Zidoo X9S - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 48Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 292 Old 08-18-2018, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Usually forced subtitle support means that the player can read the forced flag within a mkv and automatically enables this subtitle track.
Sledgehamma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 292 Old 09-12-2018, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Newest firmware available: v2.0.34 released on July 19, 2018

Change log -

System
1. Fixed the problem that the bluetooth will turn on automatically when starting up
2. Fixed the color exception of HDMI IN recording
3. Fixed random crash problem when playback video
4. Repairing playback 4K HDR and 10bit output, some TVs have minor color banding problems
5. Fixed the original blu-ray disc audio drop problem of individual special playlists (Seamless Branching )
6. Added the function of disk dormancy
7. Repair the HDMI output mute switch
8. Optimized system stability

Wall poster
1. Added children lock dynamic locking function
2. Modified child lock description
3. Fixed the problem that the rating of individual films cannot be obtained
4. Added the mandatory password change function (set - child lock interface, focus on the unlock button, and then press "menu 21000" to page out password change interface)
5. Optimization matching (for example, speed and passion 1 match to 10)
6. Added the "mark as seen" function
7. Added batch operation functions for collection, viewing records and unwatched categories
8. Solved the problem that douban cannot get stills photos
9. Adjust the welcome screen UI
10. The main interface does not match the classification to increase the batch deletion function
11. Fixed the problem that whether the network equipment is connected or not and judge the error
12. Repair the problem that the equipment cannot be connected normally after starting up occasionally
13. Optimized memory footprint and improve fluency
14. Added edit mode
15. Fixed the problem that the poster interface of the children's zone was not refreshed
16. Added page turning function (page turning key or number 2 and number 8) to the main interface
17. Video number and matching success data information are added to the device interface
18. Device management interface adds scanning progress prompt
19. Fixed the problem of missing unmatched video caused by manual stop scanning
20. Repair the problem of matching Douban dual flashback
21. Added corner mark
22. The optimization of the UI

Player
1. Fixed the problem that video did not close when playing, press the HOME button video
2. Download the subtitle interface to add the film name prompt
3. The default mode of playback is all cyclic playback
4. Optimized subtitle display
5. Optimized subtitle download and increase the matching success rate
6. Optimized the subtitle adjustment interface
7. Optimized playback stability

Blu-ray navigation
1. Synchronized the subtitles of local players

The control center
1.Fixed some translations

Music player
1. Modified the issue of SACD audio crash in the playback part
2. Modified and open the music player when starting up the machine to play SACD music, and the problem of playing SACD music needs to be selected twice
3. Increased the playback SACD audio sampling rate to 176.4Khz
4. Solved the problem that SACD cannot play the next song

File manager
1. Solved the problem of too long loading time into the list interface
2. Fixed the flash back problem of SMB password with special characters
3. Selected video file to open by default
4. Solved the problem that video cannot select the hard disk directory

Quick settings
1. Added SACD audio processing switch
2. Added HDD sleep function
3. Fixed HDMI output mute switch


There is a newer firmware available (v2.1.1.1), with no change log posted, that can be accessed via "How to flash the Zidoo X9S" page under support.


You can find v2.1.1.1 here:

https://www.zidoo.tv/Support/support...McQ%3D%3D.html


Zidoo has indicated that there will be a new firmware release in the near future.
b curry is online now  
post #33 of 292 Old 09-12-2018, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
New ZDMC app v17.6.1 relased for Zidoo X9S on April 17, 2018

https://github.com/zidootech/ZDMC/releases/tag/17.6.1
b curry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 292 Old 09-15-2018, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 2,383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Anyone able to load YouTube TV to this box with Android 6.0 yet? I went to a mirror site to DL an APK but the app won't open. TIA.
dragonbud0 is offline  
post #35 of 292 Old 09-15-2018, 05:34 PM
Member
 
gallico916's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey

New Ziddo X9S with New Realtek RTD1296DD coming out in October
https://www.futeko.com/products/MP093.php
gallico916 is offline  
post #36 of 292 Old 09-21-2018, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just got the x9s and am liking it so far. I have a couple of questions that I can't figure out.

1. Do most people use the installed Home Theater 2.0 app or something else? If you use something else what do you use and why do you use that over the installed Home Theater 2.0?

2. I noticed on some of the screen shots that the detailed movie screen has information like resolution, bit rate, color space, audio type etc. All I see on the bottom of my movie play screen is MKV. Is this something I can add or will I only see it with another file type of another player?

3. How the heck do I fast forward and rewind?

4. Is there any way to see chapters with thumbnails? This is available in plex but I don't se it here.
rmilewsk is offline  
post #37 of 292 Old 09-21-2018, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
I just got the x9s and am liking it so far. I have a couple of questions that I can't figure out.

2. I noticed on some of the screen shots that the detailed movie screen has information like resolution, bit rate, color space, audio type etc. All I see on the bottom of my movie play screen is MKV. Is this something I can add or will I only see it with another file type of another player?

3. How the heck do I fast forward and rewind?

4. Is there any way to see chapters with thumbnails? This is available in plex but I don't se it here.
2. If the screenshots are something I posted.... And have a green text overlay... That info is from an HDFury Vertex.

3. To fast forward and rewind... I press the buttons next to the OK button.

4. Don't think so.

Be sure to check out the Zidoo forum at...
http://forum.zidoo.tv/index.php?forums/zidoo-x9s.23/

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen

Last edited by Litlgi74; 09-21-2018 at 06:03 PM.
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #38 of 292 Old 09-21-2018, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
I just got the x9s and am liking it so far. I have a couple of questions that I can't figure out.

1. Do most people use the installed Home Theater 2.0 app or something else? If you use something else what do you use and why do you use that over the installed Home Theater 2.0?
I use Home Theater 2. It's more than enough for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
2. I noticed on some of the screen shots that the detailed movie screen has information like resolution, bit rate, color space, audio type etc. All I see on the bottom of my movie play screen is MKV. Is this something I can add or will I only see it with another file type of another player?
That's because the container is MKV. If you use an ISO you will will see more information.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
3. How the heck do I fast forward and rewind?
Use the arrow keys around the OK button. The best way to learn is to push buttons. There is not a lot of documentation available.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
4. Is there any way to see chapters with thumbnails? This is available in plex but I don't se it here.
I don't think so with an MKV. A full menu ISO will.
b curry is online now  
post #39 of 292 Old 09-23-2018, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does anyone know how to move an installed app (say Kodi) up from the bottom row of small icons up to the top portion of the screen and make it a large icon preferrably replacing something like the home theater 2.0 icon?
rmilewsk is offline  
post #40 of 292 Old 09-24-2018, 12:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
Does anyone know how to move an installed app (say Kodi) up from the bottom row of small icons up to the top portion of the screen and make it a large icon preferably replacing something like the home theater 2.0 icon?
Sure... Highlight the large icon you would like to change... Hold the ok button until you get a pop up of available apps... Select Kodi if that is the one you would prefer. That's it!

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #41 of 292 Old 09-26-2018, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
New firmware v2.1.12 beta version for ZIDOO X9S released...

http://apidl.zidoo.tv/X9S/v2.1.12/ZI...261546-ota.zip

Change Log

Update list:

System
1.Fixed problems with green bars at the bottom of some specially coded MKV video playback
2. Increased the optical drive function
- Support CD/DVD/BD SATA and USB optical drive
- -Add an optical drive device to the file manager left device list when there is optical drive access. The content area can display multiple optical drives and support volume label, and the menu key can be used to operate the current optical drive
- Support for un-encrypted DVD/BD playback, support for Blu-ray and DVD navigation, and any file supported by player stored in the optical disk

Shortcut settings
1. Play Settings - function keys - up and down keys - add the option of adjusting subtitle position
2. Optimize resolution display
3. Play Settings - function key - subtitle audio key - default select list mode

File manager
1. Fixed problems caused by unresponsiveness of applications due to emergent access to NFS
2. Added the function of video play record. The viewed video will be displayed on the right
3. Added the optical drive list function
4. Added AIF music support

Local player
1. New UI display
2. Increased multiple proportions (4:3,16:9, original size)
3. Optimized video information display
4. Added the function of setting up the upper and lower keys to adjust the subtitle position (change the setting in the shortcut setting)
5. Added startup to display video name
6. Added up key to the pause interface to cancel information display (information can be displayed when the player's advanced Settings are closed)
7. The subtitle audio list interface selects the current item by default
8. Fixed the subtitle problem in the subtitle download interface
9. Optimized the subtitle download interface display
10. Added random playback mode
11. Added and delete single video subtitle function
12. Record the proportion of single video play
13. Add DVD resume playback function
14. Optimize the saving mechanism of single video subtitle
15. Added output parameter display in the information interface
16. The progress bar increases the remaining time display
17.Optimize the automatic switching function of 1080i resolution

Wall Poster
1. Fixed the problem that video with demo cannot enter the poster wall through file manager
2. Fixed the problem of rematch interface to add episodes without input number error

Blu-ray navigation
1. Added resume playback function (synchronize playing record with local player)
2. Optimize the saving mechanism of single video subtitle
3. Fixed the problem that the idol progress bar does not show
4. Fixed the problem that part of video cannot display external subtitles
5. Fixed part of the navigation failure problem

Openwrt
1. Added NFS SERVER function
2. Added SMB, NFS SERVER permission management
3. Optimization interface, now there is a simple configuration interface
4. Optimized Transmission,Aria2 startup script, no need to add SLEEP parameters now
5. There will be repeated problems in optimizing device mount
b curry is online now  
post #42 of 292 Old 09-26-2018, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Are there any pictures about the new UI and the video information display?
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #43 of 292 Old 09-26-2018, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Are there any pictures about the new UI and the video information display?
I have not flashed it as yet (I tend to not rush flashing a beta) but I believe the new UI is the same as what is on the the Zidoo X20, much less Android looking. You can see it here:

http://mediaplayers.gr/zidoo-x20/


There is also a new music player that is supported with this beta; Music 3.0

Zidoo has a new product page for the Z9S that shows some of the new video information UI. Click the link and scroll to the bottom of the page:

https://www.zidoo.tv/Product/index/m...McQ%3D%3D.html

EDIT: Again I'm guessing, but I think it's the same as the X20 UI. I found this video.

Sledgehamma likes this.

Last edited by b curry; 09-26-2018 at 02:24 PM.
b curry is online now  
post #44 of 292 Old 09-27-2018, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Are there any pictures about the new UI and the video information display?
This video popped today on youtube showing the Zidoo X9S v2.1.12 firmware. It does seem to look something like interface from the Zdioo X20.

The user is showing the HDMI input recording feature.

Sledgehamma likes this.

Last edited by b curry; 09-27-2018 at 02:55 PM.
b curry is online now  
post #45 of 292 Old 09-28-2018, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does the Zidoo x9s work with 3d encoded MKV files running on KODI? I can’t seem to get them to work but the home theater 2.0 app seems to work fine.
rmilewsk is offline  
post #46 of 292 Old 09-28-2018, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
Does the Zidoo x9s work with 3d encoded MKV files running on KODI? I can’t seem to get them to work but the home theater 2.0 app seems to work fine.
When I was using Kodi... I had to use an app called XBMC Wrapper to get the best 3D quality audio and video from the Zidoo. When clicking on them media file in Kodi the XBMC Wrapper opens zidoos native media player (instead of Kodi)... It was kind of a pain in the butt, and the Home Theater app has improved so much, that I no longer use Kodi.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #47 of 292 Old 09-29-2018, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post
When I was using Kodi... I had to use an app called XBMC Wrapper to get the best 3D quality audio and video from the Zidoo. When clicking on them media file in Kodi the XBMC Wrapper opens zidoos native media player (instead of Kodi)... It was kind of a pain in the butt, and the Home Theater app has improved so much, that I no longer use Kodi.
I am also having issues seeing all of my subtitle tracks in Kodi. I was watching ‘The Revenant” last night and for some reason neither Kodi nor the home theater app were displaying the forced subtitle track. In the home theater app I was able to cycle through all four of my subtitle tracks and find the one that had the forced track. In Kodi I was only “shown” one subtitle tracks and when I turned it on I saw all of the spoken words including the scene descriptions. THat isn’t what I wanted.

I like the built in home theater app as well except for one omission. I don’t see all of the movie info from my mkv files like I see in Kodi. For instance, resolution, number of audio channels, codec, - none of these are displayed in the home theater app. I dont see why they aren’t. Kodi is getting the info from the mkv file.

THe other thing I really like about Kodi is the number of skins. Of course that is Kodi’s bread and butter. I like how many options I have to customize the interface and get it exactly how i like it. The home theater app is more like Plex.

Last edited by rmilewsk; 09-29-2018 at 10:53 AM.
rmilewsk is offline  
post #48 of 292 Old 09-29-2018, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
No support for forced subtitles in any Realtek based player, sadly.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #49 of 292 Old 09-29-2018, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
No support for forced subtitles in any Realtek based player, sadly.
Thanks. That’s a big mark against the Zidoo players.
rmilewsk is offline  
post #50 of 292 Old 09-29-2018, 03:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
No support for forced subtitles in any Realtek based player, sadly.
Thanks. That’s a big mark against the Zidoo players.
All Realtek players.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #51 of 292 Old 09-29-2018, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Is it just me or does this player not recognize or honor the "default track" for subs in MKV. It always plays the top sub in the tree and NOT the one I have designated as "default". Kodi/MrMC/MPC-HC all honor the "default track" flag no matter what position the sub track is on the tree.
Killroy is offline  
post #52 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 12:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
Is it just me or does this player not recognize or honor the "default track" for subs in MKV. It always plays the top sub in the tree and NOT the one I have designated as "default". Kodi/MrMC/MPC-HC all honor the "default track" flag no matter what position the sub track is on the tree.
It’s exactly like it is for the forced flag. Realtek just doesn’t care about flags at all.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #53 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
It’s exactly like it is for the forced flag. Realtek just doesn’t care about flags at all.
I can understand forced subs since many of those are controlled via mpls (not all) but the default flag is a standard that should be honor in all cases.

It also looks like it does not honor the default flag in audio tracks if the audio track is second on the tree.

That is a total deal-breaker for me on this player since I have hundreds (ok, thousands) of files where the audio/sub track is not the first on their respective trees.
Killroy is offline  
post #54 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
That is correct. As I said, no flags at all. Same goes for every other Realtek based player. That said, I think even the Sigma based Dunes don’t have support for default flag (forced works). Most focus on forced flag for subtitles only and don’t care about the fault flag. The PCH A-500 has support for both flags.

I totally agree with you, it’s a complete deal breaker!

I don’t know about the Zidoo, but Zappiti can do default language for subtitles and audio. Not sure if this would work in your setup. In mine it doesn’t work. Example:
-Setting default subtitle language to English.
-playing a movie -> works perfectly. Note that my movies ONLY have English subtitles if they are forced, otherwise no subtitles at all
-playing a web-dl TV show -> doesn’t work. Most shows come with English subtitles so they would turn on, but I don’t need them.

This also wouldn’t work if you have several tracks (audio or subtitles) with th same language. It’s a mess...

While the Egreat has some flaws, it supports both, forced and default flag. So you might want to look at their players.

Last edited by Sledgehamma; 09-30-2018 at 08:22 AM.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #55 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
That is correct. As I said, no flags at all. Same goes for every other Realtek based player. That said, I think even the Sigma based Dunes don’t have support for default flag (forced works). Most focus on forced flag for subtitles only and don’t care about the fault flag. The PCH A-500 has support for both flags.

I totally agree with you, it’s a complete deal breaker!

I don’t know about the Zidoo, but Zappiti can do default language for subtitles and audio. Not sure if this would work in your setup. In mine it doesn’t work. Example:
-Setting default subtitle language to English.
-playing a movie -> works perfectly. Note that my movies ONLY have English subtitles if they are forced, otherwise no subtitles at all
-playing a web-dl TV show -> doesn’t work. Most shows come with English subtitles so they would turn on, but I don’t need them.

This also wouldn’t work if you have several tracks (audio or subtitles) with th same language. It’s a mess...

While the Egreat has some flaws, it supports both, forced and default flag. So you might want to look at their players.
I really don't think this is a Realtek issue completely as the default flag (for audio and subs) DOES work on the X9S using ZDMC (the Kodi based player). Home Theater 2.0 or the Media Center app does not.

So if the Kodi fork works why doesn't the internal player work. I am betting money it is a lazy developer.

I am really not looking for a replacement player for my Shields but since I have a JVC RS3000 on its way I wanted to see if the X9S had a bit better PQ than the Shields. But it seems that all players have at least one deal-breaker...but the ones on the Shield do not bother me that much.
Killroy is offline  
post #56 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Yes, it is a Realtek issue. If the complete playback/decoding is done by the SoC (as it should to make optimal use of it), you are not getting support for any kind of flag. This has always been a Realtek issue since the beginning. Since everybody uses the stock RTD player, there is nothing they can do about it.
That said, Dune is trying to change the default subtitle library with their own. We will see if this really is possible. If so, there is hope. However, Realtek is pretty much turnkey so that they cant do much playback wise and every brand will have the same issues.

I dont know ZDMC and how it handles playback. Maybe it doesnt make full use of the SoC for playback so that it decodes the video via software and then they flags are possible for sure. Does ZDMC can all the things home theater can do? Framerate sync, HD audio, 3D, etc?

Last edited by Sledgehamma; 09-30-2018 at 11:35 AM.
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #57 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehamma View Post
Yes, it is a Realtek issue. If the complete playback/decoding is done by the SoC (as it should to make optimal use of it), you are not getting support for any kind of flag. This has always been a Realtek issue since the beginning. Since everybody uses the stock RTD player, there is nothing they can do about it.
That said, Dune is trying to change the default subtitle library with their own. We will see if this really is possible. If so, there is hope. However, Realtek is pretty much turnkey so that they cant do much playback wise and every brand will have the same issues.

I dont know ZDMC and how it handles playback. Maybe it doesnt make full use of the SoC for playback so that they can do the flag via software rather than hardware. Does ZDMC can all the things home theater can do? Framerate sync, HD audio, 3D, etc?
Correct; ZDMC is a fork of KODI for Android and is software based. Zidoo Home Theater uses the RTD SoC for playback.
Sledgehamma likes this.
b curry is online now  
post #58 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Well that SUCKS!!!!!

ZDMC (at least that version of the Kodi fork) appears to do framerate sync, HD audio bitstream but I have to test it to make sure its perfect.
Killroy is offline  
post #59 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sledgehamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Yeah it sure does! Like you said, there is no single player without at least one major drawback
Sledgehamma is offline  
post #60 of 292 Old 09-30-2018, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 974 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
Well that SUCKS!!!!!

ZDMC (at least that version of the Kodi fork) appears to do framerate sync, HD audio bitstream but I have to test it to make sure its perfect.

You might try this:

There is an option inside ZDMC to use the Realtek SoC for playback. ZDMC > System > Video > Playback > Turn on "Play video with external player". Inside ZDMC the Realtek SoC is referred to as the external player. I'm not sure how this combination might work with forced subtitles with MKV's but you might give it a try.

I use primarily ISO's with Home Theater 2.0 and forced sub's are supported.
b curry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off