Dune HD Duo 4K Media Player - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 141 Old 11-19-2017, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Is there a solution where can re-name or re-point My Collection or would I have to repeat the entire process of indexing again?

Current Gear: Anthem AVM60, D-Sonic 3500/7, Oppo UDP-203, PS Audio Nuwave Phono Pre, Technics SL1210 w/ Denon DL103, Dune Duo 4K, Vizio 75" 4K, Paradigm Sig. S6 & C3 v.3's, Studio ADP's, Velodyne SPLR1200.
rnrgagne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 141 Old 11-19-2017, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post
Is there a solution where can re-name or re-point My Collection or would I have to repeat the entire process of indexing again?
At MyCollection side is it not possible. Only reindexing. But there is a chance, that lot of your individual matching will be kept.
You can always reindex current HDD again, not removing past references, to check/compare.
if you remember label of your HDD from the past, you can also try to restore it to check if MyCollection folder will match the drive.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #123 of 141 Old 11-19-2017, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Well, not 100% sure how I did it but I found a way to "Add folder to My Collection" and had to rename the folder from Concerts to "Concerts B" to be able to index it. The good news is that it duplicated everything from the original folder so I didn't have to replicate work.

Current Gear: Anthem AVM60, D-Sonic 3500/7, Oppo UDP-203, PS Audio Nuwave Phono Pre, Technics SL1210 w/ Denon DL103, Dune Duo 4K, Vizio 75" 4K, Paradigm Sig. S6 & C3 v.3's, Studio ADP's, Velodyne SPLR1200.
rnrgagne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 141 Old 11-22-2017, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Another question if I may;
I was under the impression that this would work as a NAS and have dlna capabilities. I can see it from my PC no problem but neither my Oppo, nor Anthem (via PlayFi) can find it to access the music files? Is there a way I pull this off, the manual is useless in this regard..

Current Gear: Anthem AVM60, D-Sonic 3500/7, Oppo UDP-203, PS Audio Nuwave Phono Pre, Technics SL1210 w/ Denon DL103, Dune Duo 4K, Vizio 75" 4K, Paradigm Sig. S6 & C3 v.3's, Studio ADP's, Velodyne SPLR1200.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #125 of 141 Old 11-23-2017, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post
Another question if I may;
I was under the impression that this would work as a NAS and have dlna capabilities. I can see it from my PC no problem but neither my Oppo, nor Anthem (via PlayFi) can find it to access the music files? Is there a way I pull this off, the manual is useless in this regard..
Dune has no UPnP/DLAN server option. It acts as UPnP client, and after installing UPnP extension it support also UPnP-DMR, to accept streaming from UPnP DMC devices (usually mobile devices with special software).
So no server option available, and it is not sure if Dune will release such extension.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #126 of 141 Old 11-23-2017, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Well that's disappointing, and I'd say that the fact they advertise "NAS" functioning is very misleading then..

This is what it says on their site:

"Built-in NAS function: Access files on attached storage devices (HDD, USB drive, etc) from local network (via SMB, FTP, UPnP/DLNA)"

WTF???

Current Gear: Anthem AVM60, D-Sonic 3500/7, Oppo UDP-203, PS Audio Nuwave Phono Pre, Technics SL1210 w/ Denon DL103, Dune Duo 4K, Vizio 75" 4K, Paradigm Sig. S6 & C3 v.3's, Studio ADP's, Velodyne SPLR1200.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #127 of 141 Old 11-23-2017, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post
Well that's disappointing, and I'd say that the fact they advertise "NAS" functioning is very misleading then..

This is what it says on their site:

"Built-in NAS function: Access files on attached storage devices (HDD, USB drive, etc) from local network (via SMB, FTP, UPnP/DLNA)"

WTF???
This specification is not correct. I know that at some websites and descriptions it is updated. But it seems, that not everywhere. SMB and FTP is fine.

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #128 of 141 Old 11-24-2017, 04:00 AM
jju
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadqs View Post
Dune has no UPnP/DLAN server option. It acts as UPnP client, and after installing UPnP extension it support also UPnP-DMR, to accept streaming from UPnP DMC devices (usually mobile devices with special software).
So no server option available, and it is not sure if Dune will release such extension.
It is possible to install Twonky Server(manually) or Plex(plugin) or minidlna(manually) of mediatomb(manually)
jju is offline  
post #129 of 141 Old 11-24-2017, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
kadqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jju View Post
It is possible to install Twonky Server(manually) or Plex(plugin) or minidlna(manually) of mediatomb(manually)
You have to check community plugins and extensions.
http://forum.hdtv.ru/index.php?showforum=47

DuneHD Ultra4K, Pro4K, Neo4k, Duo4K, Solo4K, Base3D, TV-102w, QNAP/Synology, Fibaro, Sonos, iEast
kadqs is offline  
post #130 of 141 Old 11-24-2017, 04:44 AM
jju
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I did not ask a question. I listed the UPnP / DLAN server options known to me, which can be installed on dune 4k
jju is offline  
post #131 of 141 Old 11-26-2017, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Well, I'm at a loss, but it's a happy one...

As of this morning I discovered that my iPhone's Oppo app sees my Dune and is playing my music files from there. It's different than Play-Fi because it's not routing through my phone, it's pulling from the Dune & bitstreaming via HDMI to my Anthem. Bitstreaming direct from the Dune might be the best audio option, but with the Oppo app I don't need to turn on the TV to navigate and it sounds the same to me...

Current Gear: Anthem AVM60, D-Sonic 3500/7, Oppo UDP-203, PS Audio Nuwave Phono Pre, Technics SL1210 w/ Denon DL103, Dune Duo 4K, Vizio 75" 4K, Paradigm Sig. S6 & C3 v.3's, Studio ADP's, Velodyne SPLR1200.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #132 of 141 Old 11-26-2017, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Won't be replacing my Nvidia Shield TV anytime soon.
edved1 is offline  
post #133 of 141 Old 11-27-2017, 03:39 AM
jju
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post
Well, I'm at a loss, but it's a happy one...

As of this morning I discovered that my iPhone's Oppo app sees my Dune and is playing my music files from there. It's different than Play-Fi because it's not routing through my phone, it's pulling from the Dune & bitstreaming via HDMI to my Anthem. Bitstreaming direct from the Dune might be the best audio option, but with the Oppo app I don't need to turn on the TV to navigate and it sounds the same to me...
what is the application for oppo?
jju is offline  
post #134 of 141 Old 11-27-2017, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 69
^^^
It's an iPhone remote control app for my Oppo BDP-203 player, it allows me to navigate through the player's menu system without having to turn on the TV it even has album art...
jju likes this.

Current Gear: Anthem AVM60, D-Sonic 3500/7, Oppo UDP-203, PS Audio Nuwave Phono Pre, Technics SL1210 w/ Denon DL103, Dune Duo 4K, Vizio 75" 4K, Paradigm Sig. S6 & C3 v.3's, Studio ADP's, Velodyne SPLR1200.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #135 of 141 Old 11-28-2017, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,525
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 899 Post(s)
Liked: 349
I didn't see anything on where to get this in the US.
Then, how about service?

Unless neither of those are important.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #136 of 141 Old 11-28-2017, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
I didn't see anything on where to get this in the US.
Then, how about service?

Unless neither of those are important.
www.duneplayer.com They are also the distributor for the US AFAIK. They had a Black Friday sale that you just missed.

Amazon has them as well.
videobruce likes this.
b curry is offline  
post #137 of 141 Old 11-28-2017, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,525
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 899 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Their site is well hidden when searching using "Dune HD".

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #138 of 141 Old 11-28-2017, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 5,065
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Their site is well hidden when searching using "Dune HD".
Yes, it is.

You have to go to the "Where to Buy" on Dune HD's site and then click US/Canada. That will get you to www.hdi-usa.com. After that you click the "Dealers" tab and then click "Online Resellers" and that will get you to www.duneplayer.com; hdi-usa and duneplayer are the same place. The owner's name is Mike. He's in Flemington, NJ.
b curry is offline  
post #139 of 141 Old 11-28-2017, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,525
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 899 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Sheesh...........

.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??

Last edited by videobruce; 11-28-2017 at 02:00 PM.
videobruce is offline  
post #140 of 141 Old 11-20-2019, 12:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone, sorry if I resume this discussion on the Dune HD duo 4k after a long time. I bought it just last Saturday. I had read in the specifications that he was able to read all the new generation hdd over 6Tb. I have a Western Digital Red Internal 6000 GB, SATA III, 6000 Mb / s, 5400 RPM, 64 MB, 3.50 Inch (WD60EFRX). Inside it is naturally full of films from my collection. It is NTFS formatted, but with GPT partition for large drives. Dune hd duo 4k gives me back that it's impossible to read it. Do you have any contrary evidence or suggestions? Firmware installed by the reader just connected to the network. Thank you all for any reply
antycapp is offline  
post #141 of 141 Old 05-28-2020, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
videogamelover5122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 14
sorry to revive old thread but anyone in usa have one they want to sell?? if so pm me
videogamelover5122 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off