Zappiti 4K HDR (Mini, One, Duo) Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 532Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 2845 Old 06-11-2017, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
martig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Now I understand. I am able to see the contents, menu trailers, special features on my m2ts files but not on the ISO. When I click on the ISO file, it plays straight to movie, even though it is an exact copy. They play like this in both the Explorer and the Zappiti media center. I had only been playing my ISO files. That is why I did not understand. Ever since Blu-ray came out, I have not been purchasing and DVD's. So my library of ripped DVD's are old. When I mount ISO on a virtual drive on my computer and play with CyberLink, PowerDVD 17, I can play all of the features. I think I read somewhere that the menu for Blu-ray may be added soon to the Zappiti.

Everything plays correctly within each m2ts files on the Explorer. I am not sure what is creating your problem with the correct playback of the contents.

Ray

Last edited by martig; 06-11-2017 at 06:45 AM.
martig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 2845 Old 06-11-2017, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First time poster here - apologies if this is posted elsewhere or forum rules violation.

I am very interested in the Zappiti 4K HDR mini. What would be the most reliable way to purchase from the United States? Is there a reliable US reseller or would it be a better bet to just order direct from the Zappiti store and shipped to the US?

Thank you.
SternSternStern is offline  
post #333 of 2845 Old 06-11-2017, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
martig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SternSternStern View Post
First time poster here - apologies if this is posted elsewhere or forum rules violation.

I am very interested in the Zappiti 4K HDR mini. What would be the most reliable way to purchase from the United States? Is there a reliable US reseller or would it be a better bet to just order direct from the Zappiti store and shipped to the US?

Thank you.
I will send you a personal message because I am not sure of the forum rules either but there is a Canadian dealer that has warehouses in the US. They are very friendly and reliable. They accept US credit cards.

Ray

Last edited by martig; 06-12-2017 at 09:28 PM.
martig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 2845 Old 06-11-2017, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,204
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by martig View Post
I will send you a personal message because I am not sure of the forum rules either but there is a Canadian dealer that has whorehouses in the US. They are very friendly and reliable. They accept US credit cards.
Freudian slip?

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #335 of 2845 Old 06-12-2017, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by martig View Post
I will send you a personal message because I am not sure of the forum rules either but there is a Canadian dealer that has whorehouses in the US. They are very friendly and reliable. They accept US credit cards.
Agreed. Just bought a Mini about 2 weeks ago. Great service, great communication, reliable.
savage01 is offline  
post #336 of 2845 Old 06-12-2017, 05:18 PM
Member
 
johnnyquest1426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There is a dealer in the U.S.A. Does anyone know if we are allowed to mention certain dealers?
johnnyquest1426 is offline  
post #337 of 2845 Old 06-20-2017, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
kingwiggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK -> FL, USA
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Received my Zappiti Duo 4K HDR yesterday.

Ordered from "MediaConcept USA", they shipped same day

Trinnov Altitude 32, LCR JBL M2, JBL LSR 708i, 705i, Q-SYS Core 110f, Amps- QSC CXD4.2Q, 4.3Q, 4.5Q
Kaleidescape Strato, Zapitti 4K HDR Duo, Xbox One X, 8TB Tivo Roamio Pro,
JVC RS600 + ISCO IIIL, 158" 2.40:1 AT screen, Calman 5 Enthusiast, i1 Pro 2, i1 Display Pro, Spyder 5, 3D LUT Box
Oppo UDP-203, BDP-105, Onkyo DAC-1000s, Onkyo DP-X1 DAP, QNAP TVS-871

Last edited by kingwiggi; 06-20-2017 at 10:33 AM.
kingwiggi is offline  
post #338 of 2845 Old 06-25-2017, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
martig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have two 8tb drives in my Zappiti 4k Duo. After formatted, GB NTFS, the remaining space was 7.451.91. One is full with movies. The other has 5.34 TB left, as seen when placed in an external docking station connected to a windows 10 computer with an I7-6700K processor.

The Zappati player is displayed as OPENWRT and the drive that is partially full is seen as "sdb2/iso". When I attempt to rip to it, AnyDVD states that there is not enough room. Prior to this attempted rip, I had ripped at least four movies successfully over the network to to same drive and folder in "OPENWRT". When I take the drive out of the Zappit player and put in back in the external docking station that is connected to the computer, the correct size and the remaining space, 5.34 TB, is then reported and I can rip to it.

Has anyone else run across this problem? I am not sure where the problem lies.

Ray

Last edited by martig; 06-25-2017 at 09:53 PM.
martig is offline  
post #339 of 2845 Old 06-25-2017, 11:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by martig View Post
I have two 8tb drives in my Zappiti 4k Duo. After formatted, GB NTFS, the remaining space was 7.451.91. One is full with movies. The other has 5.34 TB left, as seen when placed in an external docking station connected to a windows 10 computer with an I7-6700K processor.

The Zappati player is displayed as OPENWRT and the drive that is partially full is seen as "sdb2/iso". When I attempt to rip to it, AnyDVD states that there is not enough room. Prior to this attempted rip, I had ripped at least four movies successfully over the network to to same drive and folder in "OPENWRT". When I take the drive out of the Zappit player and put in back in the external docking station that is connected to the computer, the correct size and the remaining space, 5.34 TB, is then reported and I can rip to it.

Has anyone else run across this problem? I am not sure where the problem lies.
Very strange that it previously worked and now does not and I would contact them about that. As a short term solution I would rip to another local drive on the PC and then just copy it over to the drive attached to the Zappiti.

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Sony X700, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED (E6V)
In both Setups "Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite"
sutton8 is offline  
post #340 of 2845 Old 06-26-2017, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
martig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
Very strange that it previously worked and now does not and I would contact them about that. As a short term solution I would rip to another local drive on the PC and then just copy it over to the drive attached to the Zappiti.
I will take some more time with the next rip and try to figure out if it was something I did wrong with choosing the "Destination Directory " in Any DVD ripper. I use "Rip to image..." in AnyDVD. AnyDVD said there was not enough room in the destination file. Yes, I could have done as you suggested but I just pulled the drive out of the Zappiti, put in in the docking station, ripped to it and put it back in the Zappiti. The movie information scraped immediately and played fine from Zappiti. Thanks for your reply.

Ray

Last edited by martig; 06-26-2017 at 01:19 AM.
martig is offline  
post #341 of 2845 Old 07-01-2017, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Dundee, IL
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Is the Mini 4K HDR capable of streaming 3D ISO and/or 3D MKV MVC off of a HTPC? I've already got plenty of storage for my BD & 3D rips and would prefer to keep all of my media in a singular location (HTPC) and use the Zappiti Mini to stream content in 3D MVC.

JVC RS600 ¤ 130" Wide Seymour XD 2.35:1
Denon x4200 ¤ Onkyo M5010 ¤ iNuke 3000 ¤ 7.2.2
HTPC GTX1080 + MadVR is my master now ¤ Zidoo X8
sonichart is offline  
post #342 of 2845 Old 07-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
martig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonichart View Post
Is the Mini 4K HDR capable of streaming 3D ISO and/or 3D MKV MVC off of a HTPC? I've already got plenty of storage for my BD & 3D rips and would prefer to keep all of my media in a singular location (HTPC) and use the Zappiti Mini to stream content in 3D MVC.
According to the information on there web site it does all of the above. Scroll down to "A universal media center."

http://www.zappiti.com/zappiti-mini-4k-hdr.html

I have 3D ISOs that I previously played from kdlinks A-300. I had a 3D capable television at the time and they played in full 3D. However I do not have a 3D television now and the Zappiti Duo 4K HDR that I currently have plays them in 2D from two 8TB internal drives. Therefore I can not tell you from personal experience.

Ray
martig is offline  
post #343 of 2845 Old 07-16-2017, 01:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hello. I would like to ask. I do not notice the difference after the last update for HDR OFF and ON. Of course, with a HDR movie. And one more question. Does a movie that does not have HDR function should be HDR OFF or ON? Thank you for your response.
riki68 is offline  
post #344 of 2845 Old 07-24-2017, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got the Zappiti 4k Duo HDR and looks like it's having issues with the 6TB WD Blue. To prepare it to be used with the Duo, I followed the procedure outlined in the Zappiti's online help: the drive was initialized as a GPT drive, then it was formatted it as NTFS drive (using quick format option and 64KB allocation unit size)... and the Duo does not see it. I have the latest firmware installed (3.07).

In terms of the tools, I used a "repurposed" USB 3.0 docking station (it originally came with one of the external Seagate Backup Plus 4TB drives, which I extracted from the original enclosure and use as one of the internal drives for my media server) and a Windows 10-based laptop (2017 model). I did the format a couple of times using either the standard Windows' Disk Management console or MiniTool Partition Wizard. In each case the end result was the same: the 6TB WD Blue works fine when it's in the external USB docking station - I can use it either with my laptop or with Zappiti (when connecting via USB). But when I insert it into into one of its bays, the Duo fails recognize it.

I tried with other disks that I have (1TB and 4TB) - and they work fine. Any idea what might be the solution?

Thanks,
Mike
MikeHempstead is offline  
post #345 of 2845 Old 07-25-2017, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, sorry if this has already been addressed but can anyone confirm that a Western Digital Purple 10TB hard drive is supported by the Zappiti One 4K HDR??

Thanks
rexpect is offline  
post #346 of 2845 Old 07-25-2017, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all, can anyone confirm that the Zappiti One 4K HDR supports a Western Digital Purple 10TB hard drive? Thanks
rexpect is offline  
post #347 of 2845 Old 07-26-2017, 02:10 AM
Senior Member
 
martig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexpect View Post
Hi all, can anyone confirm that the Zappiti One 4K HDR supports a Western Digital Purple 10TB hard drive? Thanks
I can confirm that 8TB hard drives work. I have two 8TB Red drives in my Zappiti Duo 4k HDR..They are working perfectly. Although Zappiti has a note on their site that states: "The hard disks dedicated to servers NAS such as WD Red series are not compatible." I contacted their support and got back the following reply: "WD RED NAS hard drives are dedicated to NAS only. They need more power than other hard drives. You can try to use it but we do not guaranty that it will be fully operational." The knowledge base of Zappiti recommends the WD purple:

https://zappiti.uservoice.com/knowle...ppiti-player-4


It only states 8TB purple drive. But they just started manufacturing 10 TB drives. Probably best to contact Zappati support an inquire about 10TB. I looked into the specks of the Red drive as compared to the Purple drive and found that they both use the same average power requirements (W) at Read/Write and Standby/sleep. The Red drive actually uses less power at Idle, 2.7 as compared to the Purple, 5.0.

I only found one problem with the 8TB hard drive. After I put about 3TB of movies on it, when I tried to rip additional movies to it over the network, I got a note that stated there was not enough space. However when I removed it from the Zappiti and put the hard drive into an external docking station connected by USB 3.0 to my computer, there was no problem. This has happened multiple times. I am not sure exactly what is causing this to happen. However play back of all the movies from the movie wall is fine and they are identified perfectly. Also playback on my computer over network from the Zappiti is fine.

Ray

Last edited by martig; 07-26-2017 at 02:37 AM.
martig is offline  
post #348 of 2845 Old 07-26-2017, 05:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the info, appreciate it.

I did contact Zappiti support and ask about the 10TB drive support but haven't got a response yet. It has been around 2 days now.
rexpect is offline  
post #349 of 2845 Old 07-26-2017, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexpect View Post
Thanks for the info, appreciate it.

I did contact Zappiti support and ask about the 10TB drive support but haven't got a response yet. It has been around 2 days now.
Hi guys, I thought this information may be useful to some people. Below is a copy of the reply i received from Zappiti Support after asking about whether the device supports the WD Purple 10TB hard drive:

"
Hi Sir,
Yes it supports 10TB disks, but I would not recommend the purple series, the blue is the one to have in our players.It has not been released yet, I think you should wait.
Thank you
"

Interesting indeed. From what I can see, the WD Blue drives are currently available but only up to 6TB in size. Perhaps he was meaning that the 8TB & 10TB WD Blue drives would be available soon ?
rexpect is offline  
post #350 of 2845 Old 07-28-2017, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: London UK
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all,
I am now getting one second breaks in video. This is from the internal HDD and from my network NAS. Any ideas as to the problem?
slowv is offline  
post #351 of 2845 Old 07-30-2017, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 3,258
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 382
SUB Sync

Hi, at the moment i use a Xtreamer and it is possible to adjust the subtitles in size, color, spot on the screen, and most important the possibility to sync the subs when they are out of sync.
Is there a button on the remote, or other option in the Z One, so i can adjust them to starting early or later according to the amount the subs are out of sync (for SRT files).

Thanks !

Last edited by CBdicX; 08-04-2017 at 05:05 AM.
CBdicX is offline  
post #352 of 2845 Old 08-02-2017, 05:08 AM
Member
 
bosoxfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi all,
I am looking to upgrade from my Dune D1. I have 4 external HDDs that I use with my current Dune for movies. Is the mini a viable upgrade from the D1? For the media center software, does it play nice with iOS? Thanks for any input!
bosoxfan is offline  
post #353 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 05:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 3,258
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Seems this is a dead forum...........
CBdicX is offline  
post #354 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 05:59 AM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post
Seems this is a dead forum...........
Yeah, and it really is a shame
jespermart is offline  
post #355 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosoxfan View Post
Hi all,
I am looking to upgrade from my Dune D1. I have 4 external HDDs that I use with my current Dune for movies. Is the mini a viable upgrade from the D1? For the media center software, does it play nice with iOS? Thanks for any input!
Yes you could use a USB hub and just utilise one of the USB ports. The iOS app has just gone out of beta and is now available to all in the store. It works fine.

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Sony X700, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED (E6V)
In both Setups "Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite"
sutton8 is offline  
post #356 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
.... The iOS app has just gone out of beta and is now available to all in the store. It works fine.
The screenshots for the iOS app look like the dune's old jukebox GUI. Are these screenshots from the app or from the display the dune is connected to?

_____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #357 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 63
The dune smart was/is compatible with the MyMovies iOS app, meaning one could/can launch media from within the MyMovies app by selecting the title.
Initially, from what I understand, the Zappiti player was "just" a rebadged dune with a Zappiti GUI. So I am wondering if the current Zappiti crop of players are still dune-command-compatible and if so, is it also possible to use the MyMovies iOS app to launch media by selecting the title.

____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #358 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Since I have seem some conflicting information, here it goes....

Does the Zappiti 4k HDR fully support:
- *.iso over Ethernet
- BD menus?

_____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #359 of 2845 Old 08-04-2017, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 124
@Axel

The current version of the Zappiti Media Center, version 4, does not work with Dune so I'll assume the app does not. Yes it does support ISO but bluray menu is lite only at the moment. They are working on full menu support but give no promises, however I'm optimistic since Zidoo achieved it on the same chipset.

7.2 Yamaha RX-A3080, Monitor Audio (Apex & Silver), Seismic 110, XBOX, Intel NUC6CAYH, Sony X700, Panasonic TX65GZ950B
5.1 Denon X7200WA, Focal Dome, LG OLED (E6V)
In both Setups "Virgin Tivo V6, Zappiti 4K HDR, FireTV Stick 4K, Harmony Elite"
sutton8 is offline  
post #360 of 2845 Old 08-05-2017, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 5,038
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post
@Axel

The current version of the Zappiti Media Center, version 4, does not work with Dune so I'll assume the app does not. Yes it does support ISO but bluray menu is lite only at the moment. They are working on full menu support but give no promises, however I'm optimistic since Zidoo achieved it on the same chipset.
Thanks much for the info, sutton8, very helpful, even though they are not the answers I had hoped for .
_____
Axel

Axel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off