DirecTV Now Streaming TV Service - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1653Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,270
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5352 Post(s)
Liked: 3763
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
The Verge says it has 1080p/DD5.1 output through Fire TV/Apple TV devices.

Now I am tempted just to do the 1 or 3 mos thing and get a free device out of it.

I'm wondering how the On Demand stuff works? So if I get the $5 HBO deal, do I have access to HBO Go or do I have access to HBO's on demand content through the DirecTV Now app?
I wonder if it's true 1080p with the ATV. It will upscale everything to 1080p, so the native feed to the ATV may not be 1080p.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,517
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2057 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
The Verge says it has 1080p/DD5.1 output through Fire TV/Apple TV devices.

Now I am tempted just to do the 1 or 3 mos thing and get a free device out of it.

I'm wondering how the On Demand stuff works? So if I get the $5 HBO deal, do I have access to HBO Go or do I have access to HBO's on demand content through the DirecTV Now app?
You get an HBO GO login.
bargervais likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #33 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I wonder if it's true 1080p with the ATV. It will upscale everything to 1080p, so the native feed to the ATV may not be 1080p.
Is this true even for the new Apple TV? If it only does 720p I might as well go for the 2nd gen Fire TV stick. I have the 1st gen version and it's kind of crappy. It does do 1080/24p tho, and I read the 2nd gen version is much improved (faster and supports H265 decoding).

Only thing is the HBO Go app is terrible on the Fire TV stick. It doesn't work at all- it might be better on the 2nd gen stick, I don't know.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 01:47 PM
Member
 
derreckla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
no DVR, but apparently there is "on demand" style service, which is basically the same thing sans the ability to fast forward/rewind.
"On demand" on xfinity and PS VUE means you can watch shows whenever you want but we will cram a bunch of different commercials in there that your not allowed to fast forward thru....

Sony XBR-75Z9D
Klipsch Original RF-7s LCR & Surrounds, RS-7 Ceiling Atmos YES!! [/SIZE])
SVS PB13 Ultra
Samsung UBD-K8500 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player
Denon AVR-X3300
derreckla is offline  
post #35 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,824
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3745 Post(s)
Liked: 3443
Signed up for the 3 months free ATV deal, which they had in-store which was nice. Haven't played with the ATV yet but I did setup the app on a Fire TV box and have been playing with it for about 45 mins. The service doesn't seem to have any audio beyond 2.0, at least not any channel I've viewed yet. Seems to be some audio sync issues on a few channels along with a longer than what I'm used to ramp-up time to top resolution on other channels. Watching CNN right now and it looks great, there's some softness though, it's not as sharp as Netflix can be. I need to spend much more time with it but right now it seems well worth the price.

I got the Go Big package which is currently available for $35 per month, and I was told that the $35 price was good until I changed tiers, I can add/remove a premium like HBO and the price for the package will still be $35(HBO would be $5 extra on top of that $35).

I'm viewing with a Samsung 64" plasma and have a 120 Mbps download speed.

Last edited by Keenan; 11-30-2016 at 04:19 PM.
Keenan is offline  
post #36 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 645 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Mine was fine this morning now in the evening FXX keeps buffering and giving me Error 40 on my 2nd Gen Fire TV stick and no it is not or ever will be rooted.

Charter Spectrum.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato
3.5-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Device: Apple TV 4K (2017).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #37 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5803
I messed around with it today, PQ is pretty good but I did have some bugs and overall like the Sling interface better at this point. It is new though, and the $35 deal is hard to beat. I used an ATV.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #38 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,824
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3745 Post(s)
Liked: 3443
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I messed around with it today, PQ is pretty good but I did have some bugs and overall like the Sling interface better at this point. It is new though, and the $35 deal is hard to beat. I used an ATV.
Saw your posts over at SatGuys and they pretty much cover my thoughts so far as well. I'm curious to see if the Fire TV will have 1080p/24fps for HBO, just added HBO so I'll give it a try tonight.
Keenan is offline  
post #39 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5803
Would be interesting. I have no doubt Directv will bring it, they do well with channels and picture quality, but I guess i hoped for more on the launch. It is version 1.0 though, Sling has a large head start and I signed up for the 100 hour beta with the cloud dvr, so hopefully I get picked. I also did not care for the ATV remote, but it may be because I am so used to the Roku and the way they implemented the back button, etc...

Big thing is, its a great time for people looking to get away from hardware and equipment contracts with tv providers.
Keenan likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #40 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
archer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 34
They'll probably slap you with a $10 DVR fee when it comes out because that's what Directv does, nickel and dimes you to death. I'll be sticking with Playstation Vue for $10 more and get all the good channels including NFL Network, Redzone and my favorite AHC in HD.
archer101 is offline  
post #41 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 05:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
upstate-avfan-da's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Just signed up for the free trial, going to use it with my fire stick. Hoping to drop twc cable, like $150/month (no premiums, extreme internet), a few months ago they told me just internet would be like $53. This would provide substantial savings.
upstate-avfan-da is offline  
post #42 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
archer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by upstate-avfan-da View Post
Just signed up for the free trial, going to use it with my fire stick. Hoping to drop twc cable, like $150/month (no premiums, extreme internet), a few months ago they told me just internet would be like $53. This would provide substantial savings.
If you watch sports you don't want any stick devices if you want 60 fps.
archer101 is offline  
post #43 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
upstate-avfan-da's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer101 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by upstate-avfan-da View Post
Just signed up for the free trial, going to use it with my fire stick. Hoping to drop twc cable, like $150/month (no premiums, extreme internet), a few months ago they told me just internet would be like $53. This would provide substantial savings.
If you watch sports you don't want any stick devices if you want 60 fps.
Yeah, of course... I don't really watch sports though so it works for me.... With the savings I'll have $$ to watch any games I might want to watch at a bar with a beer lol.
upstate-avfan-da is offline  
post #44 of 4726 Old 11-30-2016, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
johndoejohndoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 24
1) I read on the Verge that 5.1 sound is available...does that mean Dolby 5.1? When I watch Netflix on my ATV4 my television has a header that says "Dolby Digital" to confirm it is working. On DirecTV Now I don't see that header...

FYI - To get a Dolby to work on ATV4 you have to go to Audio Settings and change from "Best Quality" to "Dolby 5.1."

2) Does anyone notice that the sound is WAY louder through this App? For example - on my Xbox/TiVo/etc I have to have the volume around 35. On the DirecTV Now app I only have to play it at 10. Just wondering if anyone else has noticed this.
johndoejohndoes is offline  
post #45 of 4726 Old 12-01-2016, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 2,009
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Got home from work this morning and when I tried to watch any channel it would give me message that I was not subscribed. Unistalled and reinstalled the app and then I could not log in. All I got was a unknown error. Could not log in to the website on my PC. Chat was removed for some reason. Probable due to the increased access because of the issue. 20 minutes later all was well. I do wish they had phone support or chat 24/7. I prepaid for 3 months. So far I am happy with the channel selection. Hope they offer the NFL Network and Redzone by next year. My FIOS tv ends 1/2/2016. Was able to get my FIOS internet 75/75 for 44 a month so by dropping my phone I am saving 80 dollars a month.
theroys88 is offline  
post #46 of 4726 Old 12-01-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dmon4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 123
I, too, have noticed some softness to the picture.

Some areas:

Local Networks, except CBS and CW which are not on dNow at all, are available only in a limited number of locations. Most people just get VOD. Without live, no Sports are shown.

VOD is available for most other channels. You go to "Networks" and you will find them.

I have yet to check if Network Apps in Roku will work as they did for FiOs and other providers. CW has an App that provides their programming. it is not on dNow.

Oddly, there a few buttons on my FireTv remote that do nothing for dNow.

No links but I have read that they are working on extending the NFL Sunday Ticket to dNow.

One last thing, I had PlayStation Vue but the picture was shifted upward about an inch an a half on all my TVs. This drove me a bit nuts on Stock Tickers and NFL games. With dNow, its only up a half an inch. This is in comparison to FiOs.

.

"There you go again..." - Good Ol' R. Reagan's favorite Troll line !

Last edited by Dmon4u; 12-01-2016 at 06:34 AM.
Dmon4u is offline  
post #47 of 4726 Old 12-01-2016, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Was interested in DirecTVNow but after reading the details, I think I will stick with PSVue.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #48 of 4726 Old 12-01-2016, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Spankey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Robbinsville, NJ
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I did a comparison last night and my PQ is generally on par with sat. Of course internet connection speeds will probably affect this but I could not complain at all. It is still better than my local cable company.

My biggest gripe so far is the false advertising of NBC and RSN availability. I am in the NY/Philly area and I do get those channels on my mobile devices but of course it was never mentioned that NBC would not be available on streaming devices (Apple TV/Fire Stick).

My RSN's are also not available. I do get yes but no FSNY or MSG. That's a pretty big deal. If they can work out those two issues I'd be a pretty happy camper.

It is late in the year but NFL Network is also a big miss. I'm sure that will be worked out contractually, maybe after this season. MLB Network is available.
Spankey is offline  
post #49 of 4726 Old 12-01-2016, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: S.E.Va
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone using this on a Android TV ? I have a new Sony TV with Android TV. Just wondering how well it works on a Android TV.The app in the play store is not rated very good at all, but most people reviewing it are using it on a tablet or phone.

Last edited by JET4; 12-01-2016 at 05:06 PM.
JET4 is offline  
post #50 of 4726 Old 12-03-2016, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 2,009
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Service is down for the second time in 4 days due transmission issues due to chat support. Took me 30 minutes to get through. A terrible launch week for DTV. Sony is probably feeling better after this week. Most trial folks will probably go back to Vue.
theroys88 is offline  
post #51 of 4726 Old 12-03-2016, 06:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: S.E.Va
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Mine is working fine this morning on my Fire Stick.
JET4 is offline  
post #52 of 4726 Old 12-03-2016, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5803
GOing to use it on my second tv today for football, hopefully it does well...

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #53 of 4726 Old 12-03-2016, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5803
Had to punt. FS1 keeps hanging and going down on DNow. Installed the Sling App on this ATV and went on with life for today. I will say, it looks like DNow has better PQ on the ATV than Sling.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #54 of 4726 Old 12-03-2016, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I hate ads too much to want anything with a DVR that cannot skip them.
reddice and Steelman99 like this.

I don't care about apathy

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Marantz SR6010 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi HTPC (OpenPHT/Aeon Nox) * Roku Ultra * Samsung Blu-Ray * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2 * Harmony Ultimate One * HDFury Linker (Zone 2)
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #55 of 4726 Old 12-04-2016, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Why they chose Silverlight for the pc / mac support is beyond me. Netflix dumped Silverlight for a good reason. It's going to be end of life in the not to distant future.
reddice and thrillcat like this.

ikkuranus is offline  
post #56 of 4726 Old 12-06-2016, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 230
So I took advantage of the offer (mainly for the free Fire TV Stick, which is much improved over the 1st gen) and I can't get surround sound out of any content at all (on demand is supposed to offer it). Supposedly DD5.1 works only on Apple and Amazon devices, but I just can't seem to get it to work. If it doesn't work by the end of my trial I will cancel.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #57 of 4726 Old 12-06-2016, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5803
Got my ATV in today, just in time it seems, Roku Ultra bit the bucket today... Setting up now with my account since I gave the one I borrowed back.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #58 of 4726 Old 12-06-2016, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,088
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 230
At least the new Fire TV stick is nice. There's no reason why surround sound shouldn't work. All the other apps do. I assume the DirecTV Now app is buggy.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #59 of 4726 Old 12-06-2016, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 131
DirecTV Now works flawlessly on my 2nd-gen Fire TV through ethernet. But on my 1st-gen Fire TV through wi-fi, I get this a lot:

[IMG][/IMG]

Usually when I hit refresh, things straighten out and play fine.

AFTV News says that's often a result of DirecTV Now being incompatible with rooted Fire TV's, but mine is NOT rooted.
reddice likes this.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #60 of 4726 Old 12-06-2016, 07:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Oh, and now that it's launched isn't it time to change the name of this thread to "Official DirecTV Now Discussion Thread" or something?

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Directv , directv now , streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off