Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10173Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Ive weighted the negative PQ effects of HDR, vs the calibrated mode. Cal'd mode wins.

TMNT 2 was the first one I watched in UHD 4k BT2020 with the HDR stripped, and it was gorgeous.

Hopefully calibration controls will get better in the next couple of years.
Negative effects? lol...

Extra dynamic range in the picture is not a negative but whatever.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6063
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Negative effects? lol...

Extra dynamic range in the picture is not a negative but whatever.

I think you are missing what I said, in an effort to dismiss my experiences, and probably lack an understanding of display calibration as well. I did not say HDR was negative, to which you then just said "whatever". My displays response to HDR mode has some "negative aspects".

My display is pro calibrated, but in HDR mode the calibration is not in affect. There are also some near black issues when the display jacks into HDR torch mode due to the gamma. Just because you have a feature doesn't mean you always use it, just like why JVC FP owners who need to strip HDR as well. You can still benefit from wide color gamut and resolution. I mean what is the point of using something if it negatively affects portions of the image, namely poor grayscale and gamma?

Anyways, this isn't the thread for it, just try not to act like you know everything about everything while dismissing someone's own experience with tech. Display devices behave differently, and these early HDR displays are like the first few gens of 3D displays, which also lacked adjustments. Personally, I prefer a reference image, YMMV.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #123 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 04:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupedogg24 View Post
Seems like the either the Netflix app may have a few kinks to work out for HDR to work. This what I get for output to the Epson on the following roku display settings selected.


With HDR selected on the roku Netflix only outputs at 1080p SDR. No HDR setting and you get 2160 SDR. Very strange.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk

It's your display I think because I get this when I check the info from my AVR. It outputs correctly for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1198.JPG
Views:	579
Size:	290.7 KB
ID:	1708601  

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rupedogg24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Washington, DC.
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Thats odd.
It's definitely an issue with the Netflix app. Here's Man In The High Castle running in 4k UHD HDR setting.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk
gadgtfreek likes this.

Projector: Epson 5040ub DIY 140" Acoustic Screen
AVR: Onkyo RZ1100 (Main)
Blu-ray: PS4 -- Panasonic UB900
Speakers: 5.2.4 Atmos Sound System
Subwoofers: Dual Marty Cubes w/SI 18" - DIY Build w/SI 15"
rupedogg24 is offline  
post #125 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6063
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupedogg24 View Post
It's definitely an issue with the Netflix app. Here's Man In The High Castle running in 4k UHD HDR setting.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk
So Amazon is 24hz and Netflix is 60hz, well crap...

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #126 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
rupedogg24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Washington, DC.
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
So Amazon is 24hz and Netflix is 60hz, well crap...
Looks that way, at least on the Roku Premiere+ it is. Don't know about any other player. I don't get HDR on my Philips either.

Projector: Epson 5040ub DIY 140" Acoustic Screen
AVR: Onkyo RZ1100 (Main)
Blu-ray: PS4 -- Panasonic UB900
Speakers: 5.2.4 Atmos Sound System
Subwoofers: Dual Marty Cubes w/SI 18" - DIY Build w/SI 15"
rupedogg24 is offline  
post #127 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupedogg24 View Post
It's definitely an issue with the Netflix app. Here's Man In The High Castle running in 4k UHD HDR setting.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk
Rupe,can you test Vudu 1080p hdx and 4k to see if it plays at 24hz on your display...Please...Thanks..

amazon is taking forever on sending me my Roku Ultra...

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #128 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
So Amazon is 24hz and Netflix is 60hz, well crap...
It's weird, my Tv and AVR claim the roku is sending 60hz from both amazon and netflix.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #129 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
rupedogg24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Washington, DC.
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
Rupe,can you test Vudu 1080p hdx and 4k to see if it plays at 24hz on your display...Please...Thanks..

amazon is taking forever on sending me my Roku Ultra...
Batman v Superman in HDX


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk
PeterLewis likes this.

Projector: Epson 5040ub DIY 140" Acoustic Screen
AVR: Onkyo RZ1100 (Main)
Blu-ray: PS4 -- Panasonic UB900
Speakers: 5.2.4 Atmos Sound System
Subwoofers: Dual Marty Cubes w/SI 18" - DIY Build w/SI 15"
rupedogg24 is offline  
post #130 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 179
One of the reasons I have not had my TV ISF calibrated yet is that I wanted to wait until I had both 4K sources and a good HDMI 2.0a AVR in place first.

I don't care about apathy

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Marantz SR6010 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi HTPC (OpenPHT/Aeon Nox) * Roku Ultra * Samsung Blu-Ray * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2 * Harmony Ultimate One * HDFury Linker (Zone 2)
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #131 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Thanks Rupe,Vudu needs to get their act together with 24hz....They use to brag about this feature when HDX first came out now they want almost all their apps at 60hz...
rupedogg24 likes this.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #132 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2379 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupedogg24 View Post
It's definitely an issue with the Netflix app. Here's Man In The High Castle running in 4k UHD HDR setting.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk
Encouraging, but it should be 10-bit not 8-bit.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #133 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Encouraging, but it should be 10-bit not 8-bit.
My AVR claims it's 10bit 60Hz. My TV doesn't get a 24p signal like it does from a UHD Blu-Ray player.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #134 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:40 PM
Member
 
kennethav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
My display is pro calibrated, but in HDR mode the calibration is not in affect. There are also some near black issues when the display jacks into HDR torch mode due to the gamma. Just because you have a feature doesn't mean you always use it, just like why JVC FP owners who need to strip HDR as well. You can still benefit from wide color gamut and resolution.
Exactly! And this is great news that the Roku can do 4k+WCG w/o HDR. I'm a JVC projector owner and was waiting to hear about exactly this issue. Thanks gadgtfreek!
kennethav is offline  
post #135 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:56 PM
Member
 
cjmv50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I found that I do get HDR when the Roku is plugged directly into my Vizio! When going thru my Denon AVR-S720w no HDR. The Phillips and Samsung UHD players don't seem to have this problem. Also even when plugged in to the TV the output is always 60Hz regardless of the source material. I bought this Roku to get away from the casting nonsense on the Vizio.
cjmv50 is offline  
post #136 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmv50 View Post
I found that I do get HDR when the Roku is plugged directly into my Vizio! When going thru my Denon AVR-S720w no HDR. The Phillips and Samsung UHD players don't seem to have this problem. Also even when plugged in to the TV the output is always 60Hz regardless of the source material. I bought this Roku to get away from the casting nonsense on the Vizio.
I too get 60hz no matter what. Your AVR should be able to pass the HDR through. Remember that any video scaling is set on a per-input basis so you may have to verify you don't have something adjusting the video by mistake.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #137 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 06:27 PM
Member
 
csalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Same issue here. Only difference is I have the Denon avr x2300w. I was really hoping this would be plug and play and we could move away from the casting. So is the issue with the Denon or the Roku? Do we have something misconfigured on the Denon. I can force HDR and 4K if I set the Denon's I/p scaler to on, but the PQ is terrible. Hopefully Roku or Denon can figure this out.

Last edited by csalak; 10-10-2016 at 06:34 PM.
csalak is offline  
post #138 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 06:36 PM
Member
 
kaos00723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just wanted to say that if you ordered directly from Roku then it could have been shipped without receiving an email about it yet.

I received a Fedex delivery manager message that a 2 lb package was on the way which I assume is the Roku Ultra but no shipping notification from Roku yet.
kaos00723 is offline  
post #139 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
x43x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moon Base 2
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 594
I was taking advantage of the Best Buy deal on UHD Blurays and picked up an Ultra at the same time. Stuck at work for several more hours before I can set it up.

I also wanted to mention that my TV was calibrated in HDR and Dolby Vision modes. SpectraCal has both the hardware and software to accomplish proper HDR/DV calibration if your set allows for it.

LG OLED65E6P - Sony 85X900F - Marantz SR7013 - Rotel 1075 - Oppo UDP-203 - Panasonic UB820 - Roku Ultra - B&W 704, HTM7, CWM663, RSL C34E, GE SuperSub X - Vincent PHO-700 - VPI Traveler
My Theater
x43x.com
x43x is offline  
post #140 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
If it helps anyone.

So far I can get HDR from Netflix, amazon and fandango on the few titles they stream HDR.

I also get Atmos from vudu, wish it was HDR.

I see BT 2020 10 bit - 60 when checking my info page on my Denon 6200.

Not sure why others are seeing issues with their Denons.

Hope it helps anyone looking
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #141 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6063
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos00723 View Post
Just wanted to say that if you ordered directly from Roku then it could have been shipped without receiving an email about it yet.

I received a Fedex delivery manager message that a 2 lb package was on the way which I assume is the Roku Ultra but no shipping notification from Roku yet.
They finally charged me on the 7th, but I haven't gotten any shipment notification yet. I was kinda hoping they shipped on Friday.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #142 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 183
I ordered my Ultra from Roku 10/3 with the 50.00 off R4 offer. They released the hold on my card the 8th. No shipping info.

My complaints about that got me nothing but silliness in the R4 thread.

Denon AVR-X7200WA, SVS Prime Tower & Ultra Center, Klipsch R-2650 HSU VTF-15H MK2, Sony XBR 75X940D & 75X910C, OPPO BDP-93, Panasonic DP-UB820, Sony UBP-X800, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, Hopper 3, HTPC, Technics SL-BD22D
e30cabrio is offline  
post #143 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by csalak View Post
Same issue here. Only difference is I have the Denon avr x2300w. I was really hoping this would be plug and play and we could move away from the casting. So is the issue with the Denon or the Roku? Do we have something misconfigured on the Denon. I can force HDR and 4K if I set the Denon's I/p scaler to on, but the PQ is terrible. Hopefully Roku or Denon can figure this out.
I have scaling off and the content just passes through. Make sure you have 18Gbps HDMI cables just in case.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #144 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:20 PM
Member
 
csalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
I have scaling off and the content just passes through. Make sure you have 18Gbps HDMI cables just in case.
Yeah I have scaling off. Do you have video mode set to "Auto" or "Bypass"? I'm using the cables below and it looks like they support 18Gbps.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	430
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	1708905  
csalak is offline  
post #145 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by csalak View Post
Yeah I have scaling off. Do you have video mode set to "Auto" or "Bypass"? I'm using the cables below and it looks like they support 18Gbps.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
The x2200w doesn't have a bypass option. It's on Auto. Picture mode off. As for your cables, they don't say 18Gbps or premium certified so I don't know. I wouldn't think it would be much of a problem for shorter runs, I use some cheapo cable for my Roku Ultra since it's all I had and it works but it's also like a 3 foot cable. Longer lengths get more troublesome.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	380
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	1708913  

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II

Last edited by cmdrdredd; 10-10-2016 at 07:31 PM.
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #146 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Maison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 48
How's the PQ? Any red pushed like the R4?
Maison is offline  
post #147 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maison View Post
How's the PQ? Any red pushed like the R4?
I never had a Roku 4 but I haven't noticed any issues so far.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #148 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,702
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1290
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
I never had a Roku 4 but I haven't noticed any issues so far.
Same here. No red push to report.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #149 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mike4HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 3,084
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Can someone who has the new Roku Ultra do a couple of USB drive tests:

1. If you have a receiver that supports Dolby Atmos, please download one of the sample Dolby Atmos files from the link below and see if it will play from a USB drive attached to the Roku.
http://thedigitaltheater.com/index.php/dolby-trailers/

2. if you have a 4k tv that supports HDR, please download a 4k HDR demo clip from the link below and see if it will play from a USB drive.
http://demo-uhd3d.com/categorie.php?tag=hdr


If an external drive attached to the Ultra can play Dolby Atmos and HDR files from the USB port, I will be picking up the Ultra immediately.


Thanks to anyone who helps.

Last edited by Mike4HDTV; 10-10-2016 at 08:18 PM.
Mike4HDTV is offline  
post #150 of 12254 Old 10-10-2016, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike4HDTV View Post
Can someone who has the new Roku Ultra do a couple of USB drive tests:

1. If you have a receiver that supports Dolby Atmos, please download one of the sample Dolby Atmos files from the link below and see if it will play from a USB drive attached to the Roku.
http://thedigitaltheater.com/index.php/dolby-trailers/

2. if you have a 4k tv that supports HDR, please download a 4k HDR demo clip from the link below and see if it will play from a USB drive.
http://demo-uhd3d.com/categorie.php?tag=hdr


If an external drive attached to the Ultra can play Dolby Atmos and HDR files from the USB port, I will be picking up the Ultra immediately.


Thanks to anyone who helps.
Atmos videos have no sound and it will play some HDR video files. I could get it to play the Samsung and Sony demos but not the LG demos.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off