***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 568Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1221 Old 09-27-2019, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sascha23 View Post
Friends, I'm back in DV @ 4k as of today using CCU. I have an LB B6P. Hoping you're all back in order as well?
Well, I went back and it's back to 1080p. I'm officially confused.
Sascha23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1221 Old 10-17-2019, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 477
How come Chromecast 4K is not approved for FOX Sports 4K ? does it not support HLG?

forgive me as i havent read all 40 pages of this thread ..

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries | @dtv757
dtv757 is offline  
post #1203 of 1221 Old 10-22-2019, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
How come Chromecast 4K is not approved for FOX Sports 4K ? does it not support HLG?
It does support HLG, quite well in fact.
SinGA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1204 of 1221 Old 10-25-2019, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sascha23 View Post
Same issue here. I have a B6 and have been watching DV content on Netflix just fine for ages and then I started to notice my Denon would display the volume UI when I changed it (which immediately told me it's in 1080p since it won't display in 4k).

Sure enough, DV content is 1080p and standard 4k and HDR are just fine as expected. What a bummer — hope this is fixed soon. I saw one thread with barely any responses for it on the Google forums, but anyone know of an official thread on Google's end we can Upvote to get this fixed?
I keep asking Google support for an update. Today they offered to replace my CCU!!!!!!!!! LOL

Like that's going to fix the software problem!!

I would ask each of you with this problem to submit a ticket to Google CCU support so they'll have more records of this problem. They act like it doesn't exist. I started with a chat via this page https://support.google.com/chromecast/contactflow and then they opened a case which moved the "flow" to email. I know its a PIA to deal with support....
SinGA is offline  
post #1205 of 1221 Old 10-25-2019, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 80
More from Google CCU support:

"Upon checking the current firmware version of your Google Chromecast Ultras is the most updated one. Which is may no longer compatible with the software of your TV. That's is why you are experiencing this issue, can you check with LG if they have upcoming software update available for your TV. Since the current firmware version on your Chromecast Utlra is compatible to almost every 4k TV that was recently release.

I suggest, try using the Chromecast Ultra on a different 4k TV just for us to isolate the issue. Regarding your question on reversing the update, I'm afraid we can't undo the update. "

Sounds like they're saying 2016 owners are f'd!
SinGA is offline  
post #1206 of 1221 Old 10-29-2019, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The problem was definitely with my TV, not the CCU. I upgraded my TV and all these app problems went away.

Edit: by "upgraded" i meant "bought a new tv"
Musician likes this.

Last edited by SinGA; 10-29-2019 at 10:03 AM.
SinGA is offline  
post #1207 of 1221 Old 10-29-2019, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
home_theatre_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by SinGA View Post
The problem was definitely with my TV, not the CCU. I upgraded my TV and all these app problems went away.
What tvOS version are you currently running that does not have the issues with the CCU?

EDIT: Nevermind, I see that you upgraded to a C9.
SinGA likes this.

Chase Walton
Technical Editor
PMI, Ltd. / MSR, Inc.

Home Theater Design and Calibration Insider

My comments are my own and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of PMI, Ltd. or MSR, Inc.


Last edited by home_theatre_man; 10-29-2019 at 08:27 AM.
home_theatre_man is offline  
post #1208 of 1221 Old 10-29-2019, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by home_theatre_man View Post
Nevermind, I see that you upgraded to a C9.
sorry about that, i should have been more clear.
SinGA is offline  
post #1209 of 1221 Old 11-08-2019, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Epedemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Aaand they fixed the "unfixable" non-problem in fw 1.42.180348 (preview program) Glorious 4K/24hz/DV Netflix is back for us 2016 LG OLED owners
galonzo and SinGA like this.
Epedemic is offline  
post #1210 of 1221 Old 11-08-2019, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,568
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Support on this device is beyond useless. It's one of the most disappointing Google products I have used. Nothing like this happens on the 1080p models.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.85 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #1211 of 1221 Old 11-12-2019, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Im having an issue with Dolby Vision using CC Ultra on my Vizio PX65.

No other issues at all with Dolby vision on this TV but the Ultra gives a super gray and washed out image on anything DV. HDR10 outputs properly but DV is unwatchable. I dont get whats going on
toonj64 is offline  
post #1212 of 1221 Old 11-18-2019, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,012
Mentioned: 219 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5620 Post(s)
Liked: 3793
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post
Im having an issue with Dolby Vision using CC Ultra on my Vizio PX65.



No other issues at all with Dolby vision on this TV but the Ultra gives a super gray and washed out image on anything DV. HDR10 outputs properly but DV is unwatchable. I dont get whats going on
I think DV from Chromecast ultra had been problematic for quite some time. Why not just use the Chromecast that's built into the tv?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #1213 of 1221 Old 11-18-2019, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I think DV from Chromecast ultra had been problematic for quite some time. Why not just use the Chromecast that's built into the tv?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Quite simply because Vizio thought it would be a great idea to make sure disney + DIDNT work cuz... you know.... awesome!
shoman94 and galonzo like this.
toonj64 is offline  
post #1214 of 1221 Old 11-26-2019, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
ozsat58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anybody in UK got BT Sport Ultimate working in HDR via the Ultra?
ozsat58 is offline  
post #1215 of 1221 Old 12-05-2019, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Hi guys,
Has anyone tried playing HLG files via VLC on the CCU, particularly the famous Cymatic Jazz HLG clip? For some reason, I am able to get HLG on my Sony z9d's built in Chromecast, but not on my TCL 6 with the CCU. However, the ROKU player plays HLG files fine on my TCL 6, and the CCU plays HLG youtube videos on the set. Thanks in advance.
MLM87 is offline  
post #1216 of 1221 Old 01-11-2020, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Hello!


My HDMI stream is Chromecast Ultra > Yamaha RX-A 1080 > JVC DLA-X550R Projector. All devices are 4k capable. This equipment chain always shows 'No Input' on screen. Audio can be cast OK.

I tested and the Ultra 4k video works properly when connected directly to the JVC DLA-X550R Projector or via the HDMI cable from the AVR to the PJ. In other words, I eliminated the AVR from the stream, so it's not the cable or the projector. Checked all settings on the Yamaha AVR that I could think of without positive results. The AVR is at the latest firmware. Also, the AVR (and HDMI stream of components) works without issue with these other 4k devices as sources: Roku 4 - HD and 4K UHD Streaming Media Player, Samsung UBD-M8500 4k Blu-Ray Player and Roku Premiere 4K Streaming Media Player.

So, it appears that the Chromecast Ultra does not properly feed/handshake with the Yamaha RX-A 1080 - even though the AVR works fine with three other 4k source devices that I own.

I then chatted with Google's Chromecast Support line. In a nutshell, they say that Chromecast (of any type or level) doesn't support connections to anything other than a TV/projector. Although I have another, non-4k, Chromecast that works fine connected to an AVR, that doesn't mean that it's a supported configuration. This stance from Google/Chromecast seems ludicrous to me, but if that's their stance, is there any hope for my setup to work?

TIA.

Link: System Pix & Diagrams
Klipsch: (2) RF-83, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54, (2) RSX-5, SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
Yamaha: Aventage RX-A1080, CDC-685, Samsung: UBD-M8500, JVC: Procision DLA-X550R
DragonFly: 16:9 133" High Contrast Screen, Apple: AppleTV, Roku: Roku4
Amazon: FireTV Stick, Logitech: Harmony One, ACP: J15BLK 1.5 kVA Power Conditioner/UPS
lflorack is offline  
post #1217 of 1221 Old 01-11-2020, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
home_theatre_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by lflorack View Post
I then chatted with Google's Chromecast Support line. In a nutshell, they say that Chromecast (of any type or level) doesn't support connections to anything other than a TV/projector. Although I have another, non-4k, Chromecast that works fine connected to an AVR, that doesn't mean that it's a supported configuration. This stance from Google/Chromecast seems ludicrous to me, but if that's their stance, is there any hope for my setup to work?
Yes, that's Google's official position, but many of us have had varying degrees of success with the Chromecast Ultra going through an HDMI switcher/sound bar/AVR/surround processor before the display. It is a bit hit-or-miss in my experience, and sometimes Google's updates break things that were working and then fix them again later. Unfortunately, I don't have your exact equipment set, but perhaps someone else does and can offer suggestions for how to configure it to work with the CCU.

Chase Walton
Technical Editor
PMI, Ltd. / MSR, Inc.

Home Theater Design and Calibration Insider

My comments are my own and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of PMI, Ltd. or MSR, Inc.

home_theatre_man is offline  
post #1218 of 1221 Old 01-11-2020, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by home_theatre_man View Post
Yes, that's Google's official position, but many of us have had varying degrees of success with the Chromecast Ultra going through an HDMI switcher/sound bar/AVR/surround processor before the display. It is a bit hit-or-miss in my experience, and sometimes Google's updates break things that were working and then fix them again later. Unfortunately, I don't have your exact equipment set, but perhaps someone else does and can offer suggestions for how to configure it to work with the CCU.
Thank you for your response. I'll be interested in [hopefully] getting the Ultra to work eventually. Maybe I'll also post the question over in the Yamah sub-forum to see if someone there might be able to shed some light on a possible solution.

Link: System Pix & Diagrams
Klipsch: (2) RF-83, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54, (2) RSX-5, SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
Yamaha: Aventage RX-A1080, CDC-685, Samsung: UBD-M8500, JVC: Procision DLA-X550R
DragonFly: 16:9 133" High Contrast Screen, Apple: AppleTV, Roku: Roku4
Amazon: FireTV Stick, Logitech: Harmony One, ACP: J15BLK 1.5 kVA Power Conditioner/UPS
lflorack is offline  
post #1219 of 1221 Old 01-11-2020, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,134
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2585 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
One big thing that annoys about CC.

You can't cast Youtube videos at greater than 1x speed, like you can view them in browsers or their mobile apps.

As soon as you cast, it only plays back at normal speed.

Not sure you can even get the CC captioning either.
wco81 is online now  
post #1220 of 1221 Old 01-11-2020, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by lflorack View Post
Thank you for your response. I'll be interested in [hopefully] getting the Ultra to work eventually. Maybe I'll also post the question over in the Yamah sub-forum to see if someone there might be able to shed some light on a possible solution.
I can't get my ultra to work through my pioneer receiver. I get random black screens. Blows my mind that a product wouldn't be supported to do that. Like what's the point of having an external streamer if you can't make use of a nice surround sound system. I suppose if the TV doesn't have a good set of built in apps. Just seems rare these days.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
Billy Williams is offline  
post #1221 of 1221 Old 01-11-2020, 09:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,012
Mentioned: 219 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5620 Post(s)
Liked: 3793
Quote:
Originally Posted by lflorack View Post
Hello!





My HDMI stream is Chromecast Ultra > Yamaha RX-A 1080 > JVC DLA-X550R Projector. All devices are 4k capable. This equipment chain always shows 'No Input' on screen. Audio can be cast OK.



I tested and the Ultra 4k video works properly when connected directly to the JVC DLA-X550R Projector or via the HDMI cable from the AVR to the PJ. In other words, I eliminated the AVR from the stream, so it's not the cable or the projector. Checked all settings on the Yamaha AVR that I could think of without positive results. The AVR is at the latest firmware. Also, the AVR (and HDMI stream of components) works without issue with these other 4k devices as sources: Roku 4 - HD and 4K UHD Streaming Media Player, Samsung UBD-M8500 4k Blu-Ray Player and Roku Premiere 4K Streaming Media Player.



So, it appears that the Chromecast Ultra does not properly feed/handshake with the Yamaha RX-A 1080 - even though the AVR works fine with three other 4k source devices that I own.



I then chatted with Google's Chromecast Support line. In a nutshell, they say that Chromecast (of any type or level) doesn't support connections to anything other than a TV/projector. Although I have another, non-4k, Chromecast that works fine connected to an AVR, that doesn't mean that it's a supported configuration. This stance from Google/Chromecast seems ludicrous to me, but if that's their stance, is there any hope for my setup to work?



TIA.
I'm going to assume the Yamaha HDMI it's set to mode 1?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #1222 of 1221 Old 01-12-2020, 05:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 63
***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I'm going to assume the Yamaha HDMI it's set to mode 1?



Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk


Thanks for the idea, but Yes. I checked and confirmed it is set to Mode 1. I even set it to mode 2 just to be sure that wouldn’t help. It didn’t.

Link: System Pix & Diagrams
Klipsch: (2) RF-83, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54, (2) RSX-5, SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
Yamaha: Aventage RX-A1080, CDC-685, Samsung: UBD-M8500, JVC: Procision DLA-X550R
DragonFly: 16:9 133" High Contrast Screen, Apple: AppleTV, Roku: Roku4
Amazon: FireTV Stick, Logitech: Harmony One, ACP: J15BLK 1.5 kVA Power Conditioner/UPS

Last edited by lflorack; 01-12-2020 at 05:13 AM.
lflorack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off