Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 393 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9964Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11761 of 11921 Old 09-18-2019, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
This is around the time of year they do announce new products, but I wouldn't hold my breath for DV. That requires a license, and they won't even pay for lossless audio bitstreaming, which would benefit far more users than DV. Don't get me wrong, it would be a great addition. But they didn't even add MPEG-2 video support until it no longer required a license.
I hope you're wrong otherwise what a complete joke. Dolby vision is basically a universal standard now (except stubborn Samsung). It's not just a feature on high end TV's anymore. Not supporting Dolby Vision in 2020 seems ridiculous to me.

Why can't someone just make a streaming device that does Dolby Vision and audio bitstream? Every device has a major flaw that seems intentional. Apple TV has weird audio solution and only outputs DD, not even DD+. Roku doesn't support Dolby Vision, Nvidia shield picture quality is crap due to poor scalers, Amazon seems the most feature rich with the 4k stick and the upcoming cube but I'll never ever buy it with that God awful UI. I can't stand navigating the prime video app let alone an entire streaming device with a similar UI.

Honestly most TVs internal apps are better than any streaming device on the market. 2019 has been garbage for streaming devices. Here's hoping Apple pulls their heads out of you know what with the new ATV and see what Google's new hero device has in store. For now I'm sticking with the internal apps for streaming and keep using physical media for movies as big a pita that is. The wife and kids will continue to use the Roku for their stuff.
Reckoner89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11762 of 11921 Old 09-18-2019, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckoner89 View Post
I hope you're wrong otherwise what a complete joke. Dolby vision is basically a universal standard now (except stubborn Samsung).
Might want to tell Disney this as the have taken to releasing their UHD disks without DV, they support DV for streaming but for some reason don't have DV on their latest MCU UHD Blurays.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4

Last edited by Cheddarhead; 09-18-2019 at 02:56 PM.
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #11763 of 11921 Old 09-18-2019, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,728
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
IDK if it's just you, but as it happens I was playing Pandora on my Roku Ultra when I read your post and I did not have to log in to access my account having logged in when I originally set up the Roku.
I hope it's still good for you. After a visit to the Pandora site I'm not alone. It only happens to the latest version of the app (has a screen saver) and the posts began on 9/11. I even unboxed my Roku 3 to be sure. So for now I use my AVR.
JoeKustra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11764 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 06:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread

New 2019 Roku’s announced, no Dolby Vision still, that’s a bummer. They are about 17-20% faster with slightly better remotes.
https://www.cnet.com/news/new-roku-s...in-affordable/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aaronwt, galonzo and naustin like this.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #11765 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
New 2019 Roku’s announced, no Dolby Vision still, that’s a bummer. They are about 17-20% faster with slightly better remotes.
https://www.cnet.com/news/new-roku-s...in-affordable/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jeepers - what a mess of a lineup.

How about they dump the "premium" JBL headphones and add Dolby Vision?
kbmb is offline  
post #11766 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,006
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4607 Post(s)
Liked: 2678
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
New 2019 Roku’s announced, no Dolby Vision still, that’s a bummer. They are about 17-20% faster with slightly better remotes.
https://www.cnet.com/news/new-roku-s...in-affordable/

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't see any compelling reason to upgrade to the 2019 models...
aaronwt and CaptinCrunch like this.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #11767 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Jeepers - what a mess of a lineup.



How about they dump the "premium" JBL headphones and add Dolby Vision?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't see any compelling reason to upgrade to the 2019 models...


Yeah, besides the speed boost, nothing. I’m disappointed, I thought for sure DV would be on these.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #11768 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,654
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2243 Post(s)
Liked: 2290
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I hope it's still good for you. After a visit to the Pandora site I'm not alone. It only happens to the latest version of the app (has a screen saver) and the posts began on 9/11. I even unboxed my Roku 3 to be sure. So for now I use my AVR.

I checked again just now and Pandora still loads and automatically logs me in to my account instantaneously.

This is on a Roku Ultra model 4660X with the latest SW ver. 9.1.0 build 4919-46.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #11769 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Yeah, besides the speed boost, nothing. I’m disappointed, I thought for sure DV would be on these.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Prob dont wanna pay for the licensing of a half baked idea that isnt fully supported.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #11770 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Prob dont wanna pay for the licensing of a half baked idea that isnt fully supported.


What’s a half baked idea? Dolby Vision? If that’s the case it’s definitely not half baked, standard HDR is half baked. Dolby Vision is definitely well thought out and much better than standard HDR. Why not put the Premium HDR format on great devices like these. People want ATMOS because it’s the Premium audio, sure not everyone will use it or care but at least it’s available. Dolby Vision should be as well. There is no excuse for it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aaronwt and LDBetaGuy like this.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #11771 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
You haven't kept up with DV very well then. It has had plenty of hiccups, is still not wholly accepted, and DV charges fees. But hey, you want it, thats all that should matter to you, and that doesn't change facts.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #11772 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
What’s a half baked idea? Dolby Vision? If that’s the case it’s definitely not half baked, standard HDR is half baked. Dolby Vision is definitely well thought out and much better than standard HDR. Why not put the Premium HDR format on great devices like these. People want ATMOS because it’s the Premium audio, sure not everyone will use it or care but at least it’s available. Dolby Vision should be as well. There is no excuse for it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cruise the TV forums, lots of complaints about how various TVs handle DV, fewer complaints about standard HDR.



Also Roku is a low-cost streaming option, much more likely that the purchasers of the Roku are going to hook it to an older TV that is not DV capable. Remember AVS members aren't the average consumer of AV products.
MadmanR likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #11773 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,728
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
I checked again just now and Pandora still loads and automatically logs me in to my account instantaneously.
This is on a Roku Ultra model 4660X with the latest SW ver. 9.1.0 build 4919-46.
I'm fighting with Pandora now. Only Roku is using the latest version of the app which seems to not affect everyone. Only difference is I'm using a 4660RW. I'getting used to the other version of the app, but no screen saver. What's curious, I can delete the app, then use the voice command to load Pandora and it's fine (but a different version). Anyhow, I'm watching the new Roku. I love my toys.
MadmanR likes this.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #11774 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
Cruise the TV forums, lots of complaints about how various TVs handle DV, fewer complaints about standard HDR.



Also Roku is a low-cost streaming option, much more likely that the purchasers of the Roku are going to hook it to an older TV that is not DV capable. Remember AVS members aren't the average consumer of AV products.
Exactly. Different profiles when there was going to be only one, certain issues with evaluated blacks, locked out calibration controls, their attempts to go into audio and lock you out those settings (which seems they backed off of). Dolby sold it as the end all be all simple solution, and then totally convoluted it.

My issue is, many devices force DV if your display, can do it, without leaving me an option to turn it off. I'll take HDR10 over that anyways. If you want something for DV, get an ATV4K (I own both). My ATV4K is used for NAS playback of 1080p and 2160p HDR titles, and the Roku is used for Vudu/Netflix/Amazon HDR series.
Rudy1 likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #11775 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
Cruise the TV forums, lots of complaints about how various TVs handle DV, fewer complaints about standard HDR.



Also Roku is a low-cost streaming option, much more likely that the purchasers of the Roku are going to hook it to an older TV that is not DV capable. Remember AVS members aren't the average consumer of AV products.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Exactly. Different profiles when there was going to be only one, certain issues with evaluated blacks, locked out calibration controls, their attempts to go into audio and lock you out those settings (which seems they backed off of). Dolby sold it as the end all be all simple solution, and then totally convoluted it.



My issue is, many devices force DV if your display, can do it, without leaving me an option to turn it off. I'll take HDR10 over that anyways. If you want something for DV, get an ATV4K (I own both). My ATV4K is used for NAS playback of 1080p and 2160p HDR titles, and the Roku is used for Vudu/Netflix/Amazon HDR series.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
You haven't kept up with DV very well then. It has had plenty of hiccups, is still not wholly accepted, and DV charges fees. But hey, you want it, thats all that should matter to you, and that doesn't change facts.


Yeah, forgot about all the profile issues (which is a big deal). I guess I myself haven’t had any issues with DV with the display and devices I’ve used. That would indeed be a headache. I have personally found it to be better than HDR but if it doesn’t work most of the time people wouldn’t want it. Roku is known for simplicity and everything just working. I can’t be the only one that wants Dolby Vision on Roku but those are valid points. I wonder if the Roku TV’s have been a headache with DV and maybe they have been (I don’t own one). Which makes sense why they would pause on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #11776 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Exactly. Different profiles when there was going to be only one, certain issues with evaluated blacks, locked out calibration controls, their attempts to go into audio and lock you out those settings (which seems they backed off of). Dolby sold it as the end all be all simple solution, and then totally convoluted it.

My issue is, many devices force DV if your display, can do it, without leaving me an option to turn it off. I'll take HDR10 over that anyways. If you want something for DV, get an ATV4K (I own both). My ATV4K is used for NAS playback of 1080p and 2160p HDR titles, and the Roku is used for Vudu/Netflix/Amazon HDR series.
DV for me as been a mixed bag with my Sony and the ATV. That and I think DV is tailor made for OLEDs and I don't have and OLED.

Perfect world, Roku would offer it as an option that you could enable/disable. Even if I have to pay to activate the option - as long as I controlled it that would be fine.

Seems they are more concerned with coming out with as many options and different versions as possible.
galonzo likes this.
kbmb is offline  
post #11777 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,019
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1744 Post(s)
Liked: 1108
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Yeah, forgot about all the profile issues (which is a big deal). I guess I myself haven’t had any issues with DV with the display and devices I’ve used. That would indeed be a headache. I have personally found it to be better than HDR but if it doesn’t work most of the time people wouldn’t want it. Roku is known for simplicity and everything just working. I can’t be the only one that wants Dolby Vision on Roku but those are valid points. I wonder if the Roku TV’s have been a headache with DV and maybe they have been (I don’t own one). Which makes sense why they would pause on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
@gadgtfreek I feel for those that want Roku to offer DV so they only need a single Streamer; especially with the semi premium price on the Ultra. Luckily I have DV on my expensive ATV4Ks and cheap FireTV 4K sticks. I can happily live with Roku's cheap HDR10 as fallback players.
Rudy1, aaronwt, bobby94928 and 3 others like this.
naustin is online now  
post #11778 of 11921 Old 09-19-2019, 02:03 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,964
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9318 Post(s)
Liked: 6002
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't see any compelling reason to upgrade to the 2019 models...
Yes. My 2018 Roku Streaming Stick+ and 2017? Ultra(the one with the dolby encoder) are still working great.

Although if they have a really good sale during the holidays I might pickup another Streaming Stick+, to replace my Ultra. Since it takes up less space and works the same. Plus I only use wireless on the Ultra anyway. Since that is the only way I can play high bitrate UHD files.
lujan and MadmanR like this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11779 of 11921 Old 09-20-2019, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Thursday Night Football

https://www.engadget.com/2019/09/20/...ootball-in-4k/
aaronwt and galonzo like this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #11780 of 11921 Old 09-20-2019, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Is Fox Sports or Fox Now a free app on the Ultra?
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #11781 of 11921 Old 09-20-2019, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
Is Fox Sports or Fox Now a free app on the Ultra?
Gerry
You have to log in with an account on one of the pay TV services listed in the Engadget article.
aaronwt and ggw2000 like this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #11782 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,728
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Pandora The login credential problem that was affection a few users is now corrected.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #11783 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 01:54 PM
Member
 
MadmanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St. Paul, northeast of Midway
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If the newest ULTRA comes in at the same half price as it did last year ($50 rather than $100) I'll likely get it.

Plus yet another surge-protected power strip to TURN THE DAMN THING OFF since lack of an on/off switch has been a number one issue for me, widely-shared with other ROKU ULTRA owners.

As for the JBL "headphones" (EARphones, actually)?
Can't imagine why anyone would bother with 'em.
(Don't mind "private listening" with something OVER my ears but can't abide the idea, now or ever, of sticking things IN my ear canals!)

"In the choice between changing ones mind and proving there's no need to do so, most people get busy on the proof." - John Kenneth Galbraith
MadmanR is offline  
post #11784 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Is not being able to turn its power off a significant problem for people? I just return mine to home and then it eventually (not sure how long that takes) drops into standby mode.
galonzo and naustin like this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #11785 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Is not being able to turn its power off a significant problem for people? I just return mine to home and then it eventually (not sure how long that takes) drops into standby mode.
It takes about 15 minutes and it doesn’t bother me at all.
galonzo likes this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #11786 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,728
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Is not being able to turn its power off a significant problem for people? I just return mine to home and then it eventually (not sure how long that takes) drops into standby mode.
The default is 10 minutes and it's adjustable. You can change the background also.
galonzo likes this.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #11787 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 02:34 PM
Member
 
g00sey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'd really like to know if anyone is aware of whether or not ROKU will ever be bringing their higher end players over to the UK?

If they did/do, I want a Roku Ultra as I refuse to have my media players connected over wi-fi.
MadmanR likes this.
g00sey is offline  
post #11788 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 02:58 PM
Member
 
MadmanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St. Paul, northeast of Midway
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Two problems with a lack of "power off":

First, leaving ANY unused device powered-on isn't smart:
With "heat" being the primary enemy of all electronics -- and the Ultra 'box' has no vents on it -- whatever heat builds up inside it has nowhere to go/dissipate.

Additionally, the wall-wart power supply also remains 'active' and I've had more than one of those suckers fail when left plugged in for extensive periods of time.

I keep my Ultra in an open, well-ventilated, space with a small bracket beneath it to maximize ambient cooling, when it's ON.
Using a power strip switch turns OFF BOTH the box and power supply.
(Although ROKU's official response is that the Ultra "draws very little power" that hardly addresses the issue.)

Second, though it's only happened to me ONCE, I've read horror stories from others about inadvertently turning the TV off while leaving the ROKU itself still actively pulling a signal.

The horror, for them, is exceeding 'data cap' ISP usage.

Of course this does NOT happen with the ROKU 'sticks' powered by USB ports: turn off the TV and you've turned off the ROKU as well.

The one major advantage of the Ultra?
ETHERNET-connectivity!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Is not being able to turn its power off a significant problem for people? I just return mine to home and then it eventually (not sure how long that takes) drops into standby mode.
Right.
Standby mode, with or without a screen saver kicking-in, eliminates the possibility of accruing mega/giga/tera bytes of ISP usage.
When you REMEMBER to return the device to the home screen!
And for families with children/teenagers that's not a given.

Still doesn't answer the related questions of power and heat.
But the power strip option certainly does.

"In the choice between changing ones mind and proving there's no need to do so, most people get busy on the proof." - John Kenneth Galbraith

Last edited by MadmanR; 09-24-2019 at 03:08 PM.
MadmanR is offline  
post #11789 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 03:04 PM
Member
 
MadmanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St. Paul, northeast of Midway
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Very much in agreement:
Quote:
Originally Posted by g00sey View Post
.. I want a Roku Ultra as I refuse to have my media players connected over wi-fi.
It took the 2018 'Black Friday' sales to get me to buy mine.
And all the pre-purchase research told me the Ultra -- with its ETHERNET-connectivity -- was the only way to go given my shared concern with using Wi-Fi.

"In the choice between changing ones mind and proving there's no need to do so, most people get busy on the proof." - John Kenneth Galbraith
MadmanR is offline  
post #11790 of 11921 Old 09-24-2019, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadmanR View Post
Two problems with a lack of "power off":
...
Right.
Standby mode, with or without a screen saver kicking-in, eliminates the possibility of accruing mega/giga/tera bytes of ISP usage.
When you REMEMBER to return the device to the home screen!
And for families with children/teenagers that's not a given.

Still doesn't answer the related questions of power and heat.
But the power strip option certainly does.
Well, my Pronto remote is programmed to change the Roku to Home whenever I turn the system off (via the remote). I don't have any children at home any longer (they are in their 50's) and when they were at home they knew to NEVER touch Dad's AV stuff.

Finally, I guess I'm too impatient to wait for it to boot up whenever I want to use it.
atc98092 and MadmanR like this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off