Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 84 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9934Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Socal
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Just in time for the price increase to $60 a month.
Why would one expect this when slingtv is avail? I've switched from directv and happy with slingtv.
kevinmscs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 02:46 PM
Member
 
ronin_cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Just in time for the price increase to $60 a month.
Yeah I was considering subscribing by the 9th in order to lock in that $35 price even if I can't really use it :/
ronin_cse is offline  
post #2493 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Compared to Directv Now, I found this more interesting. The comments suggest Directv Now is a nightmare for lack of TV rights and sports blackouts. Not ready for Roku; not ready for public viewing.
http://cordcuttersnews.com/confirmed...aming-service/

Hopefully Hulu will do it right and be competitively priced lower. IMO, they have much potential bundling their current commercial free service. There's talk of DVR service but commercial free is almost the same but better than DVR when available commercial free. DVR service could be a game changer.

For years I thought directv should buy hulu and venture into internet alternative service. Now it looks like hulu will outdo their rollout.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2494 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Now that Sony has announced Dolby Vision for 2017 tvs including Z9D,that makes 3-5 companys with it....Roku might have to go back to the drawing board and offer a streamer that can do both HDR10 and DV...unless the Ultra is upgradeable.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #2495 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kido1986 View Post
I have four Rokus; 3, 4, Ultra and 3600R Stick. All have been great except for the 4 (garbage all around) and this one issue with my Ultra. Bought it to watch Grand Tour in HDR (BEAUTIFUL show) on Amazon, as I cast most stuff to my TV but can't cast Amazon. If you'll never use the headphone-through-remote feature, just get yourself a Premier Plus. All else is the same, save your $40.

The 4 sits in a drawer to get taken when I want to bring a Roku with me. It sucks in 4k so it's just a Roku 3 that has a loud fan and runs really warm in my book. Avoid the 4 at all costs.
Personally all the 4K Roku's are buggy. It was months before my 4 settled down and stupid me decided to see if Ultra might be better. If better means less buggy day one then yes, but buggy it is. My Ultra locks up in Netflix menus intermittently, but at least realizes it is hung and eventually reboots. Roku support is useless. One of these days I will learn my lesson and just give up on Roku.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #2496 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
Now that Sony has announced Dolby Vision for 2017 tvs including Z9D,that makes 3-5 companys with it....Roku might have to go back to the drawing board and offer a streamer that can do both HDR10 and DV...unless the Ultra is upgradeable.


They actually even announced that the TCL Roku TV's will have Dolby Vision also.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #2497 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
Why upgrade the Ultra when they can sell you a DV model this year some time

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2498 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Personally all the 4K Roku's are buggy. It was months before my 4 settled down and stupid me decided to see if Ultra might be better. If better means less buggy day one then yes, but buggy it is.

Speak for yourself--I've had very few problems with it while using it for many, many hours with a variety of apps: VUDU, Amazon, Hulu, NBC, Lifetime, ABC, CBS All Access, Plex, etc, etc. I do not generally use it for Netflix since I can get 24Hz output of Netflix 24p content from TiVo Bolt, but in what use I have made of it for viewing Netflix it's worked fine.

Reading forum threads about products can give people a distorted view of its general stability. Many more users will post about problems they're having than will post about being satisfied.
naustin likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #2499 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CANNON-FODDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Why upgrade the Ultra when they can sell you a DV model this year some time
They slip-streamed Voice Search and something else into the 2015 Roku 3 didn't they?

If they were good, there may already be a spot on the board for the hardware.

Still have to buy a new one if you want it though.


v/r,
C-F

(added quote for reference because I was too slow typing).
CANNON-FODDER is offline  
post #2500 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
Other than the audio bug (which was fixed in 7.5), my Roku Ultra runs smooth.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2501 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 183
I thought they recalled 7.5? I get up to date on 7.2.

Denon AVR-X7200WA, SVS Prime Tower & Ultra Center, Klipsch R-2650 HSU VTF-15H MK2, Sony XBR 75X940D & 75X910C, OPPO BDP-93, Panasonic DP-UB820, Sony UBP-X800, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, Hopper 3, HTPC, Technics SL-BD22D
e30cabrio is offline  
post #2502 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,007
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1735 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Personally all the 4K Roku's are buggy. It was months before my 4 settled down and stupid me decided to see if Ultra might be better. If better means less buggy day one then yes, but buggy it is. My Ultra locks up in Netflix menus intermittently, but at least realizes it is hung and eventually reboots. Roku support is useless. One of these days I will learn my lesson and just give up on Roku.
I've had zero problems with the Roku Ultra. Based on wide spread owner complaints I skipped the overheating noisy Roku 4 and bought a FireTV2 for simple 4K viewing. Based on my other experence with the XS, 3 and a couple gen2 Sticks, Roku makes good products & fixes bugs quickly. HDR is problematic for a lot of people on a lot of devices from UHD players, gaming consoles & TVs to streaming boxes. HDCP 2.2 and high bitstreams are issues when connecting to legacy devices with non 18 Gbps certified cables IMHO
naustin is online now  
post #2503 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 10:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Update.... replaced all cables with Monoprice Certified 18gigs.

Still black screens and no picture from Amazon UHD. Still no Netflix HDR...

And still losing audio intermittently. Not drop outs... silence. Sometimes I exit and app the go back to home screen and no menu sounds. Sometimes I go to stream a VUDU Atmos track and I get back sound. Then I will get sound back on everything else. Sometimes not.

Also weird. If I force Dolby Digital output instead of using Auto or DD+ I still get Atmos from VUDU. Which means the audio output selector isn't working properly.

Hmmmm.... but again hoping new FW will fix.

Vizio P55-C1 and Samsung HW-K950 Atmos Soundbar.

And again no issues with Xbox One S and PS 4 Pro. UHD playback with HDR and no audio drop outs or audio loss.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FilmMixer is offline  
post #2504 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 11:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,975
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4589 Post(s)
Liked: 2664
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
Now that Sony has announced Dolby Vision for 2017 tvs including Z9D,that makes 3-5 companys with it....Roku might have to go back to the drawing board and offer a streamer that can do both HDR10 and DV...unless the Ultra is upgradeable.
I hear that DV always requires a hardware modification so they are not upgradeable via firmware.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #2505 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 11:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
I haven't had any problem viewing [email protected] from TiVo Bolt, Roku Premiere+ or Xbox One S and I haven't bought a single certified cable. I replaced my Roamio with the Bolt, my Roku 3 with the Premiere+ and my Day One Xbone with the Xbone S using the same HDMI cables.

Just lucky, I guess .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #2506 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 11:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I haven't had any problem viewing [email protected] from TiVo Bolt, Roku Premiere+ or Xbox One S and I haven't bought a single certified cable. I replaced my Roamio with the Bolt, my Roku 3 with the Premiere+ and my Day One Xbone with the Xbone S using the same HDMI cables.



Just lucky, I guess .


I haven't either ... the certified cables didn't fix any of my issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FilmMixer is offline  
post #2507 of 11890 Old 01-04-2017, 11:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I hear that DV always requires a hardware modification so they are not upgradeable via firmware.


The Z9 that is being upgraded is a 2016 model. As is the Oppo 203....

I think that 2.0a chips, inherent in their design, have the ability to be upgraded.... that is the hardware needed...

I believe it actually only requires HDMI 1.4 to work technically.

I could be completely misunderstanding what I've read over the last year... but it appears it's more of a licensing issue than a physical hardware bottleneck.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
grtuck likes this.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #2508 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 12:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Hello, I just got the unit and noticed the audio is about half a second out of sync with video and only on amazon. Any idea why? Used the amazon app on my Samsung tv and it in a perfect sync. No issue with 4k hdr in both anazon and netflix. Thanks.
meduzadg is offline  
post #2509 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 12:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,007
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1735 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
Update.... replaced all cables with Monoprice Certified 18gigs.

Still black screens and no picture from Amazon UHD. Still no Netflix HDR...

And still losing audio intermittently. Not drop outs... silence. Sometimes I exit and app the go back to home screen and no menu sounds. Sometimes I go to stream a VUDU Atmos track and I get back sound. Then I will get sound back on everything else. Sometimes not.

Also weird. If I force Dolby Digital output instead of using Auto or DD+ I still get Atmos from VUDU. Which means the audio output selector isn't working properly.

Hmmmm.... but again hoping new FW will fix.

Vizio P55-C1 and Samsung HW-K950 Atmos Soundbar.

And again no issues with Xbox One S and PS 4 Pro. UHD playback with HDR and no audio drop outs or audio loss.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Are you switching inputs thru the P55 or the Soundbar? The P series does a good job as an HDMI switch. Auto audio on the Roku and Auto audio on the P55 should work. Have you tried bitstream?
naustin is online now  
post #2510 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 12:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,007
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1735 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I haven't had any problem viewing [email protected] from TiVo Bolt, Roku Premiere+ or Xbox One S and I haven't bought a single certified cable. I replaced my Roamio with the Bolt, my Roku 3 with the Premiere+ and my Day One Xbone with the Xbone S using the same HDMI cables.

Just lucky, I guess .
Probably not luck. I'm guessing the following:
Your cables were less than 10 feet so signal loss is minimal.
Your cables meet current specs by being less than three years old and from reliable vendor.
You don't hot swap cables and turn both devices off when you connect cables.

Cables aren't always the cause, but they are a weak link that can be cheaply upgraded.
naustin is online now  
post #2511 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 03:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
Hello, I just got the unit and noticed the audio is about half a second out of sync with video and only on amazon. Any idea why? Used the amazon app on my Samsung tv and it in a perfect sync. No issue with 4k hdr in both anazon and netflix. Thanks.
What model Roku did you get?

I had audio issues in Amazon with the Premier+. I ended up getting the Ultra and don't have the issues anymore.

If you force it to stereo audio in the settings (just as a test), do the audio issues in Amazon go away?

-Kevin
kbmb is offline  
post #2512 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Are you switching inputs thru the P55 or the Soundbar? The P series does a good job as an HDMI switch. Auto audio on the Roku and Auto audio on the P55 should work. Have you tried bitstream?
I would definitely try going through the P55-C1 first.

That display also is needing a firmware update, btw. Unless you have their beta firmware, it still has problems with HDR10 content. I have the M65-D0 and the beta firmware cleared up a lot of issues.

I have the Premiere+ but am switching to the Ultra because of the Dolby sound conversion abilities. I haven't seen many problems with the Roku. Only now and then do I get an HDCP error and all I have to do to fix it is switch inputs then switch back. Sound has been good as well.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
TexaClone is offline  
post #2513 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 05:35 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,946
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9306 Post(s)
Liked: 5988
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Personally all the 4K Roku's are buggy. It was months before my 4 settled down and stupid me decided to see if Ultra might be better. If better means less buggy day one then yes, but buggy it is. My Ultra locks up in Netflix menus intermittently, but at least realizes it is hung and eventually reboots. Roku support is useless. One of these days I will learn my lesson and just give up on Roku.
My Ultra is miles ahead of what my Roku 4 was. I've never had any lockups with Netflix Amazon etc... If my ROku 4 was as solid as my Ultra has been. I would have never sold my Roku 4.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #2514 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:03 AM
Member
 
ronin_cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well the next Nvidia Shield TV was announced at CES last night and it will have access to Amazon 4K/HDR finally. With that addition I think I may have to return my Roku and pick that up instead. Are there any reasons the Roku would be a better choice besides it being $70 cheaper?
ronin_cse is offline  
post #2515 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1380 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
I thought they recalled 7.5? I get up to date on 7.2.
They did. But people did have 7.5.1 for a short time and were able to confirm it fixed some display issues. Unfortunately, it contained several other issues that prompted Roku to roll everyone back to 7.2. Many of us would have preferred the option to keep 7.5, as the other issues hadn't impacted everyone.
aaronwt likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #2516 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
I loved the Shield when I had it, Amazon was a deal breaker. I will take a hard look at version 2 for my HT.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2517 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Are you switching inputs thru the P55 or the Soundbar? The P series does a good job as an HDMI switch. Auto audio on the Roku and Auto audio on the P55 should work. Have you tried bitstream?


I can't do that because the TV doesn't support DD+ as an input, which I need to get Atmos.

Switching the Roku to DD still passes the DD+ Atmos stream, which means that setting isn't working properly, hence their audio DD/DD+ processing isn't working as advertised.... I should lose Atmos when I force it to DD. I don't.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FilmMixer is offline  
post #2518 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:47 AM
Member
 
ronin_cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I loved the Shield when I had it, Amazon was a deal breaker. I will take a hard look at version 2 for my HT.


What did you love about it vs the roku?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ronin_cse is offline  
post #2519 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:55 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,946
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9306 Post(s)
Liked: 5988
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronin_cse View Post
Well the next Nvidia Shield TV was announced at CES last night and it will have access to Amazon 4K/HDR finally. With that addition I think I may have to return my Roku and pick that up instead. Are there any reasons the Roku would be a better choice besides it being $70 cheaper?
Maybe power usage? The current Shield uses several times the power of the Ultra. But I would think the newer Shield would use less.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #2520 of 11890 Old 01-05-2017, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Maybe power usage? The current Shield uses several times the power of the Ultra. But I would think the newer Shield would use less.
Same basic hardware and internals as the previous one. Looks like basically a software + new peripherals update.
http://arstechnica.co.uk/gadgets/201...-release-date/


-Kevin
kbmb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off