***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 01:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4590 Post(s)
Liked: 2666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
Nobody else is having cec hdmi switching issues with the ultra, it worked fine on previous generations.
No, it still doesn't do HDR-10 on Youtube as promised since the middle of December.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1084 Post(s)
Liked: 2072
Could someone do me a favor and watch this on a Chromecast Ultra?


It is the very first trailer (or commercial) released online in 4k from a big studio. And it's just wishful thinking on my part, but I'm wondering if it's HDR too. It looks like it's still SDR, not one of YouTube's HDR to SDR conversions. But just in case. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that studios will eventually start releasing HDR trailers.
puddy77 is offline  
post #303 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
Could someone do me a favor and watch this on a Chromecast Ultra?
4K no HDR - the color and clarity are REALLY good.
puddy77 and Musician like this.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra

Last edited by CCsoftball7; 02-03-2017 at 09:13 AM.
CCsoftball7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #304 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
No, it still doesn't do HDR-10 on Youtube as promised since the middle of December.
Plug it into your AVR instead of your tv and it will do HDR-10 fine.
shoman94 likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #305 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4590 Post(s)
Liked: 2666
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Plug it into your AVR instead of your tv and it will do HDR-10 fine.
What a pain. It does Dolby Vision when connected to Vizio but not Youtube HDR-10. When connected to AVR, it does HDR-10 on Youtube but not Dolby Vision on Vudu. Has anyone tried connecting the Chromecast Ultra to their AVR via a switch or splitter to see if Dolby Vision works that way?

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #306 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
What a pain. It does Dolby Vision when connected to Vizio but not Youtube HDR-10. When connected to AVR, it does HDR-10 on Youtube but not Dolby Vision on Vudu. Has anyone tried connecting the Chromecast Ultra to their AVR via a switch or splitter to see if Dolby Vision works that way?


Sadly I don't think there are splitters that can support that yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #307 of 1200 Old 02-03-2017, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,081
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Wow I am frequently getting the blinking orange light constantly and sometimes no picture, my previous two gen 1 and gen 2 chromecasts just worked, but whats annoying is how reluctant google is to replace this unit, it comes with a one year warranty but they refuse to admit my device may have an issue, noticed this on there forums to, i have a 1 year warranty with it but they dodge any questions i have to get the warraty procedure under way and just go back in circles to retry things.
zmarty likes this.
Murilo is offline  
post #308 of 1200 Old 02-07-2017, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Plug it into your AVR instead of your tv and it will do HDR-10 fine.
Its really unnecessary to spend a bunch of money on a separate device just to get youtube HDR. Google should have fixed this by now. It's been over a month. Not necessary to drop $30 on a movie to get HDR either IMO.


I had really poor timing on this chromecast buying it in the middle of December.
Jacob Prezbindowski is offline  
post #309 of 1200 Old 02-07-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob Prezbindowski View Post
Its really unnecessary to spend a bunch of money on a separate device just to get youtube HDR. Google should have fixed this by now. It's been over a month. Not necessary to drop $30 on a movie to get HDR either IMO.


I had really poor timing on this chromecast buying it in the middle of December.

30 dollars for 4 times the resolution and hdr compared compared to the 20 of a normal blu ray is worth it to me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #310 of 1200 Old 02-07-2017, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I have a Chromecast Ultra plugged into a KS8000. I'm using the ARC into a NR626 receiver. When I play Netflix app on the TV, "Dolby Digital" is an option for audio format in the TV settings. But when I play Netflix from Chromecast Ultra, Dolby Digital is grayed-out. Any idea why?
ergalthema is offline  
post #311 of 1200 Old 02-07-2017, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
30 dollars for 4 times the resolution and hdr compared compared to the 20 of a normal blu ray is worth it to me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Maybe, but paying a couple hundred dollars for a monstrosity just to be able to watch Youtube in HDR (which should be the quickest and free way to get HDR content) just because Google can't fix their issues is certainly not.
Jacob Prezbindowski is offline  
post #312 of 1200 Old 02-07-2017, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
I have a Chromecast Ultra plugged into a KS8000. I'm using the ARC into a NR626 receiver. When I play Netflix app on the TV, "Dolby Digital" is an option for audio format in the TV settings. But when I play Netflix from Chromecast Ultra, Dolby Digital is grayed-out. Any idea why?


Because your tv does not pass dolby digital from other devices over arc i assume.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #313 of 1200 Old 02-07-2017, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
Nobody else is having cec hdmi switching issues with the ultra, it worked fine on previous generations.


I have the issue where my Yamaha AVR switches to the ChromeCast Ultra for no reason. Between that and the lack of DV from Vudu, I've disconnected it completely.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
No longer contributing to Engadget HD
bdraw is offline  
post #314 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
I have the issue where my Yamaha AVR switches to the ChromeCast Ultra for no reason. Between that and the lack of DV from Vudu, I've disconnected it completely.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


I have a Yamaha avr and it has never done this to me.
Also dv works fine on vudu, but the Chromecast needs to be hooked directly to the tv. Unless you have an lg tv then it is still waiting for an update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #315 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I have a Yamaha avr and it has never done this to me.
Also dv works fine on vudu, but the Chromecast needs to be hooked directly to the tv. Unless you have an lg tv then it is still waiting for an update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Did it ever work for you on the TV or DV on the AVR? I'm working with Google directly now but I have no experience with previous firmware on the Ultra. Thanks

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #316 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Did it ever work for you on the TV or DV on the AVR? I'm working with Google directly now but I have no experience with previous firmware on the Ultra. Thanks


Hdr-10 has always worked through avr. Dolby vision never has.
Hdr10 worked on the tv until the update that enabled dolby vision. At that update the tv no longer was getting a 60fps signal and was instead getting 24p and no hdr10.

When going through avr the edid goes to 60fps and only hdr10 works


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shortyg83 is offline  
post #317 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I have a Yamaha avr and it has never done this to me.
Also dv works fine on vudu, but the Chromecast needs to be hooked directly to the tv. Unless you have an lg tv then it is still waiting for an update.

Yes, I have an LG. Which also has a Vudu app with DV, so connecting directly to the TV doesn't help me anyways -- trying to work around the no DD+ via arc).



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
No longer contributing to Engadget HD
bdraw is offline  
post #318 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
Yes, I have an LG. Which also has a Vudu app with DV, so connecting directly to the TV doesn't help me anyways -- trying to work around the no DD+ via arc).



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Well that wont work since the AVR doesn't pass Dolby Vision.
shoman94 likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #319 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Well that wont work since the AVR doesn't pass Dolby Vision.

I'm aware that currently it doesn't work. But I'm not aware of any reason that my Yamaha AVR won't pass DV. Already have an Oppo BD player and waiting for the first DV BD and a firmware update.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
No longer contributing to Engadget HD
bdraw is offline  
post #320 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
I'm aware that currently it doesn't work. But I'm not aware of any reason that my Yamaha AVR won't pass DV. Already have an Oppo BD player and waiting for the first DV BD and a firmware update.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Because Yamaha said it wouldn't.
Now obviously they could change their mind in the future and possibly do a firmware update.
But currently when asked they said their current receivers do not and will not pass dolby vision.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #321 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ergalthema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Because Yamaha said it wouldn't.
Now obviously they could change their mind in the future and possibly do a firmware update.
But currently when asked they said their current receivers do not and will not pass dolby vision.
So, does a device have to have a license even just to pass through DV? Or is there no such thing as a 'passive' pass through and the device must have software to process the data?
ergalthema is offline  
post #322 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergalthema View Post
So, does a device have to have a license even just to pass through DV? Or is there no such thing as a 'passive' pass through and the device must have software to process the data?
I am not sure if the information is out there yet. But currently the avr is not passing the correct edid information to tell the devices to send dolby vision.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #323 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 82
***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Because Yamaha said it wouldn't.

Now obviously they could change their mind in the future and possibly do a firmware update.

But currently when asked they said their current receivers do not and will not pass dolby vision.


I'd love to learn more, can you provide a link?

Considering Dolby made DV backwards compatible with older HDMI specs, it'd be awful if Yamaha managed to block it anyways.


Not the end of the world either way, since the BD player has dual HDMI outputs.

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
No longer contributing to Engadget HD

Last edited by bdraw; 02-08-2017 at 03:43 PM.
bdraw is offline  
post #324 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:42 PM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 92
does it support 24p?
my projector cant do HDR 60p
kwhite666 is offline  
post #325 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4590 Post(s)
Liked: 2666
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Because Yamaha said it wouldn't.
Now obviously they could change their mind in the future and possibly do a firmware update.
But currently when asked they said their current receivers do not and will not pass dolby vision.
So did Denon at least with their 2015 models. They may implement DV pass-through on their 2016 models though.

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #326 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
I'd love to learn more, can you provide a link?

Considering Dolby made DV backwards compatible with older HDMI specs, it'd be awful if Yamaha managed to block it anyways.


Not the end of the world either way, since the BD player has dual HDMI outputs.
I have a Yamaha rx-a3050. I called Yamaha about it and posted the results on the owners thread for the Yamaha. A few people called themselves after and were told the same or similar, you can read more about it in both yahama owners thread for the 3060 and 3050
shortyg83 is offline  
post #327 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
PJL99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Yes, the Vizio is doing the pull down when the Ultra is hooked directly. Not sure what is happening with the data stream thru the AVR that causes the pull down to fail. Have to push to make this work. I'm afraid with a long main HDMI cable, I'll never get Atmos over ARC and this is a permanent solution.
I thought ARC only support DD5.1 or lower. I didn't know it supported Atmos.
PJL99 is offline  
post #328 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJL99 View Post
I thought ARC only support DD5.1 or lower. I didn't know it supported Atmos.
Arc supports DD+ which supports lossy atmos.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #329 of 1200 Old 02-08-2017, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Hi, any idea why when I cast from Google Chrome browser on my laptop to my tv via chromecast ultra, the audio is about a second off from video? Going directly from the pc to tv is fine. Thanks
meduzadg is offline  
post #330 of 1200 Old 02-09-2017, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
So did Denon at least with their 2015 models. They may implement DV pass-through on their 2016 models though.
Is there proof from anyone that has a 2016 Denon that DV passes?
This is a quote from Dolby in an article I read.....



“Dolby Vision can technically be routed through any equipment starting at v1.4.b and above, however, the device needs to be aware of the kind of signal properties that differentiate Dolby Vision from a standard SDR signal. To this effect, we have issued a compatibility SDK that several manufacturers have already used to obtain pass-through compatibility on upcoming products. Compatibility on existing products is something that could possibly achieved as well, but is of course at the discretion of each manufacturer/OEM.”
Read more at http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...Wkc2Ovf7ezv.99
Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off