Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 73 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9764Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 12:58 PM
exm
AVS Forum Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Since you have a premier +, it won't transcode to DD. And DD+ isn't going over the optical connection. So if you are getting audio on the 3808 it would be in stereo. With the Ultra it can transcode the 5.1 DD+ to 5.1 DD and can be sent over the optical connection.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I'm still missing the point. If you use HDMI and connect to a pre that can do any 5.1/7.1 or higher processing, why doesn't the premier+ work? Is it for older receivers?
exm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
I'm still missing the point. If you use HDMI and connect to a pre that can do any 5.1/7.1 or higher processing, why doesn't the premier+ work? Is it for older receivers?
I have the Premier + going in to my Denon X1200 and I get DD+ on everything via HDMI. Not sure what others are trying to point out. The ultra just has a fiber optic out maybe to go to sound bars or other devices that don't have HDMI.
wmarkw is offline  
post #2163 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1662 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
I'm still missing the point. If you use HDMI and connect to a pre that can do any 5.1/7.1 or higher processing, why doesn't the premier+ work? Is it for older receivers?
If your pre can decode DD+ you should be fine. Not all old AVRs can decode DD+ even if they accept 5.1/7.1..
wmarkw likes this.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2164 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
If your pre can decode DD+ you should be fine. Not all old AVRs can decode DD+ even if they accept 5.1/7.1..
Ahh ok makes sense
wmarkw is offline  
post #2165 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 01:22 PM
exm
AVS Forum Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
If your pre can decode DD+ you should be fine. Not all old AVRs can decode DD+ even if they accept 5.1/7.1..
Thanks for the clarification. I have a Marantz AV8802A so I should be good. Now if only there's another awesome Roku deal... Just missed out on most deals earlier this month...
exm is offline  
post #2166 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
Voice search could be useful I guess

And can also be done with the Roku remote app on your phone or tablet.

Quote:
The decoding hardware is the same (besides the DD+)?

I'd expect the board for both products to be virtually identical with some hardware for the USB and optical S/PDIF connectors missing.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #2167 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,400
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
Had the same issues with 4K HDR not working properly with the 7.5 update. I downgraded firmware back to 7.2.2 and everything is back working correct.

Downgrade procedure
Press following on remote
Home x 5
FF x 3
RW x 2
Click update software
Did the button sequence this afternoon and got it rolled back to 7.2.2 . I watched the same two shows in 1080P that I posted about this morning. I set the Display output to 4K/60 HDR. Everything is great and the PQ is back to the same way it use to be!! Have not had a chance to watch any HDR material yet but i'm sure it's fixed also.
Now the question- Is the unit going to stay on 7.2.2 or is it going to update back to 7.5 in the next day or two?
Thanks again for the heads up, Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #2168 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
Did the button sequence this afternoon and got it rolled back to 7.2.2 . I watched the same two shows in 1080P that I posted about this morning. I set the Display output to 4K/60 HDR. Everything is great and the PQ is back to the same way it use to be!! Have not had a chance to watch any HDR material yet but i'm sure it's fixed also.
Now the question- Is the unit going to stay on 7.2.2 or is it going to update back to 7.5 in the next day or two?
Thanks again for the heads up, Gerry
I also noticed the same improvement, I'm not sure If the Roku Ultra will update on its own or only when you check for updates I maybe wrong.

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player

Last edited by bargervais; 12-22-2016 at 03:16 AM.
bargervais is offline  
post #2169 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Stephen Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Littleton, Co , USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Just got a newer 7.5.1 update.
Still reads 7.5.1 after update. I should have written down the 3-4 numbers after the .1 but it was a definite update including reboot.
Stephen Terry is offline  
post #2170 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 10:33 PM
Member
 
srizvi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Howard County, Laurel MD 20723
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Roku Ultra returned due to HDCP errors with TV and another error with receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I started seeing the purple flash with the HDCP error last night. It was only there briefly, then the picture went back to normal. I also saw for the first time the screen going black for several seconds. This was on Netflix and YouTube, and maybe Amazon. Can't remember. On my Roku 4, I have no such issue, but it's not connected to a 4K set.
I just sent back my Roku Ultra yesterday. I got it over black friday and had problems using it when connected directly to my Samsung 65" KS8000 4K HDR TV as well as my Onkyo 646.

At first, I connected straight to the Samsung TV but whenever I tried to watch 4k HDR content, I would get an HDCP error. I'd then have to just escape out of the Roku app by hitting the home button. I did discover that if I disconnected the HDMI cord after seeing the hdcp error and plugged it back in, the content would play. But of course that's not practical.

So then I tried then to connect the Roku Ultra directly to my Onkyo 646 receiver in the STB port and the HDCP error was gone. I already didn't like this because I was losing out on the Samsung TV "1 remote to control everything" feature. It was nice not to have to switch remotes and also not have to switch within the receiver between the various devices. That's how I used to watch in the old days with my older Onkyo - all my devices went straight to the receiver, and then receiver went to the TV.

But then this gave me another weird problem where if I started watching something, my receiver would play the video and sound, and then go out of "STB mode" into "TV" mode and then I'd have to click on the "STB" button again on the receiver to get the roku content again to start playing.

So now my Roku Ulta's returned. I don't really need it right now anyways. All the 4K HDR Content I want is available from the Samsung Smart TV apps anyways - especially now that Samsung's YouTube app plays HDR as of this week. I went back to my Roku 3 for now. Hopefully Roku resolves this problem by the time I need to buy the Roku Ultra again when it has more 4K HDR content that Samsung's Smart Apps don't have.
srizvi1 is offline  
post #2171 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 10:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
I got 7.5.1 build 4075 on the 15th.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #2172 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 10:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1662 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I got 7.5.1 build 4075 on the 15th.
I as well, but I just got a later 7.5.1 via a forced manual update. It was build 4085-29. Test watched a few minutes of The OA in 60fps HDR without any glitches. Maybe the update fixes HDR Netflix.

Last edited by naustin; 12-21-2016 at 11:39 PM.
naustin is offline  
post #2173 of 11635 Old 12-21-2016, 11:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Cool. I don't have an HDR-capable TV and actually haven't been using the Roku for Netflix anyway but I'm glad to see that the problems are being addressed.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #2174 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 05:05 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,414
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8965 Post(s)
Liked: 5742
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I as well, but I just got a later 7.5.1 via a forced manual update. It was build 4085-29. Test watched a few minutes of The OA in 60fps HDR without any glitches. Maybe the update fixes HDR Netflix.
What about SDR Netflix? that is what was having black level issues. HDR netflix was fine on my Ultra.
ggw2000 likes this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2175 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
Did the button sequence this afternoon and got it rolled back to 7.2.2 . I watched the same two shows in 1080P that I posted about this morning. I set the Display output to 4K/60 HDR. Everything is great and the PQ is back to the same way it use to be!! Have not had a chance to watch any HDR material yet but i'm sure it's fixed also.
Now the question- Is the unit going to stay on 7.2.2 or is it going to update back to 7.5 in the next day or two?
Thanks again for the heads up, Gerry
I have a question, I rolled back to 7.2.2 now when I check for an update it doesn't show 7.5.1 it shows no updates

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #2176 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I as well, but I just got a later 7.5.1 via a forced manual update. It was build 4085-29. Test watched a few minutes of The OA in 60fps HDR without any glitches. Maybe the update fixes HDR Netflix.
Same here. Manually checked in Settings for System Update-indicated there was....then updated, rebooted...all seems fine. Haven't had time to check any content yet. But then again, everything "seemed" fine before. Had one occasion intermittent, quick blurb, case of "HDCP" error in Netflix a while back, but nothing since

Anthem MRX-720,Outlaw 7500 5ch amp, B&K ST 202 amp
Oppo BDP-103, Sony XBR-65X930D, Rotel RP-855, Phillips BDP-7501
Paradigm Studio 100 Fronts, Martin Logan Motion LX16 rears,Martin Logan Motion 2's
Paradigm Studio cc-590 Center, Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer, DefTech Supercube 4000
Roku Ultra, DIRECTV 4K Genie HR-54 DVR, C61K-700, OPPO Sonica DAC, Amazon Fire TV
jmacari is offline  
post #2177 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
Had the same issues with 4K HDR not working properly with the 7.5 update. I downgraded firmware back to 7.2.2 and everything is back working correct.

Downgrade procedure
Press following on remote
Home x 5
FF x 3
RW x 2
Click update software
i did the downgrade but i see others here are getting a firmware 7.5.1 which they say fixed the bugs in 7.5 but when i check for update i see nothing for updates

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #2178 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Socal
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
i did the downgrade but i see others here are getting a firmware 7.5.1 which they say fixed the bugs in 7.5 but when i check for update i see nothing for updates
Whoever downgraded is logged and banned from all future updates lolz j/k
kevinmscs is offline  
post #2179 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1662 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
What about SDR Netflix? that is what was having black level issues. HDR netflix was fine on my Ultra.
Hard to say since I watch HDR or HD. While I tested the OA in HDR, I actually watched a Star Wars Rebels episode in HD with no issues.
naustin is offline  
post #2180 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1662 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
i did the downgrade but i see others here are getting a firmware 7.5.1 which they say fixed the bugs in 7.5 but when i check for update i see nothing for updates
Sounds like a call to Roku support is needed. Good luck and share their response.
naustin is offline  
post #2181 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Socal
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Btw i just got the update but banding still exists for amazon GT.
kevinmscs is offline  
post #2182 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Sounds like a call to Roku support is needed. Good luck and share their response.
i'm not having any issues what so ever, all i was saying was when i check for an update it shows there is nothing to update. so i'll stick with 7.2.2 till it shows up
ggw2000 and naustin like this.

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player

Last edited by bargervais; 12-22-2016 at 08:34 AM.
bargervais is offline  
post #2183 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Csbooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
i did the downgrade but i see others here are getting a firmware 7.5.1 which they say fixed the bugs in 7.5 but when i check for update i see nothing for updates
The newest update did not fix non-HDR content on Netflix. Rolled back to 7.2.2 and all is well ^_^/

I'm not sure how I'll upgrade in the future as right now it will tell me there's no new updates. I'm guessing choosing the cycle server updates will do it or just factory resetting. No reason to worry about that though unless YouTube gets the HDR update I guess. Speaking of YouTube, I've never been able to see if there's 5.1 content playing, even with movies that are linked to my account.
Csbooth is offline  
post #2184 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csbooth View Post
The newest update did not fix non-HDR content on Netflix. Rolled back to 7.2.2 and all is well ^_^/

I'm not sure how I'll upgrade in the future as right now it will tell me there's no new updates. I'm guessing choosing the cycle server updates will do it or just factory resetting. No reason to worry about that though unless YouTube gets the HDR update I guess. Speaking of YouTube, I've never been able to see if there's 5.1 content playing, even with movies that are linked to my account.
that's what it does for me i check for updates it just spins and spins then it times out but i'm happy back at 7.2.2 for now i'm wanting and waiting for the Directv Now channel which i think i'll need 7.5.
Csbooth likes this.

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #2185 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
makado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: No. California
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccool96 View Post
Had the same issues with 4K HDR not working properly with the 7.5 update. I downgraded firmware back to 7.2.2 and everything is back working correct.

Downgrade procedure
Press following on remote
Home x 5
FF x 3
RW x 2
Click update software
I tried this on my Ultra but it didn't work. Which screen do you start from? Thanks.


LG 77C8PUA, LG UBK 90, SAMSUNG UN75HU8550FXZA GOLF CHIP TS 01 WITH SEK3500U, DENON X4200, DEF TECH BP2002 SPEAKERS SYSTEM, 5.1 PLUS KLIPSH ATMOS 140 SPEAKERS, APPLE TV 4K, ROKU ULTRA etc.
makado is offline  
post #2186 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by makado View Post
I tried this on my Ultra but it didn't work. Which screen do you start from? Thanks.
i started on the home screen then
Home x 5
FF x 3
RW x 2
Click update software

make sure your using FF and RW
the right and left arrows are not FF and RW and you ask how do i know this because that's what i did the first time I know i'm an idiot LOL
makado likes this.

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #2187 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by makado View Post
I tried this on my Ultra but it didn't work. Which screen do you start from? Thanks.
worked for me. i did it when it was on the home screen. I won't update until you more knowledgeable posters say its ok. Thanks to @ccool96 for posting this.
makado likes this.
wmarkw is offline  
post #2188 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 09:34 AM
Member
 
ronin_cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinmscs View Post
Btw i just got the update but banding still exists for amazon GT.
Well this sucks. I was watching an episode last night and the banding was really getting to me .
ronin_cse is offline  
post #2189 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Csbooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronin_cse View Post
Well this sucks. I was watching an episode last night and the banding was really getting to me .
It's weird, the banding issue that some are experiencing have 2015 Samsungs and I think some said the new OLEDS are doing it as well?

Anways, I hadn't had this problem with my KS9800 (2016) and then a few weeks back for like half the day, all my content from Netflix to Amazon had bad banding. I was very confused obviously, but the next day there was an update for my Roku and it was back to normal. It goes to show you that it's a very fixable problem.
Csbooth is offline  
post #2190 of 11635 Old 12-22-2016, 10:42 AM
Member
 
ronin_cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csbooth View Post
It's weird, the banding issue that some are experiencing have 2015 Samsungs and I think some said the new OLEDS are doing it as well?

Anways, I hadn't had this problem with my KS9800 (2016) and then a few weeks back for like half the day, all my content from Netflix to Amazon had bad banding. I was very confused obviously, but the next day there was an update for my Roku and it was back to normal. It goes to show you that it's a very fixable problem.
I sure hope so.

For reference I have a Hisense 55H8C so nothing high end by any means. I don't think it's my TV though as I don't get banding on anything else and I didn't get it on Netflix when I had a Chromecast Ultra
ronin_cse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off