Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 388 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9964Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11611 of 11921 Old 07-16-2019, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
I agree a better remote would be nice, that is why I configure my Logitech Smart Hub with Companion Remote to control my 2 different Roku. The Smart Hub used Wifi Direct to control them.

How much do you think it would cost Roku to include a better remote and would you be willing to pay it?
Well, I for one wouldn't want to pay a dime for a better remote. I never use my Roku remotes as I much prefer using my Pronto universal remotes.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11612 of 11921 Old 07-16-2019, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
I agree a better remote would be nice, that is why I configure my Logitech Smart Hub with Companion Remote to control my 2 different Roku. The Smart Hub used Wifi Direct to control them.

How much do you think it would cost Roku to include a better remote and would you be willing to pay it?
If they could create one that could read my mind & just do what I am thinking (none of that voice control crap for me) I would pay a small fortune.
aaronwt likes this.
rdgcss is offline  
post #11613 of 11921 Old 07-16-2019, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
Same remote that came with my Roku Ultra supports private listening on that device and my TCL Roku TV 65-R615 if that answers any question. I got lost at WiFi direct (as opposed to WiFi.
the 55R615 is a BestBuy only model that comes with an IR remote, while the 55R617 has a RF or WiFi direct remote that is sold by other retailers. Same TV, different remotes. The 617 is usually $20-$30 more on Amazon.
The point is that manufactures will mix & max parts to reach a desired cost point.
rdgcss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11614 of 11921 Old 07-16-2019, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
the 55R615 is a BestBuy only model that comes with an IR remote, while the 55R617 has a RF or WiFi direct remote that is sold by other retailers. Same TV, different remotes. The 617 is usually $20-$30 more on Amazon.
The point is that manufactures will mix & max parts to reach a desired cost point.
If $20-30 makes or breaks the deal for a buyer looking to buy a big screen TV, they have certainly became a commodity.

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
post #11615 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 01:49 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,964
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9318 Post(s)
Liked: 6002
Quote:
Originally Posted by tleavit View Post
Ill throw in here and subscribe. I currently have 3 Roku in my house for watching Netflix, Comcast Cable streaming app, Amazon Prime, CBS All access (when Start Trek is on) and my Plex server media. I love them but wish they had a few things:

Better remotes. Light up in the dark (in my theater so I can see it). More buttons with common features.
The Roku remotes are so small and have so few buttons, I never even look at the Roku remote if I use it. But I typically use my Harmony remote to control my Rokus. Which I also don't need to look at to control my Rokus. Even though they have backlighting and touchscreens.
Karl Maga likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11616 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 01:50 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,964
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9318 Post(s)
Liked: 6002
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
the 55R615 is a BestBuy only model that comes with an IR remote, while the 55R617 has a RF or WiFi direct remote that is sold by other retailers. Same TV, different remotes. The 617 is usually $20-$30 more on Amazon.
The point is that manufactures will mix & max parts to reach a desired cost point.
Also so you can't price match another store.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11617 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
If $20-30 makes or breaks the deal for a buyer looking to buy a big screen TV, they have certainly became a commodity.
My father grew up during the Great Depression, to him $5 was enough of a difference to decide where to buy a new washing machine
rdgcss is offline  
post #11618 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Also so you can't price match another store.
A lot of people assume that Amazon always has the lowest price. Being a few dollars cheaper might get them to start checking Best Buy 1st
rdgcss is offline  
post #11619 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
My father grew up during the Great Depression, to him $5 was enough of a difference to decide where to buy a new washing machine
Ah, but $5 was worth alot more then than it is now.
rjhseven likes this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #11620 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
My father grew up during the Great Depression, to him $5 was enough of a difference to decide where to buy a new washing machine
$5 in 1935, the middle of the Great Depression, is worth about $90 today. Very large difference...

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #11621 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
$5 in 1935, the middle of the Great Depression, is worth about $90 today. Very large difference...
And from first hand old timers, very hard to get for anyone who wasn’t “rich” to put their hands on. Middle class was unemployed and semi starving.

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
post #11622 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Anyone else having issues with Roku Ultra and Netflix HDR? My listings in Netflix show HDR but my TV (Sony 930e) never switches into HDR. Not sure when this started. Watching Stranger Things Season 1.

Vudu on the Roku works fine switching to HDR.

EDIT: never mind seems this is an issue with Netflix showing the HDR badge but ST s1 isn’t in HDR. I tried Dead to Me and that worked fine in HDR.

Last edited by kbmb; 07-17-2019 at 05:48 PM.
kbmb is offline  
post #11623 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Anyone else having issues with Roku Ultra and Netflix HDR? My listings in Netflix show HDR but my TV (Sony 930e) never switches into HDR. Not sure when this started. Watching Stranger Things Season 1.



Vudu on the Roku works fine switching to HDR.


Stranger Things is only in 4K in Season 1. It’s probably just saying that the show is in HDR in general but only season 2 and 3 are.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kbmb likes this.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #11624 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Stranger Things is only in 4K in Season 1. It’s probably just saying that the show is in HDR in general but only season 2 and 3 are.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks. Just found info on that. Appreciate the response.
kbmb is offline  
post #11625 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 6,166
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked: 3236
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
A lot of people assume that Amazon always has the lowest price. Being a few dollars cheaper might get them to start checking Best Buy 1st
Expand what you buy from Amazon, a lot of everyday items undercut grocery and drug stores. Not to mention gas and wear and tear on your vehicle.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #11626 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 6,166
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked: 3236
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
My father grew up during the Great Depression, to him $5 was enough of a difference to decide where to buy a new washing machine
Depending on what you're buying five dollars still makes a difference.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #11627 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 09:48 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,964
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9318 Post(s)
Liked: 6002
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
A lot of people assume that Amazon always has the lowest price. Being a few dollars cheaper might get them to start checking Best Buy 1st
Best Buy will match Amazon if it's the same model and is sold by AMazon and not a third party. AFter Amazon started charging tax in my state I started making alot more purchases from Best Buy instead because of the price match. Plus I have a 45 day return period at Best Buy from being an Elite Plus member.
LDBetaGuy likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11628 of 11921 Old 07-17-2019, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I love using my Ultra remote cafe down on the couch to change the volume of the TV (Amp). There 's just something so ergonomic to being able to change the volume without having to "hold" a remote and push a button with the other hand.
Effortless one-handed volume control.


IF it only had a MUTE button !!!


All those channels on Roku with ads interspersed... and the SAME ads, over and over!

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
post #11629 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 02:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
rjruby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nazareth, PA, USA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Best Buy will match Amazon if it's the same model and is sold by AMazon and not a third party. AFter Amazon started charging tax in my state I started making alot more purchases from Best Buy instead because of the price match. Plus I have a 45 day return period at Best Buy from being an Elite Plus member.
Another benefit with being an Elite Plus member is that if Best Buy lowers their price during the 45 day return period they'll refund the difference, something Amazon doesn't do.
aaronwt and naustin like this.
rjruby is offline  
post #11630 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 06:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 182
The ROKU remotes with the speech button do allow you to say "MUTE" and the sound will mute! I agree, would love to have a mute button and a previous channel button

I STILL say that after 6 mos (or some number) they should allow remapping of those "marketing buttons" for fix services. I realize that would mean a change in agreements but I don't think it would be difficult. Also there's the "A/B" buttons on the Ultra remotes that could be used!!! ALSO I realize this means cooperation with the APP providers. Just wishing out loud here!!!!!

Next to price, the remote is the reason I like my Ultras (ROKU in general) more than the ATV4K that mostly collects dust!

Quote:
Originally Posted by See The Light View Post
I love using my Ultra remote cafe down on the couch to change the volume of the TV (Amp). There 's just something so ergonomic to being able to change the volume without having to "hold" a remote and push a button with the other hand.
Effortless one-handed volume control.


IF it only had a MUTE button !!!


All those channels on Roku with ads interspersed... and the SAME ads, over and over!
aaronwt, galonzo and naustin like this.
rakstr is offline  
post #11631 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Should I be able to control my Premiere + with a universal IR remote (URC MX-990)?

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #11632 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
Should I be able to control my Premiere + with a universal IR remote (URC MX-990)?
I control my Roku Ultra with a Harmony 700, I don't see why not.
Karl Maga likes this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #11633 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
I control my Roku Ultra with a Harmony 700, I don't see why not.
That’s what I thought. It works intermittently. I need to refresh my remote.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #11634 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
That’s what I thought. It works intermittently. I need to refresh my remote.
I do find that I need to aim my Harmony directly at the Roku. Even a little bit off and it doesn't work.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #11635 of 11921 Old 07-18-2019, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Expand what you buy from Amazon, a lot of everyday items undercut grocery and drug stores. Not to mention gas and wear and tear on your vehicle.
Just looked, 64 orders in last 6 months, all Prime. Have bought 2 items from BestBuy in last 3 years, both on Presidents’ Day sale when they actually put some quality items on sale, a Pioneer receiver & a LG 4K Blu-Ray player.
rdgcss is offline  
post #11636 of 11921 Old 07-20-2019, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
I do find that I need to aim my Harmony directly at the Roku. Even a little bit off and it doesn't work.
Thanks for the tip. I moved the roku so the front isn't obstructed at all and now it works much better.
bobby94928 likes this.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #11637 of 11921 Old 07-20-2019, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
Thanks for the tip. I moved the roku so the front isn't obstructed at all and now it works much better.
Very cool!

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #11638 of 11921 Old 07-23-2019, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 359
I've lost my password for my Smithsonian Channel subscription. Is there a way to find it on the roku in a sub menu someplace. It's a tiresome process to ask for a new one so I was hoping roku kept them in a vault that I could access.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #11639 of 11921 Old 07-23-2019, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
I've lost my password for my Smithsonian Channel subscription. Is there a way to find it on the roku in a sub menu someplace. It's a tiresome process to ask for a new one so I was hoping roku kept them in a vault that I could access.
I believe your password is with Smithsonian not Roku. Should be easy to go online to get a new one
See The Light likes this.

Reggie Basement: Sony 75" 4K 940D/Marantz AV8802A & MM8077 & MM7055/GoldenEar:Reference (Front) Triton Ones(Rear),/SuperCenter XXL center channel/ 4 GoldenEar Atmos Invisa 650/Oppo BDP-205/Directv HS-17 and C61K/Roku 4K Family Room:LG 65" OLED/Marantz AV8802A & MM8077/ Vandersteen Treo Front/ GoldEar SuperSat60 Surround/ Directv HS-17 and C61K
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #11640 of 11921 Old 07-25-2019, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,285
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Because the Apple TV 4k sends out ATMOS using MAT2.0 and My Marantz AV7702 (ATMOS from my OPPO works great) does not decode MAT 2.0 I'am looking for an alternate box to stream 4K ATMOS movies that I store on Movies Anywhere/Apple ITunes.

How does the Roku send out ATMOS. Is it the more conventional bitstream or will I run into the same problem with the Roku Urlta that I have with the Apple TV 4k, MAT 2.0 ATMOS?
GPowers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off