Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 377 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10872Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11281 of 13217 Old 02-05-2019, 08:20 AM
Member
 
CalJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
We've really gone off topic here, so any further discussion about this should probably be on the Netflix sub-forum
I'm not so sure about that, since of all of my devices with a Netflix app, only my Roku Ultra does this. I find it so annoying, I've back to using the Netflix app on my TV, which fortunately doesn't do all the auto previews.
galonzo likes this.
CalJake is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11282 of 13217 Old 02-05-2019, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,755
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1971 Post(s)
Liked: 3277
APPLE PLAY 2?

https://www.macrumors.com/2019/02/04...rplay-2-talks/
galonzo and naustin like this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #11283 of 13217 Old 02-06-2019, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
owcraftsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMN View Post
My Ultra has been freezing and rebooting one or two times a day since the update to 9.0. I mainly use it for YoutTube TV and Philo. Is anybody else seeing this? Is there anything I can do on my end? Not using 4K, just regular HDTV.

Not sure if the other advice worked for you but If your Ultra is mounted on the back of you TV or on top of a heat source it may be overheating which would cause the issues you mentioned. If so move it let it breath and see if that helps.
galonzo likes this.

TCL 65R617TBBA w/ MediaLight 6500k | Denon AVR X4400H set 7.2.4 | Outlaw 5000 (LCR & SR) | RSL CG3 5.2 system 5-NXG NX-Pro 103C (1- SB 4-Height FL, FR, RL, & RR) | Roku Ultra | Nvidia Shield (Plex Server) | Sony UBP-X800 | Panisonic DP-UB820 | Tripplite Isobar HTS10DBS | Octane XL700 seating | Makers Mark for attitude adjustments.
owcraftsman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11284 of 13217 Old 02-06-2019, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 223
There are known ROKU/YTTV issues with similar symptoms being worked but I don't believe it's as frequent as you suggest.
Could be something different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by owcraftsman View Post
Not sure if the other advice worked for you but If your Ultra is mounted on the back of you TV or on top of a heat source it may be overheating which would cause the issues you mentioned. If so move it let it breath and see if that helps.
rakstr is online now  
post #11285 of 13217 Old 02-12-2019, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Not only the trailers, but videos beginning to play when you are just looking at the details page.

We've really gone off topic here, so any further discussion about this should probably be on the Netflix sub-forum https://www.avsforum.com/forum/184-v...g-quality.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalJake View Post
I'm not so sure about that, since of all of my devices with a Netflix app, only my Roku Ultra does this. I find it so annoying, I've back to using the Netflix app on my TV, which fortunately doesn't do all the auto previews.
I would have to agree that the Roku does take longer than other devices to switch between different framerates; as soon as I launch Netflix, I immediately arrow down repeatedly so that it doesn't start a preview, and then back up if I skipped over where I was going.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Heat (1995) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #11286 of 13217 Old 02-13-2019, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
I would have to agree that the Roku does take longer than other devices to switch between different framerates; as soon as I launch Netflix, I immediately arrow down repeatedly so that it doesn't start a preview, and then back up if I skipped over where I was going.
My Rokus used to do this (switch between frame rates) but I don't see that anymore. Not sure when it stopped, but it has been at least 6 or 8 months (maybe over a year) now. I haven't paid much attention but it is easy to notice that there isn't any delay (guess I just assumed it wasn't switching any longer when I first noticed it stopped).

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #11287 of 13217 Old 02-19-2019, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 182
So an interesting observation. Just discovered yesterday that Epix and Cinemax premium channels are no longer part of Spectrum's gold tier while flipping through channels on my box. Later that night I was watching the Spectrum channel on my bedroom Ultra and all those channels are still available. So is this some sort of strange oversight or is the Ultra magical? Still have to check today if they are still there and on the Ultra in my HT. Anyone else seeing this?

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #11288 of 13217 Old 02-19-2019, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 2012
@Jbhur212 , I don't have Spectrum, but it sounds like an oversight that will most likely be rectified sooner rather than later, so I would enjoy while you can

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Heat (1995) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #11289 of 13217 Old 02-19-2019, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@Jbhur212 , I don't have Spectrum, but it sounds like an oversight that will most likely be rectified sooner rather than later, so I would enjoy while you can
Yea, that's exactly what I thought last night. Though I just checked and I still have all the channels. Now if there was only something worthwhile to watch!
galonzo likes this.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #11290 of 13217 Old 02-19-2019, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 1303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbhur212 View Post
So an interesting observation. Just discovered yesterday that Epix and Cinemax premium channels are no longer part of Spectrum's gold tier while flipping through channels on my box. Later that night I was watching the Spectrum channel on my bedroom Ultra and all those channels are still available. So is this some sort of strange oversight or is the Ultra magical? Still have to check today if they are still there and on the Ultra in my HT. Anyone else seeing this?
Roku now offers them as pay subscription channels so perhaps that accounts for the change.
naustin is offline  
post #11291 of 13217 Old 02-19-2019, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Roku now offers them as pay subscription channels so perhaps that accounts for the change.
Thanks for the info. Checked into this but it looks like each pay subscription will have it's own channel. I'm getting them through the Spectrum channel so who knows what the story is.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #11292 of 13217 Old 02-20-2019, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iamian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbhur212 View Post
Thanks for the info. Checked into this but it looks like each pay subscription will have it's own channel. I'm getting them through the Spectrum channel so who knows what the story is.
You use the Roku Channel as the portal for subscribed services.


iamian is offline  
post #11293 of 13217 Old 02-21-2019, 07:52 PM
Member
 
skoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cramerton, NC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Software update

2016 Ultra just updated to v9.0.0 build 4142.
galonzo likes this.
skoone is offline  
post #11294 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 01:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,525
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5024 Post(s)
Liked: 3043
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
2016 Ultra just updated to v9.0.0 build 4142.
Remind me, was there something significant about this build?
Tweeter2002 likes this.

lujan
640 Ultra HD
730 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #11295 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
2016 Ultra just updated to v9.0.0 build 4142.
Same (on my 2016 P+}

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Heat (1995) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #11296 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Vacation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck42 View Post
So with the Neflix app, I *am* seeing DD on the receiver. Hulu still shows PCM stereo though. Looked all through the Hulu app and couldn't find anything to change that made any difference.
You do have the Roku plugged into the AVR and not the TV, correct? I have a Denon E-300, which I believe is only one year newer than yours but a step down model, and I get DD+ from all the apps that use it. Otherwise it sounds like something in the Roku audio settings.

Last edited by Vacation; 02-22-2019 at 06:51 AM.
Vacation is offline  
post #11297 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 07:04 AM
Member
 
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
2016 Ultra just updated to v9.0.0 build 4142.
Our Ultra shows (in About) v9.0.0 build 4142-46.

1) Vizio PQ65-F1 and 2) Visio D32F-F1
Yamaha RX-A3080 - Darbee Darblet DVP-5000
Roku - 4) Ultra, 1) nVidia Shield
SageTV v9 - HD300, Tablo QUAD, AirTV Pro, FireTV Cube
4) SiliconDust HDHomeRun units (10 tuners)
RonBoyd is offline  
post #11298 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 248
@ck42 @Vacation pretty sure Hulu is still Stereo only and no 4k/hdr
wmarkw is offline  
post #11299 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Vacation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmarkw View Post
@ck42 @Vacation pretty sure Hulu is still Stereo only and no 4k/hdr
On Roku Hulu is still stereo only, (FireTV and a few others do have some programs in 5.1) but he was also having an issue in only getting Dolby Digital, not DD+.
Vacation is offline  
post #11300 of 13217 Old 02-22-2019, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 21,101
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4526 Post(s)
Liked: 5926
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone View Post
2016 Ultra just updated to v9.0.0 build 4142.
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Same (on my 2016 P+}
Yep, same here. My 2016 Premiere+ updated to v9.00, Build 4142 about 40 minutes ago.
galonzo likes this.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+; Apple TV 4K
gwsat is offline  
post #11301 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Premiere HDR question

I am hoping you folks can offer some insight into this. It isn't a problem but more of a situation. I own multiple Roku devices and one Roku-enabled TV. Two of the Roku devices I own are labeled "Premiere". I bought the first one two years ago to go with a 55 inch 4K TV. That tv is not HDR capable so the original Premiere model was a good fit as it didn't do HDR, only 4K.

Fast forward to more recents events.....

I bought a 65 inch 4k TV this past November. Same manufacturer and not HDR-compatible either according to manufacturer listed specs (8 bit + FRC panel). I moved the 55 inch inch to the basement room and put the 65 inch in the living room. I hooked the original Premiere to the 65.

This past week I ordered and received a new Roku Premiere which appears, physically, to be the same size/shape as the Express+ models I also own. The original Premiere was more of a box shape similar to the current Ultra. The new Premiere is listed as offering HDR. I did not buy it because of that feature but rather because it was on sale and I wanted another 4K Roku device for the 55 inch 4K tv in the basement.

Upon installing it on the 55 inch I ran some TCL Youtube 4K/HDR videos on it to see how it performed and I was shocked by the increase in color saturation, apparent brightness and dark levels. I wanted to make sure I wasn't imagining a difference so I went upstairs and played the same video content on the 65 inch with the original Premiere. The image didn't have the pop of the 55 inch with the new Premiere installed.

So I swapped devices and put the new Premiere up on the 65 inch and, wow, the image is stunning.

My question is pretty simple. What gives? With only an 8 bit + FRC panel why am I noticing such an increase in "HDR performance"? I have attached two pics of some of two of the HDR videos I was watching. I know they aren't a true representation for a variety of reasons but wanted to share them regardless.

Thoughts?



FrankKD is offline  
post #11302 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 1303
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankKD View Post
I am hoping you folks can offer some insight into this. It isn't a problem but more of a situation. I own multiple Roku devices and one Roku-enabled TV. Two of the Roku devices I own are labeled "Premiere". I bought the first one two years ago to go with a 55 inch 4K TV. That tv is not HDR capable so the original Premiere model was a good fit as it didn't do HDR, only 4K.

Fast forward to more recents events.....

I bought a 65 inch 4k TV this past November. Same manufacturer and not HDR-compatible either according to manufacturer listed specs (8 bit + FRC panel). I moved the 55 inch inch to the basement room and put the 65 inch in the living room. I hooked the original Premiere to the 65.

This past week I ordered and received a new Roku Premiere which appears, physically, to be the same size/shape as the Express+ models I also own. The original Premiere was more of a box shape similar to the current Ultra. The new Premiere is listed as offering HDR. I did not buy it because of that feature but rather because it was on sale and I wanted another 4K Roku device for the 55 inch 4K tv in the basement.

Upon installing it on the 55 inch I ran some TCL Youtube 4K/HDR videos on it to see how it performed and I was shocked by the increase in color saturation, apparent brightness and dark levels. I wanted to make sure I wasn't imagining a difference so I went upstairs and played the same video content on the 65 inch with the original Premiere. The image didn't have the pop of the 55 inch with the new Premiere installed.

So I swapped devices and put the new Premiere up on the 65 inch and, wow, the image is stunning.

My question is pretty simple. What gives? With only an 8 bit + FRC panel why am I noticing such an increase in "HDR performance"? I have attached two pics of some of two of the HDR videos I was watching. I know they aren't a true representation for a variety of reasons but wanted to share them regardless.

Thoughts?
Interesting have you checked the video setting on the non HDR premier? Maybe it was only doing 1080p?
naustin is offline  
post #11303 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Not since I bought the new Premiere but will when I go home. I know I had it set to 4k 60 fps in the Roku menu. The TV display shows the 3820x2160 in the upper right hand corner whenever new content begins playing and, in the case of the Youtube videos, I typically check the picture quality in the app when I start the video.
FrankKD is offline  
post #11304 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 1303
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankKD View Post
Not since I bought the new Premiere but will when I go home. I know I had it set to 4k 60 fps in the Roku menu. The TV display shows the 3820x2160 in the upper right hand corner whenever new content begins playing and, in the case of the Youtube videos, I typically check the picture quality in the app when I start the video.
Even though the TVs are 8 bit panels, are you sure they can't do HDR10 aka UHD? Which TV models are we talking about?
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #11305 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 11:00 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,658
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9811 Post(s)
Liked: 6478
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankKD View Post
I am hoping you folks can offer some insight into this. It isn't a problem but more of a situation. I own multiple Roku devices and one Roku-enabled TV. Two of the Roku devices I own are labeled "Premiere". I bought the first one two years ago to go with a 55 inch 4K TV. That tv is not HDR capable so the original Premiere model was a good fit as it didn't do HDR, only 4K.



Fast forward to more recents events.....



I bought a 65 inch 4k TV this past November. Same manufacturer and not HDR-compatible either according to manufacturer listed specs (8 bit + FRC panel). I moved the 55 inch inch to the basement room and put the 65 inch in the living room. I hooked the original Premiere to the 65.



This past week I ordered and received a new Roku Premiere which appears, physically, to be the same size/shape as the Express+ models I also own. The original Premiere was more of a box shape similar to the current Ultra. The new Premiere is listed as offering HDR. I did not buy it because of that feature but rather because it was on sale and I wanted another 4K Roku device for the 55 inch 4K tv in the basement.



Upon installing it on the 55 inch I ran some TCL Youtube 4K/HDR videos on it to see how it performed and I was shocked by the increase in color saturation, apparent brightness and dark levels. I wanted to make sure I wasn't imagining a difference so I went upstairs and played the same video content on the 65 inch with the original Premiere. The image didn't have the pop of the 55 inch with the new Premiere installed.



So I swapped devices and put the new Premiere up on the 65 inch and, wow, the image is stunning.



My question is pretty simple. What gives? With only an 8 bit + FRC panel why am I noticing such an increase in "HDR performance"? I have attached two pics of some of two of the HDR videos I was watching. I know they aren't a true representation for a variety of reasons but wanted to share them regardless.



Thoughts?







The TCL panels do a great job. My 6 Series is very close to my full 10bit Sony panel. And it shows less banding tha the Vizio P series 10 bit panels I looked at.

My 6 Series TCL has no problem with 60fps sent from any UHD device. And it handles Dolby Vision and HDR10 with no issues

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 02-28-2019 at 06:57 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #11306 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Even though the TVs are 8 bit panels, are you sure they can't do HDR10 aka UHD? Which TV models are we talking about?
Well, that is sort of the question I am asking. From the limited research I have been able to do it would seem that 8 bit+FRC panels can emulate HDR but not quite effectively as a true 10 bit panel. If that is the case then that would explain what I am seeing. The interesting part though is that this is the first time I am seeing it. I have an LG 4K Blu Ray player with dozens of 4K discs. None of them have ever looked like this.

Both of the TVs are Sceptre models (yeah, I know, the most inexpensive 4K tvs on the market) but it is what I could afford and I am happy with them. :-)

I tried providing the links to both models specifically but the forum won't let me as this is only my 3rd post.

The models are the U650CV-UMR and U550CV-UM08R .
FrankKD is offline  
post #11307 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Just to clarify, I have no problem getting 4K performance. Apparent sharpness is excellent on both TVs. It is the HDR aspect that seems to have been lacking prior to this new Premiere.
FrankKD is offline  
post #11308 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 1303
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankKD View Post
Just to clarify, I have no problem getting 4K performance. Apparent sharpness is excellent on both TVs. It is the HDR aspect that seems to have been lacking prior to this new Premiere.
Okay the two Sceptre models don't do HDR just 4K, so I'm guessing you have a different video configuration set on the old Premier versus the new model.
naustin is offline  
post #11309 of 13217 Old 02-28-2019, 07:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,658
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9811 Post(s)
Liked: 6478
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankKD View Post
Well, that is sort of the question I am asking. From the limited research I have been able to do it would seem that 8 bit+FRC panels can emulate HDR but not quite effectively as a true 10 bit panel. If that is the case then that would explain what I am seeing. The interesting part though is that this is the first time I am seeing it. I have an LG 4K Blu Ray player with dozens of 4K discs. None of them have ever looked like this.

Both of the TVs are Sceptre models (yeah, I know, the most inexpensive 4K tvs on the market) but it is what I could afford and I am happy with them. :-)

I tried providing the links to both models specifically but the forum won't let me as this is only my 3rd post.

The models are the U650CV-UMR and U550CV-UM08R .
It really depends on whether the TV is capable of a wide color gamut. Which the TCL is capable of. And the Spectre isn't.

Look the the rtings site for the TV. They have measured how wide of a color gamut the TVs are capable of in their reviews. My 6 series TCL wide color gamut covers almost the same DCI P3 percentage as my 2015 Sony UHDTV with a true 10 bit panel.
galonzo likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11310 of 13217 Old 03-02-2019, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Earth
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Remind me, was there something significant about this build?
I'd like to know as well.

Projector: VPLHW40ES + DIY 125" Screen AVR: CX-A5100 + B&K REF 200.7
Speakers: DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP2000(FL/FR), CLR2000 (C), DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP10 (RL/RR),
MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling ATMOS/DTS), (4) MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling R/L REAR SURR)
Tweeter2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off