Zappiti 4K HDR (Mini, One, Duo) Thread - Page 107 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 586Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3222 Old 01-30-2020, 02:02 AM
Member
 
djnice77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver-eye View Post
How do you see/test if the metadata is passed or not?
[link]
silver-eye likes this.
djnice77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3222 Old 01-30-2020, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
silver-eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnice77 View Post
Thanks!

I'll try it today, to see the results on my LG oled.
silver-eye is offline  
post #3183 of 3222 Old 01-30-2020, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnice77 View Post
Can you explain more about the test patterns you posted the link to and where the test patterns are located?
marine92104 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3184 of 3222 Old 01-31-2020, 01:52 AM
Member
 
djnice77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
Can you explain more about the test patterns you posted the link to and where the test patterns are located?
[link]
djnice77 is offline  
post #3185 of 3222 Old 02-01-2020, 11:06 AM
Member
 
johnnyquest1426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 12
connection

I switched over to windows 10 from windows 7 & now i can not connect from my computer to the zappiti media center. Go to WI-fi connection setting, says connected goes to my movies & all good. On windows 7 i would transfer my movies from my computer to media & would download. When i go to my computer it doesn't show the zappiti. This is all cat 5 wired not wireless. I go to my router it shows the media player also.
johnnyquest1426 is offline  
post #3186 of 3222 Old 02-02-2020, 11:49 AM
Member
 
johnnyquest1426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I finally got the zappiti media player to work with windows 10. Lots of reading but works. Windows 7 a lot easier.
johnnyquest1426 is offline  
post #3187 of 3222 Old 02-04-2020, 03:45 AM
Newbie
 
overstiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have problems to play videofiles with dolby digital plus. It works fine with my other players. I have Zappiti pro. Very strange!
Im desperate here about this problem! I just got my player but now i want to send it back. I never have this problem before! My Egreat plays this filés with dd+. Zappiti plays every formats but not just dd+! I tried to change raw to auto! I write here beacause i got no answer in the pro discussion
overstiff is offline  
post #3188 of 3222 Old 02-04-2020, 03:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eventidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by overstiff View Post
I have problems to play videofiles with dolby digital plus. It works fine with my other players. I have Zappiti pro. Very strange!
Im desperate here about this problem! I just got my player but now i want to send it back. I never have this problem before! My Egreat plays this filés with dd+. Zappiti plays every formats but not just dd+! I tried to change raw to auto! I write here beacause i got no answer in the pro discussion
DD+ works fine on my Zappiti HDR One.
Eventidal is online now  
post #3189 of 3222 Old 02-04-2020, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
overstiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
DD+ works fine on my Zappiti HDR One.
ok perfect
overstiff is offline  
post #3190 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 04:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Zappiti one SE 4k hdr questions

Hello, i've been using Mede8er 600x3d for a long time and was completely happy with it. Mods on their forum wrote that their firmware will not get an upgrade, so after a couple of months of searching for a better player - I've decided to buy Zappiti one SE 4k hdr and was hopping to get features that Mede8er didn't have.

I have a few questions and notices:

1. how to browse an external srt file when playing mkv file without renaming it into the same name like movie name? can't find that option. for me it is completely insane that a 350 euro player has no option to load custom subtitles without renaming it into the same name like mkv file. 10 year old Mede8er flawlessly did that without any need to rename.

2. how to browse an external srt file when playing BD/BD iso? is it possible without putting subtitles that i need into Blu ray movie. if not, is there an easy way to do that (please link with guide)? most of my movies are mkv-s, but i have still a few Blu rays that i would like to watch with Croatian subtitles.

3. how to switch to an option to download Croatian subtitle from Video app? i've made that working (sometimes worked, sometimes not), switching on Croatian language in Video app, but if i do that, then entire movie metadata scraped after that change, is in Croatian too and i want it in English. i want it in English because for most of the movies on TMDB there is no data on Croatian, so when i click on certain movie in Video app, there is no synopsis.

4. automatic scrapeing of movies is bad. it maybe recongnizes 50% of the newly added movies. rest of the 50% has to be scraped manually. when i compare it with Mede8er and Kodi - Med and Kodi have almost 99 percent of accuracy of scrapeing newly added movies. why don't Zappiti developers take Mede8er and Kodi scrapeing logic?

1 and 3 are showstoppers for using Zappiti for me. Zappiti has beautiful coverart and perfect picture, but this "issues" are going to make me stop using it.
I think that that this features are crucical for people using external subitles and language other than English.
Super Snooker is offline  
post #3191 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 05:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Snooker View Post

4. automatic scrapeing of movies is bad. it maybe recongnizes 50% of the newly added movies. rest of the 50% has to be scraped manually. when i compare it with Mede8er and Kodi - Med and Kodi have almost 99 percent of accuracy of scrapeing newly added movies. why don't Zappiti developers take Mede8er and Kodi scrapeing logic?
I can't agree with that point. It is heavily dependent upon your naming convention. I follow what they suggest for naming and very rarely do I have to change anything.

I'm 100% correctly scraped on 1450 movies and 200 TV series.

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, XBONE, Arcam UDP411, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Firestick 4K, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is offline  
post #3192 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
I can't agree with that point. It is heavily dependent upon your naming convention. I follow what they suggest for naming and very rarely do I have to change anything.

I'm 100% correctly scraped on 1450 movies and 200 TV series.
I understand what you are saying and i can partially agree with you. Naming is crucial here. But when i download a movie from internet (that i already own), to avoid ripping it, it is mostly in format eg "Halloween.1978.bluray.1080p". Zappiti will not find anything if mkv file is named like that. It has to be "Halloween".
I don't wan't to spend extra time on renameing, especially when i have 10 new movies and want to watch them from my hdd right now. Mede8er worked great with that, because it considered movie name to some point - probably a year of the movie and ignored the rest of the text. For me looked like Kodi does that even better, but i haven't used it much to be 100% objective.
Super Snooker is offline  
post #3193 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnice77 View Post
So is it just the LG 1st generation OLEDs that need the Zappiti HDR metadata or is it all LG OLEDs?

I have a LG G6 & the Zappiti has never played nice with my display. Just to get the color profile set took several emails to Zappiti.

There is a noticeable difference on HDR between my Zappiti One & the Oppo 203.

It took a lot of research to understand that the correct HDR metadata was not being sent to my display.

I would love to use the Zappiti for all of my video needs because I love the software but I don’t see that happening until they change the chip they are using in the hardware.
marine92104 is offline  
post #3194 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
So is it just the LG 1st generation OLEDs that need the Zappiti HDR metadata or is it all LG OLEDs?
Don't quote me on it but I think the LG tone mapping is different post 2017 (7 series onwards).

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, XBONE, Arcam UDP411, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Firestick 4K, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is offline  
post #3195 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 11:51 AM
Member
 
djnice77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
So is it just the LG 1st generation OLEDs that need the Zappiti HDR metadata or is it all LG OLEDs?
I have a LG 65B8 and it needs the correct metadata too.
djnice77 is offline  
post #3196 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 03:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
I can't agree with that point. It is heavily dependent upon your naming convention. I follow what they suggest for naming and very rarely do I have to change anything.

I'm 100% correctly scraped on 1450 movies and 200 TV series.

I agree 100% - rarely do I have a scraping problem. Don't forget, do not blame Zapitti, if you don't like it, but the fact is that Zapitti uses 2 online databases who decide on THEIR naming convention (a naming convention that is perfectly logical - I think).
Schafheide is offline  
post #3197 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can anyone recommend a quite hard drive with large storage to go in the 4k Pro HDR. Currently got a 10tb seagate AI hard drive in there and it’s sounds like a tap dancing mouse.
Des511 is offline  
post #3198 of 3222 Old 02-05-2020, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Des511 View Post
Can anyone recommend a quite hard drive with large storage to go in the 4k Pro HDR. Currently got a 10tb seagate AI hard drive in there and it’s sounds like a tap dancing mouse.
I don't have any internal drive. I have 9 USB drives connected. Each 8 or 10tbs and I don't hear anything...not even a mouse.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #3199 of 3222 Old 02-08-2020, 09:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Hi-
Thinking of updating from my Dune HD Smart player and getting a Zappiti One SE 4K HDR. One reason for doing this is that I got an email last May from Zappiti talking about Direct Output being enabled in their 4K HDR players. I've tried searching to find what people think of this feature, but have not seen any comments. Did they actually implement it? Does it work?


Thanks.
Hyrax is offline  
post #3200 of 3222 Old 02-09-2020, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Retro-Marus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep, it's been in there for a few months now and it does what it is supposed to do: Directly outputting a movie file without altering the specs of the file.

Cheers,
Markus
Retro-Marus is offline  
post #3201 of 3222 Old 02-11-2020, 05:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schafheide View Post
I agree 100% - rarely do I have a scraping problem. Don't forget, do not blame Zapitti, if you don't like it, but the fact is that Zapitti uses 2 online databases who decide on THEIR naming convention (a naming convention that is perfectly logical - I think).
Ok, then how does Mede8er have less problems with that and recognizes 90% of downloads, without any need to renaming them? How does Kodi recognizes almost 100% of downloads without renaming them? Why do i have to almost always do manually scrapeing with Zappiti and rename files before that?

What about 1., 2., 3. from my earlier post?
Super Snooker is offline  
post #3202 of 3222 Old 02-12-2020, 04:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Does anyone had any idea when they will give the OTA ?

The beta is available but not OTA and I'm not risking to brick the device
thomasphoenix likes this.
Dimitris Asimakopoulos is offline  
post #3203 of 3222 Old 02-12-2020, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I’m waiting too , certainly not installing through this terrible “restore method” which has killed one player of mine .

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is online now  
post #3204 of 3222 Old 02-12-2020, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Yes I think we are all agreed just wait rather than the dodgy restore method. I tried it on one machine and ended up having to send it back to France for them to fix it. Even if it was take another two months for the new firmware to be available OTA I'd still wait. The machine is pretty solid in its current state for me anyway and there is nothing that I must have now in the latest update for me.
johng likes this.

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, XBONE, Arcam UDP411, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Firestick 4K, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is offline  
post #3205 of 3222 Old 02-12-2020, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Zappiti 4K HDR (Mini, One, Duo) Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
Yes I think we are all agreed just wait rather than the dodgy restore method. I tried it on one machine and ended up having to send it back to France for them to fix it. Even if it was take another two months for the new firmware to be available OTA I'd still wait. The machine is pretty solid in its current state for me anyway and there is nothing that I must have now in the latest update for me.

My shipping to France and the customs explanations on return back to my country made me buy another one instead of sending it for repair. I love the front end Zappiti video app very much , but I use the Shield-Pro and Z9s much more frequently now . I wish they had kept up with Zidoo , the 1296DD is a much better chip than the 1295 , Zappiti Ui is sluggish because of the chip , same as Zidoo X10 which I already have .

Zappiti was my main player when restore bricked it .

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"

Last edited by thomasphoenix; 02-12-2020 at 09:28 AM.
thomasphoenix is online now  
post #3206 of 3222 Old 02-12-2020, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Yes the front end is superb and better than zidoo in many ways I’ve found. But these days I’m using a Cambridge Audio Blu-ray player as my main and the Zap just as support. Not only for file support (DV and HDR10+) but because it renders menus properly. The Zap is fairly weak in that respect.
thomasphoenix likes this.

7.1 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Cambridge Audio CXUHD, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, XBONE, Arcam UDP411, LG OLED E7V
In both Setups Virgin Tivo V6, Firestick 4K, Zappiti 4K HDR, Harmony Elite
sutton8 is offline  
post #3207 of 3222 Old 02-12-2020, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
Yes the front end is superb and better than zidoo in many ways I’ve found. But these days I’m using a Cambridge Audio Blu-ray player as my main and the Zap just as support. Not only for file support (DV and HDR10+) but because it renders menus properly. The Zap is fairly weak in that respect.


True , Blu-Ray & UHD menus are a pain in media players. I use my UDP 203 in those cases .

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is online now  
post #3208 of 3222 Old 02-14-2020, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 175
USB Stick

I just received a Zappiti One SE HDR. It came with a USB stick. I don't see what it is used for.
mikek is offline  
post #3209 of 3222 Old 02-14-2020, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,971
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 3284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikek View Post
I just received a Zappiti One SE HDR. It came with a USB stick. I don't see what it is used for.
Is there something on the thumb drive?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #3210 of 3222 Old 02-15-2020, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikek View Post
I just received a Zappiti One SE HDR. It came with a USB stick. I don't see what it is used for.
I didn't see any documentation with it, but now I see it says restore on it. So I guess it is a recover drive. There is an image file on it.
mikek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off