Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 352 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9691Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10531 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,580
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4279 Post(s)
Liked: 2411
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Do you have a 2017 Ultra? That's the only one of my devices that got the update yesterday. Streaming Stick+ is a 2017 model, so it will probably get the update before the 2016 and older units.
No, I have the 2016 Ultra.

lujan
506 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10532 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
No, I have the 2016 Ultra.
OK, as I said yesterday, the only device in my ownership that got the update was my 2017 Ultra. Since no one other then @atc98092 , responded as he had been beta testing: I would assume no one else on the thread has been offered the update yet for anything.

My Roku that updated seems to be rock solid, no issues to date.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10533 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
I noticed in the Roku forum this morning that they haven't enabled it for manual update yet, so they must be targeting specific players for now. Given the problems that happened with the 8.0 rollout, I can understand them being cautious. But I hope they don't take too long to get it out.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10534 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Can you list the new Roku firmware #. I'd like to see if mine has been updated.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
After doing some poking around: Certain things are faster to respond, and the UI has some changes. At least in the Roku Default theme.


Beyond that, have seen much difference, did see a new option in settings about automatic sign out.
It appears Roku is rolling out to new devices first. Only my 2017 Ultra got the update, neither 2016 device has yet.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is online now  
post #10535 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Can you list the new Roku firmware #. I'd like to see if mine has been updated.
The version number I have is 9.0.0 Build 4039 (2017 Ultra only) so far.
tngiloy likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10536 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,222
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1243 Post(s)
Liked: 1240
I'll be glad when the audio leveling feature arrives on my Premiere+. It can be jarring at times while watching Comedy Central shows and the commercials come on.

Quote:
Key Roku OS 9 features:
Automatic Volume Leveling – This feature enables a uniform audio level across various types of content, so it will no longer feel jarring when a commercial comes on or when streaming channels are changed. This feature can be turned on/off within the Volume Mode setting that appears in the options menu after pressing the Star button “*” during video playback. Automatic Volume Leveling is available on select Roku streaming players and Roku TV models. Click here for more information on Automatic Volume Leveling and supported devices.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #10537 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 152 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Its really strange no atmos from prime,Jack Ryan or any Netflix atmos shows,but getting hdr. I am getting atmos from vudu. Tried reset unplugging,pulling out hdmi chord etc. using all premium certified cables. The roku is going through my lgg7p which passes dv atmos etc it’s fine on lg WebObjects app. I am on 8.1.0 firmware. And used to get it .
I'm getting Atmos for Jack Ryan on my 2016 P+

To get Atmos on Prime, you need to be sure you're watching the UHD version (easiest way to add UHD stuff to your watchlist is to find it on instawatcher.com, make sure you filter by UHD by checking the UHD box), and Netflix does not support Atmos on Rokus (yet).
gwsat and naustin like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #10538 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,851
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1632 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Quick question I have roku ultra 2017 model haven’t used it for awhile. On amazon prime are any of you getting jack Ryan in hdr and atmos and the same with Netflix hdr Dolby Atmos. Thanks. I’m still getting atmos on vudu but not prime or Netflix on my roku
The HDR version on Jack Ryan has Atmos. It is the only Amazon show with Atmos as far as I know for now. Netflix still doesn't do Atmos on the Roku.
gwsat and galonzo like this.
naustin is offline  
post #10539 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,942
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4424 Post(s)
Liked: 5732
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
I'm getting Atmos for Jack Ryan on my 2016 P+

To get Atmos on Prime, you need to be sure you're watching the UHD version (easiest way to add UHD stuff to your watchlist is to find it on instawatcher.com, make sure you filter by UHD by checking the UHD box), and Netflix does not support Atmos on Rokus (yet).
This is a point worth reinforcing. When it comes to finding UHD HDR content, Amazon Prime's user interface is so brutally unintuitive, it always makes sense to look for such content using the terrific Instant Watcher site, which @galonzo posted a link to in the post that I have quoted. Maybe Prime will join the 21st Century one of these days but it doesn't seem close to it yet.
aaronwt and galonzo like this.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is online now  
post #10540 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
@aaronwt , I saw you mention on the sony UHD disc player thread that even for HDR / 4K content the mentioned unit outputs only 8-bit color. What do the Roku units output? are they full 10-bit, or are they 8-bit as well ?
MacinMan is offline  
post #10541 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Does the volume leveling feature default to off?

I'll need to check my TCL TV, Ultra, and STreaming Stick+ to see if they have the update tonight.
Yes. Volume leveling is off by default. Found in advanced audio settings>>volume mode. While in content, open with the * button. There's off, leveling, and night options.

When leveling is set, there's a reset normal sound settings below it. I have no idea what that is? I reset it anyway...

2017 Roku Ultra 4660 here.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
aaronwt likes this.
brotony is offline  
post #10542 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
I went into VUDU this afternoon on my Roku to watch a movie, VUDU has the original Casper movie "HDX quality" for $4.99 if anyone wants to catch the deal. I got it because I only had the DVD and it was full frame so this was a nice quality upgrade, and it's MoviesAnywhere, so it will of course populate to all liked accounts.
aaronwt likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10543 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 152 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
@aaronwt , I saw you mention on the sony UHD disc player thread that even for HDR / 4K content the mentioned unit outputs only 8-bit color. What do the Roku units output? are they full 10-bit, or are they 8-bit as well ?
I've clocked my 2016 P+ outputting 12bit for Amazon, and I believe it has also sent out 10bit as well.
aaronwt likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #10544 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 01:47 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,312
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8912 Post(s)
Liked: 5695
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
@aaronwt , I saw you mention on the sony UHD disc player thread that even for HDR / 4K content the mentioned unit outputs only 8-bit color. What do the Roku units output? are they full 10-bit, or are they 8-bit as well ?
The Sony x800 outputs 12 bit. if you have it setup properly. Which means having Deep Color set on. Otherwise it only outputs 8 bit.
My Rokus output 10bit with 2160P60 output, using the 420 colorspace.

I would guess at 2160P24 it's outputting 12 bit at 422. I'll need to check mine tonight to see.

53TB unRAID2--49TB unRAID3--43TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #10545 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The Sony x800 outputs 12 bit. if you have it setup properly. Which means having Deep Color set on. Otherwise it only outputs 8 bit.
My Rokus output 10bit with 2160P60 output, using the 420 colorspace.

I would guess at 2160P24 it's outputting 12 bit at 422. I'll need to check mine tonight to see.
That's right, I forgot you said 12-bit, or 8-bit. I have my ROKU set to 4.2.0, so it's probably 10-bit.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10546 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,099
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
The HDR version on Jack Ryan has Atmos. It is the only Amazon show with Atmos as far as I know for now. Netflix still doesn't do Atmos on the Roku.
Really strange it plays in hdr but no atmos the roku is set right get atmos on vudu but not prime jack Ryan. I get it from penny 820 uhd player prime and lg g7 OLED app.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic ubp9000
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #10547 of 11521 Old 10-24-2018, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,851
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1632 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Really strange it plays in hdr but no atmos the roku is set right get atmos on vudu but not prime jack Ryan. I get it from penny 820 uhd player prime and lg g7 OLED app.
Yes unusual. You are playing the Roku into the Samsung N950 and I'm playing the 2016 Roku Ultra through my Oppo 203 into a Samsung K950.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #10548 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I noticed in the Roku forum this morning that they haven't enabled it for manual update yet, so they must be targeting specific players for now. Given the problems that happened with the 8.0 rollout, I can understand them being cautious. But I hope they don't take too long to get it out.

Personally, I can wait a long time for the update on my 2016 Ultra. It took over a year of bug after bug (plus one replacement unit) before my Ultra finally stabilized a couple of months ago. I'm afraid what Roku's terrible software engineering group will do to my device with OS9. I wish I could block firmware upgrades.
oldsteve likes this.
Scott M is offline  
post #10549 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 07:04 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,312
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8912 Post(s)
Liked: 5695
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Really strange it plays in hdr but no atmos the roku is set right get atmos on vudu but not prime jack Ryan. I get it from penny 820 uhd player prime and lg g7 OLED app.
I tried Jack Ryan last night and got atmos audio from it. Just like I did on the launch weekend of the show.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
gwsat and galonzo like this.

53TB unRAID2--49TB unRAID3--43TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #10550 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,099
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I tried Jack Ryan last night and got atmos audio from it. Just like I did on the launch weekend of the show.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
Just checking do you have thr roku going direct into soundbar, mine is going directly to oledg7 tv an going through arc to tv the tv passes atmos and dv over arc with no issue and vudu works fine with atmos this way. I might just switch direct into my N950 and see if it makes a difference.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic ubp9000
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #10551 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott M View Post
Personally, I can wait a long time for the update on my 2016 Ultra. It took over a year of bug after bug (plus one replacement unit) before my Ultra finally stabilized a couple of months ago. I'm afraid what Roku's terrible software engineering group will do to my device with OS9. I wish I could block firmware upgrades.
Scott, if it's any comfort to you, I usually experience at least some bugs with major upgrades sometimes point releases as well. OS 9 on my 2017 Ultra seems to be pretty solid, There are a couple issues that are still there, but they were there for a while. And they are Plex specific, not Roku.
I've used the Roku quite a bit this morning without issues.
Scott M likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10552 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I noticed in the Roku forum this morning that they haven't enabled it for manual update yet, so they must be targeting specific players for now. Given the problems that happened with the 8.0 rollout, I can understand them being cautious. But I hope they don't take too long to get it out.
I wonder, in the past I've messaged people like RokuDale, to help fix bugs, even though I'm not a beta tester, officially. When I did, I gave him my 2017 Roku information such as serial etc.


I wonder if they kept that on file thinking I would help find bugs in early release roll outs so they include my box in roll out, or maybe it was just chance that I happened to get it.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10553 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 01:06 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,312
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8912 Post(s)
Liked: 5695
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Just checking do you have thr roku going direct into soundbar, mine is going directly to oledg7 tv an going through arc to tv the tv passes atmos and dv over arc with no issue and vudu works fine with atmos this way. I might just switch direct into my N950 and see if it makes a difference.
My Rokus are going through a receiver/speaker bar first. I get 7.1 DD+ from the non-Atmos speaker Bar. And Atmos from the receiver. And with my TCL TV, with the ROku OS, it sends Atmos over the ARC to my receiver for jack Ryan.
galonzo likes this.

53TB unRAID2--49TB unRAID3--43TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 10-25-2018 at 01:22 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #10554 of 11521 Old 10-25-2018, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,099
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
My Rokus are going through a receiver/speaker bar first. I get 7.1 DD+ from the non-Atmos speaker Bar. And Atmos from the receiver. And with my TCL TV, with the ROku OS, it sends Atmos over the ARC to my receiver for jack Ryan.
Thanks I’ll keep fooling with it till I get it right.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic ubp9000
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #10555 of 11521 Old 10-27-2018, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Just Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So, people here aren't getting the OS9 update? I have a recently purchased 4660x and have not seen the update yet. What does the typical Roku rollout time line look like?
Just Mark is offline  
post #10556 of 11521 Old 10-27-2018, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott M View Post
Personally, I can wait a long time for the update on my 2016 Ultra. It took over a year of bug after bug (plus one replacement unit) before my Ultra finally stabilized a couple of months ago. I'm afraid what Roku's terrible software engineering group will do to my device with OS9. I wish I could block firmware upgrades.
The version they released publicly is the same version I have on my 2016 Ultra from beta testing. For me, it's working fine, but then I mainly use Amazon, YouTube and Roku Media Player, and it's not connected to a 4K TV at this time. The 4K set gets the Shield, since that's the only one with the AVR with Atmos decoding. H.262 playback works perfectly, as long as native framerate is disabled. Otherwise it plays back with a jitter.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10557 of 11521 Old 10-27-2018, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Mark View Post
So, people here aren't getting the OS9 update? I have a recently purchased 4660x and have not seen the update yet. What does the typical Roku rollout time line look like?
If they discover an issue with the initial release, they will hold off updating any more until they've identified the issue. If there's no real problems reported, I would expect everyone to have it by the end of Nov. Why they take that long, no idea. But they do tend to be more cautious now.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10558 of 11521 Old 10-27-2018, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
If they discover an issue with the initial release, they will hold off updating any more until they've identified the issue. If there's no real problems reported, I would expect everyone to have it by the end of Nov. Why they take that long, no idea. But they do tend to be more cautious now.
I've been using my Ultra with OS 9, on a regular basis, and haven't experienced any issues. Seems Rock solid. Have used various channels and sources. Audio seems flawless as well, other then the long standing Plex issue with DTS and Mpeg2Video, but that's existed for a while now, and seems to be specific to Plex. Since the Roku isn't a reliable device in this use case, I use the Apple TV, or watch the movie from physical media.


So, with that said, the Roku has been solid, for what it's good at.
MacinMan is offline  
post #10559 of 11521 Old 10-27-2018, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3767 Post(s)
Liked: 3458
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
If they discover an issue with the initial release, they will hold off updating any more until they've identified the issue. If there's no real problems reported, I would expect everyone to have it by the end of Nov. Why they take that long, no idea. But they do tend to be more cautious now.
My guess is that it takes that long because given that Roku has so many different models with different hardware in them that if one particular model has problems they can focus their energy on that particular model instead of trying to address issues with many models all at once. As a large part of Roku's business is delivering eyeballs to advertisers Roku wants to keep all those old legacy products in service as long as possible, more eyeballs, more money.
Keenan is offline  
post #10560 of 11521 Old 10-27-2018, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,890
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1654 Post(s)
Liked: 972
Hey guys I just upgraded to Atmos but I'm not getting Atmos from Jack Ryan on Amazon on my Roku Ultra. Any reason for that? Setting or something else?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off