROKU got it right this time. ROKU did not and they don't care if they do or do not.
Hey @jsmiddleton4 I see you got a new account. The Roku ever start working on your 4K 30Hz TV?
kbmb and galonzo like this.
naustin is offline  
post #9670 of 13686 Old 07-09-2018, 02:17 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,951
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9980 Post(s)
Liked: 6645
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
well, they do on their DV TVs
A Co-worker last week picked up a couple of the TCL UHD TVs with a ROku Interface. That also has Dolby VIsion. He said it was a great deal for the price.
galonzo likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #9671 of 13686 Old 07-09-2018, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Since I'm out of work for the rest of the year, I had time to email & talk to Amazon again regarding the dropping of HDR on our Rokus. I finally got someone from "leadership" to acknowledge that 1- it is a known issue, and 2- that "they are working on it." He even told me that it was included in his daily "list of issues" email. He was skimming it and kind of reading parts out loud, but he mentioned it affecting over 5000 streams.

Keep calling and emailing, folks... somebody is finally aware that this is a big issue with us enthusiasts.
aaronwt, Sgooter, galonzo and 1 others like this.

Sony 285ES, Carada 88" Criterion 1.1, Yamaha RX-A860, DT SM65 (2), DT CS8040, DT SR8040 (2), DT 6.5R (2), SVS SB2000, Oppo 203, ATV4K, Roku Stick+, Monoprice HDMI from AVR to all input devices, Sewell fiber from AVR to Sony projector
roland6465 is offline  
post #9672 of 13686 Old 07-09-2018, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
Since I'm out of work for the rest of the year, I had time to email & talk to Amazon again regarding the dropping of HDR on our Rokus. I finally got someone from "leadership" to acknowledge that 1- it is a known issue, and 2- that "they are working on it." He even told me that it was included in his daily "list of issues" email. He was skimming it and kind of reading parts out loud, but he mentioned it affecting over 5000 streams.

Keep calling and emailing, folks... somebody is finally aware that this is a big issue with us enthusiasts.
Hopefully out of work for good reasons

I did submit an email support request after posting on Twitter. They also acknowledged it was a problem and they are working on it. They are very polite in their support emails

Please be assured that this issue will be corrected as soon as possible and we will be with you till your issue is resolved.
I would really appreciate your time and patience while we fix the issue.


Here's hoping it's fixed soon.
galonzo likes this.
kbmb is offline  
post #9673 of 13686 Old 07-09-2018, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5205 Post(s)
Liked: 3218
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
Since I'm out of work for the rest of the year, I had time to email & talk to Amazon again regarding the dropping of HDR on our Rokus. I finally got someone from "leadership" to acknowledge that 1- it is a known issue, and 2- that "they are working on it." He even told me that it was included in his daily "list of issues" email. He was skimming it and kind of reading parts out loud, but he mentioned it affecting over 5000 streams.

Keep calling and emailing, folks... somebody is finally aware that this is a big issue with us enthusiasts.
If I could call and speak to this person I would but since most of the people answering these calls don't have any idea what's going on, I think I'll pass.
aaronwt likes this.

lujan
694 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #9674 of 13686 Old 07-09-2018, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
If I could call and speak to this person I would but since most of the people answering these calls don't have any idea what's going on, I think I'll pass.
Ask to speak to Prime App Leadership. It may take a a transfer or two, but you get to someone eventually. You have to actually try.

Don't worry, others are taking care of this for you.
Lend27 likes this.
roland6465 is offline  
post #9675 of 13686 Old 07-09-2018, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
jsb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Comcast doesn't have a limit here in the DC area. Thanks to heavy competition from Verizon and others.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
Something screwy with Comcast. Our family always used around 500 gb at the very most a month. Switch our cable and internet package to a lower tier, and now we have magically gone over 1000 gb 2 months in a row
jsb75 is online now  
post #9676 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Just got caught up on the recent posts Good ot hear Amazon is being pro active on fixing the HDR issues. While it's not a big deal to me, I am glad people that it matters to will get resolve at some point.


I bought the Justice League movie today that's been out for a while, and It's finally something else that HDR makes a difference for. Currently watching it from the UHD disc, but will test the streaming version later, and compare it to the SDR Blu-ray version.
I also found out that if it's a movies Anywhere title, I don't even need to follow the instructions on the card included. I can just plug the code directly into my MA account which is nice. Then it's not through a specific retailer, and it goes to all connected accounts.


As far as my initial bugs with the 8.1 update, while they still exist in the code, I've been able to change settings so they don't show up in my setup(s)
MacinMan is offline  
post #9677 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,951
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1058 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
Something screwy with Comcast. Our family always used around 500 gb at the very most a month. Switch our cable and internet package to a lower tier, and now we have magically gone over 1000 gb 2 months in a row
With net neutrality gone they can say any damn thing they want to fleece the public

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
post #9678 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,794
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
Something screwy with Comcast. Our family always used around 500 gb at the very most a month. Switch our cable and internet package to a lower tier, and now we have magically gone over 1000 gb 2 months in a row
I never come close to my cap. I can get (almost) real time use both by count and graphically from my ISP. I use a Netgear router and it has metering with optional warnings. It does sound screwy.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #9679 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,794
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
Something screwy with Comcast. Our family always used around 500 gb at the very most a month. Switch our cable and internet package to a lower tier, and now we have magically gone over 1000 gb 2 months in a row
My ISP has (almost) real time display of my usage. I use a Netgear router which also has metering and can send me alerts. Something does sound screwy.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #9680 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 182
So I wanted to listen to the Tune In radio channel on my Roku Ultra and noticed it had been updated. So I logged in and selected the station I wanted to listen to and noticed that after about 10 minutes the floating "Roku" icon that used to pop up and move around the screen wasn't coming appearing. The station info was still being displayed. I know the screensaver setting doesn't really control this even though I have it set to 1 minute but considering image retention and burn in possibilities on my 4K Sony it seems I won't be using this channel anymore if it stays this way. Is this another problem with the recent update or is this a Tune In channel problem. Tried finding some info but couldn't. Curious is anyone else has noticed this. Thanks.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #9681 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbhur212 View Post
So I wanted to listen to the Tune In radio channel on my Roku Ultra and noticed it had been updated. So I logged in and selected the station I wanted to listen to and noticed that after about 10 minutes the floating "Roku" icon that used to pop up and move around the screen wasn't coming appearing. The station info was still being displayed. I know the screensaver setting doesn't really control this even though I have it set to 1 minute but considering image retention and burn in possibilities on my 4K Sony it seems I won't be using this channel anymore if it stays this way. Is this another problem with the recent update or is this a Tune In channel problem. Tried finding some info but couldn't. Curious is anyone else has noticed this. Thanks.
My guess it's related to the update. Screensaver / standby is hit or miss with the 8.1 update. Does your TV have an option to turn off the screen? You could try that, my TVs both have a setting where I can turn off the Screen but still listen to music. I usually don't use it because screen saver usually works while TV is on, but you could try it if Screen saver isn't working for you. You'll still get the music but eliminate your concern for burn in.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9682 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
Something screwy with Comcast. Our family always used around 500 gb at the very most a month. Switch our cable and internet package to a lower tier, and now we have magically gone over 1000 gb 2 months in a row
w

We tend to stream a lot more during the summer months when cable channels are in re-run mode. If you have children they are at home during the day & surfing the Net is rampant. Change your WiFi password, maybe a neighbor is taking a free ride at your expense
galonzo likes this.
rdgcss is offline  
post #9683 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
There is an Amazon Video update, and it seems to have fixed HDR. The title I test, played in HDR again, after applying the update. Can others confirm ?
aaronwt, galonzo and Hetfieldjames like this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9684 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1985 Post(s)
Liked: 1271
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
There is an Amazon Video update, and it seems to have fixed HDR. The title I test, played in HDR again, after applying the update. Can others confirm ?
I hope you are correct! I'm gonna check it out when I get home from work.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is offline  
post #9685 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
I hope you are correct! I'm gonna check it out when I get home from work.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Keep in mind, I don't have a Prime account / subscription, but I have the Movie "Jumanji" in my video library, and it enables HDR again. I have both versions, the original, and remake. To make sure you get the updated channel before your test, do a software update check in system settings. FYI, I tried the New Jumanji, will also test the classic one: Only the recent release Has a UHD badge on it, and triggers HDR. I checked the TV settings and it had the HDR badge on screen. So hoping it's fixed for others as well.
galonzo likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9686 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
There is an Amazon Video update, and it seems to have fixed HDR. The title I test, played in HDR again, after applying the update. Can others confirm ?
Yes! Got the Amazon App update today on my 2016 Ultra and Stick Plus. The Ultra is on an HDR Display. Tested A Very English Scandal and it is now in HDR10 on the Roku. Only took Amazon 2-3 weeks to fix it.
aaronwt and galonzo like this.
naustin is offline  
post #9687 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Yes! Got the Amazon App update today on my 2016 Ultra and Stick Plus. The Ultra is on an HDR Display. Tested A Very English Scandal and it is now in HDR10 on the Roku. Only took Amazon 2-3 weeks to fix it.
Weeks?!? Try 2 months plus since HDR disappeared. I've been on them for at least a month.
roland6465 is offline  
post #9688 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Yes! Got the Amazon App update today on my 2016 Ultra and Stick Plus. The Ultra is on an HDR Display. Tested A Very English Scandal and it is now in HDR10 on the Roku. Only took Amazon 2-3 weeks to fix it.
Maybe it's just me, but Navigation also felt smoother and more responsive with this update. Amazon was never really slow, but at time's it's felt sluggish compared to other services, and apps.
MacinMan is offline  
post #9689 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Not sure what you mean about new account naustin.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #9690 of 13686 Old 07-10-2018, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 161
“with net neutrality gone...”

Wow, drinking koolaid?

It had nothing to do with a neutral net. Glad the attempt for government control failed.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off