Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 448 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11183Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13411 of 13701 Old 04-26-2020, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Does anyone know how to fix how dark HDR content is on the roku ultra? I have a Sony x950g. Hdmi on tv set to enhance hdmi already. Roku auto detect shows 4k 60hz hdr. The native app on the TV looks way brighter than what I'm getting the the roku with the same apps, ie vudu, disney+, thanks in advance.
They should look the same for HDR10. Make sure you are using the same video settings on the Roku's HDMI port as those you are using on the Sony internal Apps. Disney+ will look a little different since the Roku can only do HDR10 and the Sony App is doing Dolby Vision for most current material.
aaronwt and galonzo like this.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13412 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Does anyone know how to fix how dark HDR content is on the roku ultra? I have a Sony x950g. Hdmi on tv set to enhance hdmi already. Roku auto detect shows 4k 60hz hdr. The native app on the TV looks way brighter than what I'm getting the the roku with the same apps, ie vudu, disney+, thanks in advance.
They should look the same for HDR10. Make sure you are using the same video settings on the Roku's HDMI port as those you are using on the Sony internal Apps. Disney+ will look a little different since the Roku can only do HDR10 and the Sony App is doing Dolby Vision for most current material.
Video settings are the same except brightness need to be put up to max with roku, but tv apps are around 30. Same is true for using 4k blu ray, brightness around 30 also. Maybe I should try running it at 4k 60hz without hdr on roku
swaysui is offline  
post #13413 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Sea3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
UPDATE: Posted a support question a few days ago about my equipment, and the suggestion that they put a test video in that collection to enable us to determine compatibility ourselves without having to pay to rent or buy a video. Still waiting for more than an automated acknowledgement of my question.
I think I tried out Vudu 3d by watching one of the 3d Toy Story trailers. If I remember correctly, it worked best on Sony Bluray 3d Vudu app using packed frame 3d. On Roku, I think I it showed side by side frames so I had to manually select side by side 3d on my projector to view it properly in 3d. It was quite awhile ago, so I might not remember correctly other than I thought that Vudu's 3d prices were too high at the time.
Sea3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13414 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 10:47 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Video settings are the same except brightness need to be put up to max with roku, but tv apps are around 30. Same is true for using 4k blu ray, brightness around 30 also. Maybe I should try running it at 4k 60hz without hdr on roku
Maybe it's some other issue? HDR10 from my Rokus look the same on my 2015 Sony and 2019 TCL as it does from my Shield TVs, ATV 4K boxes, UHD BD players, and FireTV 4K sticks. It's not dark at all.
galonzo likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #13415 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Video settings are the same except brightness need to be put up to max with roku, but tv apps are around 30. Same is true for using 4k blu ray, brightness around 30 also. Maybe I should try running it at 4k 60hz without hdr on roku
Maybe it's some other issue? HDR10 from my Rokus look the same on my 2015 Sony and 2019 TCL as it does from my Shield TVs, ATV 4K boxes, UHD BD players, and FireTV 4K sticks. It's not dark at all.
Wow that's awesome that you have all those devices to test against. Thanks for your input, I'll go dig around some more. BTW on your Sony or TCL do you have to jack up the brightness to the max?
swaysui is offline  
post #13416 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Wow that's awesome that you have all those devices to test against. Thanks for your input, I'll go dig around some more. BTW on your Sony or TCL do you have to jack up the brightness to the max?
That is irrelevant, the Roku is just sending a video signal that is being processed by your Sony. Try some A-B ing. Start an HDR10 video on your Sony's internal App and write down all the video settings then open the video on the Roku and set your Sony video settings exactly the same. Also do the same for a non HDR10 video (HD or simple 4K) since the Sony will default to different non HDR10 settings. Good luck.

P.S. Are you connecting the Roku directly to the Sony or going through an AVR? An AVR might be doing some weird video processing.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #13417 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Wow that's awesome that you have all those devices to test against. Thanks for your input, I'll go dig around some more. BTW on your Sony or TCL do you have to jack up the brightness to the max?
That is irrelevant, the Roku is just sending a video signal that is being processed by your Sony. Try some A-B ing. Start an HDR10 video on your Sony's internal App and write down all the video settings then open the video on the Roku and set your Sony video settings exactly the same. Also do the same for a non HDR10 video (HD or simple 4K) since the Sony will default to different non HDR10 settings. Good luck.

P.S. Are you connecting the Roku directly to the Sony or going through an AVR? An AVR might be doing some weird video processing.
Yes it's connected directly. My concern was that the roku was just somehow processing the brightness differently. I will try your suggestions.
swaysui is offline  
post #13418 of 13701 Old 04-27-2020, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,237
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by swaysui View Post
Video settings are the same except brightness need to be put up to max with roku, but tv apps are around 30. Same is true for using 4k blu ray, brightness around 30 also. Maybe I should try running it at 4k 60hz without hdr on roku
Run it at 4K 60 Hz. I did and it fixes the problem.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #13419 of 13701 Old 04-28-2020, 10:29 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Run it at 4K 60 Hz. I did and it fixes the problem.
But then why would it look different? It looks the same in my setups whether outputting 24hz or 60hz. Unless their TV has different video settings for each framerate? And if so then that could explain why 60hz fixed the problem.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #13420 of 13701 Old 04-28-2020, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
LDBetaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Run it at 4K 60 Hz. I did and it fixes the problem.
Are you talking about running it at 4K 60 Hz SDR, not 4K 60 Hz HDR?
LDBetaGuy is offline  
post #13421 of 13701 Old 04-28-2020, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,237
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBetaGuy View Post
Are you talking about running it at 4K 60 Hz SDR, not 4K 60 Hz HDR?
Basically yes. But I do it for a different reason. The poster was complaint about too dark a picture. Changing to 4K 60Hz fixes the darkness issue albeit losing the highlights of HDR. My reason was because I was downscaling 4K HDR material to my 1080P projector and this results in a washed out picture. Eliminating the HDR fixed the problem while giving an improved picture because of the 4K source.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #13422 of 13701 Old 04-28-2020, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
LDBetaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Basically yes. But I do it for a different reason. The poster was complaint about too dark a picture. Changing to 4K 60Hz fixes the darkness issue albeit losing the highlights of HDR. My reason was because I was downscaling 4K HDR material to my 1080P projector and this results in a washed out picture. Eliminating the HDR fixed the problem while giving an improved picture because of the 4K source.
Got it. There are times when I seriously consider going back to 4K SDR. I don't have a projector, but often, trying to get the "perfect" HDR picture becomes both frustrating and a colossal time waste! 4K SDR look wonderful on my Sony OLED.
LDBetaGuy is offline  
post #13423 of 13701 Old 04-29-2020, 05:39 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBetaGuy View Post
Got it. There are times when I seriously consider going back to 4K SDR. I don't have a projector, but often, trying to get the "perfect" HDR picture becomes both frustrating and a colossal time waste! 4K SDR look wonderful on my Sony OLED.
And 4K HDR looks superb on the Sony OLED sets. There is no comparison between SDR and HDR on those Sony OLED sets. HDR easily wins. But then that is also the case with my Sony and TCL LCD sets.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #13424 of 13701 Old 05-01-2020, 04:10 AM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Disney+ App 1.4 Update

The Disney + app updated to 1.4 (build 2020042100) today - there are notable functional enhancements and improvements:

under Settings:

"App Settings: Automatic(D), Moderate, Save Data" - allows bitrate/quality setting of 4K/HD/SD

"Account: Log out of all devices" - as stated, requires password

As usual, test/verify HDR/5.1/Atmos/Profiles/Trickplay/new settings/etc.


EDIT: Disney seems to be rolling out app updates with the new Settings across all platforms...

Last edited by LG8600User; 05-01-2020 at 04:38 AM.
LG8600User is offline  
post #13425 of 13701 Old 05-03-2020, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
UPDATE: Posted a support question a few days ago about my equipment, and the suggestion that they put a test video in that collection to enable us to determine compatibility ourselves without having to pay to rent or buy a video. Still waiting for more than an automated acknowledgement of my question.
Having gotten no response after several days, and seeing no free test 3D video, I decided to pay for a rental to see if it works, after reading Sea3's comment.

So I picked an inexpensive 3D-only rental (there are some 3D/2D combo packs) and clicked Rent - only to be told that my equipment wasn't compatible before even getting to the confirmation page.

So I tried all the 3D settings on my projector, backing up each time before hitting Rent, with the same result each time.

There was an option to rent anyway, but I didn't go that far.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #13426 of 13701 Old 05-04-2020, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Having gotten no response after several days, and seeing no free test 3D video, I decided to pay for a rental to see if it works, after reading Sea3's comment.

So I picked an inexpensive 3D-only rental (there are some 3D/2D combo packs) and clicked Rent - only to be told that my equipment wasn't compatible before even getting to the confirmation page.

So I tried all the 3D settings on my projector, backing up each time before hitting Rent, with the same result each time.

There was an option to rent anyway, but I didn't go that far.
I said roku's don't work for vudu 3d movies. The vudu app on most Sony 3DBD player's will work and the ps3 vudu app. I can't say for sure about other 3DBD players.
DenisG is offline  
post #13427 of 13701 Old 05-04-2020, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Having sleeping issues. I really like the headphone option. I run it thru my phone at save remote batteries. May have to invest in better headphones.

I love this HD stuff!

Last edited by lastplace; 05-04-2020 at 03:20 PM.
lastplace is offline  
post #13428 of 13701 Old 05-05-2020, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastplace View Post
Having sleeping issues. I really like the headphone option. I run it thru my phone at save remote batteries. May have to invest in better headphones.
I use rechargeables and good headphones. I was getting synch issues with my Roku phone App.

https://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-BQ-.../dp/B01G4T230U
naustin is offline  
post #13429 of 13701 Old 05-05-2020, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
UPDATE: Posted a support question a few days ago about my equipment, and the suggestion that they put a test video in that collection to enable us to determine compatibility ourselves without having to pay to rent or buy a video. Still waiting for more than an automated acknowledgement of my question.
Having gotten no response after several days, and seeing no free test 3D video, I decided to pay for a rental to see if it works, after reading Sea3's comment.

So I picked an inexpensive 3D-only rental (there are some 3D/2D combo packs) and clicked Rent - only to be told that my equipment wasn't compatible before even getting to the confirmation page.

So I tried all the 3D settings on my projector, backing up each time before hitting Rent, with the same result each time.

There was an option to rent anyway, but I didn't go that far.
Still having heard nothing I paid $5 to buy a 7 minute long short to experiment - but it refused to even start playing it! I've requested a refund. If it had played and simply gave me an unwatchable mess, I might have let it go at that, but not even letting me experiment seemed a bit unfair.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #13430 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Alot of roku owners are showing up on roku community after an update I suppose 9.3 because the lost the tv controls via the roku remote. Re-pairing it doesn't work because it won't let you chose what tv brand you have and just tries 20 or so codes and fails. Has this happened to anyone here? Some had it change the brand from which it was to completely useless to them brand. They can't switch brands back. My roku's are on 9.2.6, Roku tv and Roku smart soundbar.
Edmund is online now  
post #13431 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post
Alot of roku owners are showing up on roku community after an update I suppose 9.3 because the lost the tv controls via the roku remote. Re-pairing it doesn't work because it won't let you chose what tv brand you have and just tries 20 or so codes and fails. Has this happened to anyone here? Some had it change the brand from which it was to completely useless to them brand. They can't switch brands back. My roku's are on 9.2.6, Roku tv and Roku smart soundbar.
My 4640 will still control my TV and AVR inputs, and the AVR volume controls. This is all via CEC, not IR.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #13432 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Hdmi-cec is the only way my Roku soundbar remote controls the tv, you can't pick a tv brand or control it by IR anyways. And I didn't have to chose a tv brand for Roku tv remote, so I don't see this effecting my personally, but I do want to help others with this problem.
Edmund is online now  
post #13433 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Still having heard nothing I paid $5 to buy a 7 minute long short to experiment - but it refused to even start playing it! I've requested a refund. If it had played and simply gave me an unwatchable mess, I might have let it go at that, but not even letting me experiment seemed a bit unfair.
For the 3rd time, you can not watch VUDU 3D movies on the roku. There is a Vudu 3D compatibility list and roku's are not on them. Get a cheap sony 3DBD player with a vudu app for 3D.
DenisG is offline  
post #13434 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
AJCxZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Virginia, U.S.A.
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
My 2019 Ultra got the 9.3 firmware today....
My Premier+ 4630X got 9.3.0 on the same day, too. Then another and another a few days ago - Build 4143-29
My Ultra 4640X is still on 9.2.0 Build 4807-29 and still claims that it is up-to-date when I check for updates.
AJCxZ0 is offline  
post #13435 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1685 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJCxZ0 View Post
My Premier+ 4630X got 9.3.0 on the same day, too. Then another and another a few days ago - Build 4143-29
My Ultra 4640X is still on 9.2.0 Build 4807-29 and still claims that it is up-to-date when I check for updates.
Roku rolls out their update in stages. It could be a couple of weeks before everyone gets it. And if something suddenly appears that didn't show up in testing, they'll freeze the rollout. Unfortunately they don't communicate very well if that occurs.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield (2017 & 2019), a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #13436 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Netflix/Fox App Updates (Roku App Tuesday)

The Netflix app updated to 5.0.81179056 (for HDR models: 2017/2019 SS+) as part of Roku App Tuesday updates.

FoxSports/FoxNow also updated to 3.27.13163 (not that there is much in the way of current content to watch of course).
galonzo likes this.
LG8600User is offline  
post #13437 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Sea3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenisG View Post
For the 3rd time, you can not watch VUDU 3D movies on the roku. There is a Vudu 3D compatibility list and roku's are not on them. Get a cheap sony 3DBD player with a vudu app for 3D.
You can blame me for this information. Over a year ago, I watched one of the 3D Toy Story trailers on VUDU with both my Sony Bluray player and Roku. On Sony Bluray, it was packed frames and on the Roku the frames were side by side and viewed properly when I set the format. I found my original post with my observation: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/196-3...l#post57018208.

I don't know what is possible today, but I think VUDU could supported 3D on Roku if they chose to support it. My understanding is that the packed frame format is better than side by side so maybe VUDU chooses not to provide the side by side stream.
Sea3 is offline  
post #13438 of 13701 Old 05-06-2020, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
PJL99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sea3 View Post
You can blame me for this information. Over a year ago, I watched one of the 3D Toy Story trailers on VUDU with both my Sony Bluray player and Roku. On Sony Bluray, it was packed frames and on the Roku the frames were side by side and viewed properly when I set the format. I found my original post with my observation: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/196-3...l#post57018208.

I don't know what is possible today, but I think VUDU could supported 3D on Roku if they chose to support it. My understanding is that the packed frame format is better than side by side so maybe VUDU chooses not to provide the side by side stream.
Have you checked the Vudu forum? https://forum.vudu.com/ If there isn't anything about this topic there, suggest you post in appropriate area. Vudu technical support is pretty good about monitoring the forum and responding with valid information.
PJL99 is online now  
post #13439 of 13701 Old 05-07-2020, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 2,127
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenisG View Post
For the 3rd time, you can not watch VUDU 3D movies on the roku. There is a Vudu 3D compatibility list and roku's are not on them. Get a cheap sony 3DBD player with a vudu app for 3D.
There is no compatibility list that I could find on their site, so I had a telephone conversation with a support rep, who had no idea what I was talking about. He submitted a request to his higher-ups asking that I be sent such a list, and issued me a refund on my $5 test purchase of the 7 minute 3D short "The Blue Umbrella." I was particularly perplexed that the VUDU app on my Android phone would show a side-by-side 3D stream of that short, but the Roku wouldn't even let me test stream it.

Then I started doing web searches and found, buried in a forum discussion there, the tip from a user that he got 3D by having his phone cast the stream to a Chromecast!

So I've experimentally ordered a Chromecast Ultra for $70 to see if I can do the same trick. PS According to a user at Amazon, if you want to use that device with its wired ethernet connection, first set it up via Wifi with the Google Home phone app, turn it off, and then connect the ethernet cable before turning it back on.

Next week I should be able to report back about this.

Phil
True 4K/HDR10/3D JVC DLA-RS1000 (N5/NX5) projector, 7.2.4 Paradigm/Boston Acoustics/Onkyo speakers. Yamaha RX-A3070 (w/ Denon 2307CI to power 4 overheads). Oppo UDP-203, 4K Nvidia Shield, 4K Roku Ultra, 4K Amazon FireStick, Comcast 4K cable box, Win 10 PC.
My water-themed landscape photography website - only 24 pix up so far.
Philnick is offline  
post #13440 of 13701 Old 05-07-2020, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
There is no compatibility list that I could find on their site, so I had a telephone conversation with a support rep, who had no idea what I was talking about. He submitted a request to his higher-ups asking that I be sent such a list, and issued me a refund on my $5 test purchase of the 7 minute 3D short "The Blue Umbrella." I was particularly perplexed that the VUDU app on my Android phone would show a side-by-side 3D stream of that short, but the Roku wouldn't even let me test stream it.

Then I started doing web searches and found, buried in a forum discussion there, the tip from a user that he got 3D by having his phone cast the stream to a Chromecast!

So I've experimentally ordered a Chromecast Ultra for $70 to see if I can do the same trick. PS According to a user at Amazon, if you want to use that device with its wired ethernet connection, first set it up via Wifi with the Google Home phone app, turn it off, and then connect the ethernet cable before turning it back on.

Next week I should be able to report back about this.
https://forum.vudu.com/forum/technic...e-devices-list

Last edited by DenisG; 05-07-2020 at 06:42 AM.
DenisG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off