Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 373 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9764Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11161 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 06:28 AM
Member
 
GriffM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No 5.1 Audio on Vudu/Netflix Through Roku Ultra

Any help here would be appreciated. I have my Roku Ultra (4660x2) hooked up via HDMI to my Yamaha RXV473. The Yamaha displays Dolby Digital +, but the audio is only coming through L R and Subwoofer, and the display on the Yamaha shows only those speakers as well. I tried movies on both Netflix and Vudu and the result is the same. I have a ticket into Roku, but I figured I'd try here in case anyone else has seen this as well. If it helps, the Roku is new and this is the first time I really used it.

Thanks,
Mark
GriffM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11162 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by GriffM View Post
Any help here would be appreciated. I have my Roku Ultra (4660x2) hooked up via HDMI to my Yamaha RXV473. The Yamaha displays Dolby Digital +, but the audio is only coming through L R and Subwoofer, and the display on the Yamaha shows only those speakers as well. I tried movies on both Netflix and Vudu and the result is the same. I have a ticket into Roku, but I figured I'd try here in case anyone else has seen this as well. If it helps, the Roku is new and this is the first time I really used it.

Thanks,
Mark
Make sure the Ultra's HDMI input on your receiver is set up correctly.
My Emotiva allows for different processing when it receives a 2.0 or a 5.1 signal. If that input is is set to send out stereo for 5.1 input, it will downmix 5.1 to stereo.
If it's set to send a stereo signal out as 5.1 to 7.1, then it will matrix it up to 7.1. Make sure your receiver is to something that will matrix up to 5.1 like DD5.1, DTS 5.1 or DD-PLIIx if you have 7.1 speakers. Not a 'direct' or 'stereo' setting.
Mine is set to send out PLIIx for 2.0 and 5.1 and I get sound from all my speakers.
galonzo likes this.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #11163 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Does anyone here happen to know if any of the Indiana Jones movies were released in HDR? Raiders of the Lost Ark recently showed up on Netflix for me, and I've been using the Roku to watch it there, checked Vudu and it's only HDX, and it's not MoviesAnywhere, or UV. Was just curious if they ever put it on UHD blu-ray. As popular as the movies were, I would have expected to see it by now, but maybe I missed the release, if there was one.
MacinMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11164 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
You Tube TV and Roku Ultra

Hello. If this has been asked before, I apologize for the duplication. I have a Roku Ultra, 2017 edition connected to my Denon AVR-930S. I recently subscribed to You Tube TV, and discovered that I only get 2.1 audio while watching You Tube TV through the app on the Ultra. The settings on my Ultra are correct as everything else plays the appropriate audio track for the other apps I use on the Ultra.

When I watch You Tube TV directly through the app on my Vizio E70-F3, I get 5.1 audio on both live tv and recorded shows as well.

Has anyone experienced this and do you know of a possible fix?

Thanks in advance.
posman53 is offline  
post #11165 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Does anyone here happen to know if any of the Indiana Jones movies were released in HDR? Raiders of the Lost Ark recently showed up on Netflix for me, and I've been using the Roku to watch it there, checked Vudu and it's only HDX, and it's not MoviesAnywhere, or UV. Was just curious if they ever put it on UHD blu-ray. As popular as the movies were, I would have expected to see it by now, but maybe I missed the release, if there was one.
Just search Amazon for their 4K titles, and none of them are listed. The only Harrison Ford UHD titles are Blade Runner (both), some Tom Clancy Chinese titles, and a few others. If it's not available on Amazon, it's probably not available.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #11166 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 09:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Does anyone here happen to know if any of the Indiana Jones movies were released in HDR? Raiders of the Lost Ark recently showed up on Netflix for me, and I've been using the Roku to watch it there, checked Vudu and it's only HDX, and it's not MoviesAnywhere, or UV. Was just curious if they ever put it on UHD blu-ray. As popular as the movies were, I would have expected to see it by now, but maybe I missed the release, if there was one.

Nope. 1080p SDR is the best there is at present.
roland6465 is offline  
post #11167 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 12:37 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8964 Post(s)
Liked: 5740
Quote:
Originally Posted by posman53 View Post
Hello. If this has been asked before, I apologize for the duplication. I have a Roku Ultra, 2017 edition connected to my Denon AVR-930S. I recently subscribed to You Tube TV, and discovered that I only get 2.1 audio while watching You Tube TV through the app on the Ultra. The settings on my Ultra are correct as everything else plays the appropriate audio track for the other apps I use on the Ultra.

When I watch You Tube TV directly through the app on my Vizio E70-F3, I get 5.1 audio on both live tv and recorded shows as well.

Has anyone experienced this and do you know of a possible fix?

Thanks in advance.
stereo audio is the norm from youtube TV. I know that is what all my devices sent when I tried it out a few weeks ago. But at least all the info is there in the signal. So a receiver can properly apply post processing.
galonzo likes this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11168 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1641
@posman53 , @aaronwt is right; YT is stereo only across all platforms; it sounds like your TV is up-mixing before output.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #11169 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 05:37 PM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Any hints or rumors if Roku will ever add Dolby Vision to their stb's I know the Roku Tv has it....But if the 4k firestick ,google chromecast and ATV4 can do it,Roku needs to up their game.

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is online now  
post #11170 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
Any hints or rumors if Roku will ever add Dolby Vision to their stb's I know the Roku Tv has it....But if the 4k firestick ,google chromecast and ATV4 can do it,Roku needs to up their game.
Only certain brands of Roku TVs have it. My Sharp doesn't. AS to any hints, Roku never seems to announce anything prior to release. They never talk about future plans, unfortunately. I wish they would offer a top end streamer with Gigabit Ethernet, lossless audio bitstreaming, and support for image based captions. That would bury the Shield for people that aren't interested in the gaming abilities of the Shield, and certainly be able to beat Nvidia's price point.
oldsteve likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #11171 of 11635 Old 01-05-2019, 07:20 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8964 Post(s)
Liked: 5740
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
Any hints or rumors if Roku will ever add Dolby Vision to their stb's I know the Roku Tv has it....But if the 4k firestick ,google chromecast and ATV4 can do it,Roku needs to up their game.
Roku usually comes out with new products in the autumn. So If they need a new product for DV, then I would expect it to be awhile. But if they can upgrade some existing hardware then it could be sooner. But then for them to upgrade, it would cost a bunch of money in licensing fees to Dolby. And I really don't see any incentive for them to do that.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11172 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 11:24 AM
Member
 
ck42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Question No DD+ -> DD transcoding on 4660

Just noticed that my Roku 4660R is only giving me PCM 2.0 audio.
Did some searching and it appears that the 4660 maybe lost its ability to transcode DD+ to DD and that the only model that still supports it is the older 4640.

This seems really odd to me with the 4660 being the flagship model.
Anyone know if this was intentional?
Should we be expecting a fix to provide the transcoding on the 4660?

If it's never going to happen, then I'll need to look at another box to replace the Roku..which I'd hate to do. Love the Roku otherwise.
ck42 is offline  
post #11173 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck42 View Post
Just noticed that my Roku 4660R is only giving me PCM 2.0 audio.
Did some searching and it appears that the 4660 maybe lost its ability to transcode DD+ to DD and that the only model that still supports it is the older 4640.

This seems really odd to me with the 4660 being the flagship model.
Anyone know if this was intentional?
Should we be expecting a fix to provide the transcoding on the 4660?

If it's never going to happen, then I'll need to look at another box to replace the Roku..which I'd hate to do. Love the Roku otherwise.
The 4660 was never able to decode DD+ to DD. Other than the TVs, no Roku other than the 4640 has ever had a DD decoder. All they can do is passthrough via HDMI (or optical if equipped) the DD+ stream to a supporting device, such as an AVR or soundbar.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #11174 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 01:10 PM
Member
 
ck42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So then I guess maybe another option would be to upgrade my receiver to one that supports DD+, right?
Been wanting to do this anyway to one that supports 4K, now that I have a 4K TV.
aaronwt and galonzo like this.
ck42 is offline  
post #11175 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Sounds like a plan. Just make sure it supports HDCP 2.2 and HDMI 2.0 or you'll have issues with 4K.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #11176 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 01:33 PM
Member
 
ck42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yep, planning on the Denon 3500h, which supports both of those. Just waiting on another good sale to come up now.
ck42 is offline  
post #11177 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
ck42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Okay, quick update. Just realized that my existing Denon 2112ci already supports DD+

So theoretically then, I should be able to to use DD+ with my 4660 Roku, right? Any configurations on the Roku or Denon side that need to be set to make this work?
ck42 is offline  
post #11178 of 11635 Old 01-13-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck42 View Post
Okay, quick update. Just realized that my existing Denon 2112ci already supports DD+

So theoretically then, I should be able to to use DD+ with my 4660 Roku, right? Any configurations on the Roku or Denon side that need to be set to make this work?
You shouldn't have to configure anything, I would think. With my Yamaha AVRs, I just feed the audio via HDMI and it does the rest. I have no experience with Denon, so can't say if it needs a particular setting to take whatever is being fed in. You might look for a mode labeled Straight, or something similar. Just don't use any of the artificial sound fields, as who knows what those do to the original sound. Just make sure you don't go into some mode that turns off all audio processing, as that would disable any room EQ you have done.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #11179 of 11635 Old 01-14-2019, 06:12 AM
Member
 
ck42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So with the Neflix app, I *am* seeing DD on the receiver. Hulu still shows PCM stereo though. Looked all through the Hulu app and couldn't find anything to change that made any difference.
ck42 is offline  
post #11180 of 11635 Old 01-14-2019, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck42 View Post
So with the Neflix app, I *am* seeing DD on the receiver. Hulu still shows PCM stereo though. Looked all through the Hulu app and couldn't find anything to change that made any difference.
Hulu is only 2.0 audio still on the Roku. Hoping at some point they add Roku to the 5.1 list:
https://help.hulu.com/en-us/sound-quality

You can change your receiver to at least simulate Dolby Surround for that to improve it. Works for us and sounds good enough for most standard TV shows.
galonzo likes this.
kbmb is offline  
post #11181 of 11635 Old 01-14-2019, 06:49 AM
Member
 
ck42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yea, I'd seen that page...but I think what didn't sink in was that the content that they DO have in 5.1 is only supported on those listed device types. I was focusing on the content type and assuming it should mean that the 5.1 content would work on the Roku. So really 2 requirements: Has to be supported 5.1 content...and has to be fed to a supported device. Bummer.
I actually find it rather shocking that something like the Roku wasn't at the top of their list for having as a supported device. I would venture to guess that it's more popular than any of the other device types listed, except maybe the 2 gaming consoles.
ck42 is offline  
post #11182 of 11635 Old 01-14-2019, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Angry

My info to Roku Support: I have a JVC DLA-X750R projector. I purchased the Roku Ultra to view HDR content which I am able to view on my Sony UHD-BD player (Netflix) but I prefer to view all streaming content on the Roku, however the Roku insists it can't set up 4K 60 hz. I can force it but it still won't play Netflix with HDR. It now works no differently than my Roku 4. I believe part of the problem is the fact the projector handshake takes forever (about 10 seconds) and this isn't enough to satisfy the Roku. What can be done to fix my issue?

Their reply: We understand your concern, the Roku device is recommended to be connected with the TV and not with the projectors. The device will perform as per the HDMI port compatibility from the TV. If the device/TV supports 4K 60HZ, you will be able to watch and it also depends upon the content given the channel.

It sure would have been nice to be aware of this at any point prior to all the installation hassles. I hope this helps with someone who is having similar issues and still banging their heads against the wall trying to get it to work.
RagtopFE likes this.
chazrr is offline  
post #11183 of 11635 Old 01-14-2019, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by chazrr View Post
My info to Roku Support: I have a JVC DLA-X750R projector. I purchased the Roku Ultra to view HDR content which I am able to view on my Sony UHD-BD player (Netflix) but I prefer to view all streaming content on the Roku, however the Roku insists it can't set up 4K 60 hz. I can force it but it still won't play Netflix with HDR. It now works no differently than my Roku 4. I believe part of the problem is the fact the projector handshake takes forever (about 10 seconds) and this isn't enough to satisfy the Roku. What can be done to fix my issue?

Their reply: We understand your concern, the Roku device is recommended to be connected with the TV and not with the projectors. The device will perform as per the HDMI port compatibility from the TV. If the device/TV supports 4K 60HZ, you will be able to watch and it also depends upon the content given the channel.

It sure would have been nice to be aware of this at any point prior to all the installation hassles. I hope this helps with someone who is having similar issues and still banging their heads against the wall trying to get it to work.
Just a guess, but it might be due to the length of your HDMI cable to the projector. The Ultra is more sensitive to cable quality and length than the 4. When I replaced my 4 with an Ultra, the cable I was using with no issues would not work at all at 4K with the Ultra. It has to be a quality 18 Gbps certified cable, and once the length gets beyond 10 feet or so problems can occur. So I would suggest you experiment with the Roku connected directly to the projector with a shorter cable, just to see if you now get 4K/60 successfully. If you do, then it's your cable run.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #11184 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,274
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by chazrr View Post
My info to Roku Support: I have a JVC DLA-X750R projector. I purchased the Roku Ultra to view HDR content which I am able to view on my Sony UHD-BD player (Netflix) but I prefer to view all streaming content on the Roku, however the Roku insists it can't set up 4K 60 hz. I can force it but it still won't play Netflix with HDR. It now works no differently than my Roku 4. I believe part of the problem is the fact the projector handshake takes forever (about 10 seconds) and this isn't enough to satisfy the Roku. What can be done to fix my issue?

Their reply: We understand your concern, the Roku device is recommended to be connected with the TV and not with the projectors. The device will perform as per the HDMI port compatibility from the TV. If the device/TV supports 4K 60HZ, you will be able to watch and it also depends upon the content given the channel.

It sure would have been nice to be aware of this at any point prior to all the installation hassles. I hope this helps with someone who is having similar issues and still banging their heads against the wall trying to get it to work.
That's an idiotic non-answer from Roku.

I'm having the same issue with my Roku Ultra. It defaults to 4k HDR 30hz, and it will not work at 4k HDR 60hz. I tried playing an HDR show on Netflix, and somehow it ended up outputting 1080p60 HDR. My Chromecast Ultra and UHD BD player both work fine, and I swapped HDMI cables with my UHD BD player just to make sure it wasn't a cable issue, same problem. I am feeding a Denon X3400H which is feeding a Samsung JS850D (JS8500 BJs/Costco version), and everything else works fine. For now, I'm streaming UHD HDR shows on the Chromecast Ultra, and they look and sound amazing, but I hate the controls compared to Roku for long form content.

Anyone have any ideas on this one?
BiggAW is offline  
post #11185 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1660 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Looks like an easy way to try SlingTV for free....

https://www.cnet.com/news/sling-tv-u...or-roku-users/
galonzo and brotony like this.
naustin is offline  
post #11186 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Looks like an easy way to try SlingTV for free....



https://www.cnet.com/news/sling-tv-u...or-roku-users/
That's cool. I may try that soon. I missed the beginning episodes of The Blacklist. Just added first run episodes to my DVR to skip ads when time shifting...

Wondering what's the best solution to catch up on-demand? I've read NBC app has reduced ads online but maybe just first and last ad break?

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.
brotony is offline  
post #11187 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 04:55 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,412
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8964 Post(s)
Liked: 5740
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
That's cool. I may try that soon. I missed the beginning episodes of The Blacklist. Just added first run episodes to my DVR to skip ads when time shifting...

Wondering what's the best solution to catch up on-demand? I've read NBC app has reduced ads online but maybe just first and last ad break?

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
Is the Blacklist available on Demand from Sling TV?
I know it isn't available from my Hulu commercial free plan.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11188 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Is the Blacklist available on Demand from Sling TV?

I know it isn't available from my Hulu commercial free plan.
As far as the on-demand. I'm aware that Hulu on-demand won't get it and Netflix has previous seasons at some point. Currently 5 previous seasons are there. DirecTV had season 6 opening 2 episodes for a very limited time. Gone now.

I hear NBC app online is only place to watch current season on-demand but they're must be limited options with subscribed TV services.

Didn't check Sling...

I couldn't get into Sling without a credit card. Never had a Sling account to my recollection.

To clarify, I downloaded the app on my Roku, opened it but no option to view as guest. Start walking through the trial process looking for the option but can't get past CC dun.

I see others have said the same. From my perspective it appears I have to enter CC for free trial. That's not what was out to there, is it? No option to view as guest. Try another email? Did I miss something?



Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
brotony is offline  
post #11189 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1641
@chazrr and @BiggAW , you'll want to change Settings >> System >> Advanced system settings >> Advanced display settings >> HDR subsampling to 4:2:0

You'll be using way less bandwidth on your HDMI cable, especially on the menu and screensaver screens (even though they aren't in HDR)

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #11190 of 11635 Old 01-15-2019, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,274
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@chazrr and @BiggAW , you'll want to change Settings >> System >> Advanced system settings >> Advanced display settings >> HDR subsampling to 4:2:0

You'll be using way less bandwidth on your HDMI cable, especially on the menu and screensaver screens (even though they aren't in HDR)
I checked, and it was already set at 4:2:0, and it still doesn't work.
galonzo likes this.
BiggAW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off