Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 375 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9755Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11221 of 11614 Old 01-17-2019, 02:21 PM
Member
 
mrvegas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, Md.
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just added Plex server to my home PC and am using Roku4 to play movies. It's very good ..... but ....

I cannot fast forward or rewind. What???

I realize this has probably been addressed, but I am new here. Are there any workarounds to this issue?
mrvegas1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11222 of 11614 Old 01-17-2019, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
It was just confirmed on the Roku forums yesterday that the latest 4K models (4660/4661, not certain about any of the other players) will now bitstream Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio. It doesn't work on my 4640, but another user confirmed it on his 4660. Now I want them to make it available on the 4640!
Could be wrong,but I would assume this would need a firmware update. Was there any mention of new firmware?

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #11223 of 11614 Old 01-17-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
It’s in the latest v9 update, but so far only for the newest players. All Roku confirmed was the 4660/4661, since they’re the same player. But the 4640 is almost identical, so I would hope it comes out for it as well.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11224 of 11614 Old 01-17-2019, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
It was just confirmed on the Roku forums yesterday that the latest 4K models (4660/4661, not certain about any of the other players) will now bitstream Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio. It doesn't work on my 4640, but another user confirmed it on his 4660. Now I want them to make it available on the 4640!
Slight backtrack. The user that reported TrueHD bitstreaming was in error. But Roku still claims DTS Master Audio via HDMI bitstreaming for the current Ultra (4660/61). No acknowledgement about the other current 4K players. All they state on their forum is "...current product lineup".
brotony likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #11225 of 11614 Old 01-17-2019, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Have you tried the PLEX Preview channel? It has some of the fixes since the December disaster. The FF/RW/... issues have been going on since the client rewrite started and began to show up in October, It got real bad with the December release coupled to the 5488 server release. PLEX waited until the last minute to make changes for deprecated APIs that were announced in like October of 2016, maybe 2015, I forget which other than it was a long time ago..... There is also a PLEX Retro channel which was a forced release because of complaints (the old client). It's a short term "solution".

https://my.roku.com/signin?sessionTi...%3Dplexpreview

https://forums.plex.tv/t/update-on-t...oku-app/350644

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvegas1 View Post
I just added Plex server to my home PC and am using Roku4 to play movies. It's very good ..... but ....

I cannot fast forward or rewind. What???

I realize this has probably been addressed, but I am new here. Are there any workarounds to this issue?
rakstr is offline  
post #11226 of 11614 Old 01-18-2019, 03:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
I tried last night as well as this morning. Still no go. Glad they're working on it.
Guest access now available for me. Not much content however.
galonzo and brotony like this.

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is online now  
post #11227 of 11614 Old 01-18-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CANNON-FODDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaxasdad View Post
Sony KDL-55XBR8 LCD TV Specifications
Specifications
Screen size:
55"
Pixel resolution: 1920x1080
1:1 mode at 1080i/p? Yes
Accept 1080p? Yes (24, 60)
Display 1080p/24 at: 120Hz
Refresh rate: 120Hz

It was the flagship of the Sony line when it was produced (2008-2010). It is a a full 1080i/p HDTV. I have the Roku connected to the #4 HDMI port after trying it on #3. I have a LG UBK90/80 4K UHD Blu-Ray Player connected and it streams Netflix without any difficulty with a clear image. For the LG Blu-Ray player and the Roku I am using 4k high speed cables purchased through Monoprice.
Without diagnostic devices that actually let you see how the handshake is going and/or measuring the signal, most HDMI troubleshooting is a lot more country/witch doctor than most want to admit.

I have an older 720p TV of a different make.
From my Roku 3 it will accept 1080p (presumably 60, since I don't have framerate matching)
From my Roku Ultra (4640) it will not accept 1080p, but the Roku, if allowed, will auto set the resolution to 1080i (which is probably expected behavior)

Since it looks like you don't have a problem with the current TV picture or "upgraditis" for the TV, I would suggest just try some other resolutions manually, or if you are using manual, try out Auto on the different inputs.

Or, if you are otherwise OK with the picture but just won't be able to stand it knowing the devices picked less than the "best" option, have your spouse (or other non-invested party) do that function and if it gives a decent picture, just don't look in the settings.

v/r,
C-F
galonzo and ahalcyonday like this.
CANNON-FODDER is offline  
post #11228 of 11614 Old 01-18-2019, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Having issues with waking up as in wasn't fully. Had installed one of the "free" themes. Went back to default ROKU theme, no wake up issues......
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #11229 of 11614 Old 01-19-2019, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Having issues with waking up as in wasn't fully. Had installed one of the "free" themes. Went back to default ROKU theme, no wake up issues......
Theme or Screensaver? Also which theme? I've been using Twin Peaks for months w/o issue.
naustin is offline  
post #11230 of 11614 Old 01-19-2019, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Theme.

Fireworks, Washington, DC, in the back ground.

Not like I look at the Themes. Just interesting symptom to be associated with the Theme. Clearly was not waking up.
naustin likes this.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #11231 of 11614 Old 01-19-2019, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 99
ROKU's forum filled with junk again.

But if you're looking for a boyfriend or girlfriend might want to give it a looksie.
aaronwt, rakstr, BiggAW and 1 others like this.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #11232 of 11614 Old 01-21-2019, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
vwbeetlvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I wonder why the ultra 4661 is no longer on Best buy.com
vwbeetlvr is offline  
post #11233 of 11614 Old 01-22-2019, 11:41 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,391
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5730
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwbeetlvr View Post
I wonder why the ultra 4661 is no longer on Best buy.com
Maybe they decided to stop selling it? Since the vast majority of people buy the cheaper Rokus. In my use I like using the Streaming Stick plus since it takes up less space than my Ultra. But they both seem to have identical performance. If my Ultra ever dies I will definitely be replacing it with a Streaming Stick+.

I use wireless anyway with my Ultra. Since that is the only way to get fast enough throughput to stream very high bitrate (100+ Mb/s) UHD files. Since the Ultra wired connection is too slow and is nothing but a buffering mess with those high bitrate files.
Nailz003 likes this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 01-22-2019 at 11:44 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #11234 of 11614 Old 01-22-2019, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
It was just confirmed on the Roku forums yesterday that the latest 4K models (4660/4661, not certain about any of the other players) will now bitstream Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio. It doesn't work on my 4640, but another user confirmed it on his 4660. Now I want them to make it available on the 4640!
I wonder if/when anyone will make uncompressed content available, but at least it's a reason to upgrade. I was [insert expletive of choice] when they skipped Dolby Vision yet again from this year's line up. If it had that (and HDR10+ now, I suppose), the Roku would be nearly perfect and a one-stop-shop for streaming.

OTOH Firmware 9.x has been buggy as hell and I sure hope they fix the issues soon.

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #11235 of 11614 Old 01-22-2019, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by MackGuyver View Post
I wonder if/when anyone will make uncompressed content available, but at least it's a reason to upgrade. I was [insert expletive of choice] when they skipped Dolby Vision yet again from this year's line up. If it had that (and HDR10+ now, I suppose), the Roku would be nearly perfect and a one-stop-shop for streaming.
Just a reminder of an update I posted. The user that claimed TrueHD bitstream worked was in error. It's only DTS Master Audio that Roku states will bitstream on a 4660/61. Unless it bitstreams both, including Atmos/DTS:X AND supports imaged based captions, it will never displace my Shield. The Roku is so much easier to use than Kodi on the Shield, I would prefer it as my main player. But I need all of these capabilities for my systems.

Quote:
OTOH Firmware 9.x has been buggy as hell and I sure hope they fix the issues soon.
I understand they released a new 9.x drop yesterday that seems to have addressed a number of items. But I'm sure there are still more to fix.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #11236 of 11614 Old 01-22-2019, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
....

I understand they released a new 9.x drop yesterday that seems to have addressed a number of items. But I'm sure there are still more to fix.
I got a 9.0.0 Build 4114 update today on my Stick Plus.
naustin is offline  
post #11237 of 11614 Old 01-22-2019, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4346 Post(s)
Liked: 2444
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I got a 9.0.0 Build 4114 update today on my Stick Plus.
Did this update add DTS HD Master and Dolby TrueHD functionality as someone alluded to earlier?

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #11238 of 11614 Old 01-22-2019, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Did this update add DTS HD Master and Dolby TrueHD functionality as someone alluded to earlier?
I don't have gear that can use or verify. Sorry. I just checked my 2016 Ultra and it also got the update.
naustin is offline  
post #11239 of 11614 Old 01-23-2019, 12:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,673
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4346 Post(s)
Liked: 2444
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I don't have gear that can use or verify. Sorry. I just checked my 2016 Ultra and it also got the update.
I just checked a local video file on PLEX and it doesn't seem to offer the extra functionality.

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #11240 of 11614 Old 01-24-2019, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 172
PSA - Copied from the ROKU forums

Roku is currently aware of an issue preventing users from creating a Roku account, or accessing Roku account services online.

As a result, you may not be able to update your payment method or make other changes to your Roku account, including activating a device or adding new channels. We are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible. You don't need to contact Customer Support or take any further action, please simply try again at a later time.

Your Roku player will continue to work with channels and services that do not require access to your payment method. We apologize for any inconvenience!
galonzo likes this.
rakstr is offline  
post #11241 of 11614 Old 01-25-2019, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
PSA - Copied from the ROKU forums

Roku is currently aware of an issue preventing users from creating a Roku account, or accessing Roku account services online.

As a result, you may not be able to update your payment method or make other changes to your Roku account, including activating a device or adding new channels. We are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible. You don't need to contact Customer Support or take any further action, please simply try again at a later time.

Your Roku player will continue to work with channels and services that do not require access to your payment method. We apologize for any inconvenience!
This started happening to me several months ago and turned out it was because I was using Safari. Had to switch to Chrome in order to log into my account.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #11242 of 11614 Old 01-26-2019, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
PSA - Copied from the ROKU forums

Roku is currently aware of an issue preventing users from creating a Roku account, or accessing Roku account services online....
Sounds like teething problems related to their new Premium Channel subscription model.
naustin is offline  
post #11243 of 11614 Old 01-26-2019, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Nothing I play on YouTube is ATMOS. There are tons of demo videos but they all playback as 2-channel with simulated dolby surround. WTH?

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is online now  
post #11244 of 11614 Old 01-26-2019, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1302 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
@gossamer88 , it's because YT is (and always has been) stereo; people can post videos with Atmos in the title All they want, but it will still be stereo (and most likely click-bait).

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #11245 of 11614 Old 01-26-2019, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@gossamer88 , it's because YT is (and always has been) stereo; people can post videos with Atmos in the title All they want, but it will still be stereo (and most likely click-bait).
Yep, same thing with 4K. Just because the title has 4K in it doesn't mean the video itself is 4K.
galonzo likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #11246 of 11614 Old 01-26-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Yep, same thing with 4K. Just because the title has 4K in it doesn't mean the video itself is 4K.
As you said just because it says 4K means absolutely nothing !!!
The way I know for a fact that a Demo or anything else is actually in 4K or HDR or 4K Ultra is my JVC RS4500 Laser projector sees the flag and automatically switches to High-Laser.
Titles that say, 4K, HDR or 4K Ultra for Demos as well as Movies mean nothing !!!

Terry
galonzo likes this.

JVC RS4500 Laser Projector:
My "New" Home Theater Up-Dates with Pictures, March 6th, 2019 .
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-ge...st-2018-a.html
tigerhonaker is offline  
post #11247 of 11614 Old 01-26-2019, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
gadgetfreaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 28
whenever I put the roku ultra to auto frame rate, the screen goes blank for a new hdmi handshake everytime I start watching something new. Netflix is the worse since some of the previews when you hover ar 24fps, and some 60fps. I have it connected to my Arcam receiver bypass, then to the Oppo 203, to a HDFury Vertex then to my projector.

Thru the vertex I can see what's happening, basically the HDMI drops out for a split second everytime the frame rate changes.

Worse part is I get a clicking, popping sound in the speakers that is pretty loud.

I really don't want to be forced to watch everything at 60fps, since it's the only way it works without the constant picture drop outs or clicking popping sounds.

I've tried every combination I can think of but can't seem to fix this. Any suggestions?
gadgetfreaky is offline  
post #11248 of 11614 Old 01-27-2019, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwbeetlvr View Post
I wonder why the ultra 4661 is no longer on Best buy.com
It's back in their Sunday ad.

Last edited by naustin; 01-27-2019 at 10:52 AM. Reason: forgot the word ad :-)
naustin is offline  
post #11249 of 11614 Old 01-29-2019, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1659 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Just got a Sling App update. The Guest feature works after the update.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #11250 of 11614 Old 01-30-2019, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
vwbeetlvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetfreaky View Post
whenever I put the roku ultra to auto frame rate, the screen goes blank for a new hdmi handshake everytime I start watching something new. Netflix is the worse since some of the previews when you hover ar 24fps, and some 60fps. I have it connected to my Arcam receiver bypass, then to the Oppo 203, to a HDFury Vertex then to my projector.


Thru the vertex I can see what's happening, basically the HDMI drops out for a split second everytime the frame rate changes.

Worse part is I get a clicking, popping sound in the speakers that is pretty loud.

I really don't want to be forced to watch everything at 60fps, since it's the only way it works without the constant picture drop outs or clicking popping sounds.

I've tried every combination I can think of but can't seem to fix this. Any suggestions?
That's the way any box will behave unless the tv and streaming box has gsync or freesync, and not many do. It happens on everything I have connected to my tv.
rakstr likes this.
vwbeetlvr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off