***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 1200 Old 12-30-2016, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
I have a feeling it's more of an issue with the Chromecast than anything else. Now that I have a DV bluray I can test as soon as a DV disc is available.
Thats possible. Are you talking about the OPPO? Did they even say when it would get the DV firmware update? Or did they say if it will be able to stream DV?
shortyg83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1200 Old 12-30-2016, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Thats possible. Are you talking about the OPPO? Did they even say when it would get the DV firmware update? Or did they say if it will be able to stream DV?


The update should be beginning of the year. The oppo doesn’t have any streaming apps at all. I can play video over my network on it. But no apps. It does have an HDMI in so you can connect another device and take advantage of oppos video processing.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is online now  
post #213 of 1200 Old 12-30-2016, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
The update should be beginning of the year. The oppo doesn’t have any streaming apps at all. I can play video over my network on it. But no apps. It does have an HDMI in so you can connect another device and take advantage of oppos video processing.
I have the Samsung UHD player, I wanted to get the OPPO but I use the Amazon APP on the Samsung one currently for HDR, so I ill prob have to wait till I get something else to stream from.
shortyg83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 1200 Old 12-30-2016, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
korsjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 466
This is a double post, but if anyone can answer, I would appreciate it.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post49420265

If someone has the below configuration and could test something for me I would appreciate it.

OPPO - using the HDMI audio out to an AVR that decodes Dolby Digital Plus (Netflix) that does not have HDMI 2.2.

Chromecast Ultra - if someone has a CC ultra. Could you plug it into the OPPO's HDMI IN HDMI port.

Netflix on the Chromecast Ultra - Could someone check and see if the Chromecast Ultra will pass a 5.1 signal through the OPPO to the AVR and let me know if the AVR is able to decode the 5.1 signal.

Please quote post so I get a notification. Much appreciated.

Family Room
LG OLED65C6P, Denon AVRX2400H, Oppo 203, XBOX One S

Bedroom
TCL 55R615, Samsung UBD-K8500
korsjs is offline  
post #215 of 1200 Old 12-30-2016, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
I have the Samsung UHD player, I wanted to get the OPPO but I use the Amazon APP on the Samsung one currently for HDR, so I ill prob have to wait till I get something else to stream from.


There is some indication that Amazon will finally release an app for the Nvidia shield. Then I'll be happy. In the meantime I use the Amazon app built in the tv for HDR.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is online now  
post #216 of 1200 Old 01-02-2017, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVCT View Post
Hi everyone,

Most of the time, when I cast a movie from Google Play Movies to the Chromecast Ultra I get 2.0 rather than 5.1 sound (note: all of the movies have 5.1 sound).

My Chromecast Ultra is directly connected to my AVR which supports up to LPCM 7.1. Are there any app settings that I have missed? Or any other suggestions?
Any suggestions?
EVCT is offline  
post #217 of 1200 Old 01-02-2017, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,081
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Anyone having issues with the chromecast ultra consistently switching inputs using cec? I love the fact i cast something it switches my avr input, my chromecast 2 i dont recall this issue but my new one works off and on. Tonight i rebooted the chromecast then it switched inputs when i cast something. Seems to be working off and on.

I have denon x3200.
Murilo is offline  
post #218 of 1200 Old 01-03-2017, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
There is some indication that Amazon will finally release an app for the Nvidia shield. Then I'll be happy. In the meantime I use the Amazon app built in the tv for HDR.
Will that be for the existing Sheild or the rumored new one (which is one piece of speculation stemming from the fact that the existing one is Out of Stock everywhere)?
nathan_h is offline  
post #219 of 1200 Old 01-03-2017, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Will that be for the existing Sheild or the rumored new one (which is one piece of speculation stemming from the fact that the existing one is Out of Stock everywhere)?


Can't say for sure but an image for Amazon video showed up on the Nvidia shield product page briefly before being taken down.

Nvidias press conference is tomorrow. We'll see what they have to say.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is online now  
post #220 of 1200 Old 01-04-2017, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
It won't trigger Dolby vision through avrs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What are you saying? You can do DV if its directly connected to your Display but not if you connect it to your AVR? Whats your AVR?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 01-04-2017 at 11:27 AM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #221 of 1200 Old 01-04-2017, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
What are you saying? You can do DV if its directly connected to your Display but not if you connect it to your AVR? Whats your AVR?
That is correct. When it is connected to the vizio p directly I get dolby vision.
When I go through my AVR(which is hdmi2.0a and hdr capable) it does not detect the tv as being able to get Dolby Vision and instead only sends HDR-10.
shoman94 likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #222 of 1200 Old 01-04-2017, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
scarabaeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Leandro, CA, USA
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
That is correct. When it is connected to the vizio p directly I get dolby vision.
When I go through my AVR(which is hdmi2.0a and hdr capable) it does not detect the tv as being able to get Dolby Vision and instead only sends HDR-10.
Which AVR do you have? Maybe it's time to start a list, which ones support DV through and which ones don't.

Also, have you made sure to disable all processing on the video through your AVR? No scaling, color adjustments, anything, just pure source direct.
scarabaeus is offline  
post #223 of 1200 Old 01-04-2017, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarabaeus View Post
Which AVR do you have? Maybe it's time to start a list, which ones support DV through and which ones don't.

Also, have you made sure to disable all processing on the video through your AVR? No scaling, color adjustments, anything, just pure source direct.
Yamaha RX-A3050.
Yea all processing is turned off, Yamaha has also stated it isn't supported which doesn't make sense.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #224 of 1200 Old 01-04-2017, 09:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,983
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3322 Post(s)
Liked: 6165
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Yamaha RX-A3050.
Yea all processing is turned off, Yamaha has also stated it isn't supported which doesn't make sense.
I bought an Ultra today and can pretty much confirm your findings. I'll add a little more info. When connected directly to the TV, the display reports that it's processing 4k/24hz when getting a DV signal. This signal triggers DV. The same source passing through my AVR (Pioneer SC-95) with no processing plays without DV but at 4k/60 and does not trigger DV. Frustrating. Either the metadata is corrupting or there is a bandwidth issue. Atmos is working when connected directly to the AVR. I do not get Atmos from the P series.

HDR10 works fine from the Netflix and Amazon apps.

I tried just about every combination of settings possible. FYI..everything below 4k is scaled automatically on the Chromecast. There are very few settings on the Ultra.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #225 of 1200 Old 01-04-2017, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
I bought an Ultra today and can pretty much confirm your findings. I'll add a little more info. When connected directly to the TV, the display reports that it's processing 4k/24hz when getting a DV signal. This signal triggers DV. The same source passing through my AVR (Pioneer SC-95) with no processing plays without DV but at 4k/60 and does not trigger DV. Frustrating. Either the metadata is corrupting or there is a bandwidth issue. Atmos is working when connected directly to the AVR. I do not get Atmos from the P series.

HDR10 works fine from the Netflix and Amazon apps.

I tried just about every combination of settings possible. FYI..everything below 4k is scaled automatically on the Chromecast. There are very few settings on the Ultra.
So apparently you may be on to something with the 24hz thing. From reading on the chromecast help pages it seems the reason the ULTRA isn't working right with LG tvs is because they can not switch it to 24p mode and instead it just goes to 60hz. It would be nice if they added a 24p mode into the settings. Or if we can try and find some way to force the ultra into that mode.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #226 of 1200 Old 01-05-2017, 03:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,983
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3322 Post(s)
Liked: 6165
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
So apparently you may be on to something with the 24hz thing. From reading on the chromecast help pages it seems the reason the ULTRA isn't working right with LG tvs is because they can not switch it to 24p mode and instead it just goes to 60hz. It would be nice if they added a 24p mode into the settings. Or if we can try and find some way to force the ultra into that mode.


Yes, the Vizio is doing the pull down when the Ultra is hooked directly. Not sure what is happening with the data stream thru the AVR that causes the pull down to fail. Have to push to make this work. I'm afraid with a long main HDMI cable, I'll never get Atmos over ARC and this is a permanent solution.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #227 of 1200 Old 01-05-2017, 04:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,983
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3322 Post(s)
Liked: 6165
Just as any FYI, 4 of my early VUDU DV titles that have Dolby Atmos only trigger DDSurround; Pacific Rim, Mad Max, Live Die Repeat and Heart of the Sea. All the newer ones work fine as well as a few of the older titles.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #228 of 1200 Old 01-05-2017, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
That is correct. When it is connected to the vizio p directly I get dolby vision.
When I go through my AVR(which is hdmi2.0a and hdr capable) it does not detect the tv as being able to get Dolby Vision and instead only sends HDR-10.
That's so lame. It negates the entire value of the device. No point in running the Ultra into a Vizio P. The reason is to be able to run it through an AVR to get Atmos reliably without ARC while still getting DV.
bdraw and thomasfxlt like this.
JaremyP is offline  
post #229 of 1200 Old 01-05-2017, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Just as any FYI, 4 of my early VUDU DV titles that have Dolby Atmos only trigger DDSurround; Pacific Rim, Mad Max, Live Die Repeat and Heart of the Sea. All the newer ones work fine as well as a few of the older titles.


There is an issue where if the movie is 7.1 atmos it wont send atmos. But if the movie is 5.1 atmos it works fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shoman94 and thomasfxlt like this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #230 of 1200 Old 01-05-2017, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,983
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3322 Post(s)
Liked: 6165
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
There is an issue where if the movie is 7.1 atmos it wont send atmos. But if the movie is 5.1 atmos it works fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Ok.. I'll cross reference that and see if I can replicate. Thx.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #231 of 1200 Old 01-05-2017, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,081
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronin_cse View Post
I'm thinking that I'm going to return my CC Ultra and get a Roku Premiere+ instead. I'm not seeing a lot of advantage to it since I bought it to access HDR content and there is hardly any YouTube HDR content, Netflix's HDR content is pretty sparse, obviously no Amazon access, and to top it off Google Play movies aren't HDR for some crazy reason....oh also I don't have a DV set so Vudu isn't a decent HDR option either . Either that or wait for either the apps on my TV or on the PS4 Pro to be updated to support HDR.

Any reasons out there to hang on to the CC Ultra in my case?

Edit: oh and I get the bug where when I switch inputs the light flashes orange and displays a black screen until I reboot it, so some added annoyance there
I am getting the same issue, is this a bug really or should i exchange the device? Did you resolve it?
Murilo is offline  
post #232 of 1200 Old 01-06-2017, 06:34 AM
Member
 
ronin_cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
I am getting the same issue, is this a bug really or should i exchange the device? Did you resolve it?
I did end up returning it so I could get Amazon video...however I did resolve the bug by joining the preview program so I could get the beta updates. At least I believe that's what fixed it as shortly after enabling the feature the bug stopped. Here's the link on how to enable it: https://support.google.com/chromecas.../6343937?hl=en

Give it a day or two afterwards so it has time to install the update.
CCsoftball7 and Murilo like this.
ronin_cse is offline  
post #233 of 1200 Old 01-06-2017, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
HDR 10 is broken on my p75 but DV works. Hdr10 still works when I connect it to my AVR, but no DV. Why can't things just work.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #234 of 1200 Old 01-06-2017, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
HDR 10 is broken on my p75 but DV works. Hdr10 still works when I connect it to my AVR, but no DV. Why can't things just work.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Funny story, I posted on google help board and the response I got from google was that they don't support hooking Chromecast up to AVRS. Like really?

I think I would prefer these devices have an option to select DV or HDR10 instead of the chromecast just guessing.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #235 of 1200 Old 01-06-2017, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Funny story, I posted on google help board and the response I got from google was that they don't support hooking Chromecast up to AVRS. Like really?

I think I would prefer these devices have an option to select DV or HDR10 instead of the chromecast just guessing.
Whatever they did broke it. Can you test for HDR10 when directly connected to the Display?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #236 of 1200 Old 01-06-2017, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Whatever they did broke it. Can you test for HDR10 when directly connected to the Display?
Yea it doesn't work through the display. For some reason since the dolby vision update it won't send HDR-10, unless like you said it is going through an AVR. But then you lose dolby vision.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #237 of 1200 Old 01-07-2017, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GeneWildersHair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Hello, I just picked up one of these Chromecast Ultra's, and I seem to be getting some horrible color banding with various content on YouTube. Is there anyway to fix this? Everything looks great except this issue. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GeneWildersHair is offline  
post #238 of 1200 Old 01-07-2017, 09:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneWildersHair View Post
Hello, I just picked up one of these Chromecast Ultra's, and I seem to be getting some horrible color banding with various content on YouTube. Is there anyway to fix this? Everything looks great except this issue. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What display are you playing this through?

Would you mind sharing a few of the YouTube links you're seeing the banding with? I'll see if I can replicate it.
tcramer is online now  
post #239 of 1200 Old 01-08-2017, 12:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GeneWildersHair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcramer View Post
What display are you playing this through?



Would you mind sharing a few of the YouTube links you're seeing the banding with? I'll see if I can replicate it.


Using a Samsung JS9500, and its with all the videos. I can see it in skies, and other areas pretty easily. Otherwise it looks great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GeneWildersHair is offline  
post #240 of 1200 Old 01-08-2017, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneWildersHair View Post
Using a Samsung JS9500, and its with all the videos. I can see it in skies, and other areas pretty easily. Otherwise it looks great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I haven't had any issue with my Sony 940C. Maybe it's 12 bit color?

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off